Discussion Round 4 vs Fremantle

stkildathunda

DEMPSTERED
10k Posts St Kilda Saints - Tom Ledger 2012 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2011 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2010 Player Sponsor
Sep 7, 2008
Inside The Circle Of Zen
Man Utd
Im over the Ross Lyon/Zac Dawson thing. Couldnt give rats toss bag about it to be honest. We are in better hands with Watters & Simpkin. No doubt it will be built up in media and amongst most Saints fans. Id rather just concentrate on the actual game

Cant see there being any change to side at all. Polo was great coming in for Ledger. Gilbert probably only concern with his back, but we'll see how he pulls up. If Gilbert is out it might give Cripps another chance as think he is closest to being dropped.

Nathan Fyfe is a massive out for them, he is by far their best player. Mundy will probably play full game now, so think Jones needs to tag him.

McEvoy is going to have his work cut out for him against the man mountain. We'll get smashed in hitouts (as every club vs Freo do) but that can work in our advantage as our mids just need to read Sandi's hitouts and use that to get clearances.

Dawson will take Kosi you'd think and McPharlin to run with Riewoldt.

One thing for sure is its going to be a scrappy affair, Freo used the good old "Saints Footy" gameplan last week. Was terrible match to watch. But if we can play like we did vs Doggies then we should have ability to break game open early. Just need to convert early and not miss easy shots.

Saints by 24 points

Re: Round 4 vs Fremantle Discussion

I’m really looking forward to this game!

Kosi vs Dawson will be an interesting matchup (if it occurs). Dawson has the height (Kosi ~ 197cm vs Dawson ~195cm) and speed to match Kosi.
Kosi probably wins in the strength department, but to be honest in a one on one marking contest, I’d back Dawson to make to spoil more often than a Kosi mark.

McPhee vs Roo will again be an interesting matchup...McPhee (in my opinion) has the tank and speed to run with Roo, will hurt us on the counter attack and is fairly comfortable playing up the ground (ie wing). Roo really has to make McPhee accountable and ensure he can’t run of him easily.

What I did like last week was the way Roo was marking the ball, especially in the last quarter. Reminded me of 09, where he was grabbing everything near him, and marking the ball with real intent. He was really grabbing hold of the ball, not just letting the ball fall into his hands. It also helped that his arms where not getting chopped every marking contest...

The stage could be set for Stanley...as far as I can see, only Dawson/McPhee can really play on him, but that leaves Kosi/Roo...maybe Ross plans to bring back Silvangi?

A big out is Fyfe...sad to see him out (he’s and out and out gun, an my dream team will suffer) but happy at the same time, as he’s one less player to worry about.
Look out for Barlow.. very dangerous player, and will have to be watched closely...either could the next “Dempstered” candidate?
Unsure why Mundy was subbed off early (2nd quarter)...but he’ll need some close attention as well...

I’m guessing a Geary vs Ballantyne matchup? How’s Geary temperment? No doubt Ballantyne will back to his niggling best, so we’ll need a cool head to play on him. We could easily give away several free kicks/50m penalties if one player looses their cool due to his antics...

Just to add to the above comments about Ballantyne, it wouldn’t surprise me if Ross (who knows our players backwards...expect for Milera and some of the kids who have been on the list for a few years but got next to no opportunities (haha!)) sends Ballantyne on some sort of hit mission to niggle and roughen up players who may have a short fuse...ie Goddard, Kosi, Polo (???).....

I think Ballantyne needs to experience some of Lenny love like Easton Wood and Dane Swan have experienced in the past...

Scotty should be instructing the boys to completely ignore that little twerp Ballantyne's antics at all costs. Dont get sucked in by him = wont give him any stupid frees. Simple really.

Awesome match, but at ES i think we'll take it by 4 goals.

Kosi should actually kick 4-5, only because dawson will gave a way a ton of free kicks.
Also i agree with the Geary vs Ballantyne, another possibility is maybe dean polo to take him? Finally, if we can be as solid as we were last week in defence and put up 10+ individual goal kickers we should take home the cookies.
Finally a threat from scotty, if you play with Ballantyne and give away a free, u spin the wheel of misfortune xD

I think Geary is pretty placid, don't reckon he'll get sucked in.

Ross really rates Fisher, and I think he'll tag him, probably with McPhee.

What's interesting for mine, is if Gram comes back in and for who? Watters may even make him sub for some late impact to ease him back in.

Who should get the job on Ballantyne you ask?

291839_158154664266232_158152600933105_316341_1822251_n.jpg

And a reminder why he was DEMPSTERED twice.

Round 10 Ballantyne gathered only 13 touches and didnt kick a single goal. Dempster was named StKilda's best player for his job taking home the match ball. In Round 20 he gathered 11 touches and didnt trouble the scorers again. Dempstered twice in the one year.

I agree he is the best matchup, but they may need Dempsters height elsewhere this time around?

I like the idea of Gram as sub but that's probably a week off, and I also like the idea of Dempster on Ballantyne. He won't get sucked in.

Hard to change what's been working the last couple of weeks do you think we'd go in unchanged though I'd love to see Ledger come back in, the question is for who. Polo? Newnes? Newnes looks to be growing in confidence and is meant to be a good distributer so I'd stick with him and take Polo out. Watters seems to like Polo so it's unlikely he comes out unfortunately. Could see him going to Ballantyne if he's in.

Macca is going to get annihilated which isn't an insult as everyone does so the obvious tactic is to just rove to him.

