Player Watch #11 Luke Trainor

Did We Get The Pick Right?

Trainor has seemingly been moved up the ground to allow Gray to come
in and have some time to settle
in defence . Trainor initially went forward whilst lynch was out and soon as lynch returned he went to a wing which meant McIntosh was moved to sub . With Balta coming in and out it isn’t ideal for developing players but it’s pretty smart coaching to develop Trainor up the ground whilst making room for Gray in defence .
Broad , Miller , Vlaustin are all locks down back as is Balta and Short when available whilst I’d say Brown and Gray are also cementing a spot .
Add Gibcus in the mix for spots

It's unbelievably exciting, who the hell has so many potential A grade key backs,3 year ago the cupboard was bare.

I assume Norf have heaps of A grade kpd given they’ve been rebuilding for 5 years. No way known they’d be stupid enough to only draft mids with their best picks.

It's unbelievably exciting, who the hell has so many potential A grade key backs,3 year ago the cupboard was bare.
So which of these backs do we trade out? There will be a time when some will not be happy playing second fiddle or other clubs come for one or two of them.

Broad , Vlaustin and short aren’t getting any younger.
Trainor , Brown , Balta , Miller have all shown a bit when playing elsewhere on the ground and it’s not unreasonable that gibcus , if he ever gets back , plays forward .
A genuine ruckman and midfield is where our list needs fall .

Hes not really an Andrew’s type of defender?
Harris Andrews came into the league as a 200cm intercepting beanpole that was pretty raw.
Trainor is a better creator and is far more agile than what’s Andrews was, also a far better kick.

Trainor was repeatedly used as a swingman a lot throughout his Coates games and was pretty successful at it.

I would be looking more at Darcy Moores type of development then Andrews for Train.

Also I’ll give you a tip that most of the time players don’t really know what’s good for them or the team in terms of where they want to play…pretty important lesson to be learnt early in your footy career. Something a lot of these juniors coming through these days seem to have zero idea about, which is usually an agenda pushed by parents.
rather than moore, i reckon he's more similar to that of a nick blakey

similar players in their footskills and ability to move well & play all over the ground at 195cm

Hes not really an Andrew’s type of defender?
Harris Andrews came into the league as a 200cm intercepting beanpole that was pretty raw.
Trainor is a better creator and is far more agile than what’s Andrews was, also a far better kick.

Trainor was repeatedly used as a swingman a lot throughout his Coates games and was pretty successful at it.

I would be looking more at Darcy Moores type of development then Andrews for Train.

Also I’ll give you a tip that most of the time players don’t really know what’s good for them or the team in terms of where they want to play…pretty important lesson to be learnt early in your footy career. Something a lot of these juniors coming through these days seem to have zero idea about, which is usually an agenda pushed by parents.
Trainor is a far better runner too. If anything, if he can get some size around his core and keep his speed, he is a little more of Broad type that can also run up and down the ground with greater pace.

rather than moore, i reckon he's more similar to that of a nick blakey

similar players in their footskills and ability to move well & play all over the ground at 195cm

Think that’s where he lands. He wasn’t a great 1-v-1 defender last year in the Champs in my view, and looked more at home when allowed more freedom than as a traditional KPD lockdown role.

We are also at a stage where the senior game becomes more difficult as we head into winter. Part of the kids’ development will be understanding the slog that comes at this stage of the season and adapting to it.

Rest only if needed to prevent injury if there are concerns on that front.

Very Lucky to remain in the side, subbed out 2 of the last 3 games, clear dip in form

Had to be dropped
His form coincides with him been thrown all over bar his best position when he was in form. He should have had a rest also after the bump on his head.

Its good experience to be played in other positions for the medium to long term.
Not so much the short term though.

It Is What It Is Sport GIF by UFC

Needs some VFL post bye

Today was one of his best games of the season lol. The club gave him player of the match.

He was sloppy by foot but I'm not too concerned about that. The work rate, ability to know where to run and most of all the ability to find the football as a kid is the hardest thing to do. And he does all that.

As I’ve said all along he torches the footy
It's seriously not an issue this year. He gets the first year player panics - it's inevitable that it will result in poor decision-making and/or disposal. Look at Sims, Armstrong and Faull too - they're missing set shots in their first few games that they buried easily at junior level ... just getting used to the anxiety of being on the big stage.

The important thing is that he is brave, is smart, knows were to go to get the footy, and can win it or halve it when he gets there.

This year is an incredibly steep learning curve and Luke is accumulating an immense quantity of experience in a compressed time period.

I'm loving his year, could hardly be better.

I like his style too he moves well and is strong overhead for his physique. But hell his kicking is hit and miss both bigtime good and bigtime bad. Plenty to work with
He kicks well. Nice technique, well balanced and can get good distance.

It's just his decision making on where to actually kick it is flawed at this stage.

Player Watch #11 Luke Trainor