Parking inspectors- Should they be lined up and shot or just soundly beaten?

Shoot or just repeatedly punch?

• Shoot

Votes: 1 8.3%
  • Beat unconscious

Votes: 1 8.3%
  • Beat, then shoot.

Votes: 10 83.3%

As much as getting a parking ticket is a * of a campaigner, if people were allowed to park for as long they want, you'd hardly be able to get a park and it'd be a nightmare. Imagine getting a park in st Kilda or Bondi beach if people didn't have to move on. Impossible.

I remember when restrictions were introduced into Bondi junction (a suburb in Sydney) in the mid to late 90s. Shopkeepers were vehemently against it because they thought it would drive business away. Who's gonna come if they can't park and leave their car? They were introduced anyway and very quickly local businesses realised they were wrong and became pro restrictions because people would park, go to a few shops then piss off and there was a fresh spot for the next customer. Prior to that cars would be parked indefinitely.

But the above being said - the job of enforcing restrictions does attract a high number of dickheads.

Where is the option to vote for "don't park illegally?"

This. So much this.

Parked at Warf Shed cafe once in Geelong- plenty of parks was a Sunday. These campaigners parked in the loading bay, got sprung, and had the audacity to complain. ******* tools.

(some signs are crazy tho and so hard to understand- like those ones in the city theres like a hundred signs in the one spot)

I work for councils doing their after hours and overflow services. All councils in Melbourne, and some in Adelaide, Perth, NT, and Sydney (inc City of Sydney).

A resident has to call up and complain about a cars parked illegally during these hours. We have to either text or call (depending on the council) to inform them of the details of the car.

It’s petty to repeat customers for the same issue on the same days. Following up and checking to see if a duty officer is on their way. I’ve also has customers decline to leave a name and number (important as it’s the duty officers point of contact).

And it shits me when customers say things like “I pay my rates” and expect a certain level of service. Also when they think they know the local traffic laws (this comes into question when it’s either a VicRoads road or a council road).

I was in Maryland last month. A mate was getting a haircut so I went for a walk. On returning a lady was writing out a parking ticket. I was like, "oh, did the meter run?" and she was like "oh ok, just pop a few coins in and I'll tear this up".

That would NEVER happen in Australia.

The job certainly attracts power hungry minnows, but I find it a bit rich when people knowingly park illegally then have a go at the inspector for giving them a ticket.

Where is the option to vote for "don't park illegally?"

yeh nah.
don't be a campaigner. Follow the rules

This. So much this.

Parked at Warf Shed cafe once in Geelong- plenty of parks was a Sunday. These campaigners parked in the loading bay, got sprung, and had the audacity to complain. ******* tools.

(some signs are crazy tho and so hard to understand- like those ones in the city theres like a hundred signs in the one spot)
Who mentioned parking illegally?
The rat ******* parking inspectors are not there to stop people blocking driveways and parking in handicapped zones.

Oh no.

They are there to fine people.

Let me explain how it works in my municipality.
1. You find a park in a 2 hour zone.
2. You walk about 150 meters to one of the very few ticket machines only to discover that IT NO LONGER TAKES CARDS, obviously electronic payments are old hat and its all about 20c coins nowadays.
Ok so you reach into your pocket and grab all your change only to discover its $4:20 per hour and you have enough coinage to purchase about 35 mins worth.
3. You then treck back to your car to hunt down the back of the seat to scape up just enough to pay for about an hour, then you go all the way back to the ticket machine to then discover that it doesn't accept 5c coins so you're actually looking at 54 mins.

4. You then rush like crazy to get whatever s**t you needed to do done in under an hour- fail and then run like hell back to your car.

5. You arrive at your car 3 minutes over your 54 mins thinking "What are the chances of an inspector walking past on quiet suburban side street in the exact three minutes?"

6. Discover that the chances are 100% because the council have invested in sensors in the road that notify the inspectors when your time is about to expire.

7. Council rakes in 40 odd million dollars a year from the fees and fines.

Now explain to me exactly how parking for 57 minutes in a 2 hour zone is in any way illegal? And how paid meters are anything other than revenue raising?

We all know it's nothing less than a revenue raise mate....But until someone comes up with a better solution to parking in busy CBD shopping areas & precincts, then it's the best solution we have to the problem of shared access & over congestion.

Parking meter readers & inspectors are just there to do a job, just like you & I....Blaming them for an issue which is rather more systemic & council based seems somewhat misplaced, to say the least....And proffering beatings or being shot as a solution is even more ridiculously absurd.

Seems you've flown off the handle on this one & are over-reacting to some pent up frustrations, which we've all shared at one point or another, no doubt.....Probs best to post this as a single post in the things that s**t me thread.

We all know it's nothing less than a revenue raise mate....But until someone comes up with a better solution to parking in busy CBD shopping areas & precincts, then it's the best solution we have to the problem of shared access & over congestion.

Parking meter readers & inspectors are just there to do a job, just like you & I....Blaming them for an issue which is rather more systemic & council based seems somewhat misplaced, to say the least....And proffering beatings or being shot as a solution is even more ridiculously absurd.

Seems you've flown off the handle on this one & are over-reacting to some pent up frustrations, which we've all shared at one point or another, no doubt.....Probs best to post this as a single post in the things that s**t me thread.
"Just doing their job" hey.
So you are somehow less of a campaigner if you get paid for being one.

You will be pleased to know you have given me an idea that is completely violence free!
Tomorrow im going to pay a homeless bloke fifty bucks to follow one of the bastards around for a couple of hours singing 'Jingle bells' at the top of their voice (not the whole tune either, just Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle bells...) with instructions to reply to any criticism with "* off, Im just doing my job, JINGLE BELLS, JINGLE BELLS, JINGLE BEEELLLLLSSSSSS.

