Mega Thread Coronavirus & the AFL - season postponed. (Thread part 1 - cont in part 2, link in thread)

Has the coronavirus outbreak made you reconsider attending the footy

• Yes

Votes: 285 44.9%
  • No

Votes: 350 55.1%

Didn’t seem normal to me.

AFL look massively out of step and greedy.

It was nowhere near normal
... it actually made me feel worse and not because we lost either.
Having no one there is just not right.
It felt hollow, this is the biggest show in sport in this country and it was like a funeral.

This is absolutely ****ed what is going on in this world at the moment and the world and citizens needs to pull our heads out of our collective arses... Stop worrying about debating whether you can be a boy or a girl in life and realise that while we have been sleeping for the last 20 years the Chinese have bought half of our country and half of the countries in the western world. We are no better off for it in fact they are better off and we are worse off.

On top of this they have delivered a plague to the modern world and shut down our economies and millions will die and suffer.

but im sure the China game will be back on next year... we’ll be selling mansions and apartments to the Chinese to make developers rich in 2021... we’ll sell more iron ore to China than anywhere else... we’ll sell what’s left of our cattle stations to them... we’ll sell our water.... we’ll sell the best spots in our universities to them as well....manufacturing they took a while back but whatever is left can go there too. * it sell the joint..., all the while Australian youth and our middle class will be left further behind..on top of that there will be health implications to those who survive Coronavirus for years to come.

yes well done to the western world - well played. They’ve taken the piss out of everyone and if things don’t change from here I’m not sure we can be salvaged.

rant over it’s been an emotional night!

In my opinion it will become a permanent thing even after this season as money talks. Fox will love the thought of being able to schedule 9 games without overlap. 7 will love that they can have more Thursday night games as games can start after 7.30 and finish at 10pm, reckon last year's Grand final will be the last ever 20 minute quarter at AFL level. For example this Sunday Fox will love that all three games can be shown live on 504 instead of our game against the Hawks being on 503. As long as the Channel 7 game finishes at 6pm 7 will be happy as well.

Screenshot_20200319-221943.jpg

Whether I actually like it or not it is too hard to judge from just one game.

A 2% death rate is enormous. Much much higher than common cold, flu, swine flu etc.
Hopefully it's closer to 1% with overestimation based on undertesting + flattening the curve measures

1% would still be very impactful though given the virulence and likely infection numbers.

There are reported cases of death in under 10s. So it can happen.

However, the point is that it can make people of any age CRITICALLY ill, even if they don't die. This is the major point that is being repeated about COVID, ICU beds and flattening the curve. It is expected that ~5% of cases will be severe/critical, and then hopefully "only" 1-2% die. People may survive but need ventilation for a week or more.

Also, you won't get a 'verified source and evidence' - the patient sounds like they are in a critical state, in ICU. Those stats are not collected at the time, they will be retrospective, and we will get a feel for those numbers down the track. As mentioned, based on early data, could be in the realm of 5%, hopefully a bit less than this.

Flatten that ******* curve bro

The hand shaking was a ******* disgrace. No need for it, the whole point of sportspeople not shaking hands before and after games is to discourage the masses from doing it. It’s a symbolic act that the whole sporting world embraced for a few weeks before sports were shut down. Here in greedy AFL boofhead land its a case of * it we’ll just do things our dumbass aussie way. Jurgen Klopp even told some of his own fans to eff off when they tried to hi-5 him a few weeks. They had been warned. I sincerely hope everyone can avoid this virus but no special medical treatment for anyone in AFL land. Join the queue like the rest of us peasants.

Didn’t seem normal to me.

AFL look massively out of step and greedy.

Orrrrrrrrr

We are Australians and part of our culture is giving a big * you to problems and laughing in the face of danger.

I for one was glad to have the footy back even if it was a predictable s**t show against Carlton.

Was a positive to take people's minds off the corona s**t for 16 minute quarters.

How about shutting the * up about the negativity and focus on the positives for a change.

The hand shaking was a ******* disgrace. No need for it, the whole point of sportspeople not shaking hands before and after games is to discourage the masses from doing it. It’s a symbolic act that the whole sporting world embraced for a few weeks before sports were shut down. Here in greedy AFL boofhead land its a case of fu** it we’ll just do things our dumbass aussie way. Jurgen Klopp even told some of his own fans to eff off when they tried to hi-5 him a few weeks. They had been warned. I sincerely hope everyone can avoid this virus but no special medical treatment for anyone in AFL land. Join the queue like the rest of us peasants.

The players tackled and fell on each other and all held the same ball for over an hour and youre worried about a handshake?
* sake Charlie...

