Prediction R3 Changes v Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Indeed - the track of the cyclone is for it to pass inland farther north now, sparing Perth from the high winds. I'd expect the game to go ahead as planned under the current forecast as we will mostly be dealing with heavy rain rather than strong winds.

Anywhere south east of a line from Geraldton is going to get smashed though.
Disagree a 50/100 km coastal strip between Shark Bay and Gero is forecast to receive sustained winds of up to 85/90. As it tracks inland and south east the winds rapidly weaken just leaving a shit ton of rain. Unless rain is what you mean by smashed.

This is normal for cyclones through. That's why the special cyclone design provisions for northern Australia in AS 1170 only extend 100 to 150 km inland.

1 ruck or sure, with Voss doing the pinch hitting. No Nankervis

On the other hand, Darcy smashing it 15 metres our way every ruck contest is probably worth a kick...

It is an interesting debate. I think you can go smaller in the backline and forward line when it is very wet, and play with a big impact ruck due to the large number of when it rains. Darcy's taps in the ruck should be very useful, plus I don't think Jackson would hold up if he had to play 80% ruck, with the additional stoppages in the wet.

I guess dropping Darcy gives us one more small in the forward line, but I wonder if it is better to have one less tall in the forward line.

It is an interesting discussion.

Indeed - the track of the cyclone is for it to pass inland farther north now, sparing Perth from the high winds. I'd expect the game to go ahead as planned under the current forecast as we will mostly be dealing with heavy rain rather than strong winds.

Anywhere south east of a line from Geraldton is going to get smashed though.

So i don't need to worry

The cyclone ain’t gonna do shit in Perth
It will pass north of Gero and we might get a bit of rain (maybe).
I can’t believe all the fear mongering and junior sport getting cancelled. The people of Perth are so bloody conservative

Will you forgive me if I pay more credence to the BoM updates than you?

Living the values of your username.

Should be more of it.

This will be a deluge of biblical proportions. All is ruin. Woe.

Screenshot 2026-03-25 at 12.46.09 PM.webp

Windy's current projection for 2pm Saturday - 10-12mm of rain and 31kmh winds.

Jacket and beanie day - the Carlton game last year wasn't exactly pleasant in similar conditions - but should be absolutely no worries for footy barring a significant course correction from the system.

Going to be a slugfest on the field unfortunately. Will need our wet weather footy brains firmly engaged.

Will you forgive me if I pay more credence to the BoM updates than you?

I wouldn’t put much credence in a govt department that just spent 96 million on a new website that doesn’t work. (Yep, you read that right. Not 9 mil. 96 mil.).

Do you think the systems and people producing the weather forecasts are the same ones who were managing and deploying an outwards facing website and underlying infrastructure?

Discrediting people to discredit an opinion. Ok.

What is even the point of this rubbish. Needlessly attacking people who have the job of predicted future events. The people doing the weather forecasting are not the people making key business decisions.

A lot of low brow posturing going on. It's like, anyone that is concerned for other people's safety somehow attracts an anti-intellectual response from people.

We're fortunate that the only impact we in Perth are likely to only have to deal with is about 100 mm of rain falling across Friday to Monday. Spare a thought for the destruction that is about to occur to areas north and east of here.

It's not fearmongering and it's not conservative. Being prepared is what smart people do. Idiots sit back and say everything will be right mate, and they're the people that always need rescuing when shit inevitably hits the fan.

What is even the point of this rubbish. Needlessly attacking people who have the job of predicted future events. The people doing the weather forecasting are not the people making key business decisions.

A lot of low brow posturing going on. It's like, anyone that is concerned for other people's safety somehow attracts an anti-intellectual response from people.

We're fortunate that the only impact we in Perth are likely to only have to deal with is about 100 mm of rain falling across Friday to Monday. Spare a thought for the destruction that is about to occur to areas north and east of here.

It's not fearmongering and it's not conservative. Being prepared is what smart people do. Idiots sit back and say everything will be right mate, and they're the people that always need rescuing when shit inevitably hits the fan.

So how can I get myself prepared? I have a double brick house and a metal roof that has been teck screwed down.

There's no such thing as button down the hatches? Does this make me an idiot for thinking my house will most likely be fine?

Discrediting a govt agency that spends 96 million on a failed website is fair game IMO. It’s an absurd amount of money and if it happened in the private sector the company would go broke.

The BOM get it wrong all the time (on wind, swell, tide ect). I’m a keen surfer and gave up on relying on them ages ago.

If you think 100 MLS of rain will fall in Perth this weekend you’ve well and truly drunk the Kool Aid too. The water temp is currently too cold south of Gero for it to track south, and it will lose potency if it does anyway.

Discrediting a govt agency that spends 96 million on a failed website is fair game IMO. It’s an absurd amount of money and if it happened in the private sector the company would go broke.

The BOM get it wrong all the time (on wind, swell, tide ect). I’m a keen surfer and gave up on relying on them ages ago.

If you think 100 MLS of rain will fall in Perth this weekend you’ve well and truly drunk the Kool Aid too. The water temp is currently too cold south of Gero for it to track south, and it will lose potency if it does anyway.
Fire This Is Fine GIF by MOODMAN

So how can I get myself prepared? I have a double brick house and a metal roof that has been teck screwed down.

There's no such thing as button down the hatches? Does this make me an idiot for thinking my house will most likely be fine?
I think they are talking about people who would go driving in mass flooding or for a walk in kings park underneath all the widow makers during a storm and then turn around with shocked Pikachu face like wow how did this happen to me.

"Omg how did my untethered trampoline fly into my front window smashing my house during the middle of a storm why won't insurance do something"

It's pretty ****ing shit one of our percentage boosters comes in a game of torrential downpour where it's just going to be an absolute shitfight

I guess you could go glass half full and say it's pretty lucky this torrential downpour comes against a bunch of underdeveloped kids instead of a mature team of hardened bodies who we'd have to bash up against all day.