Koch slams Kennett over pokies

We are still feeling the pain from Kennett selling everything that wasn't legally bolted down. Noone in Vic thinks Kennett did well in hindsight.

Selling public infrastructure (most which was in poor areas) and closing institutions like schools is NOT the thought decision. It's the short sighted easy way out. The real tough decision is figuring out how to fund all th things that the government should.

Answer me this: if it is profitable for a private company to run the trains/power/gas etc, then why did Kennett keep those money making asserts which could still be producing revenue for the state? The answer is that he wanted the short term cash because it was the easy option to make himself look good, to the long term detriment of the state. He was looking to the next election in 3 years, not the next 30 years.

Yes the Victorian voters threw his government out & hey that's the democratic process.
It is intellectually lazy to take the benefits of privatisation, pay down debt, and fund government spending then look back & sook.
It is not surprising that the State (both parties are the same) wants to blame the Feds & get them to fix the power fiasco, no mention of using the $privatisation money to fix the mess.
Yep, blaming Kennett is gospel for some.

Whatever happened to Jeff's Tasman Triangle?? From November 13, 2009 1:06 PM

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/2009-11-13/hanzup-for-hawks-nz-program
HAWTHORN has entered the New Zealand market, launching a new community-based program called 'HANZ-UP! AFL Program' and securing its first Kiwi international scholarship player Kurt Heatherley. The Hawks announced an initial three-year deal with an option to extend the partnership until the end of 2018. The program is the brainchild of Hawthorn player personnel and strategy manager Chris Pelchen and is the result of 18 months research and planning. HANZ-UP! was launched by president Jeff Kennett, AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren and Kiwi-born Hawks Trent Croad, Brent Renouf and Shane Savage at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Kennett said Hawthorn's entry into New Zealand would help grow the game and the Hawks' profile and talent pool long-term.

"Today we plant an acorn, from which will grow a mighty force, the Tasman Triangle," he said.

"The partnership between Hawthorn Football Club in Victoria, with New Zealand and Tasmania, will offer and develop the Australian football code, giving young people the choice to play the game, from which talented players might find a professional career."

AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren said the program was an exciting part of the AFL's international vision to promote the game. "AFL clubs and their players are Australian football's biggest promotional assets and to have one of the AFL's most recognised and successful clubs supporting AFL New Zealand and the growth and development of the game in New Zealand is very exciting," he said.

"The AFL is delighted that Hawthorn Football Club shares our international vision."

I agree.

I think it's funny that old Jeffy is at his usual hypocritical best. Blasting a club for selling 1 game to China yet forgetting he sold 3 to Tasmania

More to the Hawks deal than selling a game but you do know that - the overall deal is the best reason why a Tas club will work.

AFL clubs walking away from pokies wont make squat of difference to the punters who throw their money at them. The money will simply go to the new licence holders.

Until govt start reducing the number of pokies (to zero) the problem will remain, its just a matter of who else fills their pockets along with the govt.

Should an AFL club make money or are we better off if that money flows to woolies?

Guess it depends whats in your principles? Those parts of the AFL benefitting aren't locked in.

They sell and promote alcohol, promote junk food and sugary soft drinks, all 100 times the issue pokies are on society.

Why don't you have an issue with those things ? Especially when stopping the above would actually have some real world effect.

I'm happy to say WA limited pokies to the casino, happy to have a beer, or a bet, sadly its personal responsibility if you want to accept, e.g I've got fair skin & have to manage when I swim, its my problem & I accept I need to manage it.

Whatever happened to Jeff's Tasman Triangle?? From November 13, 2009 1:06 PM

HAWTHORN has entered the New Zealand market, launching a new community-based program called 'HANZ-UP! AFL Program' and securing its first Kiwi international scholarship player Kurt Heatherley. The Hawks announced an initial three-year deal with an option to extend the partnership until the end of 2018. The program is the brainchild of Hawthorn player personnel and strategy manager Chris Pelchen and is the result of 18 months research and planning. HANZ-UP! was launched by president Jeff Kennett, AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren and Kiwi-born Hawks Trent Croad, Brent Renouf and Shane Savage at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Kennett said Hawthorn's entry into New Zealand would help grow the game and the Hawks' profile and talent pool long-term.

"Today we plant an acorn, from which will grow a mighty force, the Tasman Triangle," he said.

"The partnership between Hawthorn Football Club in Victoria, with New Zealand and Tasmania, will offer and develop the Australian football code, giving young people the choice to play the game, from which talented players might find a professional career."

AFL national community manager community development manager Dean Warren said the program was an exciting part of the AFL's international vision to promote the game. "AFL clubs and their players are Australian football's biggest promotional assets and to have one of the AFL's most recognised and successful clubs supporting AFL New Zealand and the growth and development of the game in New Zealand is very exciting," he said.

"The AFL is delighted that Hawthorn Football Club shares our international vision."
I don't see anything in relation to AFL funding (handouts) though - help me out. None of you Port folk want to address any question on who is paying for your experiment

Yes too far in the negative despite all the creative accounting - you have a weird definition of growth

we've made a lot of money from this and put a lot back into key areas that will grow exponentially within 5 years, all the information is in our china thread, if you actually care

I don't see anything in relation to AFL funding (handouts) though - help me out. None of you Port folk want to address any question on who is paying for your experiment
The AFL isn't. Our Chinese partner who is funding it thru a JV is providing about 25% of the monies and the rest is corporate sponsorships with the club picking up a small loss. Koch indicated $100k at the AGM and it was Caro who said $200k not Koch.

