2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Eagles, Essendon & Richmond all live streaming their intra club scratchies. We’re so far behind the ball in terms of fan engagement.

in this day and age where the club will have multiple cameras.
How hard is it.
You think a few injured players love to be commentators
Just do it on youtube or facebook etc

I also hate the AFL how bad the VFL streaming is. You cannot pause or rewind its crap.
We are a long way behind other codes in media

I know you blokes have been coming here for years, but I kind of joined big footy recently for this reason. I wanted to find out more about my mighty lions, and wasn't getting it from the media (who it seems to have taken two flags to get them to write a few stories on us), nor the lions pretty beige club site. And I haven't been disappointed. Really grateful for those posting the intraclub match reviews, training updates and stuff I just couldn't find anywhere else. It's great. Even most of the podcasters are only just coming out of hibernation this time of year.
I think the lions media dept are good at doing those little fun bits that help sell it as the friendly, family club that is kicking goals on the membership front, so on that metric they are do something right. But you hardly ever get anything from them that you couldn't get anywhere else, and there doesn't seem to be any additional content or insight as a member that you cant get as a guest. Just an app that's super confusing to book tickets with as a Vic member (and I'm good with IT, but it's just a mess, like they've done no user experience journeys in their design). I don't think logging into their website as a member makes any difference to the content. I checked just yesterday and many things like their injury list haven't been updated and it's now Feb 26. Did you know that Kiddy is out for the season? I think there are a number of improvements they could do for very little additional overhead or admin to make the experience better for supporters. Intraclub video would be fantastic, and I bet they're filming it already for analysis. It's not like it's closed secret training, any opposition could come and watch.

Attended training Wednesday 11/02/2026
I arrived at 8.10 am. Temp 25.2 C (29.4 C) Training finished at 10.00 am. Temp 30.0 C (33.9 C)
Rehab- Payne, Hippy & a couple of others?
On their own – Answerth running, Rayner looked fine but did not do a great deal and left early.
Did not see Draper but he may have been there watching.
Linc & Lloyd did a bit of running under the eyes of the trainer but joined the main group after about 30 minutes.

Overall, i think this was their easy track session of the week. No running drills.
Also, no match sims which means the few photos i took can’t be classed as action shots.
Warm up and then kicking the ball around, nothing really structured. Lots of talk and banter.
Then the players split into 3 groups. Each group had a go at the 3 exercises
  1. - Slowly controlling the ball on the ground and getting a handball out to teammates. Opponent hanging off them waiting to tackle.
  2. - Short kick from the boundary infield. Mark and another short kick or handball forward then longer to forward line to leading player
  3. - Handball drills 6 v 6 in a small space like the center square. Aim get ball to other side
A touched player is a turnover. Then they changed it to a tackle is a turnover

Then players split into 2 groups. Each group got a go at the main drill
  1. - This group just kicking forward to goals, handballing, leading & marking. Anything with some movement waiting to be called to main exercise.
  2. - 12 v 12 across the ground covering about 1/3 of the oval. Aim to get from FB to FF without losing possession. If you lose possession, the other team starts from their end with the same objective. Also, when possession is lost, you have to go from attack to defense very quickly as the ball comes back into play immediately.
Lots of short kicks and handballs then a longer kick to FF
Next, they repeated the previous drill, but extended the playing area to 2/3 of the oval but still across the ground
Kicks become longer and more handball receives with the extra room to move.
Next up was the last 20 minutes of the session so a bit of a warm down with a few structured things happening.

Two types of long kicks to marking contests.
One is just a contested type of exercise with 2 or more players contesting the mark.
The other they used that padded dummy type thing that some poor guy wears so someone can take a big mark off his head and knee him in his back

Also, there were a few one-on-one instructions happening in front of me. Senior players instructing younger players
Fort & Curtin looked mostly about footwork positioning. No pushing up against each other.
Froggy and Torrent looked mostly about body work then pushing off your opponent.
Berry instructing Annable on footwork required when sitting under a high ball. Trainer kicked it high for Annable to mark with Berry observing. Berry clapping Annable when he did it to his satisfaction. That was only about 20% of the time.
Observations
Annable looks the goods and moves smoothly over the ground. We just need to see how he goes in the 2 trial games.