I'm expecting Freo to ugly this game up so it'll be close but being at home with all the emotion of what's hopefully a big crowd we should pull it out.

Haven't heard anything about Gilbert so I'm assuming he'll be right to play.

He's too quick for Dempster, but I like the way your thinking. I'd go so far to put Jones on a tight choke on him. He play midfield now, Dempster plays in Defence.

Who should get the job on Ballantyne you ask?

291839_158154664266232_158152600933105_316341_1822251_n.jpg

And a reminder why he was DEMPSTERED twice.

Round 10 Ballantyne gathered only 13 touches and didnt kick a single goal. Dempster was named StKilda's best player for his job taking home the match ball. In Round 20 he gathered 11 touches and didnt trouble the scorers again. Dempstered twice in the one year.

I think Geary is pretty placid, don't reckon he'll get sucked in.

Ross really rates Fisher, and I think he'll tag him, probably with McPhee.

What's interesting for mine, is if Gram comes back in and for who? Watters may even make him sub for some late impact to ease him back in.

Its a bit weird talking about forwards tagging defenders isn't it. I'm sure one of the Bulldogs forwards was holding one of our guys trying to stop him taking the mark instead of going for it himself on Saturday. But in effect it just means Fisher ends up playing as a key defender, which could be effective if Blake, and Simpkin are forced to be the rebounders. ( Mind you Dempster has been doing a fair job ).

Maybe the Saints should send out Geary, Dempster, Simpkin, and Jones to tag the taggers and Lyon will get so confused that he won't notice Milney kicking goals. :)

Roof will be closed on Friday night, so Kosi can't use the best tactic against Dawson .... " G day mate, dont you think that cloud up there looks a bit like a sheep, or is it an Alpaca "? .... he could try " I reckon that bloke near the scoreboard has three arms or is it just his jacket? , doesn't give the same daydream affect as clouds though".

Can you tag a tagger. Basically assign a player to shepherd the player being tagged.
But Lyon would retaliate by tagging our shepherder but we could then.....

In essence this occurs during kick ins/free kicks...

You’ll generally have 3 players; 1 standing the mark, one kicking, and one lurking behind the bloke standing the mark.
The bloke who has the ball will run, and if all goes well, will receive a shepherd from the bloke who is just behind the opposition player who is standing on the mark..

After watching last week’s Freo vs Lions match, could St Kilda be outplayed by their previous gameplan played under coach Lyon??
Last week’s Freo vs Lions match was low scoring, and contained some eerie similarities to the way we played last year...the lions for a large part of the match had massive difficulty in moving the ball past the wing...

The important question has yet to be asked....

We've got One Direction for pregame entertainment yeah? /fake swoon

That direction of course being towards our own forward 50 so that we can score. /previous gameplan quip

Can you tag a tagger. Basically assign a player to shepherd the player being tagged.
But Lyon would retaliate by tagging our shepherder but we could then.....

Yes. There was a blues/lions game at one point, where Carrazzo went to Rich, who went to Judd, who went to Black. Long story short, very messy affair for Daniel Rich.

Are we sure that Fyfe isn't going to play? Seems a bit up in the air ATM.

In a statement released on Monday afternoon, Fremantle said, "the 20-year-old and the club are optimistic about his chances of playing against St Kilda on Friday night".

Football manager Chris Bond said the club would take no risks with the prized youngster, who had his left shoulder reconstructed at the end of last season.

"Along with our medical staff, we will be guided by the specialist's opinion on what the best course of action is for Nat's long-term playing future and his general well being," Bond said.

READ MORE - http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/newsId/133253/Default.aspx

Hmmm, not sure how Gilbert is, if he's unfit who would come in? Wilkes is an option I guess. He should get a crack eventually. I wasn't overly impressed with Kosi last week, and wouldn't be against a Kosi for Wilkes swap, but I'm pretty sure it's not going to happen...

Ledger should get a gig eventually. Maybe he thinks Ledger isn't versatile enough. Would like to see him as sub, and if Gilbert is fit, I'd probably drop Cripps for him.

Hopefully we can break Freo open. Would love to see a great win.

In a statement released on Monday afternoon, Fremantle said, "the 20-year-old and the club are optimistic about his chances of playing against St Kilda on Friday night".

Football manager Chris Bond said the club would take no risks with the prized youngster, who had his left shoulder reconstructed at the end of last season.

"Along with our medical staff, we will be guided by the specialist's opinion on what the best course of action is for Nat's long-term playing future and his general well being," Bond said.

READ MORE - http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/newsId/133253/Default.aspx

Very surprising but good news. He's one opposition player I genuinely enjoy watching.

Despite what Bond says, you'd think even if he got the all clear from the specialist that he would be in extreme doubt for Friday.

Love Fyfe and hope he gets up. Hate to see young players seriously injured and especially ones as freakishly good as him.

Even though this is a circle jerk around Fyfe, if he plays, he must be targeted. Run down his sore side, smash into it during marking contests, fend into that shoulder etc. etc. etc.

I might be coming off as a bit of a tool here but whenever an injured player is played, we must exploit it. I've been targeted enough during soccer (Bum ankle) to know how frustrating it is to be targeted and exploited and stepped on.

^If a player is deemed fit to play then as far as the contest goes he is fair game, however; purposefully targeting an injured player is covered by AFL law so it is a slippery slope as you no doubt are aware considering Baker's cumulative suspension on Stevie J back when he took the field with a semi fractured hand and was passed fit.