So the AFL's taking 'trickle down economics' to a whole new level!

The accidental success of the bulldogs opened the AFLs eyes to the potential windfall for them should the right premier come along.

We know the NBA have long manufactured their results. It was only a matter of time until smaller leagues like the AFL took notice.

These days it is all about the economics. It's surprising it's taken this long to really show itself so consistently and commonly over the fence into the playing arena but that's the grapes.

While selling out hardcore fans for the corporates on grand final day and selling traditional ovals names in favour of plastic sponsors have long been an AFL staple, you now see umpiring decisions, MRP decisions, fixture decisions etc start to creep in more and more often than ever before.

I would love for the interstate clubs to bend the A(V)FL over just like they did to the VFA and pack it in and make their own league.

Surely they can do it based on the fact their clubs are already established. Buy a few extra pokies and sell your own TV rights.

Vics have such an inherent and disgustingly arrogant view over the rest of the country because they see themselves as superior. Someone needs to show them up. They will piss their pants and beg the rest of the country to come back.

LOL

Go for it. I could do with the laughs.

Yes because the amount of fans watching at the game is the only metric worth considering.

From now on all games should be played at the mcg - until someone builds a bigger stadium then they should all be played there.

What a pile of s**t - you are defending it because you know your pansy arse mcg queen team cant beat decent teams away from the g.

If they could you would be anytime anywhere just like you mcg tenants try to tell everyone else to be.

Geelong would have spanked your arse like a red headed stepchild at kardinia and you bumblebee looking, sash wearing fairies would have chalked up yet another disappointment of a year

Love the way you project your team not being able to travel onto other clubs.

I can project my teams away from home form - to mirror your team.

As it pretty much did

The only team of note we both beat away from our home grounds were port.

So thankyou for pointing it out for everyone.

The game itself is on the nose, most agree. .

Sure. Record crowd attendance set last year. TV ratings up. Record memberships. But yeah the game is on the nose.

Dont ever be mistaken for thinking that the malcontents on Bigfooty are "most" of anything.

But that either gets forgotten about if the crowd is big, or refuted by the AFL through crowd stats.

Or TV stats. Or streaming stats. or membership stats. or basically any stats. Wait, which stats dont agree witht the AFL position?

Let's not forget that in 2012 those same teams played a final at the MCG and drew 44,000 people.

Suddenly in 2013, let's play it in a tinpot, pathetic, pissant stadium (no amount of renovations is going to save it I'm afraid) and lock out 10,000 people from attending. Even worse is the AFL openly stated that it was only because they were playing Fremantle. If it was Sydney or someone else, it would have been at the MCG or Etihad.

Trickle down economics.....how about the basics of decency and treating all 18 clubs equally? That would be a terrific start.
That's a bit contradictory though.

Surely treating each club equally, is to have them play home finals at home?

Sure. Record crowd attendance set last year. TV ratings up. Record memberships. But yeah the game is on the nose.

Dont ever be mistaken for thinking that the malcontents on Bigfooty are "most" of anything.

Or TV stats. Or streaming stats. or membership stats. or basically any stats. Wait, which stats dont agree witht the AFL position?
That's the whole point isn't it?

Playing a Geelong home final at Richmond's home ground added over 50000 to the 'Attendances' stat in one hit.

It butchers the integrity of the sport, and 6 goals had been kicked to midway through the 3rd quarter - but hey, the game's never been better! Look at the crowd numbers!

Can we declare that McDonald's food is good because their 'crowd numbers' are off the charts? Of course not. It's utter s**t. It's commercially appealing for a number of reasons - but the quality of their food is not one of them.

The AFL maximisation model is like Facebook, where those people only post the photos where they look good, and only post about the awesome stuff that they're doing all the time.

That's the whole point isn't it?

Playing a Geelong home final at Richmond's home ground added over 50000 to the 'Attendances' stat in one hit.

It butchers the integrity of the sport, and 6 goals had been kicked to midway through the 3rd quarter - but hey, the game's never been better! Look at the crowd numbers!

Can we declare that McDonald's food is good because their 'crowd numbers' are off the charts? Of course not. It's utter s**t. It's commercially appealing for a number of reasons - but the quality of their food is not one of them.

The AFL maximisation model is like Facebook, where those people only post the photos where they look good, and only post about the awesome stuff that they're doing all the time.
You do know there is no such thing as home ground finals? Its home state.
Hypothetical:
Collingwood finish top.
Gold Coast 4th.
Essendon 2nd.
Richmond 3rd.

Where do you think games would be played?

