Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2019 Draft Almanac

O'Niell got plenty on the inside this weekend. I think he is our only definite draftee... Chaplin, M.Mcguiness, Mansell, Gadomski (coming back from injury) Peppin are outside chances depending how they go this year. :praying::praying:

Sam Collins and Oliver Davis are incredible underage players for us :) Both played really well again. It's cool they get to play in the TAC cup all year as bottom age players now. It will be so much better for them than playing TSL :) Oliver Davis is also a state rep soccer player :thumbsu: I think next year will be better than this year for Tassie.

We'll see more of the Tasmanian's this year and one or two others can pop up. O'Neill is the one who will pretty clearly go. I wouldn't discount others going later.

Who from their mids will stay and play? And who will be out?
Hard to win with their impressive forward line if the ball won't get to them!?

From Sandringham of those on my watchlist:
APS:
Mahony - St Kevins
Maginness - Scotch
Ralphsmith (Haileybury)
Dean (Wesley)
Butler (Brighton)
Mifsud (Melbourne Grammar)
Worrell (Haileybury)

Outside of APS:
Byrnes
Bergman
Watts

Overagers (available):
Hanrahan
Bowman

What do the private schools get out of handing out so many scholarships? I can understand US college sports given the huge money sloshing about, but an APS flag isn't exactly going to endow a new building.

Reputation and the recruitment of more quality sporting talents and that snowballs.

Carey are a great example of this because until 2010 largely no one from there was drafted:
2010: Andrew Gaff (and Sam Crocker) drafted.
- prior to this Daniel Jackson top of mind is the only success story I can think of who had a long term career. *any apologies if I've missed anyone.
With Gaff having had success:
2012: Jack Macrae, Kristian Jaksch, Nathan Hrovat, Jack Viney and Jason Ashby drafted.
With Macrae and Viney so successful from that group:
2014: Darcy Moore
2015: Ben Crocker
Now they've got Noah Anderson and Matthew Rowell who are top 2 on a lot of draft boards.

If Carey don't have Gaff/Macrae/Viney/Moore drafted. Why are Anderson/Rowell and their parents choosing to sign a sports scholarship at Carey? As opposed to Haileybury/Xavier/Brighton? Dean Anderson played for St Kilda and Hawthorn. He's not sending his kids to a school that don't produce football talent.

Is Todd Viney sending Jack to Carey if they didn't have Gaff drafted a couple of years earlier and coming through the school certainly from y7 if not earlier from a skinny, short kid to the fourth selection in that 2010 draft.

All those schools are all about building up that alumni list and producing more notable people than the next school.

With Scotch College historically dominating the Head of the River rowing and producing relatively more Olympic rowers than the other Victorian schools. If your kid can row, a lot of parents would choose to send their kids to Scotch with that knowledge.

Same applies with other sports or other elements of their programs.

Are Rowell, Anderson and Williams making the trip up north this weekend or does their school commitments start

Unless the selectors don't feel they need to see them again, the Vic U18 trials are happening with x2 Metro v Country games happening this Saturday. That's where most of the Victorian talent will be.

We'll see more of the Tasmanian's this year and one or two others can pop up. O'Neill is the one who will pretty clearly go. I wouldn't discount others going later.

From Sandringham of those on my watchlist:
APS:
Mahony - St Kevins
Maginness - Scotch
Ralphsmith (Haileybury)
Dean (Wesley)
Butler (Brighton)
Mifsud (Melbourne Grammar)
Worrell (Haileybury)

Outside of APS:
Byrnes
Bergman
Watts

Overagers (available):
Hanrahan
Bowman

Reputation and the recruitment of more quality sporting talents and that snowballs.