Why don’t the AFL come out and state they aren’t allocating a cent much as you are saying. More than likely because that wouldn’t be the case. So getting the ‘ground’ fit for purpose - is that an AFL responsibility under Koch’s accounting

How else do you explain the AFLs 200k loss as reported

Why don’t the AFL come out and state they aren’t allocating a cent much as you are saying. More than likely because that wouldn’t be the case. So getting the ‘ground’ fit for purpose - is that an AFL responsibility under Koch’s accounting

How else do you explain the AFLs 200k loss as reported
Port had to produce revenue of $4m under the original budget but an exercise like this you are going to get costings wrong so in the end they raised $4.6m thru sponsorships etc. Apparently cost blow at the end was 7's production costs they charged back.

Yes the Victorian voters threw his government out & hey that's the democratic process.
It is intellectually lazy to take the benefits of privatisation, pay down debt, and fund government spending then look back & sook.
It is not surprising that the State (both parties are the same) wants to blame the Feds & get them to fix the power fiasco, no mention of using the $privatisation money to fix the mess.
Yep, blaming Kennett is gospel for some.
So you're agreeing with me that Kennett was a s**t premier and damaged the Victorian state long term

?? dude our 'china strategy' is in it's 5th year? we have a chinese player on our list?

do you think such an operation could possibly come about by going there once, in May 2017, and just putting a game on? lol

how are you under the impression Port is doing this purely for cash whilst Hawthorn is some amazing activist club that wants to Make Tasmania Great Again? we're just "growing the pie" like all the dickheads around the country were telling us to 5 years ago. did we go too far? is New Zealand the limit or something?
What have the other three years included of this “China strategy”?

Port go over once a year? Then what? It's a cash grab.

Hawthorn have community camps in Tassie, they play there during the preseasons, during the home and away and in the years we've won flags they also take the cup down and do a tour.

It's got me stuff how people can think Hawthorn being in Tassie is horrible, but the AFL sending clubs to third world countries like India where millions live in poverty, is just fine for a cash grab.

I'm not saying Hawthorn in Tassie is horrible, just that it's hypocritical of Kennett to knock Port for their China deal, which has financial and brand growth incentives just like the Tassie deal does.

Don't you know that looking internationally is a waste of time, unless of course Jeff Kennett is benefitting from it.

lol

I sa
Hope you didnt research the history of pokies in Vic, whomever told you it was Kennett, remember to ignore anything else they tell you, its crap !!

Joan Kirner ... deserves to be remembered for her many achievements and unquestioned devotion to the progress of Victoria.

Kirner, Victoria’s first – and so far only – female premier, also introduced poker machine gambling to the state. Her government passed legislation in 1991 to enable a duopoly to establish poker machine venues in local hotels and clubs.
https://theconversation.com/pokies-in-victoria-joan-kirners-difficult-legacy-42689

On the wrong horse bart, but you probably know that ... from the same article:
This is not a legacy of which a reforming and progressive Labor premier would be proud. It is little wonder, then, that along with former Liberal premier Jeff Kennett – who succeeded Kirner as premier and energetically oversaw the expansion of the gambling business – she regretted the expansion of poker machines into pubs and clubs. They both believed that poker machines should be limited to the casino, as occurs in Western Australia.
I stand corrected, the old memory bank told me it was Jeff.

Port go over once a year? Then what? It's a cash grab.

Hawthorn have community camps in Tassie, they play there during the preseasons, during the home and away and in the years we've won flags they also take the cup down and do a tour.

It's got me stuff how people can think Hawthorn being in Tassie is horrible, but the AFL sending clubs to third world countries like India where millions live in poverty, is just fine for a cash grab.

Community camp means what? Games, bring the cup down!! How does any of that help Tasmanian football?

They've played in Launceston for 17 seasons & achieved absolutely nothing for Tasmanian football. They've just flown in, kissed some political arse, then flown home with a truck of money.

Hawthorn being here has been a waste of bloody time for our football. They've given no value & done nothing but take money & Fkoff

Community camp means what? Games, bring the cup down!! How does any of that help Tasmanian football?

They've played in Launceston for 17 seasons & achieved absolutely nothing for Tasmanian football. They've just flown in, kissed some political arse, then flown home with a truck of money.

Hawthorn being here has been a waste of bloody time for our football. They've given no value & done nothing but take money & Fkoff
Does Tassie footy sponsor the Hawks? Nope.
Your argument about the state of local footy in Tasmania being the Hawks fault is so far from reality.

There are many issues with Footy in Tasmania but the Hawks were not sponsored by the Government to grow local footy or fund it out of gate receipts.

I'm sure the AFL is happy with that view, even though last I checked they gave Tassie to North for NGA, and probably have done everything in their power to avoid helping footy down there themselves.

Does Tassie footy sponsor the Hawks? Nope.
Your argument about the state of local footy in Tasmania being the Hawks fault is so far from reality.

There are many issues with Footy in Tasmania but the Hawks were not sponsored by the Government to grow local footy or fund it out of gate receipts.

I'm sure the AFL is happy with that view, even though last I checked they gave Tassie to North for NGA, and probably have done everything in their power to avoid helping footy down there themselves.
Don’t bother. You will get the same tired boring s**t he’s been beating out for years in every thread where tassie is mentioned.