Player Watch #13: Jack Higgins

Not just the goal... also had the highest number of contested possies for our team and 2nd most clearances

Info pointed out by a tiggy supporter on twitter and just thought I would pass it on

Was second in the AFL ranking points for the game which shows you how effective/influential he was for us

He deserves a lot of credit. Second and third efforts, gets to consecutive contests, runs both ways. Getting plenty of the footy for a first year player and is super fit - running out games. U only need to look at bakers last quarter to c this.

Great hands too, very quick in close. Made one mistake early I can remember which I think was him just picking up the pace of the game. From that point on he was brilliant

Just loving our three
gs00105.gif

Whilst i can understand some people calling it a throw initially but is was not a throw
If The ball was not kicked or didnt touch his foot - Then it would be a throw

There are many many different types of 'Ball Drops' whilst in the action of kicking that are not conventional but are still allowed
* The SPP example of a player lying on his back and 'throwing' the ball up then kicking it
*Snaps over your head you need to throw the ball up rather than drop the ball
* The hundreds of kicks we see that players getting tackle throwing the ball with 1 hand held then getting a foot to kick it
* The 'New' Stevie J kick where the players kicking around the corner that ball also needs to be thrown up to kick it at an angle and distance

The part that confused the people is that Higgins actually went the other side of the post to the ball

In a season or two he'll be ranked top 5 for his draft, I'm calling it. It wouldn't surprise me if ranked 1 or 2 either....:)
I have no doubt about this - quite a few others will have flashes of brilliance - games where they kick 5 or 6 but in terms of consistency and 100% football ability I reckon Jack has most of last years pool covered.
Will play 200 + games for us - certainty!

Whilst i can understand some people calling it a throw initially but is was not a throw
If The ball was not kicked or didnt touch his foot - Then it would be a throw

There are many many different types of 'Ball Drops' whilst in the action of kicking that are not conventional but are still allowed
* The SPP example of a player lying on his back and 'throwing' the ball up then kicking it
*Snaps over your head you need to throw the ball up rather than drop the ball
* The hundreds of kicks we see that players getting tackle throwing the ball with 1 hand held then getting a foot to kick it
* The 'New' Stevie J kick where the players kicking around the corner that ball also needs to be thrown up to kick it at an angle and distance

The part that confused the people is that Higgins actually went the other side of the post to the ball

That was my read of it to. The key was making actual connection with the boot. Had he missed, it was a throw. Umpires have discussions about this all the time. It was brilliant by a kid who used to spend 30 minutes every morning working with the footy in his hallway at home. Tight spaces had become his natural environment.

That's a behind was touching the post :p

I think that's the forgotten part of this his awareness to not touch the post at any point. You see him almost do it and then stop himself as well

Cracks me up that he reckons in that time, he had time to think about Glenn Maxwell and his catch, then thought well it’s a big crowd so stuff it, go for it.

Haha give us a ****ing spell snags. How can you not love him?

We all thought Jack would be up there for the rising star..
Dosnt matter we thought it would be Graham not Higgins haha
Has propelled himself to top5 calcs, if he played out the season at yesterday’s standard , he might be top 3 , doubt he’d win it , I reckon Stephenson at this point in time

Sorry if I'm late to this, but are people seriously objecting to this goal!?
People throw it to their boot all the time when their arms are pinned in a tackle... play on if they kick it, htb if they miss. Joe Daniher's regular ball drop goes higher than that ffs.

I remember Wanganeen doing very similar around the behind post when he was about 18/19.

Bloody fantastic goal, goal of the year no doubt.

Player Watch #13: Jack Higgins