Carey are a great example of this because until 2010 largely no one from there was drafted:
2010: Andrew Gaff (and Sam Crocker) drafted.
- prior to this Daniel Jackson top of mind is the only success story I can think of who had a long term career. *any apologies if I've missed anyone.
With Gaff having had success:
2012: Jack Macrae, Kristian Jaksch, Nathan Hrovat, Jack Viney and Jason Ashby drafted.
With Macrae and Viney so successful from that group:
2014: Darcy Moore
2015: Ben Crocker
Now they've got Noah Anderson and Matthew Rowell who are top 2 on a lot of draft boards.

If Carey don't have Gaff/Macrae/Viney/Moore drafted. Why are Anderson/Rowell and their parents choosing to sign a sports scholarship at Carey? As opposed to Haileybury/Xavier/Brighton? Dean Anderson played for St Kilda and Hawthorn. He's not sending his kids to a school that don't produce football talent.

Is Todd Viney sending Jack to Carey if they didn't have Gaff drafted a couple of years earlier and coming through the school certainly from y7 if not earlier from a skinny, short kid to the fourth selection in that 2010 draft.

All those schools are all about building up that alumni list and producing more notable people than the next school.

With Scotch College historically dominating the Head of the River rowing and producing relatively more Olympic rowers than the other Victorian schools. If your kid can row, a lot of parents would choose to send their kids to Scotch with that knowledge.

Same applies with other sports or other elements of their programs.

Unless the selectors don't feel they need to see them again, the Vic U18 trials are happening with x2 Metro v Country games happening this Saturday. That's where most of the Victorian talent will be.
Wouldn’t happen to know the starting times for the trial games KM? I would assume they are at IKON as usual.

10:30 and 12:30 on Saturday at Ikon (or whatever it's called this year) from I understand.

Mid season rookie draft.. any plans for a phantom?

Not something that has occurred to me.

If enough teams will be active and there is enough interest, I'll consider it and/or a review.

If not, can always comment on twitter if there are standout pickups.

Not something that has occurred to me.

If enough teams will be active and there is enough interest, I'll consider it and/or a review.

If not, can always comment on twitter if there are standout pickups.
Would be interesting. Which kids have kicked on from last year who weren't drafted

I've mentioned a lot of overagers in my weekly wrap this week. There is a lot of them producing.

Just from Div 2:
GWS: Peatling, Lucas, Murray
Syd: McKellar
NT: S.Cumming
Tas: M.McGuiness

VIC: Dunkley (Gippsland), Ellison (Dandenong), Clarke (Western), Schmidt (Dandenong), Hanrahan (Sandy), Hirst (Eastern) and Reid (Geelong VFL) is a very cutdown version of some of my preferred Victorian overagers and probably my preferred and ahead of some of the more highly regarded.

I've mentioned a lot of overagers in my weekly wrap this week. There is a lot of them producing.

Just from Div 2:
GWS: Peatling, Lucas, Murray
Syd: McKellar
NT: S.Cumming
Tas: M.McGuiness

VIC: Dunkley (Gippsland), Ellison (Dandenong), Clarke (Western), Schmidt (Dandenong), Hanrahan (Sandy), Hirst (Eastern) and Reid (Geelong VFL) is a very cutdown version of some of my preferred Victorian overagers and probably my preferred and ahead of some of the more highly regarded.

I dont think Kyle Reid played for the Geelong VFL against Rich. however Charlie Wilson did .. 3rd most goals in the TAC last year ..and no interest from any clubs? Was there a particular knock on him..? Only 180cm?

And a question on the other Wilson thats in the news this week Tom Wilson is moving from Basketball to football , can you remember him from the u16's.. do you have any expectation on what he could be as a player..?

I dont think Kyle Reid played for the Geelong VFL against Rich. however Charlie Wilson did .. 3rd most goals in the TAC last year ..and no interest from any clubs? Was there a particular knock on him..? Only 180cm?

And a question on the other Wilson thats in the news this week Tom Wilson is moving from Basketball to football , can you remember him from the u16's.. do you have any expectation on what he could be as a player..?

Can't speak on Tom Wilson until I've seen him play. Don't have the time to watch u16s. A win for the AFL though it's sounding like.

