Analysis Coronavirus - The Impact II

For WA there is every chance of a spike caused by infections from the plague cruise ship escapees.

On hoarding/panic buying. Has anyone noticed a slowdown yet? Surely once every panic buyer has a stock of 100 toilet rolls and 30 hand sanitisers and 25 packs of pasta they drop out of the purchasing race and the supply chain catches up and it gets more normal for the rest of us.
Or do those idiots just keep going for more and more?
They cant escape - they are being sent straight to hospital or quarantine on an island (rotnest).

I went to Coles today and they are slowly getting back. They had more meat and even tissues. No TP or chicken though.

They cant escape - they are being sent straight to hospital or quarantine on an island (rotnest).

I went to Coles today and they are slowly getting back. They had more meat and even tissues. No TP or chicken though.
The chicken is a supply issue. One of the major suppliers is down to half capacity. Will stay that way for another 3 months as that is the maturity timeline from egg to roasting.

What a clickbait title. We only had 10 or less ICU coronavirus patients, so that means there are probably only 10 new ones.

At the moment, we are not seeing mass numbers of WA based residents needing ICU, so in a way, now is a good time to have the cruise ships rock up, because we have capacity. I'm sure If it gets to a point where we have to choose between a foreign national and a local for ICU, then the foreigner will be off the respirator. I doubt it will get to that point in 2 weeks.

What a clickbait title. We only had 10 or less ICU coronavirus patients, so that means there are probably only 10 new ones.

At the moment, we are not seeing mass numbers of WA based residents needing ICU, so in a way, now is a good time to have the cruise ships rock up, because we have capacity. I'm sure If it gets to a point where we have to choose between a foreign national and a local for ICU, then the foreigner will be off the respirator. I doubt it will get to that point in 2 weeks.
My level of concern about these ships is quite low. It's an exercise in logistics and being extra cautious, absolutely. Every infected person is a potential source of spread. But our hospital system is not remotely overloaded atm so this is as good a time as any to get them in, get them healthy, and send them home.
And as far as the stats go, who cares. If foreigners are temporarily added to WA stats then they will also be removed from them once they leave. On the official death tally, the Diamond Princess still counts as its own category, so that is a possibility for the Artania as well.

Fingers crossed that everyone stays safe through this. Speaking about this with friends who are doctors and nurses, it sounds like Perth is prepared for a lot worse than this. Now it's just a matter of everyone strictly following the protocols.

[Edited to add] Ok, now immediately less confident upon just learning that Hollywood & Bethesda have been selected as their destination. Very weird decision. Why pick places that aren't already geared up.

My level of concern about these ships is quite low. It's an exercise in logistics and being extra cautious, absolutely. Every infected person is a potential source of spread. But our hospital system is not remotely overloaded atm so this is as good a time as any to get them in, get them healthy, and send them home.
And as far as the stats go, who cares. If foreigners are temporarily added to WA stats then they will also be removed from them once they leave. On the official death tally, the Diamond Princess still counts as its own category, so that is a possibility for the Artania as well.

Fingers crossed that everyone stays safe through this. Speaking about this with friends who are doctors and nurses, it sounds like Perth is prepared for a lot worse than this. Now it's just a matter of everyone strictly following the protocols.

[Edited to add] Ok, now immediately less confident upon just learning that Hollywood & Bethesda have been selected as their destination. Very weird decision. Why pick places that aren't already geared up.

Want to keep public beds open.

I want to know whats thepersonal impact this has had on everyone here?

Personally a small amount of anxiety due to fools panic buying everything. Even baby nurofen/panadol & ventolin.

Fortunatley i still have a job (for now) on temporarily reduced hours. We have a small amount saving in the bank should the worst happen. Would have had much more of a buffer had my ford XR6 transmission not give out for the 3rd time a 2 months ago so upgrading that to a new kluger for the family.
I'm in a fortunate position. My wife and I still have our jobs for now although hers was only part time before the crisis. I expect to be stood down or go to part time at some point, but the company I work for will recover once the shutdown measures end. We've also built a healthy buffer in our offset; we could survive 12 months or more with zero income if we absolutely had to.

I certainly can't complain when there are casual workers and business owners who've lost all of their income.

The current measures aren't sustainable for more than a month or two, or it will get to the stage that the economic impact will be worse than the virus risk. No government has the money to underwrite their economy through handouts for any length of time. They will have to break ranks and reopen for business. (Don't want to mention Trump but he will do it and take their chances with the virus; he's not going to be stuck in charge of a major economic depression in a re-election year).

Have you seen the figures on covid in the us?

they are fkkkkd - up 17000 yesterday and they have only tested 300000 people - to put it in perspective weve tested 150000 and we have 20 mill vs their 300 mill

covid is a freight train that is going to absolutely beat the living s**t out of the us.

if i was a democrat id be happy to let the republicans win and leave them to pick up the pieces of the mess trumps caused.
Knowing the USA, they will just shrug their shoulders from it because the majority of deaths will be elderly, people with existing illnesses and homeless/poor. It's tragic but it will run through their country far quicker than ours, which will allow their economy to get back on track first.

For WA there is every chance of a spike caused by infections from the plague cruise ship escapees.

On hoarding/panic buying. Has anyone noticed a slowdown yet? Surely once every panic buyer has a stock of 100 toilet rolls and 30 hand sanitisers and 25 packs of pasta they drop out of the purchasing race and the supply chain catches up and it gets more normal for the rest of us.
I think if there's dunny paper in the store people buy it whether they need it or not. We bought some a couple of weeks ago but haven't seen any since, don't have any hand sanitizer or gloves, rarer than rocking horse s**t.
We ordered some Zoono online, a hand sanitizer that is supposed to protect you for up to 8 hrs and 24hrs on surfaces. Dunno if it works or not but the companies share price has gone up 2,500% since September. Would've loved me some of that action.

This was from the UK, but wouldn't be surprised if similar happened here

Knowing the USA, they will just shrug their shoulders from it because the majority of deaths will be elderly, people with existing illnesses and homeless/poor. It's tragic but it will run through their country far quicker than ours, which will allow their economy to get back on track first.
I don't agree with the sentiment of your post, but it's bang on as a prediction.

Yep. They are probably trying sort out their massive homeless problem as horrible as it sounds.
Well for a few years at least.

Went to woolies after work today and there was about 30 packs of toilet paper!!!!!! It's been nearly 4 weeks since I bought it and we were running on squares.
omEikYU.jpg

The numpties go in for more and more. Was at the shops today. No toilet paper, pasta or eggs lol

Anyone involved in junior footy?

Seems like there has been zero communication about where the season is going bar 31st May review.

With lots of folks looking like being in a pretty crook financial position shortly I can see footy club treasurers coming under a lot of pressure around rego refunds.

Hopefully there is some direction coming through from the WAFC soon as it is a pretty rough position to put volunteers into without any guidance or strategy from above I reckon.

Same in wa - reckon places where people predominately live in high density housing will suffer the worst
New York didn't do themselves any favours by going against the early government directives and kept function and gathering going .

Massive balls up by the NY state government

New York didn't do themselves any favours by going against the early government directives and kept function and gathering going .

NY is getting smashed, almost 50% of cases in the country are in the NY metro area. 60% of new cases originating in that area. The country in general has a testing problem, they just aren't doing enough of it.

Yep. As per my previous post the NYC mayor was encouraging people to get out and socialise.

I honestly don’t know why he isn’t getting more stick for this.