Opinion Your best team based on players you've seen.

Apr 24, 2016
B: Gavin Wanganeen - Stephen Silvagni - Matthew Scarlett

HB: Paul Roos - Glenn Jakovich - Andrew McLeod

C: Peter Matera - Greg Williams - Chris Judd

HF: Gary Ablett Sr. - Wayne Carey - James Hird

F: Jason Dunstall - Tony Lockett - Peter Daicos

R: Simon Madden - Michael Voss - Gary Ablett Jr.

I: Nathan Buckley - Paul Salmon - Mark Ricciuto - Robert Harvey

B: Corey Enright, Matthew Scarlett, Dustin Fletcher
HB: Andrew McLeod, Alex Rance, Gavin Wanganeen
C: Adam Goodes, Michael Voss, Ben Cousins
HF: James Hird, Lance Franklin, Mark Ricciuto
F: Nick Riewoldt, Matthew Lloyd, Jason Akermanis
R: Dean Cox, Gary Ablett Jr, Chris Judd
I/C: Nathan Buckley, Sam Mitchell, Shaun Burgoyne, Matthew Pavlich

B: Darren Glass - Stephen Silvagni - Matthew Scarlett

HB: Gavin Wanganeen - Alex Rance - Andrew McLeod

C: Adam Goodes - Michael Voss - Anthony Koutofides

HF: Nick Riewoldt - Wayne Carey - Lance Franklin

F: Jason Akermanis - Tony Lockett - Gary Ablett Snr

Foll: Dean Cox, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett Jnr

I/C: Jason Dunstall, Mark Ricciuto, Simon Black, Paul Kelly

B Rance Mal Michael D White

HB Mc Leod Leppa N Lappin

C Judd Voss Goodes

HF G Ablett(J) Carey Ackermanis

F C Rioli Lockett G Ablett (S)

M D Cox S Black S Mitchell

I S Hart Selwood Franklin Dunstall

FB Heath Shaw, Micheal Hurley ,Jarrod McVeigh
HB Luke Hodge, Alex Rance, Robert Murphy
C Issac Smith, Scott Pendelbury, Shaun Burgoyne
HF Brent Harvey, Lance Franklin, Nick Riewoldt
FF Cyril Rioli, Mathew Pavlich, Steve Johnson
Ruc Max Gawn, Nat Fyfe, Dustin Martin
Int Gary Ablett, Adam Goodes, Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis

B--- n vlaustin -d Astbury d grimes
Hb- b houli -- a Rance - b Ellis
C- k Macintosh - d Martin - s Grigg
Hf- j Caddy--- j reiwoldt - d Butler
Ff- k Lambert - j Townsend - d Rioli
R-----t Nankervis - t Cotchin - d Prestia
Inter- s Edwards - j Graham - n Broad - j Castagna

Something like .......

Backs .............. Fletcher, Silvagni, Scarlett
Half/Backs ....... Wanganeen, Jakovich, McLeod
Mids/Ruck ........ Matera, Voss, Cousins, Williams, Ablett Jnr, Cox
Half/Fwards ...... Hird, Carey, Franklin
Forwards .......... Akermanis, Lockett, Ablett Snr

Interchange ...... Koutoufides, Black, Goodes, Judd

FB: Gary Ayres, David Dench, John Rantall
HB: Bruce Doull, Peter Knights, Francis Bourke
CT: Keith Greig, Sam Mitchell, Robert Flower
HF: Alex Jesaulenko, Wayne Carey, Gary Ablett Snr
FF: Leigh Matthews, Tony Lockett, Jason Dunstall
Ru: Gary Dempsey, Malcolm Blight, Kevin Bartlett

Int: Lance Franklin, Gary Ablett Jnr, Simon Madden

FB: Gary Ayres, David Dench, John Rantall
HB: Bruce Doull, Peter Knights, Francis Bourke
CT: Keith Greig, Sam Mitchell, Robert Flower
HF: Alex Jesaulenko, Wayne Carey, Gary Ablett Snr
FF: Leigh Matthews, Tony Lockett, Jason Dunstall
Ru: Gary Dempsey, Malcolm Blight, Kevin Bartlett

Int: Lance Franklin, Gary Ablett Jnr, Simon Madden

Christ, we finally have solid agreement on something.

