Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

I caught a show during that tour too, main thing I remember about it was just how f#cking loud it was šŸ˜µā€šŸ’«

I don't really remember it even. He can't have been that impressive or I was a bit too munted to have banked it in my memory.

And yet people believe that so-and-so pedal with a Germanium capacitor is the greatest thing since sliced bread and will make you sound like Hendrix! Must kill people that believe that shit that a guy like Dimebag from Pantera played arena gigs through a solid state amp....... :roflv1:

And the amount of touring pros now that are playing through modellers!!!

There are good and bad pedals but it's like wine, at some point the benefits of paying more are so slight that you have to have exceptional senses to know the difference.

A mate I used to play with had a Marshall head stolen and replaced it with a cheaper Marshall solid-state from cash converters. Honestly couldn't tell the difference once it had a pedal through it.

Plenty of people who do pedal reviews are claiming that a lot of the $40 Chinese pedals have very little difference to their $300 premium competitors.

Like every hobby or interest there is a fair bit of wank about the whole thing. I have a pile of guitars and my favourite one to play is a cheap bullet Squire Strat. It just feels right, thin neck, nice weight, holds perfect tune, I don't give a **** about it so I can drop it or bang it and it isn't precious. It doesn't even have a tremolo it's so cheaply done but it sounds and feels better than the real Fender I have.

This Tasmanian is up and about today! Been a rollercoaster in the lead up to the vote in the state Legislative Council on the Stadium (and us having our own AFL team)

Think I will crack a Cascade Pale Ale my ol man always had a bottle of Cascade Pale in the fridge door.....must have been an alcoholic .I live about 500 mtres from Cascade Brewery.

To be honest I am a bit of a lefty but I am a passionate supporter of the stadium, this state needs some confidence and this is part of it.

Yes it is an investment but it is an investment in our future. My daughter moved to Melbourne and may move back now, my son is 18 and I want him to be proud of this place

This has been coming for decades, I remember posting on here when we had a VFL team and some posters loved having a righteous crack at Tassie. I do not expect that to stop, expect it to increase - bring it on!! We have given millions to Hawthorn and North to play here time for that to stop for good.

Fn love this state time for us to have a crack and show some pride, confident with Benny Gale and others in place the team will be one to be proud of.

Will be having some Christmas Drinks down at Salamanca on Friday night in the knowledge that it will be walking distance of the new stadium.

This Tasmanian is up and about today! Been a rollercoaster in the lead up to the vote in the state Legislative Council on the Stadium (and us having our own AFL team)

Think I will crack a Cascade Pale Ale my ol man always had a bottle of Cascade Pale in the fridge door.....must have been an alcoholic .I live about 500 mtres from Cascade Brewery.

To be honest I am a bit of a lefty but I am a passionate supporter of the stadium, this state needs some confidence and this is part of it.

Yes it is an investment but it is an investment in our future. My daughter moved to Melbourne and may move back now, my son is 18 and I want him to be proud of this place

This has been coming for decades, I remember posting on here when we had a VFL team and some posters loved having a righteous crack at Tassie. I do not expect that to stop, expect it to increase - bring it on!! We have given millions to Hawthorn and North to play here time for that to stop for good.

Fn love this state time for us to have a crack and show some pride, confident with Benny Gale and others in place the team will be one to be proud of.

Will be having some Christmas Drinks down at Salamanca on Friday night in the knowledge that it will be walking distance of the new stadium.

100%, celebrate it Vernon. Look at the Foo Fighters bring millions from a $500k payment too. You have to invest in some things that don't justify themselves rationally sometimes.

A lot of the people I know from Tassie left when they were young because there was nothing to do and no entertainment.

Having a stadium lets you put on big stadium shows and brings in money. No-one would have thought that MONA would've been the success it has been.

I know of a few motels that were renovated after 30+ years because all of a sudden their empty rooms were full from it. Football will have a similar effect. Even just the support staff from the footy, TV crew, journalists, doctors, airline staff etcetera have to stay somewhere and eat out.

All of a sudden you have another 10,000+ people in Hobart every second week, small businesses pop up and thrive. Jobs in hospo increase. Pubs, clubs and restaurants are full.