The hand shaking was a ******* disgrace. No need for it, the whole point of sportspeople not shaking hands before and after games is to discourage the masses from doing it. It’s a symbolic act that the whole sporting world embraced for a few weeks before sports were shut down. Here in greedy AFL boofhead land its a case of fu** it we’ll just do things our dumbass aussie way. Jurgen Klopp even told some of his own fans to eff off when they tried to hi-5 him a few weeks. They had been warned. I sincerely hope everyone can avoid this virus but no special medical treatment for anyone in AFL land. Join the queue like the rest of us peasants.
Don't shake hands but play a contact sport that involved heavy tackling for 100 minutes? That would have looked stupider, and no doubt the same people criticizing for the handshakes would be making that exact same comment if they hadn't.

When WA closes it's borders, that'll be it.
Or implements controls similar to Tassie where ‘non essential travellers’ need to go into self isolation for 2 weeks. This is a better alternative than closing borders.
Wonder how state govts will interpret travelling sports men and women. Probably turn a blind eye...wink wink, nudge nudge, say no more!

Don't shake hands but play a contact sport that involved heavy tackling for 100 minutes? That would have looked stupider, and no doubt the same people criticizing for the handshakes would be making that exact same comment if they hadn't.
What looks even stupider is the AFL money machine letting all this happen. Whilst I lather myself in alcohol based hand sanitation and wash my hands upwards of 6 times in my 8 hour shift at work every day, grown men are grapling, sweating on each other and thus increasing the risks of infection in front of empty stadiums in order to satisfy AFL contractual obligations. All this whilst the government uses teachers to basically babysit other peoples childrens. The whole world is not playing sport, the whole world is closing its schools. We’re not, who ******* stupid here?

Scoring was way up tonight compared to last year..fresher players=higher scoring it seems. Rules committee could have egg on their face if this trend continues with regards to the interchange cap.

Games are too long. No one wants to watch a neutral game that goes for 2 hours and 40 minutes on TV. I'm a believer that your team and crowds overrules neutrals but I also think families are questioning a long day at the footy and all the various start times just aren't going anywhere. If you're going to start games at 7:50pm, 4:40 Sunday and even 3:20 Sunday in winter then they have to be over faster than they are currently. 2:10 Saturday stay at the game for 3 hours is over.

But I still want 20 minutes of action per quarter. 80 minutes of total action is a great amount.

If serious improvements aren't made in shortening quarters from 30 down towards 25 then at some stage I think the 20 minute time will have to reduce.

So where's the delays:

1. Score reviews
2. Throw ins/ball ups
3. Injuries - blood rules and head knocks
4. Umpire delays

1) Score reviews have to be faster or go. Make them 20 seconds max apart from finals. And have the goal umpires call for them.

2) I like banning 3rd man up and nominations are needed but have the 2 rucks nominate for the day and put the onus on anyone else to nominate before they go up. Get the boundary umpires to throw it in as soon as they can, don't wait for players.

3) Head knocks could come straight off the ground and be replaced straight away if the player has to sit for 20 minutes anyway, speed it up. The blood rule is a bit over officiated but probably not the time to change that.

4) No more telling players off for arguing or push and shoves, pay free kicks or ball it up. No more resetting the mark if a player won't go behind it, call a ball up. No more yelling at players for not being over the boundary line after out on the fulls - call a throw in. No more Razor Ray ted talks.

Scoring was way up tonight compared to last year..fresher players=higher scoring it seems. Rules committee could have egg on their face if this trend continues with regards to the interchange cap.
Richmond ran a training drill around a hapless and shellshocked Carlton for a half then eased right off. Carlton then showed they have some talent once they got settled. Not convinced scoring will stay up.

Might be the impact without crowds as well. Players should feel less pressure to stuff up and take some more risks.

From a report.

The deadly coronavirus has been met with a bit of a shrug among some in the under-50 set in the United States. Even as public health officials repeatedly urged social distancing, the young and hip spilled out of bars on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. They gleefully hopped on flights, tweeting about the rock-bottom airfares. And they gathered in packs on beaches.
Their attitudes were based in part on early data from China, which suggested covid-19 might seriously sicken or kill the elderly — but spare the young.
Stark new data from the United States and Europe suggests otherwise.
A Centers for Disease Control and Prevention analysis of U.S. cases from Feb. 12 to March 16 that was released Wednesday shows that 38 percent of those sick enough to be hospitalized were younger than 55 years.

Earlier this week, French health ministry official Jérôme Salomon said half the 300 to 400 coronavirus patients treated in ICUs in Paris were younger than 65 years and, according to numbers presented at a seminar of intensive care specialists, half the ICU patients in the Netherlands were under the age of 50.