Koch slams Kennett over pokies

I agree, it's much better for everyone that pokies addicts lose their money to allow clubs and blokes like Kennett (beyond blue my ass) to become right, instead of wasting it by buying food for their families at a filthy institution like a supermarket
I think you are missing the point. The reference to Woolies has nothing to do with people buying food at their supermarkets. Woolies are the biggest pokies operators in the country. People are going to play pokies regardless of who owns them. They are a cancer on our society that sadly will remain un checked as govt makes too much money from them.

The real question here is should an AFL club participate in this industry knowing that their withdrawal from the industry will change nothing.

I think you are missing the point. The reference to Woolies has nothing to do with people buying food at their supermarkets. Woolies are the biggest pokies operators in the country. People are going to play pokies regardless of who owns them. They are a cancer on our society that sadly will remain un checked as govt makes too much money from them.

The real question here is should an AFL club participate in this industry knowing that their withdrawal from the industry will change nothing.

So they’re a ‘cancer on society’ and you’re ok with AFL clubs being involved with that?

It doesn’t matter if AFL pulls out someone else jumps in, the point is the AFL is a game for the people/community, yet they directly contribute to the ‘cancer on society’

What if AFL got involved with manufacturing cigarettes? They’re legal, and if AFL won’t manufacture someone else will. By your logic you’d be fine with that!

Here here Kochie...Kennett the dinosaur and one of the worst Premiers this state or any other state has ever had, whacks Saints and Power re finances and yet his club makes a shedload of money in the western suburbs from pokies.

Those Hawks have always had close relations with the western suburbs

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...orn-s-reliance-on-pokies-20180315-p4z4iq.html
Worst Premiers! You are a kidding. Kennet revitalised Melbourne after Labor ran the state into the ground. John Cain and the Pyramid fiasco. Central Melbourne was a ghost town and the Yarra precinct was Kennetts vision. Hawthorn may be a poor choice for Kennett but worst Premier is NOT a tag he even comes close to wearing...eg. Joan Kirner ...and have a look at the Billion Dollar man Daniel friggin Andrews...if he is not the WORST of all time Liberal or Labor than I am living on another planet. Just another Union tainted individual whos recent effort with the firies is a national disgrace.

So they’re a ‘cancer on society’ and you’re ok with AFL clubs being involved with that?

It doesn’t matter if AFL pulls out someone else jumps in, the point is the AFL is a game for the people/community, yet they directly contribute to the ‘cancer on society’

What if AFL got involved with manufacturing cigarettes? They’re legal, and if AFL won’t manufacture someone else will. By your logic you’d be fine with that!
good points you make.
I am not saying i am okay with clubs being involved. Personally id like to see all clubs out of pokies but we need to understand that it will make squat of difference to the problem. It will simply change where the money goes.

Your posts need more hyperbole.

Fact is pokies are legal, and they're owned by local entities who put back into the community.

If AFL clubs walk away from them, who then owns them, and where does that money go?

Put back to the community?

One club listed its community benefit as ice baths it bought for the club

Anothet listed the enjoyment people get watching the team play

Community benefit has been a bullshit rort by most clubs

They sell and promote alcohol, promote junk food and sugary soft drinks, all 100 times the issue pokies are on society.

Why don't you have an issue with those things ? Especially when stopping the above would actually have some real world effect.

They sell and promote alcohol, promote junk food and sugary soft drinks, all 100 times the issue pokies are on society.

Why don't you have an issue with those things ? Especially when stopping the above would actually have some real world effect.

What a surprise, a Hawks fan.

They run the establishments and own the bloody machines. Do they manufacture soft drink and junk food? There is a big difference.

Seriously some of the Hawks’ supporters arguments are ridiculous

One club listed manintenance on their home ground as ‘benefit’ for the good people of Laverton....30+ kms away!!

Kennett jello everywhere !! Best pres in the business.

images

Worst Premiers! You are a kidding. Kennet revitalised Melbourne after Labor ran the state into the ground. John Cain and the Pyramid fiasco. Central Melbourne was a ghost town and the Yarra precinct was Kennetts vision. Hawthorn may be a poor choice for Kennett but worst Premier is NOT a tag he even comes close to wearing...eg. Joan Kirner ...and have a look at the Billion Dollar man Daniel friggin Andrews...if he is not the WORST of all time Liberal or Labor than I am living on another planet. Just another Union tainted individual whos recent effort with the firies is a national disgrace.
I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!!

Yes, back into the community. AFL clubs are a massive part of the Victorian community.

So how is that any different to what Port Adelaide are doing with China then?
Port go over once a year? Then what? It's a cash grab.

Hawthorn have community camps in Tassie, they play there during the preseasons, during the home and away and in the years we've won flags they also take the cup down and do a tour.

