Rumour Dees pull out of tough training camp

It was a coward punch delivered by a coward playing for the Melbourne football club .

The coward team that beat your team up?

Ricketz

Aug 2, 2011
Wagga Wagga
So you've had one good year in 37 and all of a sudden we are mentally weak? Makes sense.
Many Tiges supporters have been insufferable all across BF threads. They have had one good year, and they are riding that train all the way over the cliff next year. Can't blame them given their AFL era record, but jeeze they are making some broad statements about clubs like yours - a position they sat in less than 3 years ago, when they also finished 12-10, in a far less even season. Back then, there was a fair bit of heat on the Tiges - and it wasn't due to their pre-season, but their actual performances in the season proper - http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-12/tigers-not-soft-hardwick - and it clearly hit a nerve.

This thread deserves to be on the Bay to be honest - it is nothing but a troll opportunity. Clearly the players were correct in their concerns, the club has listened and changed tact. That is what you want to happen, if their concerns were legitimate. They are professionals who take their physical fitness far more seriously than some of the KBW's on here calling them soft.

blitzer

Aug 27, 2006
House
Its not a good sign that the coaches are pushing for one thing and the players aren't opting in from a relationship and trust perspective.

On the other hand I think these SAS type camps have always been more about the group bonding and overcoming challenges together ethos than they have ever been about physically preparing you for a season of football. I suspect in 10 years we will look back at these camps as 'back in those less professional times'.

Safety should be a significant concern for all activities in the preseason. Injuries happen in football but injuries in non football related activities that are arranged by the club is not a good result. At best you can claim bad luck, at worst bad management.

Mar 23, 2007
Where Premiership dreams are made...
Man U, Canucks and 49ers
Dees players apparently went to the players association to ask if they could ask the club to get them out of It?

They apparently felt It was too hard last year? Seems odd.

The Dees go to the AFLPA because training is a bit tough, yet the Bombers players stayed silent when being injected with illegal drugs...

Dafuq????

EagleMan87

Jul 18, 2006
WCE
The only real issue here is if the plays actually had to go to the AFLPA to get the camp cancelled. It sounds more like the went there to get advice on how to approach the MFC higher ups about it, which is still concerning but hardly the end of the world.

Apr 18, 2005
Good to see Richmond supporters absolutely full of beans and gloating. I wonder how they'd feel if their little poster boy Dusty hurt himself doing this and had an interrupted season?

Takes this s**t to the bay, it's a pot shot at MFC and the players for standing tall and sticking together. If anything this emphasises our strength as a group, not prepared to undertake some flog SAS camp full of Platoon wannabe ex soldiers who need to 'harden up' their candidates and give them a 'life lesson'.

What a load of bullshit.

treefingers

Jan 20, 2008
Heard from a source last year that Dom Tyson was one of the players that had a sook about it.

It sounds brutal though, to be honest.

mr bagcroft

May 19, 2017
Ha ha, love those boot camps run by ex-SAS flogs who make money by running completely unscientific programs, indulging middle aged mens' fantasies about "wars" and "toughness" and "leadership" and whatever other bullshit buzzword they can come up with. Lifting bags filled with bricks over your head, gimme a break. Sleep deprivation - that'll toughness you up, son.

Makes you wonder what kind of a moron you'd have to be to buy into that crap.
Macho bullshit that achieves SFA. Amazing that s**t still flys in 2017. And yeah, nothing worse than an EX SAS flog.

The ones I know through dad are all very humble gentlemen.
The ones who like to think they were in the SAS mouth off about it all the time.

These sorts of camps don't teach you anything. They shine a light on whether you have a void in the mental toughness locker or give you a new threshold which you determine hard as being. That's the entire purpose. They show you your new limit and you push yourself harder for the rest of your life because of it.

mr bagcroft

May 19, 2017
The ones I know through dad are all very humble gentlemen.
The ones who like to think they were in the SAS mouth off about it all the time.

These sorts of camps don't teach you anything. They shine a light on whether you have a void in the mental toughness locker or give you a new threshold which you determine hard as being. That's the entire purpose. They show you your new limit and you push yourself harder for the rest of your life because of it.
Not sure about that.
Maybe different for athletes, but I dunno.
Personally, I wouldnt be changing diddly squat because some over ego'd ******* is yelling stuff at me. Seriously, is this 1968?

Jakksynn

Sep 10, 2013
Port Adelaide
A few years ago, when Melbourne were still absolute tripe, didn’t Mark Neeld try and get everyone to start when the 1-4 years start, and the senior players refused? Bit of history there

Imagine the Richmond playing group doing this to Tom Hafey in the 70’s?

Imagine the Essendon playing group doing this to Kevin Sheedy in the 80’s?

Imagine the North playing group doing this to Denis Pagan in the 90’s?

Imagine the Brisbane playing group doing this to Leigh Matthews in the 00’s?

Imagine the Hawthorn playing group doing this to Alistair Clarkson in the last 5 years?

This is why Melbourne will always be a pathetic football club

Imagine Salem was at North and walked in to tell Ziebell that? LOL

Nov 23, 2000
Country Victoria
Good to see Richmond supporters absolutely full of beans and gloating. I wonder how they'd feel if their little poster boy Dusty hurt himself doing this and had an interrupted season?
Few years ago when Dimma pulled the pin in a pre-season match and how this board went into meltdown.No doubt a fair few Dees supporters went to town on us.Suck it up princess its your turn.

Heard from a source last year that Dom Tyson was one of the players that had a sook about it.

It sounds brutal though, to be honest.
To be fair he dislocated his knee and missed a large chunk of pre season and the first couple of games due to it

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Jan 7, 2005
Down the rabbit hole
Fatebringer
Good luck with that. The players have just called the Union on the Coach and Footy Dept.

Mature discussion between the two factions either failed or wasn't an option.
this is exactly it, in a nutshell.

Why on earth did they need to go over the club's head and call in the union?

As you pointed out earlier; either they spoke to the coaches first, or they didn't. And precisely neither of those is a good thing. Either side of the dichotomy would be mind-blowingly concerning for any Melbourne supporter who gives it a single second of contemplation

Imagine Salem was at North and walked in to tell Ziebell that? LOL

Mate your club couldn't afford to go on a camp

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Jan 7, 2005
Down the rabbit hole
Fatebringer
Got to love all the macho chest puffing from keyboard warriors here, 'Melbourne are this and that'. Can't wait for a thread to start saying 'Goodwin has lost the players'. Biggest load of overrated spin that has captured all the BF cynics on the way down the hill.

At the end of the day, the players don't need some SAS style training camp unless they're actually training for the SAS. It's 2017 and we are playing football for gods sake, just because they aren't standing in front of some drill sergeant with about as much relevance in the world as my nearly cut grass, doesn't mean they are soft, especially considering an injury occurred last year whereby it was no doubt conducted under extreme and not relevant situations.
yes, but... but... surely you can see it was your coaching staff who organised the camp in the first place??

And, for some reason, the playing group had to go over their head to get it stopped. Which can only mean that the Melbourne coaching group think they absolutely DO need to do SAS style training. And the players mutinied over it.

And you think that's a load of over rated spin? Really?!

May 25, 2006
Beach
The only real issue here is if the plays actually had to go to the AFLPA to get the camp cancelled. It sounds more like the went there to get advice on how to approach the MFC higher ups about it, which is still concerning but hardly the end of the world.

Exactly this. No problem with deciding the camp was a bad idea.

But the decision making process (crying to the AFLPA instead of going direct to the club) and the timing of it (last minute) rings a lot of alarm bells about the way the club is being run.

Good on the players for making a stand but the process they went through should not have been necccessary