I just did not have enough time to give an opinion on all the other new young guys.
It's a hard team to break into so they have time to settle in and show what they got.

We all know that Oscar Allen is a good player. He appeared to struggle to get into a good position. I suppose the Lions play a different brand of footy to the Eagles. Let's see how he goes v Blues and Saints. He will fit in at some stage.

Darcy Gardiner looked very sharp in some drills and looked in great shape.

Finished editing some images to go with the training information above
With no match sim there is less chance to get reasonable action shots
Preseason gives me a chance to shoot moving humans over birds and animals

Just click on the first image below to go through 16 images.

Attachments

• 1L9A3691.webp
    1L9A3691.webp
    2.3 MB · Views: 49
  • 1L9A3751.webp
    1L9A3751.webp
    668.2 KB · Views: 47
  • 1L9A3750.webp
    1L9A3750.webp
    885.1 KB · Views: 37
  • 1L9A3745.webp
    1L9A3745.webp
    1.1 MB · Views: 36
  • 1L9A3744.webp
    1L9A3744.webp
    1 MB · Views: 36
  • 1L9A3743.webp
    1L9A3743.webp
    2.8 MB · Views: 38
  • 1L9A3732.webp
    1L9A3732.webp
    1.1 MB · Views: 41
  • 1L9A3718.webp
    1L9A3718.webp
    344.8 KB · Views: 42
  • 1L9A3715.webp
    1L9A3715.webp
    1.4 MB · Views: 41
  • 1L9A3713.webp
    1L9A3713.webp
    1.4 MB · Views: 38
  • 1L9A3694.webp
    1L9A3694.webp
    2.3 MB · Views: 47
  • 1L9A3698.webp
    1L9A3698.webp
    242.5 KB · Views: 47
  • 1L9A3700.webp
    1L9A3700.webp
    1,012.3 KB · Views: 43
  • 1L9A3704.webp
    1L9A3704.webp
    1.3 MB · Views: 38
  • 1L9A3705.webp
    1L9A3705.webp
    1.7 MB · Views: 39
  • 1L9A3707.webp
    1L9A3707.webp
    1.4 MB · Views: 39
I know you blokes have been coming here for years, but I kind of joined big footy recently for this reason. I wanted to find out more about my mighty lions, and wasn't getting it from the media (who it seems to have taken two flags to get them to write a few stories on us), nor the lions pretty beige club site. And I haven't been disappointed. Really grateful for those posting the intraclub match reviews, training updates and stuff I just couldn't find anywhere else. It's great. Even most of the podcasters are only just coming out of hibernation this time of year.
I think the lions media dept are good at doing those little fun bits that help sell it as the friendly, family club that is kicking goals on the membership front, so on that metric they are do something right. But you hardly ever get anything from them that you couldn't get anywhere else, and there doesn't seem to be any additional content or insight as a member that you cant get as a guest. Just an app that's super confusing to book tickets with as a Vic member (and I'm good with IT, but it's just a mess, like they've done no user experience journeys in their design). I don't think logging into their website as a member makes any difference to the content. I checked just yesterday and many things like their injury list haven't been updated and it's now Feb 26. Did you know that Kiddy is out for the season? I think there are a number of improvements they could do for very little additional overhead or admin to make the experience better for supporters. Intraclub video would be fantastic, and I bet they're filming it already for analysis. It's not like it's closed secret training, any opposition could come and watch.
It's not like it's closed secret training, any opposition could come and watch

On your last sentence above, a club member approached me yesterday.
Before they could say anything i said "i am not spying as i come down this time of the year for photos and see what's happening"

They just smiled and we had a nice chat.

I mentioned i post stuff on Big Footy Lions section along with a few others who attend training preseason.
I did say whatever i post is just my interoperation on what is happening during the session

I also mentioned that there were concerns from some posters on the Big Footy Lions about lack of information preseason on the Web site and social media. I said i am not on social media so can't comment on that side of things.

I said i would not quote them and i won't, but they mentioned it's always good to get feedback.

Eagles, Essendon & Richmond all live streaming their intra club scratchies. We’re so far behind the ball in terms of fan engagement.

I doubt Fages wants it filmed. The common theme amongst those 3 clubs is that no one cares what they’re doing.

There be spies filming or taking notes for sure at inter clubs
I do not see that as a excuse.

Being a Melb member you get less access I go watch a inter club if it was local.
So be nice something from the media department. Not just people on here.

I try to get to VFL games if they do not clash with AFL or kids sport :) which they often do :(
Melb, Coburg Clash with AFL which I find always interesting. Emergencies need to leave early.
Werribee game I try to get to
See where the VFL Pies and blues games end up

I do watch a lot of the VFL games as I like to see the players not in the AFL.
As said it pretty crap AFL media system you cannot rewind or pause or start late etc.
I often watch the day after.. Although then you know the scores :(
Then like AFL I love to have just the feed no commentators :)

I doubt Fages wants it filmed. The common theme amongst those 3 clubs is that no one cares that they’re doing.

This. It's pretty clear to me the lack of pre season scratchie content is deliberate, especially coupled with the club asking the media to leave training etc. Don't want to show what we're doing to too many people when you have a big target on your back.

We're very much a geographically isolated club. Sometimes that's to our detriment, so when it becomes an advantage we should really make the most of it in my opinion.

Footy season starts in 4 weeks. It's way too early. I can wait another couple of weeks to watch us play practice games, no need for a poor quality intraclub stream.

Tom won’t watch anything that doesn’t have live fantasy scores.

I doubt Fages wants it filmed. The common theme amongst those 3 clubs is that no one cares what they’re doing.

Generally, I think AFL clubs don't have or need a lot of secrecy, because it's not like the NFL and their rock, scissors, paper secret plays. It sounds a bit more informal, like if a known scout from another club or somebody filming who looks out of place might be asked to leave, but sessions like this are open, so if you were really interested on what an opposition were doing pre-season you could send someone to just watch. Clubs do have closed sessions, such as grand final week, or final tactical prep before a match, but this doesn't sound like one. Knowing how some new draftee or injured player is travelling on an opposition team in Feb is not exactly the Enigma code.
I have heard at least two media pundits say that Fages, because he's been in the game a long time at a few different clubs in different roles, is really well networked, and makes use of it by calling people in the know when he has specific questions he'd like an answer to. So he might not need spies watching training sessions if he wants to know what other clubs are doing

Tom won’t watch anything that doesn’t have live fantasy scores.

fuck off eric cartman GIF by South Park

Jump on YouTube, there are a lot of fan club vlogs, with weekly (or more often) content on their clubs scratch matches and training, many with their own footage.

Notably, there’s little to no Lions coverage on YouTube.

Jump on YouTube, there are a lot of fan club vlogs, with weekly (or more often) content on their clubs scratch matches and training, many with their own footage.

Notably, there’s little to no Lions coverage on YouTube.

Sounds like an opening for you/ someone

BRISBANE

Lions recruit Sam Draper will likely miss the first round of the 2026 season with a stress issue in his foot.
Premiership coach Chris Fagan revealed the news on SEN Tassie.
“Sammy Draper got a sore foot the day prior to that (pre-season camp in Maroochydore),” Fagan said on Monday morning.
“He’s had some scans on that and unfortunately he’s got a stress reaction in his foot.
“That’s going to probably mean that he won’t be available for selection until about the second week of the AFL season.”
The back-to-back premiers are set for a glut of returns despite their success in 2025. New recruit Oscar Allen (knee) is expected to be available for Brisbane’s Opening Round clash against the Bulldogs, having missed a majority of last season with West Coast. But fellow new guy Sam Draper (foot) is set to be sidelined for the first few weeks with a stress issue in his foot. In-house stars Lincoln McCarthy (knee) and Keidean Coleman (quad) are also expected to push selection in Opening Round, carrying out full training having combined for just a single game in 2025. Noah Answerth (Achilles) and Jarrod Berry (Shoulder) have returned to non-contact training and are also expected to be available. Eric Hipwood and Jack Payne will both miss the start of the season with respective knee injuries, however, are expected to return mid-season. Tom Doedee will also provide defensive depth upon his return from wrist surgery late last season.

