Player Watch #10: Angus Brayshaw – retired due to concussion (22/02). Thanks for everything, Gus.

Sigh. I feel like it goes without saying, but if you're an opposition (Collingwood) fan looking to come over and get into a fight about Maynard's bump/tribunal case (again), go elsewhere.

No more warnings, cards will be handed out. Please read the room.

Tomlinson might push Gus out of the side when he recovers. With Petty being competent down back, there is no rush to put him straight back in as KPD I reckon. Having the current backline with Tomlinson drifting back seems like it would be really strong.

I've thought about this myself, not sure if they would go for it but it's certainly going to be a headache when he comes back.

I was vaguely aware that they had draftees as boarders but jeez they've put the effort in. What a family to have on your team.

Played a brilliant game on the weekend too. I hope he finishes his career as a 250 game Dee. That defensive wing role is getting a lot of recognition amongst Bulldogs fans this week. They're scared of hum cutting off their attack.

I was vaguely aware that they had draftees as boarders but jeez they've put the effort in. What a family to have on your team.

Played a brilliant game on the weekend too. I hope he finishes his career as a 250 game Dee. That defensive wing role is getting a lot of recognition amongst Bulldogs fans this week. They're scared of hum cutting off their attack.
Yeah this is one of the intangibles that means he won't get traded, mark and deb have basically taken on half the club.

For every bit of praise JT gets for hitting the draft so well, these kids from interstate and country Vic still need that extra bit of guidance. Pretty amazing stuff.

From Deb, I love her already

We were just very fortunate they were able to move out as 18-year-olds. I'd say there wouldn't be many mothers who were fortunate enough to be able to do that, but it meant I had to give them the skills to leave home.

"With the national draft I don't believe you can say I don't want to go interstate, it's a national competition and you need to be able to put your hand up and say 'If I'm lucky enough to be chosen anywhere I'm going with bells on it'.

From Deb, I love her already

[QUOTE]We were just very fortunate they were able to move out as 18-year-olds. I'd say there wouldn't be many mothers who were fortunate enough to be able to do that, but it meant I had to give them the skills to leave home.

"With the national draft I don't believe you can say I don't want to go interstate, it's a national competition and you need to be able to put your hand up and say 'If I'm lucky enough to be chosen anywhere I'm going with bells on it'.
[/QUOTE]
Nice to have her looking after Jacko and Riv. Helping them see past the obvious pull of home as a kid, get some resilience and earn your money. Smith and Perkins might have had legitimate reasons for what they did, I'm not sure, but it was still pretty s**t.

Played well against Geelong. Seems to play his best in the bigger games. Decent trait to have.
Agreed, there were some moments of real composure. Couple of side-steps or taking blokes on instead of a hurried kick forward.

He's so important for our structure. I remember a few contests between him and Bont the first time we played them. If he'd lost them the Dogs were out but he competed well and stopped the Dogs' forward momentum. He's got a huge role to play Saturday week

Agreed, there were some moments of real composure. Couple of side-steps or taking blokes on instead of a hurried kick forward.
Definitely. It's taken him most of the year to grow into his new role, going from looking like an utter spud, to trying hard, to doing some useful things but very panicky under pressure, to now looking quite composed and very important to our structure. It's been an impressive rise across the year. I'd pretty much written him off. Big kudos to Gus.

If the ball is in dispute in his area you back him to win it, and at the very least half the contest.

Also seems like a great team mate always celebrating goals the hardest. Handy midfield back up to have as well.

Seemed to float into the midfield rotations at some stoppages around the ground that led to clearances.

Maybe was only when Clarry and Trac were off the ground at the end but it was cool to see the helmet in the thick of it winning clearances

Nice to have her looking after Jacko and Riv. Helping them see past the obvious pull of home as a kid, get some resilience and earn your money. Smith and Perkins might have had legitimate reasons for what they did, I'm not sure, but it was still pretty sh*t.
[/QUOTE]
It’s obviously helped. Nice of the Brayshaws to offer themselves as a billet / home stay type of thing for the young players.