It's got me stuff how people can think Hawthorn being in Tassie is horrible, but the AFL sending clubs to third world countries like India where millions live in poverty, is just fine for a cash grab.

Yes, back into the community. AFL clubs are a massive part of the Victorian community.

Letting people cheer for you is not giving back to the community, and is 100% not the intention of the community contribution requirement of the regulations

You think that's the only thing AFL clubs do?

Clubs are forever organising family days, sending players to schools, to hospitals, taking part in charity days etc.

Koch head should shut the F up and concentrate on selling his club to China and being a twat on morning tele.

Its up to the family club how it wants to run its club.
If they want to make money from pokies or sell hats that up to them.
View attachment 470338

That exactly Koch’s point. Shut the f up Jeff let us run our business how we want. Because Jeff’s comments are damaging to Koch’s business.
Don’t see Any club presidents criticising the hawks for the $22m they make via pokies in the public domain prior to that article.

You think that's the only thing AFL clubs do?

Clubs are forever organising family days, sending players to schools, to hospitals, taking part in charity days etc.

For the pokies, clubs must like specific community activities. Clubs listed ice baths and watching the team. Thats the comminity benefit they see from these, not my interpretation

To address the pokies problem, how about 1 in every hundred thousand times the machine delivers a lethal electrical shock to the user with a compensatory jackpot to the deceased’s family?

On topic though, Kennett has had a clear agenda since getting back in charge of Hawthorn to agitate for the AFL to distribute more money to Hawthorn. He likely couldn’t give a rats about China or St Kilda or any of the crap he publically espouses, he’s just slinging mud around because Hawks already equal lowest distribution of $$$ from city hall so he’s got nothing to lose and he knows if he mouths off enough he might get his own way just so the AFL can pull him back into line and shut him up. Squeaky wheel gets the grease and all that. Typical politician tactics. Kochie likewise doesn’t give a crap about pokies and the punters in the western suburbs of Victoria he’s just throwing back some diversionary mud to avoid scrutiny of his loss making China foray which probably gets him and the missus a nice little all expenses paid vacation each year as well as the opportunity to big note himself at society cocktail parties as some sort of sporting visionary

So the saints are a bystander damaged by Kennett having a hissy? It’s because w***ers like Kennett and McGuire having hissy fits that North,Saints and dogs get screwed with the most debilitating stadium deal for the last 15 years. Terrible fixtures (Sunday afternoons) and zero access to other venues to make money, of corse those clubs become dependant upon the afl to make up the loss

So the saints are a bystander damaged by Kennett having a hissy? It’s because ******s like Kennett and McGuire having hissy fits that North,Saints and dogs get screwed with the most debilitating stadium deal for the last 15 years. Terrible fixtures (Sunday afternoons) and zero access to other venues to make money, of corse those clubs become dependant upon the afl to make up the loss
How much money did St Kilda throw away by taking themselves to Seaford and now back again?

That exactly Koch’s point. Shut the f up Jeff let us run our business how we want. Because Jeff’s comments are damaging to Koch’s business.
Don’t see Any club presidents criticising the hawks for the $22m they make via pokies in the public domain.
do what you like but don't wait for someone else to foot the bill for your experimentation and subsequent failure. Putting your hand in the AFL pocket as insurance is what you should take note of. It isn't hard to understand. And while you are at it, tell your club to lead the way and drop their pokies and the revenue they budget from them every season.

So the saints are a bystander damaged by Kennett having a hissy? It’s because ******s like Kennett and McGuire having hissy fits that North,Saints and dogs get screwed with the most debilitating stadium deal for the last 15 years. Terrible fixtures (Sunday afternoons) and zero access to other venues to make money, of corse those clubs become dependant upon the afl to make up the loss
No the reality is the Hawks fought the AFL over Waverely and resented the concrete pit whilst your club's administration couldn't run quick enough for the promise of gold. same with the others. So now you want to blame Hawthorn for the diabolical and short term decision making of other clubs. :D

Besides if you think Hawthorn has every had preferential fixturing then I can't help you.

Port go over once a year? Then what? It's a cash grab.

Hawthorn have community camps in Tassie, they play there during the preseasons, during the home and away and in the years we've won flags they also take the cup down and do a tour.

It's got me stuff how people can think Hawthorn being in Tassie is horrible, but the AFL sending clubs to third world countries like India where millions live in poverty, is just fine for a cash grab.

?? dude our 'china strategy' is in it's 5th year? we have a chinese player on our list?

do you think such an operation could possibly come about by going there once, in May 2017, and just putting a game on? lol

how are you under the impression Port is doing this purely for cash whilst Hawthorn is some amazing activist club that wants to Make Tasmania Great Again? we're just "growing the pie" like all the dickheads around the country were telling us to 5 years ago. did we go too far? is New Zealand the limit or something?