Charlie Wilson is one I feel should have gotten drafted but the interest in clubland (and I'm not sure of the reason) wasn't as high as his performance would suggest. He's a good forward - hits the scoreboard. Forward pressure good. Capable mark and even push behind the ball and intercept. Can push through the midfield and win it. Feels like a case of one of those where clubs just favoured someone else instead, but ignored the obvious guy. He's another who should definitely be tracked this season.

Can't speak on Tom Wilson until I've seen him play. Don't have the time to watch u16s. A win for the AFL though it's sounding like.

Charlie Wilson is one I feel should have gotten drafted but the interest in clubland (and I'm not sure of the reason) wasn't as high as his performance would suggest. He's a good forward - hits the scoreboard. Forward pressure good. Capable mark and even push behind the ball and intercept. Can push through the midfield and win it. Feels like a case of one of those where clubs just favoured someone else instead, but ignored the obvious guy. He's another who should definitely be tracked this season.

Thanks for that .. your info , as always , is much valued and appreciated.

CW went well in the VFL for Geelong , and knowing the way the like to recruit he has probably picked a good club to play VFL for.

TW ..just thought you may have has some info.. it will be interesting to see who he selects and what role best fits him. Pies and Cats seem to be the front runner..both have had some success in Rookie B players.. At 194 , and his point skills.. be one big mid is he plays there.

Thats for that .. your info as alway is much valued and appreciated.

CW went well in the VFL for Geelong , and knowing the way the like to recruit he has probably picked a good club to play VFL for.

TW ..just thought you may have has some info.. it will be interesting to see who he selects and what role best fits him. Pies and Cats seem to be the front runner..both have had some success in Rookie B players.. At 194 , and his point skills.. be one big mid is he plays there.

Can't say I know anything more than is being reported. Extra growth is handy and given he has the footy behind him previously seems like a good get as a cat b rookie in the way Alex Keath has been for Adelaide.

I see you rate dean as a Ben Brown type forward .I see him more as a tom lynch from crows type but agree.

Do you reckon he's game can translate to the top level as it appears kicking and set shots are elite and not so much his marking and being 193cm it's a hard seeing him being a power forward

I see you rate dean as a Ben Brown type forward .I see him more as a tom lynch from crows type but agree.

Do you reckon he's game can translate to the top level as it appears kicking and set shots are elite and not so much his marking and being 193cm it's a hard seeing him being a power forward

In my week 2 review: http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/26426279/is-charlie-dean-best-key-forward-afl-draft
I went with Dean having a style of game more similar to Jarryd Roughead. He's more a mobile forward, good at ground level. I normally like his set shot goalkicking through I concede it wasn't great today.

He can get stronger but I agree he isn't likely to become a power forward as he isn't that power marking type.

He's one at this stage I feel has a chance to translate. And if might not necessarily be as a key forward, as he showed in 2018 he can play key defence and do it pretty well.

In my week 2 review: http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/26426279/is-charlie-dean-best-key-forward-afl-draft
I went with Dean having a style of game more similar to Jarryd Roughead. He's more a mobile forward, good at ground level. I normally like his set shot goalkicking through I concede it wasn't great today.

He can get stronger but I agree he isn't likely to become a power forward as he isn't that power marking type.

He's one at this stage I feel has a chance to translate. And if might not necessarily be as a key forward, as he showed in 2018 he can play key defence and do it pretty well.

Cheers man. He has a lot of hype down at Sandy but I must say I've not seen him play down back.
Is it harsh to say this year crop is weak? Some of the under 16 and 17 year olds blokes playing this year have taken my eye.

Errol at the swans.clarke.collins at the knights..

Cheers man. He has a lot of hype down at Sandy but I must say I've not seen him play down back.
Is it harsh to say this year crop is weak? Some of the under 16 and 17 year olds blokes playing this year have taken my eye.

