The no-pokies good vs evil guide to finals

Jun 27, 2010
Sturt
If you’re a neutral unable to muster any enthusiasm for this year's finals, how about following the no-pokies?

This weekend’s prelim finalists are an interesting mix when it comes to pokies, from good to trying-to-do-the-right-thing-eventually to outright not-so-good-at-all:

West Coast – never had any pokies
Melbourne – to exit the business in 2022

Collingwood – has 156 machines which it plans to sell in October
Richmond – has 97 machines, no plans to change

If the West Coast and Tigers go through, the grand final will be a proverbial battle between good and evil (‘good’ being the club that doesn’t raise cash by impoverishing vulnerable members of the community, in case it's not clear).

Admittedly, a Pies-Demons final will be a slightly less electric contrast, but at least the recalcitrants of Tigerland won’t be there.

Speaking of which, if you want to encourage the Tiges to do the right thing, here’s a petition:
https://actions.sumofus.org/a/get-richmond-out-of-the-dirty-pokies-business

Go the No Pokies!

If you’re a neutral unable to muster any enthusiasm for this year's finals, how about following the no-pokies?

This weekend’s prelim finalists are an interesting mix when it comes to pokies, from good to trying-to-do-the-right-thing-eventually to outright not-so-good-at-all:

If the West Coast and Tigers go through, the grand final will be a proverbial battle between good and evil (‘good’ being the club that doesn’t raise cash by impoverishing vulnerable members of the community, in case it's not clear).

Admittedly, a Pies-Demons final will be a slightly less electric contrast, but at least the recalcitrants of Tigerland won’t be there.

Speaking of which, if you want to encourage the Tiges to do the right thing, here’s a petition:

Go the No Pokies!
No pokies = no next generation

Eh, whether Richmond make money from pokies doesn't worry me. People need to take responsibility for their own decisions, no-one is forcing you to gamble. There's help out there for problem gamblers if they need it, stop blaming everyone else, least of all a football club

I think it’s less about blaming the club for existing problems, but to deter future problems from happening. Less Pokie machines should equate to less problem gambling through accessibility.

Anybody that is stupid enough to lose their money on the pokies 100% deserves to be exploited. Absolutely no excuse for a grown man or woman to piss their money away on that bullshit. They are literally programmed to take your money.
Exactly people act as if pokies didn't exist these people would be sensible with their money. Here's a tip they wouldn't be.

Eagles have no pokies... but have a relationship with Crown casinos. They also have BHP as one of their partners, who I'm sure we could bring upplenty of bad press about.

West Coast have been sponsored by an evil fast food chain for 20+ years, OP turning a blind eye to our nation of fatties.

Claptrap ...... with the long bow of the virtue signaller:
so ... how many chariots of death did your particular carmaker of choice produce & dont forget the maimed.

I'm no fan of the pokies so I dont bother, dont have a problem with cars & prefer Maccas to Hungry Jack Cowins.

Say again: claptrap !!

I’ve also got something that should be remembered about all these clubs “exiting” pokies.

They’re selling the venues for huge amounts. The reason they get so much? The future pokies revenue. They’re just getting a huge lump now instead of revenue every year from them.

You know what difference a pokies venue changing ownership makes to the community or problem gambling?

Absolutely *in zero. Not a single little thing.

Want to make a difference? Shut the joint down and keep the pokies entitlements which are worth so much money, so nobody else can use them. THAT will make a difference.

WC and their never ending love affair with accepting millions from a fast food
company. You can’t walk into a HJs store in Perth without being bombarded by images of Nic Nac plastered from pillar to post.

Disgusting.

Not that I eat the crap.

I just use their filthy toilets.

As someone who plays the pokies for fun about once a month and never exceeds $20, I don't believe they are evil.
I do believe humans fail to exercise enough self control however.

Ever win?

Gone beyond $80 about 6 or 7 times. Best was $110 off $5.
Always lived by the 'don't spend what you can't afford to lose' mentality with gambling. 28 on a minimum wage job and own my house so making decent enough financial choices.
Definitely think we need more education in schools about it though. People will still take risks, but I don't remember ever learning about the real downsides of gambling when I was in school. However we did learn about 'chance' with gambling as an example in Math and every year without fail our teachers would stop class to watch the Melbourne cup.

I think it’s less about blaming the club for existing problems, but to deter future problems from happening. Less Pokie machines should equate to less problem gambling through accessibility.

Less alcohol = less alcoholics, less cars -= less accidents.

Its about people's right to choose, and being treated like an adult who can consume responsibly and take responsibility for their actions.

Like another poster said. There is help out there for people who struggle..... paid for through taxes paid by the 99% who consume responsibly.

Go the No Pokies!

Richmond actually have said they will be getting rid of their pokies

WC and their never ending love affair with accepting millions from a fast food
company. You can’t walk into a HJs store in Perth without being bombarded by images of Nic Nac plastered from pillar to post.

Disgusting.

Not that I eat the crap.

I just use their filthy toilets.

pretty filthy place to be injecting mate

I don't understand why the number of machines is always bandied around as important, any time I've been for a beer in a pokies den most machines are vacant, just a few sad sacks playing.