I like the sleepiness of Tasmania but you don't want to live in a historical museum. It will be a great thing for the people down there.

If the stadium is in a good spot where people can easily flow into pubs and clubs and restaurants after a game and fill the town it will be great.
All the best stadiums have that. Townsville was transformed when they built the new stadium walking distance from the city centre as opposed to the original $70 taxi fare stadium.
It’ll be great.
Plus I was born in Tassie so have a bit of a soft spot.

Absolutely wrapt for you Verdun & all the Taswegians who share your pride in your state.

I can't wait for a trip to Hobart for a Saints v Devils match... it's a cracking town with so much to offer.

Early dinner & Schooies at Shippys, a scooter to Mac Point for the footy and a pleasant Sunday in the Huon Valley (Kate Hills is a favorite).

Magnificent.

There are good and bad pedals but it's like wine, at some point the benefits of paying more are so slight that you have to have exceptional senses to know the difference.

A mate I used to play with had a Marshall head stolen and replaced it with a cheaper Marshall solid-state from cash converters. Honestly couldn't tell the difference once it had a pedal through it.

Plenty of people who do pedal reviews are claiming that a lot of the $40 Chinese pedals have very little difference to their $300 premium competitors.

Like every hobby or interest there is a fair bit of wank about the whole thing. I have a pile of guitars and my favourite one to play is a cheap bullet Squire Strat. It just feels right, thin neck, nice weight, holds perfect tune, I don't give a **** about it so I can drop it or bang it and it isn't precious. It doesn't even have a tremolo it's so cheaply done but it sounds and feels better than the real Fender I have.

Unlike software , circuit design isn't subject to copyright ( its absurd that Software is. Its basically engineering using a methodology to manipulate data and activate transistors. ). Design registration is probably more related to the appearance. So its more than likely that Chinese brands are simply reverse engineering the more renowned pedals.

Nice to read your view. I’m a Mellbournian, who moved to japan in the ā€˜90s, got homesick and stared getting into footy again. My feeling was that Tassie might not need the stadium. I believe that the Gold Coast and other new teams were not bullied into making new stadiums. Tassie was vulnerable and small, and my hunch is that developers from Melbourne and big heavy weights have bullied Tassie into building it. I have mo evidence but i am damn sure that the AFL types. Media adjacent, and the developers are in a very cozy relationship. My ideal was that Tassie would play 2 games in Hobart, one in Launceston on rotation for a few years. The facilities are no worse than other grounds currently used. In fact they are already used. I suspect it will go down like this,

Unlike software , circuit design isn't subject to copyright ( its absurd that Software is. Its basically engineering using a methodology to manipulate data and activate transistors. ). Design registration is probably more related to the appearance. So its more than likely that Chinese brands are simply reverse engineering the more renowned pedals.

Yeah, people reverse engineered and put the schematics up online for free for things like Klon Centaur. It's $14,000 for a older original and like $40 for a Chinese one that is in a slightly altered case. Some people claim that rare germanium diodes made them special or something but the you read reviews it sounds like bullshit.

If you look at the pics of one they actually oozed black shit all over the circuits to stop them being copied but someone obviously thought it was worth it.

Yeah, people reverse engineered and put the schematics up online for free for things like Klon Centaur. It's $14,000 for a older original and like $40 for a Chinese one that is in a slightly altered case. Some people claim that rare germanium diodes made them special or something but the you read reviews it sounds like bullshit.

If you look at the pics of one they actually oozed black shit all over the circuits to stop them being copied but someone obviously thought it was worth it.

Fascinating how every hobby/interest always has the dingy corner of nerdy/bordeline w@nkers, isn’t it.

Golf was it for me growing up, I worked in fitting/sales and blokes (myself included) would obsess over which club heads, shafts, lengths, weights, flex they should use, almost always going against advice and buying stuff that was not suited to them - then be back in a few weeks because it wouldn’t work lol.

Wine, cycling, cars and seemingly guitars all the same!

Is it a case of just get out and play, does all this detail really mean anything past a certain point?

