Player Watch Mid-Season Pick #11 (2025) - Ewan Mackinlay

• Thread starter Thread starter RossFC

Whenever he kicks, there are times where I feel like he has never kicked a footy. Maybe it's something to do with his technique or ball drop. I can't seem to explain but it feels like he has try harder to kick the footy. I don't know.

He runs too fast and doesnt steady, its the same issue Dangerfield has had throughout his career.

Looked off the pace and made some really bad fluff ups today. Such a big drop in form makes you question whether he has it or not. Still only a few games into his career so not quite time to right him off yet.

I understand why we’re playing him but he’s had two poor performances against fellow bottom 6 sides in the first three rounds.

Wings continue to be a nightmare for us. I’m keener to see Wehr out than MacKinlay as at least Ewan has speed. He needs to use it though.

My preferred wing combination this year is Moraes and Evans, with Liddy as the back up.

Burgoyne, Lai, Bergman, Jones and Farrell behind the ball.

Looked off the pace and made some really bad fluff ups today. Such a big drop in form makes you question whether he has it or not. Still only a few games into his career so not quite time to right him off yet.
It's his 4th game, big drops in form is expected.

He's shown glimpses of what he can do, but also has a lot of developing to do.

It will all come down to how quickly he can learn. Is he AFL ready now? No. Does he have AFL attributes? Yes. It's about unlocking that more consistently, and lifting the rest of his game.

Will be interesting to see how he is playing towards the back end of the season, and how much he improves in that time.

I see him as a future AFL player - unlike many others on our list.

Cant knock his speed, endeavor and ability to get across the ground, but everything he does looks frantic and panicked.
Reckon when he parked his car, he would drive into the Car Park at 60kmh, lock them up, jump out of the front seat, then sprint to where he had to go, without realizing he has left his missus in the front seat.

Cant knock his speed, endeavor and ability to get across the ground, but everything he does looks frantic and panicked.
Reckon when he parked his car, he would drive into the Car Park at 60kmh, lock them up, jump out of the front seat, then sprint to where he had to go, without realizing he has left his missus in the front seat.
Runs like a headless chook.

It’s like when you play drums to a really fast tempo song and play it rushed, if you slow your thinking down, you’ll find it easy to get into the grove. He just needs to slow his thinking and he’ll be right.

He's played 4 games and was praised in 2 of them, not sure why people are putting a line through him this early.