Out: Mitchell
In G. Williams

22nd man: Voss

B Rance Mal Michael D White

HB Mc Leod Leppa N Lappin

C Judd Voss Goodes

HF G Ablett(J) Carey Ackermanis

F C Rioli Lockett G Ablett (S)

M D Cox S Black S Mitchell

I S Hart Selwood Franklin Dunstall

Shaun Hart a bit unlucky not to be on the field?

1st tall defender: M.Scarlett
2nd tall defender: D.Talia
3rd tall defender: A.Rance
Rebound defenders: S.Docherty, L.Hodge and A.McLeod
Loose defender: R.Laird

Ruck: M.Gawn
Mids: G.Ablett, T.Mitchell, N.Fyfe, D.Martin and C.Judd

1st tall forward: L.Franklin
2nd tall forward: B.Fevola
3rd forward: P.Dangerfield
Small forwards: E.Betts, D.Zorko and J.Akermanis

Bench
D.Swan (MID/FWD), M.Richardson(FWD/MID/Backup Ruck), J.Hird(FWD/MID/DEF) and N.Riewoldt(FWD/MID).

Harmes Silvagni Scarlett
Wanganeen Doull Hodge
Matera Williams Bradley
Ablett Snr Kernahan Bartlett
D.Jarmen Lockett Matthews
S.Madden Judd Ablett Jnr
Voss Bartel Wilson Franklin

1st tall defender: M.Scarlett
2nd tall defender: D.Talia
3rd tall defender: A.Rance
Rebound defenders: S.Docherty, L.Hodge and A.McLeod
Loose defender: R.Laird

Ruck: M.Gawn
Mids: G.Ablett, T.Mitchell, N.Fyfe, D.Martin and C.Judd

1st tall forward: L.Franklin
2nd tall forward: B.Fevola
3rd forward: P.Dangerfield
Small forwards: E.Betts, D.Zorko and J.Akermanis

Bench
D.Swan (MID/FWD), M.Richardson(FWD/MID/Backup Ruck), J.Hird(FWD/MID/DEF) and N.Riewoldt(FWD/MID).
You have 1 player too many, need to drop 1

Jetta Scarlett Enright
Shaw Rance Hodge

Goodes Judd Ablett Jnr
Buckley Black Martin

Greene Franklin Fyfe
Akermanis Fevola Roughead

Pendlebury Swan Pavlich Goddard

Not the best players but what I think would be a good combination.

Bias probably puts Fev over someone like Roo but whatevs.

Judd is WCE version obviously.

Jetta and Greene probably not at the level but Greene plays the flank as good as anyone I've seen and Jetta is the best shutdown small defender IMO because he uses the ball so well and doesn't seem to lose many 1v1s, although Grimes is very, very good I think he partly benefits from being in the best defence in the league.

The bench should be able to cover any injuries apart from maybe ruck but is very versatile.

I'm only 20 years old, so while I do have a few memories from earlier on, my memories about footy really start from around 2004-2006. I may be a little biased as I am a pies fan:

B: Matthew Scarlett - Darren Glass - Corey Enright

HB: Heath Shaw - Alex Rance - Luke Hodge

C: Dustin Martin - Dane Swan - Scott Pendlebury

HF: Alan Didak - Lance Franklin - Paul Chapman

F: Eddie Betts - Brendan Fevola - Jarryd Roughead

Followers: Dean Cox, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett Jnr.

I/C: Adam Goodes, Sam Mitchell, Leon Davis, Nat Fyfe

Explaining some of the selections:

Scarlett, just a gun, same goes for glass, great captain and leader too, enright was consistently in the AA team for a reason.

