List Mgmt. 2018 List Management: Contracts, Trading, Drafting, Academy

You ask a stupid question..... I answer and you say I’m big noting myself? Gimme a break

Look I hope he is available. I really do. But I would be shocked if he is back in the early parts of the season. I also hope he has full ROM in the joint. I want u to think about the recovery time w patton’s Knee, nick nats knee etc

Neither of them (bunts) had Lars so it’s a longer recovery and as it’s their first acl they will be ultra cautious
I didn't realise Bunts had a LARS procedure. Guessing that is due to the fact it was a partial tear?

Guess I hold a slightly different view to others. I understand the rationale for a defensive toward who sets a team standard so Honeychurch as a rookie would have some sense. However, we lost two dynamic goal kicking small/medium forwards (at their best) and given the criticism of our toward play we need to get guys who can both attack and defend - not just one. Honeychurch to me would be a bit too similar (apart from superior defensive qualities) to MdB, Reid & Lloyd. Hence, why I'd prefer Higgins & Powell (or Spargo/Miers).

On the issue of lacking midfielder depth, the thing is when I look at most proposed 22s I see mids positioned in HF and HB spots rather than specialists, so not surprised that we then appear short of midfielders in the second team. It's all a matter of balance when secondary positions are accounted for.

Defensively I still think we need to replace Wilson's speed. I do not believe that a draftee goes straight into the best 22; Kennedy (injury dependent) should be in the mix while Cumming should also get a chance, or Perryman may get the opportunity to carry on from 2017's chances. But I would like to see one of the second round picks directed that way. Given the discussion of Nathan Murphy (hopefully not first round though!), previously Jack Petrucelle, and I would add Matt Ling & Ed Richards, I would hope the club does go that way.

Order of re-signing priority for players coming out of contract in 2018

Definitely a far simpler year with priority signings

Toby Greene - 5 Years. He is a genuine superstar

Phil Davis - 3 - 5 Years. Let the captain play out his career in orange

Isaac Cumming - 2 Years dependant on games played. Will likely have opportunities given the delay of Wilson

Dawson Simpson - 1 year deals given his depth status

Lachlan Tiziani - trade bait if he can’t get games

Jeremy Finlayson - trade to Carlton for a packet of chips if they want him as he has far too many talls ahead of him

Tim Mohr - Delist as we have a very settled defence with only 1 spot opening with far too many players ahead of him.

Ryan Griffen - enjoy the retirement and I hope he gets a coaching role given his knowledge of the game

There's a fair amount of sense in those thoughts, however, just with the tall backs we need to ensure we have guys drafted & developing such that with injuries they can slot in. Not sure that losing TOJ & Mohr in the same year is ideal. With Mummy's early retirement & Shaw's alleged extension, it seems Griff may be the main departure, so retiring Mohr makes sense. I continue to espouse the view that we need to keep list turnover relatively low while the players are quality (as difficult as that is), otherwise we end up on that endless development escalator. Also depends on how HH, Sproule & Matt Walker develop.

Davis
Corr
Haynes
Tomlinson
HH

TOJ
Mohr

Yes our depth will appear thin but KPD is an area we have an embarrassment of riches in.

If either will sign for pennies then I wouldn’t be against retaining 1 for depth

Davis
Corr
Haynes
Tomlinson
HH

TOJ
Mohr

Yes our depth will appear thin but KPD is an area we have an embarrassment of riches in.

If either will sign for pennies then I wouldn’t be against retaining 1 for depth

Hmmm, when I look at that list, I see 4 defenders that we play every week, and a swingman who may well be playing forward next year.

Yes we have some flexibility because we have the 4 defenders and could lose one without replacement, and because we could swing HH back and shorten the forward line. However, if you add Sproule to the bottom list, I would say that's our KPP depth, which to me is OK but would be unacceptably thin if 2 departed.

Can’t see brander slipping past Fremantle at 5 given they now have 2 to get LDU.

But yes please to spargo for the north lulz and needs

Lulz would be fun, but we will need to be hard-nosed in selections. Frankly, I don't expect Freo to select Brander. I see them taking LDU or Dow at pick 2, then probably Fogarty at pick 5. Pies also to avoid Brander & probably take Coffield. Saints perhaps a chance for Brander (tried for Tommo) but think they will also avoid. So I think Brander gets to mid teens. I expect him to be available at 11, but do not want him as we have higher needs and I don't consider him best available at 11.

Lulz would be fun, but we will need to be hard-nosed in selections. Frankly, I don't expect Freo to select Brander. I see them taking LDU or Dow at pick 2, then probably Fogarty at pick 5. Pies also to avoid Brander & probably take Coffield. Saints perhaps a chance for Brander (tried for Tommo) but think they will also avoid. So I think Brander gets to mid teens. So, I expect him to be available at 11, but do not want him as we have higher needs and I don't consider him best available at 11.
Agree with this. I think last year we has similar depth with key position players which explains not bidding on macreadie and Brander will be passed if available for similar reasons.

Mids are on the menu

FWIW, here's how I look at the squad and how we are stacked for depth and options:
Best 22
KPFs: Cameron, Patton, Himmelberg
S/M Fwds: Greene, Deledio, Taranto, de Boer
Foll: Lobb, Ward, Shiel, Hopper
Centre: Coniglio, Kelly, Scully, Whitfield
S/M Def: Shaw, Williams, Kennedy
KPDs: Davis, Corr, Haynes, Tomlinson

Yes I have gone the traditional 3 KPF setup, because Leon tends to favour that. I have gone with Kennedy as a specialist defender rather than dropping a mid back. And I only have room for one of Hopper & Griffen due to speed and playing style.

