Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports

Where? Up in northern NSW?
In Melbourne.

His name was Shane Naylor, he ran for Australia as a 100m runner in the 80s and 90s. There were probably high school kids in the US who were faster. He became a world champion power lifter or something, in over age competitions.

In Melbourne.

His name was Shane Naylor, he ran for Australia as a 100m runner in the 80s and 90s. There were probably high school kids in the US who were faster. He became a world champion power lifter or something, in over age competitions.
I know a Peter Naylor. Shane is name I've never come across.

Don't watch Athletics or Drink so no great surprise haha

In the 90's i worked in a bar in London. Our bouncers were all Kray brother types from East London.
Nice blokes for the most part....
Anyways we had a Bouncer alarm system behind the bar. Yellow for " bit of trouble". red for "get here now".
so i was working one night and this drunk twat in a suit decided to show off to his mates by starting to abuse me. As i was by myself I thought I don't get paid enough to listen to this Hooray Henry type call me a colonial this and that, so i hit the yellow button.
Next minute big Wes the bouncer arrives behind this guy , picks him up and starts dragging him to the stairs ( it was a down stairs pub). This guy stupidly decided he'd start mouthing off and trying to throw punches. So big Wes lifts him up and delivers the perfect Liverpool kiss to this gent, then drags him out onto the street.
Must admit i was a bit shocked...
The manager then appears with a towel and I had to go clean all the blood off the stairs !

In Melbourne.

100m sprinter to power lifter is impressive

A number of years ago I had to visit Perth ( I was a sales manager then) I was seating in Perth mall with my local sales rep ( he is about 6,4 ) so a big boy but he was a nice guy, all of a sudden about 6 big bikes come towards us as we are having a coffee, and I must I say I did pee a little bit, but when they saw my sales rep they but their heads down and said gday mate to him, when they left I turned to him and said WTF just happened he said “ back in the day “ I was the bouncer at their pub.

I did give him a little more respect after that.

Isn't that Lee Naylor?

She was a pretty significant name in athletics herself iirc?
Yep.

She was in the 4x400m team that won bronze at the world champs in 1995. No wonder her kid can run. (He has Shane's hair too. LOL.)

Back around the mid 90’s my mate was playing basketball for the then Hobart Tassie Devils. One night a bunch of us went to some pub in town and were happily chatting with the local girls. Well a few of the rough nut local blokes didn’t like that at all and made it an “interesting” night to say the least. They were ably backed by the bouncers who appeared to know them as regulars and all of the above had a real issue with “mainlanders” getting the attention of the local women. We got out unscathed but it gave me a taste of what it could be like down there in the boondocks. Very odd place which, up until that post midnight experience, had been great.

If said blue with the bouncers occurred it wouldn’t surprise me one bit, with Kerch et al being seen as “you think you’re too good for us eh” types.
I haven’t been out in ages but I always found the smaller the town the more chance of seeing violence at night.
could bank on it being something that happened at the local footy during the day that always broke out after a few frothies at the local establishment.

One things for sure, if it did happen, might make Kerch more steadfast leaving the island life behind.

Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports