1/3 mark

Didnt a player get suspened for swearing this year? Clearly a pisstake and after the Upwey v Fevola incident another cross for the league.
Ahh Finger- you still go back to this - Seriously, you ruin an otherwise sensible discussion with your agenda of trashing Upwey and their player concerned. Both clubs and the entire football public have moved on mate and to be honest, what I saw the Monbulk guys do to said player in an attempt to 'pay back' on the return game was far far worse than what was dished out to Fevola. Yet to my knowledge Upwey didn't lodge any formal investigations or cause a big fuss... simply moved on, which I think it is time you did also. FLOG!

Where talking about yellow cards and consistency. If you cant see the issue that a player can king hit another player and get nothing yet a bloke swears in the middle of the ground and gets a week thats your problem.

Shut up you flogs
We need to work to get more clubs in our league
Rumours of coldstream and bonnie doon

I've actually heard that Bonnie doon are attempting to form thier own league consisting of both Alex and Yea plus Thornton. All have been approached according to my mail.

Alex, Bonnie Doon, Thornton, and yea don make a league they barely make a division. I too have heard the Thornton rumours and they seem to be gaining momentum every week. While there might be a core group of players that are prepared to return now however the question needs to be asked if its a smart idea to re start a team that struggled for players only 12 months after winning a premiership. where will the players and money come long term?

The isolated country clubs seem to be struggling for players and the fringe suburban clubs are constantly under pressure to compete with large EFL clubs on their doorstep for both players and sponsorship dollars is diluting the playing stocks further going to improve our competition?

I'm sure someone is across all this however I think the league need to address long term sustainability as a priority with the clubs currently under the pump before trying to expand the competition. Again this is just my opinion and some food for thought

If Thornton was to start up again it would have to under the terms of fielding an U/18's team. It should prove that it can keep the numbers up long term. When you look at other suggestions like Bonnie Doon (only won 5 games), Swanpool & Tatong (getting smashed for years) & add in Kinglake & Yea who are also struggling, is it in the league's best interest to add another team in Thornton to an already battling area. Alexandra have shown at times they can be competitive but by adding Thornton are you going to dilute their depth and then have 2 struggling clubs. I am all for Thornton coming back but it has to be well thought out. Powelltown were in a similar situation a few years back & have come through it strong, so it can be done

You are just reading posts from Doona2
I don't know who this is or where his/her posts are so no.
Alex, Bonnie Doon, Thornton, and yea don make a league they barely make a division. I too have heard the Thornton rumours and they seem to be gaining momentum every week. While there might be a core group of players that are prepared to return now however the question needs to be asked if its a smart idea to re start a team that struggled for players only 12 months after winning a premiership. where will the players and money come long term?

The isolated country clubs seem to be struggling for players and the fringe suburban clubs are constantly under pressure to compete with large EFL clubs on their doorstep for both players and sponsorship dollars is diluting the playing stocks further going to improve our competition?

I'm sure someone is across all this however I think the league need to address long term sustainability as a priority with the clubs currently under the pump before trying to expand the competition. Again this is just my opinion and some food for thought
More teams than these 3 have bee approached. These 3 are the only teams relevant to our league though.

Big game at the foot of the table in Div.1 next Saturday. From my number crunching, which could be a bit dodgy at this time on a Saturday night, Gembrook need to defeat Olinda by 87 points to avoid relegation.

At the other end of the ladder, if Belgrave beat Warby the winner of Monbulk and Emerald will make the finals. What's gone on at Monbulk? I had them finishing last 4 weeks ago, and not only are they winning, they're winning well.

Certainly is interesting. If Belgrave get the win over Warby and Wandin Beat Woori then Belgrave will get the double chance. plenty to play for at all ends of the ladder

Ill go out on a limb here and say the above will happen tony and emerald will beat monbulk then rattle worris cage in elimination final and put an end to their campaign. I watched the game between emerald worri a few weeks back and emerald made worri look slow at times on their own deck. Big call here I know but you can all bag me if I'm proved wrong. This would surely make the boys down at the kennel a little nervous as well with the magpies the only team to really take it up to wandin all year. Can't wait for the real action to kick off and as a neutral supporter of the valley, might I say its a credit to all clubs that year after year we are served up such fantastic local football to watch on a weekly basis. Been watching div 1 for three seasons now and every game I see I always walk away happy with my $10 investment.

Woori would belt Emerald to with in an inch of their lives in a final.

You might be right finger. I mean as far as your concerned you're never wrong anyway so I'm not going to argue. Just giving my opinion on what I've seen. You know all so I apologise. Actually no I don't.

Emerald would be there on default if they made it there no good the same as the rest fighting out for fifth.

I'm not disagreeing with you but looking at results I wouldn't think they're out of their depth. Seen them a couple of times and they look like a reasonable outfit. Somewhat inconsistent but big grounds look to suit them. I believe everyone outside of wandin and upwey are making up the numbers personally anyway

Credit where credit is due, who ever the psychic is who did the fixture. Every game will/can have implications on the finals and relegation! In order of importance (in my opinion):

Emerald Vs Monbulk (playing for potential 5th spot, anyone said this 4 weeks ago you would've been laughed at!)

Belgrave Vs Warby (5th there for the taking for the burras, as you would imagine 3rd and the double chance for Belly)

Gemmy Vs Olinda (gonna take a shock result to change the relegation stance, but anything is possible I guess!)

Wandin Vs Woori (Wandin will want to pile on the pressure to Upwey, Woori playing to maintain the double chance)

Upwey Vs Mt Ev (Mt Ev only team in no mans land finals/relegation wise. Upwey can maintain the week off)

Big game at the foot of the table in Div.1 next Saturday. From my number crunching, which could be a bit dodgy at this time on a Saturday night, Gembrook need to defeat Olinda by 87 points to avoid relegation.

At the other end of the ladder, if Belgrave beat Warby the winner of Monbulk and Emerald will make the finals. What's gone on at Monbulk? I had them finishing last 4 weeks ago, and not only are they winning, they're winning well.

Gembrook would have to beat Olinda 87 to 0 to go above them. Realistically, to swing the 8.5% required in 1 game, Gembrook would need to win by 100 plus points as well as kick triple Olinda's score. Even if we were to have a bad day and only kick 8-9 goals, Gembrook would need 27 goals to go past us.

I expect us to win !!!

Finger you clearly have the blinders on, while anything could happen you can hardly say that Woori are going into this finals series in red hot form. Upwey made very light work of them yesterday and Wandin beat them by 10 goals last time they met.

J mac you make a good point about Emerald IMO I think both Monbulk and Emerald can make some trouble in the final 5 if they get in and Belgrave and Woori are both gettable for either side if they play good footy.

In relation to the Wandin V Woori game this week. I cannot see a team throwing a game to manipulate the final draw while top spot is still obtainable.

One thing I can tell you for sure is I'm sure there will be more twists to play out. A ripping season once again

1/3 mark