09 draft prospects

Some other WA names maybe just off the usual radar

Michael Cooper from East Perth. Great kid with a great attitude. Good size over 184cm with good foot and hand skills.
Chris Luff tallish player who has improved his marking skills and is very mobile for a tall boy
Clinton Garlett similar to Michael Walters but on the heavier side. Great evasive and foot skills.
Dean Kittyea good speed and a hard as nails body. Good in and under.
I'm also a huge rap for Ryan Neates but he is extremely small and i think that he didn't play last year due to school studies. But this kid can play but i honestly think that he won't be drafted like many years ago with Ashton Hams who simply was too small.

What are TAC Cup watchers thoughts on Myles Pitt from Dandenong ? Only saw him in the TAC Cup GF and although he didn't get much of it (Murray's dominance likely having much to do with it), he took a few good contested grabs. Looking through his season stats they seem solid for a bottom-aged forward ...

WA kids possible for draft 09

Sheppard
Marsh
Luff
Morabito
Collica
Neates
M.Brown
C.Garlett
D.Kittyea
D.Pascoe
N.Winmar
M.Duncan
M.Cooper
M.Hutchings
Lucas
C.Forsyth
M.Carter

and others (cant think of the top of my head)

^^ agree with FEV13 those 4 boys all very talented footballers, especially Trav who is heavily underrated. We know about the top 2 but i think the top 3 will all get drafted lets hope the height of Trav doesnt stop this happening.

thoughts about tom hill, alot of talk of him going mid 30s in this year draft should be a walk in for top 25 next year?

agreed - injuries meant he couldn't show enough consistently this year. Only has to stand up next year to go high

Will be interesting to see how much he grows over the next year (he was measured at 172cm this year?) ... Love his intercepting ability and ball winning skills then vision to find someone with the footy when he's smack bang in the middle of traffic.

1.05 was mint ... steals the footy, sold them all into thinking he was rushing a behind, then catching them off guard splits the pack open, carries the footy 35-40m, and sends a low left foot kick to the wing in front of the leading Wright :thumbsu:

What's he like for pace?

I would think Priest would be under 3 seconds over 20m. Only thing im a bit iffy about (really do like this kid) is that he might drift a bit in and out of the game during general play.

If he grows a bit more this year i dont think versatility will be a problem.

Luke Mitchell is another one i've been hearing a lot about.. eligible next year?
No. Anyone who played U16s this year is not eligible until the draft in November 2010 (except for a couple of NT boys who were overage, of which Steven Motlop was one).

I'm well and truly on the Luke Mitchell bandwagon already...gun! Ripped a couple of games apart for MGS.

No. Anyone who played U16s this year is not eligible until the draft in November 2010 (except for a couple of NT boys who were overage, of which Steven Motlop was one).

I'm well and truly on the Luke Mitchell bandwagon already...gun! Ripped a couple of games apart for MGS.

i guess he can start house hunting in Surfers Paradise then?;)

hopefully there is enough talent at the start of the draft to make this a decent one
Bit negative mate.
11 months between now and when names will be read out. There will always be players good enough and diamonds found in the rough.
Take the time to look at all eligible kids and there are plenty.

Bit negative mate.
11 months between now and when names will be read out. There will always be players good enough and diamonds found in the rough.
Take the time to look at all eligible kids and there are plenty.

Yeah - I agree with you there 04tr -there are lots of great footy players to come through the next draft which is being labelled "compromised" like it's a bad thing. I think the next group are being sold short and could rightly feel insulted.

5 years down the track is the time to say whether it was negatively compromised or not - not now or even 2009!

Fortunately, the kids who play elite footy don't read BIG FOOTY! FACT!

That's correct isn't it ASSISTANT?

One to watch, Lucas Cook from Vic Country, already showed plenty of promise as a 16 year old in the Rebels this year, kicking 3 goals and getting second best against QLD, hes an AIS Scholarship holder and at 193cm has the hieght and motor to hold down a key position, speed is okay for his size, but will benifit from AIS training, skills are superb and reads the game magnificantly.
I've played against and seen players like Keath and May but i reckon Cook shows alot more promise, very smart player.
Ineligible for 09 though