Heath Shaw, great run from the back, Rance, a gun when he can roam around the back line with some freedom. Hodge, great captain, very good player, had to fit him in somewhere.

Martin, gun, big game player too, exciting to watch and quite durable, Swan, around 2010-2011 he was a freak of nature, most ball magnetic player I have ever seen, pretty damaging too, absolute machine and he scored goals too, Pendlebury, Scott "the matrix" Pendlebury, dude can jog his way from the centre square to the 50m line through traffic and somehow everyone just seemed to run around him and then Pendles would make a great pass and pick out a player making a nice lead.

Didak, my all time favourite player to watch, simply magical, spades of x factor, could play in the midfield as well but was more useful perhaps up forward where he could score from anywhere and barely ever missed a set shot or chance on the run, shimmy shimmy, Franklin, no explanation needed, amazing at leading and taking marks, dude kicked over 100, enough said, Chapman, theres a reason why he was THE best forward in AFL supercoach for a few years, super hard to tackle and a great snapshot on goal, I always thought he was a really good player.

Betts, excitement machine, scores wonder goals all the time, fairly prolific for a small forward too, always seems/seemed to score against my team the pies too, Fevola, growing up in primary school hes all the Carlton fans talked about, Fev this Fev that, he scored a lot of goals, nearly 100 once in fact, that scandal doesn't change the fact that he was a super player, Roughead, there was a certain point in around 2014 I reckon where he just seemed unstoppable, best player in the comp, seemed so damaging and like he was everywhere both in the ruck sometimes and scoring goals, the whole discussion about how to stop Hawthorn seemed to centre mainly around him at this time, he also had a crazy knack of getting bs free kicks, #freekickhawthorn.

Cox, best ruck of his generation, awesome ruckman, Judd, according to my dad the best 1st year player hes ever seen, according to me a superstar, dual brownlow medallist (2nd was bs but still), super quick, had that trademark burst of pace to get out of packs, Ablett, GOAT, best player I've ever seen.

Goodes, very versatile and dangerous player, I pretty much missed his absolute best years but still got to see a really damaging player who could play midfield, ruck, forward and be very good in all 3 positions, a bit of a sook but a wonderful player, Mitchell, super clean player, ultra efficient and a master at pinpoint handballs out of contests and pinpoint passes to Lance Franklin (or any other hawthorn forward) leads, Leon Davis, gun small forward, sick player to watch and ultra skilfull, then in his last season he was the best running half back in the comp, by some margin imo, amazing run out of the back and the best kickout from the goalsquare that I have ever seen by a mile, Fyfe, unstoppable in 1 v 1s, capable of playing up forward as well, that 2015 from him is some of the absolute best footy I have ever seen from an individual, I couldn't not put him in here.

Unlucky to miss out:

Burgoyne, most clutch player I have ever seen.

Reid, peaked in 2011, was all australian at only 22 years old, Ben Reid was pretty astonishingly good that year imo, super centre half back, it was only a season though, injuries have really derailed his career though unfortunately, since the start of 2013 he has been injured so much, his career from when he was age 24-29 years old has been spent basically constantly injured aside from in 2017 where he was able to contribute fairly well, playing more up forward though, oh yeah, he is quite a good forward too. its a shame that his theoretical peak years have been spent on the injury table.

Selwood, self explantory, very good captain but not quite for me to put in the team, just not quite, the head ducking thing helped that decision too.

Dangerfield, super player but massive choker in finals.

Brian Lake, really good defender, took a ton of grabs, unlucky to miss out.

Nick Riewoldt, really good player, I never quite rated him as highly as some others did though.

Cyril Rioli, I didn't rate him until 2015.

Josh Gibson, I thought he was a really good player, unlucky.

Sandilands, it was either him or Cox and I chose Cox, that is all.