It’s really difficult to decide which conspiracy train tonjump on:
- AFL are vic centric and disadvantage interstate teams whenever they can
- AFL have interstate love children sydney and GWS and will do anything to see them win
- freekickhawthorn
- freekickbulldogs
- Geelong looked after with free kicks and the Garry Ablett Motlop compo stitch up
- AFL favours only the rich clubs
- AFL keeps taking from the rich clubs to prop up poor clubs
- umpires consistently screw over (insert your team here) especially in important games when (insert your team here) have the momentum.
- AFL threw essendon under the bus and punished them unfairly because they hate them
- AFL was complicit in the essendon drugs saga and is propping them Up with huge freebies like rising star and moty awards because they love them
- Richmond were favored at the tribunal because the afl loves a fairy tale
“Hawthorn lied about Jaegar O’Meara’s injury because of stuff and I hate Hawthorn heaps” was a good one this year

That's it! RICHMOND INVITE GONE! SAD!

Well, considering none of the current teams are able to leave in any recognisable form, that's not really an issue is it.

But even if they could, why would any Vic teams leave a viable comp for one that would clearly fail?

GWS and GC invited?

If there was a split, I wish they'd be on the leaving side, but considering they're all AFL owned, I doubt any NSW or QLD teams would be leaving.

That said, neither would any other teams...Considering the AFL owns the IP rights to every teams name, colours, etc., etc. (that's a thing they brought in decades ago to counter any potential superleague). Any new comp would be made up of, effectively, all new teams and uncontracted players.

Mind you, I doubt the WAFC & SANFL would let the WA & SA clubs (which they owned) leave either...the AFL gives them too much money as things stand.

Ironically, it's the Vic clubs (which are clubs owned by their members rather than franchises owned by corporate entities) that would have even the slightest flexibility in such matters.

People need to remember that the AFL owns and controls a lot of what makes up football in the country.

If there was a split, I wish they'd be on the leaving side, but considering they're all AFL owned, I doubt any NSW or QLD teams would be leaving.

That said, neither would any other teams...Considering the AFL owns the IP rights to every teams name, colours, etc., etc. (that's a thing they brought in decades ago to counter any potential superleague). Any new comp would be made up of, effectively, all new teams and uncontracted players.

Mind you, I doubt the WAFC & SANFL would let the WA & SA clubs (which they owned) leave either...the AFL gives them too much money as things stand.

Ironically, it's the Vic clubs (which are clubs owned by their members rather than franchises owned by corporate entities) that would have even the slightest flexibility in such matters.

People need to remember that the AFL owns and controls a lot of what makes up football in the country.
Yeah.
Adelaide, Port, Fremantle and West Coast, great league, AFL would be crapping in their pants.

I can see it now, everyone else dropping their club and taking up one of these giants.

Well, considering none of the current teams are able to leave in any recognisable form, that's not really an issue is it.

But even if they could, why would any Vic teams leave a viable comp for one that would clearly fail?

Fake Economics. SAD!

If all interstate teams defected the VFL goes under. A breakaway comp will have higher ratings.

Why would a club leave, when they're as much a part of the rort as anyone?

Do you Matt Finnis loves St Kilda? Or Lethlean loves wherever the AFL places him?

Or Hodge loves Brisbane? Or Lyon loves Fremantle?

Or Roos loves Melbourne? Or Dew loves Gold Coast?

Of course not. They're all professionals, working in an industry for the same goal - to keep their jobs and squeeze as much cash out of the fans as they can.

Not directly of course, in the sense that they go home each night and think of ways to rip off the AFL customer base - but in the sense that they are employed in an industry which gives them a very good living that they'd not get anywhere else in society.

And people think these guys are going to pack up a club (which the AFL own anyway) and walk away cause they love the game and the club so much??!

Per-lease.

Why would a club leave, when they're as much a part of the rort as anyone?

Do you Matt Finnis loves St Kilda? Or Lethlean loves wherever the AFL places him?

Or Hodge loves Brisbane? Or Lyon loves Fremantle?

Or Roos loves Melbourne? Or Dew loves Gold Coast?

Of course not. They're all professionals, working in an industry for the same goal - to keep their jobs and squeeze as much cash out of the fans as they can.

Not directly of course, in the sense that they go home each night and think of ways to rip off the AFL customer base - but in the sense that they are employed in an industry which gives them a very good living that they'd not get anywhere else in society.

And people think these guys are going to pack up a club (which the AFL own anyway) and walk away cause they love the game and the club so much??!

Per-lease.

Amusing from a GWS supporter, considering that so much of the money the AFL rips out of Victoria goes to subsidise your club.

Far from ripping money out of members, GWS actually LOSES money on members, so heavily are they subsidised.