Fascinating how every hobby/interest always has the dingy corner of nerdy/bordeline w@nkers, isn’t it.

Golf was it for me growing up, I worked in fitting/sales and blokes (myself included) would obsess over which club heads, shafts, lengths, weights, flex they should use, almost always going against advice and buying stuff that was not suited to them - then be back in a few weeks because it wouldn’t work lol.

Wine, cycling, cars and seemingly guitars all the same!

Is it a case of just get out and play, does all this detail really mean anything past a certain point?

I used old clubs so I could have an excuse for being shit at it.

Your Squier Bullet resembles that remark šŸ˜„

I've started playing an old 70s Ibanez Les Paul again and it sounds good and feels right but it won't stay in tune and I'm looking back at the Squire fondly. It's like it was made for me. Unapologetically cheap and nasty.

Absolutely wrapt for you Verdun & all the Taswegians who share your pride in your state.

I can't wait for a trip to Hobart for a Saints v Devils match... it's a cracking town with so much to offer.

Early dinner & Schooies at Shippys, a scooter to Mac Point for the footy and a pleasant Sunday in the Huon Valley (Kate Hills is a favorite).

Magnificent.
Will meet you at Shippys for a brew or 2, used to have a mate who had a flat across the road from the pub and spent a lot of time there - some dodgy events occurred up and down that street. It has been done up recently and now caters for more of a highbrow clientele. Back in the day it catered for ol salt yachties and dodgy uni students like me at the time.

Kate Hill wines go well, Lost Captain taphouse in Huonville is one of my favourites.

Happy to provide recommendations of distillery's / food / wine etc down here if any of you lot venture down.

Tubes over transistors are a real thing. Its mainly their behaviour under overdriven conditions, and its a function of the tube mechanism. As i understand it , some of the solid state amps use a build in , softer ,electronic distortion effect to emulate real overdrive. ( like an effects pedal ).

Germanium over Silicon, as a semiconductor material in a transistor, is far less likely to have a significant difference. You're probably right about the wank factor.

Tubes over transistors are a real thing. Its mainly their behaviour under overdriven conditions, and its a function of the tube mechanism. As i understand it , some of the solid state amps use a build in , softer ,electronic distortion effect to emulate real overdrive. ( like an effects pedal ).

Germanium over Silicon, as a semiconductor material in a transistor, is far less likely to have a significant difference. You're probably right about the wank factor.
Correct as I understand it, that solid state is mimicking the signal clipping that occurs in an overdriven tube circuit - that clipping is the distortion.

That's why people who are playing with a normal sort of input, and not a distorted sound, probably don't get any advantage over solid state.
The kind of thing you can get with a tube amp, is a clean signal in general, but then a bit of soft distortion when you hit the strings a bit harder, if you set it up that way.

It strikes me as kind of weird that someone like Keith Urban would go for tube amps, while Dave Gilmour, Metallica, and plenty of others are happy with Solid State.

Good on you Verdun! I agree with all of your post with the exception of a stadium at that site. We should have had a team decades ago, need a stadium, just not there, and we will be proud of our Devils team because you can guarantee we'll have a red hot go!!

Anyway, that part of the process is done now. Based on this government's performance for the past decade we can look forward to a series of monumental, hilarious, previously unthinkable stuff ups during construction. I'm not wishing for it, and don't want it to happen but the precedents are pretty clearly established and there are no visible signs of any change in approach or application.

Good on you Verdun! I agree with all of your post with the exception of a stadium at that site. We should have had a team decades ago, need a stadium, just not there, and we will be proud of our Devils team because you can guarantee we'll have a red hot go!!

Anyway, that part of the process is done now. Based on this government's performance for the past decade we can look forward to a series of monumental, hilarious, previously unthinkable stuff ups during construction. I'm not wishing for it, and don't want it to happen but the precedents are pretty clearly established and there are no visible signs of any change in approach or application.

A good mate of mine lives in Tassie. He too is happy about it all apart from the site.

Steve Cropper dead

I watched the Blues Brothers way too many times when I was a kid. Pretty funny that's the only way I got to know about a heap of those old musos.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread