Player Watch #1 GigaChad Warner

chad-warner-of-the-swans-trains-during-a-sydney-swans-afl-training-picture-id1251467315

Chad Warner
When the Sydney Swans swept up Chad Warner with pick 39 at the 2019 AFL Draft, they secured a youngster with an insatiable appetite for the contest. Warner attacks the ball and opponents with aggression and is relishing calling midfield bulls Josh Kennedy and Luke Parker his teammates at the Swans. Warner impressed for Western Australia in the 2019 AFL Under-18 Championships, averaging 18.2 touches (50 per cent contested), 3.2 clearances and 6.8 tackles per game. He also tallied an average of 27.1 disposals, 6.4 clearances and 7.4 tackles per match at Colts level for East Fremantle in 2019. He earned his AFL debut against Richmond in Round 6 of the 2020 season, recording eight disposals and two tackles.

Chad Warner
DOB: 19 May 2001
DEBUT: 2020
DRAFT: #39, 2019 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Willetton (WA)/Aquinas College (WA)/East Fremantle (WAFL)

WA draftee Chad Warner will pull on the number one jumper graced by a long list of club greats, including Vic Belcher, Charlie Ricketts, Jack Bissett, J. Herbie Matthews, Paul Roos and Barry Hall,

Strewth.
1 = Chad Warner
2 = Kaiden Brand
3 = Dylan Stephens

I hope they haven't handed Chad the Rose poison chalice.

Wow, James Rose not included in that list is harsh.

“Club greats”?

Not sure he qualifies for that title?
Nobody else on that list kicked even a single goal against GWS, let alone 3 in 1 quarter.

Chad these guys just totally burned you.
Whatchya going to do about it?

What a ******* **** effort, though not surprising from a pair of blokes whose job is to analyse data.

Not only are they wrong about us not bringing in a contested centre bounce specialist (that is exactly what Warner is, though I won't pretend to have noticed him much in his U18s year), they're also just wrong about what we need in general.

We need more smarts and class injected into our midfield and Stephens brings that in spades. If you have those you don't need to be strong in contested footy. Exhibit A: West Coast won a flag in 2018 despite being ranked 11th in the comp for contested possessions. Exhibit B: Richmond won the flag this year despite being ranked 17th in the comp for contested possessions (worse than us!)

If what swannyfan said about Warner is true - that he's very good at knowing his limitations as an inside bull who brings the outside players into the game - then he'll be just as helpful to our midfield as Stephens.

What a ******* **** effort, though not surprising from a pair of blokes whose job is to analyse data.

Not only are they wrong about us not bringing in a contested centre bounce specialist (that is exactly what Warner is, though I won't pretend to have noticed him much in his U18s year), they're also just wrong about what we need in general.

We need more smarts and class injected into our midfield and Stephens brings that in spades. If you have those you don't need to be strong in contested footy. Exhibit A: West Coast won a flag in 2018 despite being ranked 11th in the comp for contested possessions. Exhibit B: Richmond won the flag this year despite being ranked 17th in the comp for contested possessions (worse than us!)

If what swannyfan said about Warner is true - that he's very good at knowing his limitations as an inside bull who brings the outside players into the game - then he'll be just as helpful to our midfield as Stephens.

Totally agree. Good data analysts can tell even at a cursory glance that Warner is an inside extracting mid.

Warner is a tackling machine..
Our best tackler is JPK then Parker and then Hewett.
We also lose Jones who tackles a fair bit.
So the list needs a young bloke like this to come in.

We were the second-ranked team for tackles this year, and we also had four guys average over 4 tackles a game (JPK, Parker, Rowbottom and Hewett.) Our toughness has never waned under Horse, it was just the polish and system that we lacked in our midfield this year. Hopefully some fresh faces and a bit of a coaching re-jig will improve this for us.

and a ruck

Don't disagree.
Dawson also had a high tackle count in 2019.

I'm just making the point that JPK won't be around forever and Jones has gone.

So no harm getting this young hard nut in.

Interesting broader discussion though. Tigers ranked 11th and Eagles 17th in tackles. So you are spot on. Polish is slightly more important than grunt. Hopefully young Stephens adds a bit of that.
If you have control of the ball the whole time - you dont need to tackle at all!

Found this article on Warner set before the draft which I haven't seen posted

On the latest Jock Reynolds SC Podcast they mention Horse had to tell Chad to take it easy on players during a semi-contested game.
Seems Chad has just the one speed. All-out.
Not sure if that story came from BF on not...
He's going to do some damage in the NEAFL early on I reckon. Wouldn't want a bar of it myself. :D

On the latest Jock Reynolds SC Podcast they mention Horse had to tell Chad to take it easy on players during a semi-contested game.
Seems Chad has just the one speed. All-out.
Not sure if that story came from BF on not...
He's going to do some damage in the NEAFL early on I reckon. Wouldn't want a bar of it myself. :D
Had the joy to see Rowbottom in the NEAFL early on. He's plenty hard enough but his best work is attacking the ball and scooting through a gap. Good hands and a decent kick. I suspect Chad needs to add a bit to his arsenal to get a debut. The coaches will let him know.