Errol at the swans.clarke.collins at the knights..

Watching the Vic Metro v Country trials on the weekend I don't think it's overly harsh to call this year's draft shallow.

Is next year all that much better though? Watching the underagers involved on the weekend I found myself relatively disappointed on the weekend. Walsh was selected by Country on name alone it felt like and is a show one thing a moment to keep recruiters intrigued and do nothing the rest of the game type. Campbell Edwardes was another top of mind who I felt highly underwhelmed watching and didn't get why he was out there either.

I like the top end this year. The top 5, top 10. There is some quality. Anything after that, the expected quality I consider lower than most other years and certainly lower than last year across the board. This year is a year you really want those top end picks for some of those top mids. Green, Anderson, Rowell, Flanders and Kemp. Williams, Stephens and Taheny may be others who could enter that quality discussion. But that really top group I see all of them having the scope to become exceptional. But after that it's going to take good talent ID to get the most out of this draft.

I love that the AFL are finally showing these games as it gives the casual fan so much more to work with rather than seeing a 3 minute highlight video taken across 2 games in the U18 championship.

It's fantastic having the NAB League games all streamed live and free. I'm in heaven, and having had the flu the last few weeks it's been a godsend. Though it was great being able to get down to Visy to watch Metro v Country yesterday and not have to just watch on from home.

Are the U18 Champs going to be streamed free online this year? Or it is all Foxtel again I'm presuming for a small number of games? It's been pretty pathetic over the years how little vision these has been with only say 4 games in the whole series televised and nothing else available anywhere else.

Watching the Vic Metro v Country trials on the weekend I don't think it's overly harsh to call this year's draft shallow.

Is next year all that much better though? Watching the underagers involved on the weekend I found myself relatively disappointed on the weekend. Walsh was selected by Country on name alone it felt like and is a show one thing a moment to keep recruiters intrigued and do nothing the rest of the game type. Campbell Edwardes was another top of mind who I felt highly underwhelmed watching and didn't get why he was out there either.

I like the top end this year. The top 5, top 10. There is some quality. Anything after that, the expected quality I consider lower than most other years and certainly lower than last year across the board. This year is a year you really want those top end picks for some of those top mids. Green, Anderson, Rowell, Flanders and Kemp. Williams, Stephens and Taheny may be others who could enter that quality discussion. But that really top group I see all of them having the scope to become exceptional. But after that it's going to take good talent ID to get the most out of this draft.

It's fantastic having the NAB League games all streamed live and free. I'm in heaven, and having had the flu the last few weeks it's been a godsend. Though it was great being able to get down to Visy to watch Metro v Country yesterday and not have to just watch on from home.

Are the U18 Champs going to be streamed free online this year? Or it is all Foxtel again I'm presuming for a small number of games? It's been pretty pathetic over the years how little vision these has been with only say 4 games in the whole series televised and nothing else available anywhere else.
Hi Knightmare who do you see as the 3 best midsin the 2019 draft and how do they compare to Sam Walsh
Also who do you see as the best key fwd prospect ?

Hi Knightmare who do you see as the 3 best mids in the 2019 draft and how do they compare to Sam Walsh

Any genuine ruckman coming thru ?
Have heard a bit about Luke Jackson but will he be taller enough to mix it with the big boys down the track ?

Hi Knightmare who do you see as the 3 best midsin the 2019 draft and how do they compare to Sam Walsh

They're all different to Walsh.

Thomas Green (GWS Academy), Noah Anderson and Matthew Rowell are my top 3 at the moment through Brodie Kemp has the talent to enter the conversation. Other than Rowell, the other three at tall 190cm and taller mids.

Green your inside stoppage specialist. Anderson your high impact type who wins it inside but also impacts games forward. Rowell as a smaller ball winner and possibly the most advanced/ready. Kemp more that extreme explosive tall mid but with the versatility to play either end in addition to as that ball winning mid.

