Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
This is as off topic as it comes but…
I’m here on the Gold Coast till Tuesday, have already wasted money on a family pass to dreamworld (what a disappointment that place is) … does anyone have a hook up for cheaper passes to sea world? Will squeeze a visit there on Monday.
Sorry to see that no one had a hook up for you mate, Hope you enjoyed your time on the Coast none the less.

Speaking of the beautiful Gold Coast...

It's almost peaceful in here, Wonder what changed this year.

Sorry to see that no one had a hook up for you mate, Hope you enjoyed your time on the Coast none the less.

Thought I would have a look at the list of Top contributors to this thread. Had to laugh a little.

Feb 27, 2005
Port Augusta
Gold Coast
QPR

Had a great time on the GC. Perfect weather. Nice and quiet, trouble free. Got to get to the picturesque Metricon stadium.
Bringing home Covid wasn’t part of the plan… but worth it.

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
1656075822431.png

It's all coming together...

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
Haven't got a clue what this post means.......all I know is a stunt is something to do with heart by pass......which is more in my line, at my age.

Oh! hang on, I think that's a shunt..........:oops:

Just dumb internet things Choppers

Oct 24, 2008
Mermaid Beach
Gold Coast
GWS, Celtics, 76ers

Attachments

• 9E6BD604-1490-42F1-8D7C-1FDB28F73281.png
    9E6BD604-1490-42F1-8D7C-1FDB28F73281.png
    206.5 KB · Views: 70

Brenton87

Aug 7, 2015
Gold Coast
I've just booked my family and I a trip to GC next January, besides all the typical attractions, theme parks etc, what are some other cool things that you locals can recommend to do? Keen to do a Metricon tour as well.

The Victorian

Oct 23, 2018
Victoria
Gold Coast
Storm, Western Utd
I've just booked my family and I a trip to GC next January, besides all the typical attractions, theme parks etc, what are some other cool things that you locals can recommend to do? Keen to do a Metricon tour as well.
There aren’t Metricon tours unfortunately. If you have a car, the tambourine mountain was amazing when I went.

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
Definitely a few things worth checking out. As stated above, Tamborine Mountain is nice and Springbrook National Park (Purling Brook Falls specifically) is a must for anyone who likes nature. The Gold Coast Hinterland is definitely an underrated area that not many people talk about but they're missing out IMO.

Most locals will tell you that Burleigh Beach should be much higher on the list than Surfers Paradise and I would highly recommend driving/walking up Burleigh Hill to take in the view of coastline. HOTA (Home Of The Arts) is worth seeing as well and be sure to visit the top level where you can take an amazing in the view of the Surfers Paradise/Broadbeach skyline. There are many nice restaurants in Broadbeach/Nobby Beach and if feel like dining out in a footy themed premises then you should check out the Southport Sharks. Star Casino is in Broadbeach if that tickles your fancy and it also includes an array of dining options. If you feel like some retail therapy then I'd recommend Pacific Fair (Broadbeach) or Robina Town Centre. If you feel like going for a stroll in a park then I'd recommend Broadwater Parklands in Southport.

Really depends on what you're into.

The Victorian

Oct 23, 2018
Victoria
Gold Coast
Storm, Western Utd
Definitely a few things worth checking out. As stated above, Tamborine Mountain is nice and Springbrook National Park (Purling Brook Falls specifically) is a must for anyone who likes nature. The Gold Coast Hinterland is definitely an underrated area that not many people talk about but they're missing out IMO.

Most locals will tell you that Burleigh Beach should be much higher on the list than Surfers Paradise and I would highly recommend driving/walking up Burleigh Hill to take in the view of coastline. HOTA (Home Of The Arts) is worth seeing as well and be sure to visit the top level where you can take an amazing in the view of the Surfers Paradise/Broadbeach skyline. There are many nice restaurants in Broadbeach/Nobby Beach and if feel like dining out in a footy themed premises then you should check out the Southport Sharks. Star Casino is in Broadbeach if that tickles your fancy and it also includes an array of dining options. If you feel like some retail therapy then I'd recommend Pacific Fair (Broadbeach) or Robina Town Centre. If you feel like going for a stroll in a park then I'd recommend Broadwater Parklands in Southport.

Some great ideas there! Thanks mate. I have been a regular up to the Goldy but these are some things I may check out too!

Oct 24, 2008
Mermaid Beach
Gold Coast
GWS, Celtics, 76ers

The hinterland is just spectacular, cutis falls walk in Tambourine is great but only one of many in the area, palm cove/ gully is other worldly

We really are blessed to live with the Sun, surf, rain forest, clean air and many of you fine people

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
Some great ideas there! Thanks mate. I have been a regular up to the Goldy but these are some things I may check out too!
I should have mentioned taking the ferry out to South Stradbroke Island as well. Tipplers is the spot most people head to but there are multiple options there.

The hinterland is just spectacular, cutis falls walk in Tambourine is great but only one of many in the area, palm cove/ gully is other worldly

We really are blessed to live with the Sun, surf, rain forest, clean air and many of you fine people
No doubt we're blessed. Brisbane is an hour to the north, Byron Bay is an hour to the south and we've got perfection in the middle :cool:

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
Can we start a welcome thread for Ace? I don't think one was ever created and his story to the AFL is incredible! If anyone deserves a thread, it's Ace. To get things started with his journey, here he is a pic of him playing for Broadbeach in the QAFL grand final back in 2018 where he kicked three goals for the Cats that day:

5LfJbn3.jpg

Sep 30, 2010
Katherine, NT
Gold Coast
Tampa Bay Buccaneers, TB Lightning,
Can we start a welcome thread for Ace? I don't think one was ever created and his story to the AFL is incredible! If anyone deserves a thread, it's Ace. To get things started with his journey, here he is a pic of him playing for Broadbeach in the QAFL grand final back in 2018 where he kicked three goals for the Cats that day:

5LfJbn3.jpg

Go for it

Jul 21, 2010
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Philadelphia 76ers
i reckon this area of metricon stadium should be unofficially named the izak rankine pocket. he's kicked a lot of spectacular goals from that pocket, wouldn't be surprised if the commentators start referring to it as this down the track.

Screenshot_20220714-202057~2.png

Feb 27, 2005
Port Augusta
Gold Coast
QPR
I got lucky one day..
On our honeymoon of all things..
Caught a bus to Metricon (well about a km away) non game day, pouring down with rain… but he’ll or high water we were getting to the club shop.
The lady at the counter took us for a tour of the stadium, was awesome.