Daicos, never watched him but seen lots of old highlights of him, didn't put him in cos I wanted to be consistent with having more recent players, my dad's all time favourite player, he pretty much invented the technique of bouncing a ball into the goals from the boundary line according to my dad.

Gary Ablett Snr, the GOAT, according to my dad, not consistent with my team though in terms of being players really from about 2004-2006 onwards.

Dunstall, I watched some old games with this guy and he seemed like pretty much the best set shot I've ever seen and from decent distances too, before my time though.

Peter Hudson, the guy my grandpa on my mum's side raves on about all the time.

Buckley, was my favourite player when I first started following the pies when I was about 6-8 years old.

Akermanis, a bit before my time.

THOUGHTS???

Edit: With some of the older players I only saw highlights or past games on TV, wanted to shout them out anyway. For the actual team I just want to add, versatility was a key factor in my decisions for the interchanges. Leon Davis able to play as a small defender and forward at a really high level, fyfe in the middle or even up forward, goodes is just versatile, self-explanatory, mitchell, idk, just wanted to fit him in but I reckon he could do well maybe in another line.

I'm only 20 years old, so while I do have a few memories from earlier on, my memories about footy really start from around 2004-2006. I may be a little biased as I am a pies fan:

B: Matthew Scarlett - Darren Glass - Corey Enright

HB: Heath Shaw - Alex Rance - Luke Hodge

C: Dustin Martin - Dane Swan - Scott Pendlebury

HF: Alan Didak - Lance Franklin - Paul Chapman

F: Eddie Betts - Brendan Fevola - Jarryd Roughead

Followers: Dean Cox, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett Jnr.

I/C: Adam Goodes, Sam Mitchell, Leon Davis, Nat Fyfe

Explaining some of the selections:

Scarlett, just a gun, same goes for glass, great captain and leader too, enright was consistently in the AA team for a reason.

Heath Shaw, great run from the back, Rance, a gun when he can roam around the back line with some freedom. Hodge, great captain, very good player, had to fit him in somewhere.

Martin, gun, big game player too, exciting to watch and quite durable, Swan, around 2010-2011 he was a freak of nature, most ball magnetic player I have ever seen, pretty damaging too, absolute machine and he scored goals too, Pendlebury, Scott "the matrix" Pendlebury, dude can jog his way from the centre square to the 50m line through traffic and somehow everyone just seemed to run around him and then Pendles would make a great pass and pick out a player making a nice lead.

Didak, my all time favourite player to watch, simply magical, spades of x factor, could play in the midfield as well but was more useful perhaps up forward where he could score from anywhere and barely ever missed a set shot or chance on the run, shimmy shimmy, Franklin, no explanation needed, amazing at leading and taking marks, dude kicked over 100, enough said, Chapman, theres a reason why he was THE best forward in AFL supercoach for a few years, super hard to tackle and a great snapshot on goal, I always thought he was a really good player.

Betts, excitement machine, scores wonder goals all the time, fairly prolific for a small forward too, always seems/seemed to score against my team the pies too, Fevola, growing up in primary school hes all the Carlton fans talked about, Fev this Fev that, he scored a lot of goals, nearly 100 once in fact, that scandal doesn't change the fact that he was a super player, Roughead, there was a certain point in around 2014 I reckon where he just seemed unstoppable, best player in the comp, seemed so damaging and like he was everywhere both in the ruck sometimes and scoring goals, the whole discussion about how to stop Hawthorn seemed to centre mainly around him at this time, he also had a crazy knack of getting bs free kicks, #freekickhawthorn.

Cox, best ruck of his generation, awesome ruckman, Judd, according to my dad the best 1st year player hes ever seen, according to me a superstar, dual brownlow medallist (2nd was bs but still), super quick, had that trademark burst of pace to get out of packs, Ablett, GOAT, best player I've ever seen.

