Suns in the Media - Part I

Here is the interview for anybody who wants to watch it on YouTube. Found it very insightful and I had a good laugh at how Tony deflected ideas or bit back at clearly barbed questions.

Riewoldt having a massive sook and Tony not taking a backward step. Loved it

But are you optimistic about the future?

As an outsider its hard to imagine the Suns being so far being GWS terms of Win/Loss and overall impact of the competition. The Sunshine Coast surely has a bigger appetite for AFL in comparison to West Sydney and yet the club is flagging.

On this site, there's a link to a pdf form......if you haven't read it already, do yourself a favour and check it out.

That not an excuse for how we were set up but the AFL certainly did a lot better job one year later........

You’ve been reading too much Vic media.

It’s been done to death on this forum but the set up of the clubs and zones are chalk and cheese. A case for a Vic club such as yours in a saturated market that has had no success for 60 years makes more sense but is as likely as the VFL closing down the Suns in the fastest growing Part of the country, neithers going to happen

You’ve been reading too much Vic media.

It’s been done to death on this forum but the set up of the clubs and zones are chalk and cheese. A case for a Vic club such as yours in a saturated market that has had no success for 60 years makes more sense but is as likely as the VFL closing down the Suns in the fastest growing Part of the country, neithers going to happen

Yet its a market on face value going nowhere when you factor in the amount of money the AFL have invested in prioritising Queensland and NSW over key markets specifically Tasmania, NT and Country SA.

The AFL should have never have expanded beyond 16 teams or considered expansion without either relocating some Vic Teams or giving them the gun which has not helped GC's predicament.

Yet its a market on face value going nowhere when you factor in the amount of money the AFL have invested in prioritising Queensland and NSW over key markets specifically Tasmania, NT and Country SA.

The AFL should have never have expanded beyond 16 teams or considered expansion without either relocating some Vic Teams or giving them the gun which has not helped GC's predicament.
You have a very short sighted view.
The AFL in expansion was planning for the next 20 to 30 years. Did you ever read the strategic plan in relation to AFL expansion.
They probably also a predicted a lot of Victorians (like myself) would want out of the place (as they are currently doing in droves) and the Aussie Rules market would boom up north as it currently is.
Anyway thanks for your wisdom now jump in the Range Rover and head off to the snow.
BTW NSW and QLD make up 52 % of the Australian population. The AFL know what they are doing.

And there's another error in your opinion, Tasmania, NT and Country SA are NOT key markets.........in your eyes, yes they probably are........but the TV/Sports channels and their advertisers who pay for the TV rights have a different view......and when NSW and QLD have 52% of the pop, where do you, in all honesty, think the AFL are going to spend that money, to grow the game......especially when those 3 "key markets" have a total pop. of approx 1.2million while NSW and QLD are sitting at 13.3 million at last count...

I'm sure you mean well, but if you're going to come on a Suns thread, and convey aspersions towards our existence, you need to do more research.
Having done that, and then understanding the error of your ways, then you can jump in your Land Rover and head off to the snow...
Take care and have a safe trip..........

The Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast are not the same place.

There’s about 200km, and a city called Brisbane, in between them.

Were you optimistic about your Clubs future 10 years ago. Or even before that when the front office wanted to merge you with Hawthorn and you all got your flags out and went off.

Just a quick aside, but expansion clubs in all sports are hard to get right.

On face value, the AFL have somehow managed to get GWS looking fairly solid and have failed with the GC so far.

Reckon that is about the expected return from expansion after 10/11 years when the AFL have also had to help out a number of other struggling Melbourne clubs.

(Like shoe-horning Roos and Jackson into the Demons and footing most of that bill. PRoos does not come cheap and not even his 2013 salary would fit into the modern day soft cap let alone the 2021 equivalent.)

One thing I am not optimistic about is having 9 Melbourne clubs all pretty strong at the same time. Does not compute.

As an old Fitzroy member, I am very comfortable in saying the comp really needs de-expansion in Melbourne to grow freely but since that is now impossible we end up pissing around in the margins trying to compensate for the idiotic structure of a national comp.