That leaves second 22 & gaps as:
Tall Fwds: Sproule ?1 Flynn
S/M Fwds: Tiziani Reid Lloyd ?2
Follow: Simpson, Griffen, Setterfield, ?3
Centres: ?4, Cumming, ?5, ?6
S/M Def: Buntine, Perryman, Stein, ?7
Tall Def: Mohr, Finlayson, ?8

There can be plenty of discussion and opinion here too - is Perryman a mid or Defender, what's Stein's assessed position, while noting that players have some flexibility to play secondary positions (e.g. is Cumming a winger or defender?). It's not too different from the earlier post showing where our depth is and isn't.

So I look at the draft, DFA & rookie draft needs as:
1 - don't really need a true forward, so probably see a ruck taken here (possibly rookie draft or rookied DFA) after losing Mummy & Downie
2 - I have said enough times I see the need for specialist small forward, hence Higgins if available at 11, or Spargo or Miers in the second round if Higgins is gone
3 - a mid who can do hard clearance work but also go forward would be my ideal, which for me is Powell, especially as an Academy kid rated lower in the draft
4 - inside mid, Nick Shipley
5 - some outside run, potentially doubles as running defender, so Ling, Petrucelle, Nathan Murphy here, or Brendan Myers as a rookie (although ? On speed); perhaps Lochie O'Brien at 11 if Higgins is gone
6 - balanced mid - arguably you could consider Higgins fitting this slot if we took Honeychurch as the pure small forward
7 - given that Perryman is slow and can fill a midfield spot, I would like to get a speedy back to replace Wilson in this spot: I would see Ling, Petrucelle, Ed Richards as options; the latter the more pure defender
8 - the way we play 4 tall defenders does unbalance the squad a touch, and with a question on Stein's best position, I am open on how to fill this - could take a tall defender to develop with a view to retiring Mohr next year, or a creative semi-tall back (which is where I would categorise Nick Coffield who I would love).

Overall, there's plenty of options and very few definitive answers - plenty of subjective opinions. Even where I say 'I would like' I acknowledge you can argue a different view.

fridgeman, agree with much of your post. I would hope that Shipley doesn't get bid before 28, allowing 2 second round draftees before we match him with 57, and match Powell with 64. We would hopefully match a bid in the 20s though. I would also think that we would not get all 3 of Higgins, Honeychurch & Spargo. A pacy winger and a defender are my thoughts in there. Good visualisation of second team and potential draft positions.

He won’t play next year but Shipley is interesting. 90kg, 190cm midfielder who has speed and endurance. A late starter to the game... athletically he is a good prospect. Hearing him in interviews he has a fantastic attitude as well.
I would also be keen to see if he could play toward. Speed, tackling ability - can he pressure and then kick goals? Everyone is fapping about Rayner, Fogarty & Bonar; but could Shipley take that sort of role, which would be invaluable.

Hey guys, a mate and i are keen to try and get a footy podcast up and going, we just uploaded the first ep and have based it around the trade period. Its our first attempt at anything like this but please have a look and enjoy :)

No chance he's there at 11, I wouldn't be surprised if he went top 5
The goss on the AFL site was that he was top 10 to begin with, and after his combine they were tipping top 5.

Obviously Matt Kennedy is the classic example of how you can't keep them all but reckon if we had of put any kind of offer in front of him he would of stayed.

Matthew Kennedy won’t forget the conversation anytime soon. On the players’ final day at the club, and after the reviews had taken place and everyone had left, Kennedy walked into Leon Cameron’s office and had one of the hardest conversations he’s had to date. It may not seem like much, but the 20-year-old was about to inform someone he deeply admires that he wants to leave the place he loves. “It was an emotional day,” Kennedy told AFLPlayers.com.au.
“It was one of the toughest conversations I’ve had. Leon and I have a great relationship. Not only did he help my footy, he had a lot of influence on my life in general. I felt like we were pretty close so it was hard to say I wanted to leave.” Kennedy said Cameron was great about the situation which is a testament to his character, but in the end, the hardened midfielder had to seek opportunities elsewhere. The Giants still couldn’t offer Kennedy a contract at the end of the year and time was running out to secure his future.
http://www.aflplayers.com.au/article/it-was-an-emotional-day-kennedy/

Obviously Matt Kennedy is the classic example of how you can't keep them all but reckon if we had of put any kind of offer in front of him he would of stayed.

http://www.aflplayers.com.au/article/it-was-an-emotional-day-kennedy/
I can see us wishing we had him if Griffen, De Boer, Hopper and/or Cogs suffer significant injury.
I wonder if the 21 yo Bam Bam will be a better player after a season playing AFL for the Blues rather than a season spent mostly in the NEAFL with us, presumably in a rookie contract. This way his career and development keeps moving forward at least. No doubt he'll have to prove himself to Bolton but it seems from their interest they view him as an AFL player.

I can see us wishing we had him if Griffen, De Boer, Hopper and/or Cogs suffer significant injury.
I wonder if the 21 yo Bam Bam will be a better player after a season playing AFL for the Blues rather than a season spent mostly in the NEAFL with us, presumably in a rookie contract. This way his career and development keeps moving forward at least. No doubt he'll have to prove himself to Bolton but it seems from their interest they view him as an AFL player.

Will end up being one of the best calls we ever made, for Carlton