Past #10 Aaron Francis

You can tell how much natural talent he has when he took that great lead up mark and goal. Read the flight of the ball perfectly. Natural kicking action, clearly has worked really hard in pre season. We desperately need a key forward to step up consistently so the opportunity is there for him to grab particularly with Amartey out.

His reading the flight of the ball is top-shelf elite. His kicking is also very good.

I see him as a promising third tall playing forward. He's not so much a CHF who's going to crash packs. I would certainly select him ahead of Logan for the Suns this week. It would be awesome to see him develop a good connection with some of the mids that could learn how to kick it to him effectively. I think he could be a really effective lead-up forward but that depends on players kicking it to you in the right way.

Right now is a great opportunity for Francis to shine with Amartey and Logan MIA.

He played a blinder and I for one am left eating my words. I actually couldnt believe what I was witnessing - in one quarter he looked like he’d win the game off his own boot. Credit where it’s due ! Just don’t play him in defence.

Where the heck did that performance come from?

I've been a bit more 'up' on Francis than others, but a 14 disposal, 3 goal qtr was not on my bingo card.
Just seemed to have great confidence from the get go, his movement with and without the ball was top notch and it was great to see him playing with a smile on his face.

Seems very much a confidence player and now needs Coxy to tell him he's in the team for a number of weeks, with no Amartey/Mcdonald and back him in. :thumbsu:

Francis has always looked good for us at reserves level as an intercepting defender. Which suggest he could read the flight of the ball, was good aerially and had safe hands.

But at senior level we have used him as a 2nd lockdown defender, which Hamling seems better suited to. Maybe when we signed him, we thought he would be a 3rd tall intercepting defender but he is not as quick as someone like Rampe/Fox.

If only someone here had been suggesting he play forward for years

Let's be fair he was on a hiding to nothing.

Seems to be a confidence player and we pick him when desperate. I also think he is a forward not a defender.

Is he contracted? then forward, if no yes agree

Also said it before but Francis looks better as a forward at Essendon and we play him as a key defender.

There is a world where he could be the third tall/ spare defender if he got regular opportunity.

Try him forward let him play for the ball

IMG_6056.png IMG_6057.png IMG_6058.png IMG_6059.png

How the heck have we done the big ol 360 back to the what if of Francis rather than just forgetting about him

Where the heck did that performance come from?

I've been a bit more 'up' on Francis than others, but a 14 disposal, 3 goal qtr was not on my bingo card.
Just seemed to have great confidence from the get go, his movement with and without the ball was top notch and it was great to see him playing with a smile on his face.

Seems very much a confidence player and now needs Coxy to tell him he's in the team for a number of weeks, with no Amartey/Mcdonald and back him in. :thumbsu:
He's an absolute confidence player. He seemed to play with the attitude that I've got nothing to lose.

If the team had the same mindset, we'd quickly turn things around.

I just hope that he can achieve even half the potential that many clubs saw in him back in his draft year 2015/2016?

It's almost like you're trying to tell us something.

But fair play to you. I haven't especially seen him as a forward and he did well, albeit in one quarter of footy. Fingers crossed he backs it up over coming weeks. 🤞🤞🤞🤞🤞

When you get enough things wrong you have to make the most the odd correct thought .

Creates a contest & brings the ball to ground.
Developing into a capable swingman, similar to Sam Reid without the athletism.
Has similar attributes to Brody Mihocek, hopefully he developes further, because we need a tall in the front half who can provide a contest.

Creates a contest & brings the ball to ground.
Developing into a capable swingman, similar to Sam Reid without the athletism.
Has similar attributes to Brody Mihocek, hopefully he developes further, because we need a tall in the front half who can provide a contest.

Was thinking the same, he doesn’t have Sam’s athleticism but can still play that same role as he’s a terrific contested mark

More reliable kick for goal than Sam!!!

He’s only 27 too (28 this year). I thought he was a few years older than that. Lots of upside to him.

I’m not convinced there’s much “upside” to him insofar as typically if players haven’t become the players they could be by his age, they probably won’t. But he’s got value right now for our side undoubtedly and I’m delighted for him that he’s taking this opportunity. Without Amartey and Logan, he draws the ball by leading with purpose at the ball carrier and that has real value in this forward line.

It’s not like he’s winning heaps of ball and frankly he doesn’t seem to trust his set shots given how many times he passed the ball once he had marked inside fifty, but you just have to watch his play to see he’s useful for us as the nominal CHF/high forward and will be at least until Logan takes over his role whenever that’ll once he’s fit.

Plus you know his confidence is up because two weeks in a row he’s had to move into defence for a little while to cover and he’s done the job each time taking some intercept marks and delivering the ball.

Unless something strange happens I reckon he's earnt himself at least another year. Good depth is hard to come by, someone you can rely on to play a role in seniors, and he's done just that recently. Maybe even the old bloke Hamling too!
Indeed. Never understood people criticising both Francis and Hamling since they've been at the club. A couple of key position players with experience who can fill in at both ends of the ground. Because of the salary cap you obviously can't have stars on massive money playing reserves. just doesn't work that way.

Unless something strange happens I reckon he's earnt himself at least another year. Good depth is hard to come by, someone you can rely on to play a role in seniors, and he's done just that recently. Maybe even the old bloke Hamling too!
I think for the first time since he's been with us, he doesn't need to worry about his position. I'm sure that must do wonders for his confidence. Similar situation for Wicks at the opposite end of the park.

Past #10 Aaron Francis