Just a quick aside, but expansion clubs in all sports are hard to get right.

On face value, the AFL have somehow managed to get GWS looking fairly solid and have failed with the GC so far.

Reckon that is about the expected return from expansion after 10/11 years when the AFL have also had to help out a number of other struggling Melbourne clubs.

(Like shoe-horning Roos and Jackson into the Demons and footing most of that bill. PRoos does not come cheap and not even his 2013 salary would fit into the modern day soft cap let alone the 2021 equivalent.)

One thing I am not optimistic about is having 9 Melbourne clubs all pretty strong at the same time. Does not compute.

As an old Fitzroy member, I am very comfortable in saying the comp really needs de-expansion in Melbourne to grow freely but since that is now impossible we end up pissing around in the margins trying to compensate for the idiotic structure of a national comp.

De-Expand Melbourne footy... has a ring to it.

I’ve argued for it numerous times.

One club moved to Tassie, one Club moved to to NT. Two clubs move to country Vic, I’ve proposed Ballarat and Aubrey.

Fold two Melbourne based clubs, leaving just 3 in the city.

Have a 16 team competition, with a full home and away, 30 round competition. Shorten the preseason, and move finals back.

For those missed the tweet lol

Talks about the boys partying on the weekend after the loss. How Southport are boasting they are the best club on the coast. Dew and his falling outs with staff. Cultural issues that how the draftees shouldn't have lived with the CEO.

Other stuff. lol

Gold Coast Suns football boss Jon Haines goes by the nickname “The Cameraman” at AFL HQ.
It’s a moniker Haines earned spectacularly for himself after filming senior coach Stuart Dew urinating on a pub wall and posting it to friends on WhatsApp.

Alcohol has never been far from the equation at the hapless Queensland expansion club, as it was last Saturday night when the beers were flowing freely for a large group of players at the Burleigh Pavilion in Burleigh Heads.

Fresh off a listless 50-point loss to Port Adelaide, the celebrations spilled over to a raucous house-party at nearby Burleigh Waters that wound up in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Young players are allowed a social life, but for several observers it was another warning sign that the wheels are again falling off at the AFL’s $250 million disaster club.

And while outspoken Suns chairman Tony Cochrane declared on Fox Footy on Monday night that he did not believe the “go-home” retention factor would be a problem this time around, others insist up to a dozen players, including top draft picks Ben Ainsworth, Will Brodie and Brayden Fiorini, are eyeing the exit door.

The delisting of the contracted Jarryd Lyons (a move not supported by Cochrane) has proved embarrassing, a generous five-year deal for Adelaide’s Rory Atkins raised eyebrows and Cochrane’s ill-timed barbs about Tasmania last week only shone a light back on his own club’s operations.

Despite entering the competition 12 months after the Suns, Greater Western Sydney has humiliated its older expansion brother with years of on-field excellence. The ground lost in player development and player welfare in the Suns’ formative years has never been made up.

When it was suggested to a senior Suns official a few years ago that he should hire highly-respected Giants welfare managers Craig and Melissa Lambert to help bolster player retention, the official openly laughed.

Kennedy told News Corp this week he had serious concerns about the club’s current leadership.

“There was a dismissiveness and a lack of acknowledgment about the problems at the club,” he said.

There was also a view that it was a mistake for prized draft picks Ben King and Jack Lukosius (and later Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson) to be living at Evans’ Gold Coast home, singling them out from teammates.

It goes to a “paranoia” one club figure said about the next batch of high-end talent walking out on the club.

Others say the forced exits of respected assistant coaches Dean Solomon, Nick Malceski and Ashley Prescott (as well as Hart and Kennedy) during last year’s Covid cuts ripped the soul out of the club.

They say it’s an indictment that many of the Suns’ sacked staff are now entrenched in key roles in local football – Malceski is coaching Labrador in the QAFL, while Steve Daniel, Matt Lappin and Matthew Primus are on the coaching panel at Southport.

Few past players, coaches or front office staff have ever left the club on good terms as the leaking of the damning Haines video last year demonstrated.