Goodes, very versatile and dangerous player, I pretty much missed his absolute best years but still got to see a really damaging player who could play midfield, ruck, forward and be very good in all 3 positions, a bit of a sook but a wonderful player, Mitchell, super clean player, ultra efficient and a master at pinpoint handballs out of contests and pinpoint passes to Lance Franklin (or any other hawthorn forward) leads, Leon Davis, gun small forward, sick player to watch and ultra skilfull, then in his last season he was the best running half back in the comp, by some margin imo, amazing run out of the back and the best kickout from the goalsquare that I have ever seen by a mile, Fyfe, unstoppable in 1 v 1s, capable of playing up forward as well, that 2015 from him is some of the absolute best footy I have ever seen from an individual, I couldn't not put him in here.

Unlucky to miss out:

Burgoyne, most clutch player I have ever seen.

Reid, peaked in 2011, was all australian at only 22 years old, Ben Reid was pretty astonishingly good that year imo, super centre half back, it was only a season though, injuries have really derailed his career though unfortunately, since the start of 2013 he has been injured so much, his career from when he was age 24-29 years old has been spent basically constantly injured aside from in 2017 where he was able to contribute fairly well, playing more up forward though, oh yeah, he is quite a good forward too. its a shame that his theoretical peak years have been spent on the injury table.

Selwood, self explantory, very good captain but not quite for me to put in the team, just not quite, the head ducking thing helped that decision too.

Dangerfield, super player but massive choker in finals.

Brian Lake, really good defender, took a ton of grabs, unlucky to miss out.

Nick Riewoldt, really good player, I never quite rated him as highly as some others did though.

Cyril Rioli, I didn't rate him until 2015.

Josh Gibson, I thought he was a really good player, unlucky.

Sandilands, it was either him or Cox and I chose Cox, that is all.

Daicos, never watched him but seen lots of old highlights of him, didn't put him in cos I wanted to be consistent with having more recent players, my dad's all time favourite player, he pretty much invented the technique of bouncing a ball into the goals from the boundary line according to my dad.

Gary Ablett Snr, the GOAT, according to my dad, not consistent with my team though in terms of being players really from about 2004-2006 onwards.

Dunstall, I watched some old games with this guy and he seemed like pretty much the best set shot I've ever seen and from decent distances too, before my time though.

Peter Hudson, the guy my grandpa on my mum's side raves on about all the time.

Buckley, was my favourite player when I first started following the pies when I was about 6-8 years old.

Akermanis, a bit before my time.

THOUGHTS???

Edit: With some of the older players I only saw highlights or past games on TV, wanted to shout them out anyway. For the actual team I just want to add, versatility was a key factor in my decisions for the interchanges. Leon Davis able to play as a small defender and forward at a really high level, fyfe in the middle or even up forward, goodes is just versatile, self-explanatory, mitchell, idk, just wanted to fit him in but I reckon he could do well maybe in another line.

Not a bad team but lol@Leon Davis

Based on what I saw of their careers (eg Doull post 1980 only) and how I would pick my 22 from a larger squad of the best players I have seen (eg Silvagni, Cox and Dunstall overlooked in the 22 due to the best team balance).

Wanganeen Scarlett Fletcher
McLeod G Jakovich Roos
Pe Matera Williams Voss
Hird Carey(c) Ablett Sr
Matthews Lockett Franklin
S Madden T Watson Ablett Jr
Buckley Salmon Judd Goodes
Emerg: Blight Quinlan Doull Dunstall

from roughly 97 onwards, with a skewed bias towards west coast because i obviously watch them the most. (deliberately left Carey and Lockett out because i only remember seeing a handful of games on TV live and they were when i was young, although i remember them being astonishing)

B: Wanganeen--Glass--D.Fletcher
HB: McLeod--McGovern--S.Burgoyne
C: Pe.Matera--[Cox--Voss--Ablett Jr.--Judd]--Hird
HF: C.Rioli--Franklin--Cousins
F: Betts--Fevola--S.Johnson

Int: R.Harvey, Ricciuto, Goodes, Riewoldt