Injury list
Noah Answerth (achilles)
Jarrod Berry (shoulder)
Keidean Coleman (knee)
Sam Draper (foot)
Josh Dunkley (shoulder/ankle)
Jaspa Fletcher (shoulder)
Eric Hipwood (knee)
Lincoln McCarthy (knee)

Hi fellas, always speculation around about Kiddy's role this season, can any track watchers provide some insight? Does it look like he will play defence or did the story doing the rounds about a forward role actually hold some weight? Sounds like you guys don't get quite as much access to the club as we do so thats probably why that information is a bit harder to get a hold of. No worry if no consensus, just for fantasy lol

Has been training as a defender over the preseason & in the intraclubs.

That’s what we get for the club moving the training base out to whoop whoop.

In the intra club, Kiddy played defence. He looked ok, but still looked tentative at times. I guess he’s still learning trust his knee again.

BRISBANE

Lions recruit Sam Draper will likely miss the first round of the 2026 season with a stress issue in his foot.
Premiership coach Chris Fagan revealed the news on SEN Tassie.
“Sammy Draper got a sore foot the day prior to that (pre-season camp in Maroochydore),” Fagan said on Monday morning.
“He’s had some scans on that and unfortunately he’s got a stress reaction in his foot.
“That’s going to probably mean that he won’t be available for selection until about the second week of the AFL season.”
The back-to-back premiers are set for a glut of returns despite their success in 2025. New recruit Oscar Allen (knee) is expected to be available for Brisbane’s Opening Round clash against the Bulldogs, having missed a majority of last season with West Coast. But fellow new guy Sam Draper (foot) is set to be sidelined for the first few weeks with a stress issue in his foot. In-house stars Lincoln McCarthy (knee) and Keidean Coleman (quad) are also expected to push selection in Opening Round, carrying out full training having combined for just a single game in 2025. Noah Answerth (Achilles) and Jarrod Berry (Shoulder) have returned to non-contact training and are also expected to be available. Eric Hipwood and Jack Payne will both miss the start of the season with respective knee injuries, however, are expected to return mid-season. Tom Doedee will also provide defensive depth upon his return from wrist surgery late last season.

Injury list
Noah Answerth (achilles)
Jarrod Berry (shoulder)
Keidean Coleman (knee)
Sam Draper (foot)
Josh Dunkley (shoulder/ankle)
Jaspa Fletcher (shoulder)
Eric Hipwood (knee)
Lincoln McCarthy (knee)
I'd be curious to know if Bez had conservative shoulder surgery (just to repair the tendons), or went for one of those ones where they reduce the tendon length or even graft a bit bone around the cuff to reduce the risk of future pop-outs, which takes a fair bit longer to recover from. Given he's had a few he might have gone the whole hog

Can't answer the surgery question and likely outsiders won't know unless he gets injured again and it's mentioned.

Bez did train with the main squad yesterday but not much contact in the whole session from everyone.
I should have mentioned Hippy was getting miles into his legs as you would expect.
But he did a few straight-line sprints and was very quick.

About 5 players at one stage did some sprints. Just random not sure if the players themselves just did it or the coaching staff gave them a direction. 50 meters center square

One was Darragh Joyce number 41.
He looks like he has trimmed down a bit.
He was very quick and the solo image below was after he finished the sprint

1770939209447.webp

1770939132649.webp