How do parking meters relieve congestion pray tell?
Time restrictions do but they have nothing whatsoever to do with meters.

Your spot on.

I got a ticket the other week for parking in a FREE parking zone.
Signage was confusing, and I wasn't sure if a 'Free Ticket' was required so tried to print one from the machine anyways.
Said machine was uncooperative, so left a left a note on the dashboard to that effect just in case

Walked back literally 40-minutes later to find a $112 Fine for Not Displaying a Ticket in the Free Parking Zone
Three other cars had the same present from Sydney City Council as well. (Enmore Road in Enmore FUI)

Local shop keeper told me that to print a Free Ticket, you needed to press the "-" sign which had the letter F next to it.

Simply pressing the "+" button that one normally presses to increase time generated a check street signage message, samew with simply pressing Print to get a "Free" Ticket

I photo'd the signage, my dashboard note and local shopkeeper was kind enough to allow me to video him deomnstrating as he always tried to help motorists struggling with the rules because of the aggressive fines in place.

I've lodged a "Go To Court' option as I see it as nothing less than dirty money grubbing council antics.

We'll see how the Magistrate views it.

I'm in the 'shoot them all' category BTW

In Sydney you get this
596188_223246e8f4d19594db5538d79aa45917.jpg

******* Madness
(St Mary's Cathedral in the background??)

Last year my council received another $1m guvt grant for maintenance/improvement of boating facilities.
Without asking if it was needed they built a pontoon up the middle of two ramps. Both could handle two launchings at a time, now reduced to two. Not great during peak launching time on Sat/Sun mornings. They received mainly negatives during their "public consultation period". i.e. just leave them alone.

Anyway, to cut a long story short they finished it not long ago and are charging $40 to park your boat/trailer in a space capable of handling hundreds of rigs with rarely more than 1/10 taken. They decided us ratepayers are not exempt either. Funny that.
Last Saturday during peak launching time the place was deserted...and there was a low life parking cop sniffing about and the water police at the end of the pier checking your licenses and safety gear. Gosh..they must all be there for our benefit. Arnt they considerate.

Thanx for the improvement. I'm sure the old retired guys fishing once or twice a week will also be eternally grateful for such efficiency and safety measures. I'm sure the $ really stack up on paper.

So after you've paid 3 levels of guvment for
3 X Registrations (Car Boat Tralier)
4 X Licenses (Car Boat Fishing VHF)
3 X Insurances (Car Boat Greenslip)
+ Maintenance (including GST)
+ GST +indirect tax on Bait, Fuel, Tackle, Tolls etc etc ,
you drive down to the ramp only to find the local council is attempting to screw you for even more, and the water cops sitting around checking if the battery in your safety torch still works or cough up $250. If it isnt the council its the national parks with their fingers on your wallet hoping to jag even more after you have already paid taxes.

...now u can go and hopefully catch a fishy. At roughly $300/kilo it is great value.
Thats cheap on the day if you dont get fined....and of course the fines must be constantly increased to act as an "effective deterrent", aka more revenue.

Its no wonder the road outside the ramp is now full of trailers. Wont be long before they put up no parking signs there i;m sure.

I have learnt why kids like to have fun after hours with expanding foam at places like this.

Only the lowest form of flog could ever stoop low enough to become a parking cop.

Thanx for the whinge. As u Were.

Came across a new one at the start of the year
Parking metre doesn't accept cash or card, have to download an app and setup an account

App has a minimum top up amount of $10, parking costs $2 but you need the app

So I've had $8 sitting in this account for almost a year because I haven't had to pay for parking since

Must be a horrible job. Given so many councils treat parking like some sort of carny level grift so you're a good chance of getting stung even if you're trying to do the right thing and we all know injustice is something that is pretty much a given anger trigger - practically every human interaction is likely to be highly charged for those folks. No wonder humans can't do the job.

I live and operate in councils that specialise in this approach and I've come to the realisation that it's just not worth running the gauntlet these days. Things I've done:
  • Only use the vehicle if I absolutely need it - ie for goods carrying. Otherwise PT and walk
  • Prefer parking in private, gated lots and just cop the gouge. At least they make it easy to pay usually.
  • For confuseopoly signage - If I can't figure it out or it seems contradictory - drive on
  • Getting caught by ticket machines that require $5-10 in coins only; I've been known to go home and try again another day
So, using this ultra-conservative approach you'd think I'd never get a parking ticket. Buh-Bow. I'm sure there are streets where they know practically everyone can be booked so they just go along hitting every car without really looking.

And if you reckon the inspectors are campaigners - you should try getting an incorrect infringement overturned. I have managed to do it, but lordy they don't make it easy. Even the last one where all the evidence supported that it was an obvious, simple inspector mistake (ticket issue timestamp earlier than the infringement issue timestamp; ticket expiry time later than the infringement timestamp; photo of the ticket displayed on car dash with timestamp; photo of sign with timestamp) they never technically admitted same or overturned it. They simply "commuted the infringement to a warning" with really aggressive, accusatory language. Hilariously, one time when I managed to get a speed camera ticket commuted to a warning, the language from the coppers was much more accommodating. And I was actually guilty from that one.

I get why they're necessary. Otherwise campaigners just ignore the signage and leave their cars all day in a 30 minute spot designed to keep things moving. But the councils/governments taking the piss and treating it as a revenue stream (which they budget for, and from time to time deliberately seek to increase that revenue budget) and having these guys as carny tax collectors is pure bovine leavings.