Its weird, I was initially a bit astounded by the stories about their not being able to do their own washing etc, but I was just as bad if not worse. I moved out and overseas when I was nearly 18. I literally couldn’t boil an egg, and learning to use the pay washer dryers was a massive stress. I used to sneak down in the middle of the night to the basement laundry of the accomodation so that if I ****ed it up nobody would see me do it. Likewise with the shared kitchens. And I was so shy at the time I couldn’t ask anyone for help.

Nice to have her looking after Jacko and Riv. Helping them see past the obvious pull of home as a kid, get some resilience and earn your money. Smith and Perkins might have had legitimate reasons for what they did, I'm not sure, but it was still pretty sh*t.
It’s obviously helped. Nice of the Brayshaws to offer themselves as a billet / home stay type of thing for the young players.

Its weird, I was initially a bit astounded by the stories about their not being able to do their own washing etc, but I was just as bad if not worse. I moved out and overseas when I was nearly 18. I literally couldn’t boil an egg, and learning to use the pay washer dryers was a massive stress. I used to sneak down in the middle of the night to the basement laundry of the accomodation so that if I f’ed it up nobody would see me do it. Likewise with the shared kitchens. And I was so shy at the time I couldn’t ask anyone for help.
[/QUOTE]

Everyone is different, I do think it is great to have it for footballers though as a lot of these kids are super sheltered growing up and know nothing outside footy, they'd be an absolute disaster by themselves. I sometimes wonder if we could have reigned Hogan in a bit early in his career as he was one who definitely needed more of this kind of stuff.

Its weird, I was initially a bit astounded by the stories about their not being able to do their own washing etc, but I was just as bad if not worse. I moved out and overseas when I was nearly 18. I literally couldn’t boil an egg, and learning to use the pay washer dryers was a massive stress. I used to sneak down in the middle of the night to the basement laundry of the accomodation so that if I f’ed it up nobody would see me do it. Likewise with the shared kitchens. And I was so shy at the time I couldn’t ask anyone for help.

Everyone is different, I do think it is great to have it for footballers though as a lot of these kids are super sheltered growing up and know nothing outside footy, they'd be an absolute disaster by themselves. I sometimes wonder if we could have reigned Hogan in a bit early in his career as he was one who definitely needed more of this kind of stuff.
[/QUOTE]
Yeah. Interesting question.

Quick apologies to my folks - they were excellent parents but I was a bit of a weird nuisance at that age and was the youngest of a family of four children all born within a six-year period. Plus Mum is rheumatoid arthritic so eventually I reckon you just burn out on trying to get an idiot, selfish teen to become socialised. Though I did learn all those things pretty fast when forced to, so there’s that.

Jesse lived with the Vineys I think from memory. Hard to imagine he didn't have the support if he wanted it

It is a hard one as you have to let them live their lives, I guess it is more Jesses fault than the clubs I just wonder if there was anything we could have done differently.
Hoges was a bit different with his old man dying too though

I feel awful for him but it doesn't excuse some seriously poor professionalism off the field.
I mean, everyone deals with s**t differently. If in my early twenties I lost my father then confronted my own mortality with a cancer diagnosis I would probably have gone off the rails too. Even with shitloads of support people fail with those kinds of issues.

He’s just very lucky he’s pretty good at footy.

I mean, everyone deals with sh*t differently. If in my early twenties I lost my father then confronted my own mortality with a cancer diagnosis I would probably have gone off the rails too. Even with shitloads of support people fail with those kinds of issues.

He’s just very lucky he’s pretty good at footy.
He didn't go off the rails he likes partying and doesn't love footy.
The bloke grew up and had never heard of Wayne Carey.

Kozzys mum passed away, he was way younger.

You can have a bad couple weeks hell maybe a month. You don't get a life pass.

He didn't go off the rails he likes partying and doesn't love footy.
The bloke grew up and had never heard of Wayne Carey.

Kozzys mum passed away, he was way younger.

You can have a bad couple weeks hell maybe a month. You don't get a life pass.

Yep. What Jesse does with his life is his choice but he made the choice to never fulfil his significant amount of talent.