Check out my power rankings on page one for more or my weekly wraps where I have already covered Anderson and Kemp in rounds 1+3 and given them a decent writeup.

Other than Rowell, with those others being much taller mids, they're not going to have the immediate impact or production of Walsh. More upside? Green and Anderson both have the capabilities to be better. Kemp if things go right though until he becomes a higher volume ball winner I'm not going to go that crazy on him.

Best KPF? In that Jordan De Goey way. Noah Anderson as that medium key forward is the most dangerous forward and can impact games like no other forward of centre but may also be the best mid in the draft. Brodie Kemp I'd have the next most faith in as a key forward or key defender for that matter but I see him as that Jarrod Berry + some extra hot sauce kind of mid. Outside of them and looking at more your genuine KPPs, it's looking more late first round or second round at a Charlie Dean who has had the hottest start of the key forwards. Liam Delahunty from GWS Academy is that other good KPF who is contending with Dean as potentially that first key forward taken.

Scary thing is after seeing how the Swans are going this year I am genuinely reading what you wrote about the top 3 midfielders in the draft and wondering which one the Swans might get. Won't get Green as he is going to GWS, but Rowell or Anderson sound promising.

It's a weird, unpredictable competition this year. I'm on 17 correct tips four rounds in. Even in the days of the 16 team competition I don't recall having such a pitiful score four rounds in. 1-18 it's like any team can beat any team.

On Sydney, while he hasn't been much spoken about but when Daniel Menzel is healthy and available for senior selection I expect Sydney to look better as he can be a genuine i50 option and allow Heeney to be released into the midfield for greater minutes.

Sydney are project at this stage to finish somewhere around 15th I'm predicting at this stage based on what I'm seeing and that's down to simply how young of a team Sydney is putting out on the park each week with Sydney showing weakness in each zone of the ground.

That may mean a Brodie Kemp could be around where Sydney may be picking. Maybe a Matthew Rowell if others rise meaningfully up draft boards. Maybe Sam Flanders. It's mostly Noah Anderson unless Sydney come last, I don't see being available.

The top 5 or so is strong this year, so if Sydney have a down year, it's not the end of the world and someone good can be had.

Thomas Green (GWS Academy), Noah Anderson and Matthew Rowell are my top 3 at the moment through Brodie Kemp has the talent to enter the conversation. Other than Rowell, the other three at tall 190cm and taller mids.

Green your inside stoppage specialist. Anderson your high impact type who wins it inside but also impacts games forward. Rowell as a smaller ball winner and possibly the most advanced/ready. Kemp more that extreme explosive tall mid but with the versatility to play either end in addition to as that ball winning mid.

Check out my power rankings on page one for more or my weekly wraps where I have already covered Anderson and Kemp in rounds 1+3 and given them a decent writeup.

Other than Rowell, with those others being much taller mids, they're not going to have the immediate impact or production of Walsh. More upside? Green and Anderson both have the capabilities to be better. Kemp if things go right though until he becomes a higher volume ball winner I'm not going to go that crazy on him.

Best KPF? In that Jordan De Goey way. Noah Anderson as that medium key forward is the most dangerous forward and can impact games like no other forward of centre but may also be the best mid in the draft. Brodie Kemp I'd have the next most faith in as a key forward or key defender for that matter but I see him as that Jarrod Berry + some extra hot sauce kind of mid. Outside of them and looking at more your genuine KPPs, it's looking more late first round or second round at a Charlie Dean who has had the hottest start of the key forwards. Liam Delahunty from GWS Academy is that other good KPF who is contending with Dean as potentially that first key forward taken.

Albeit against a weakened Nth Knights - Green 38 touches (27 contested) 13 clearances

They're the games he is capable of.

I've never seen a ball winning midfielder doing that at this age. And even last year doing what he did in the NEAFL, U18 Champs.

He's remarkable and at number one in my April Power Rankings for a reason.

Cheers knightmare 👍much appreciated