Delisted 13. Liam Stocker

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Did not sound like it going off the last part of audio file.
In the audio he says Wes Loft rang him in Adelaide and told him he had to get there a week earlier than planned and play in seniors as Barry Armstrong got injured. Sounds legit. Reckons he had to ask Shane O'Sullivan in dressing room where he playing as silly coach Percy Jones had not told him yet. That sounds like the coach he was of that time. I think he was meant to move from Adelaide to Melbourne the next week and play in reserves so if he had of been over for a practice game in summer it probably meant in the reserve group as he said he had never meet guys like Doull and Sellers before he arrived at Victoria Park with Wes Lofts. Also read somewhere else he also played for Saints in practice game that summer but they never got back to him..

An article from SEN where he spoke of playing for Carlton in a practice match before signing on;

“So I came over for a practice match and they took me into the Committee Room where Wes Lofts, Ian Collins, Percy Jones and Shane O’Sullivan were sitting. “They said look you did alright today and we’d like you to come over and play for us – and I said yeah no worries.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2016/06/30/phil-maylin-on-leaving-woodville-for-the-blues/

Yeah, does not say if reserves or senior practice match. It just a try out at that point. Wonder how many guys got tried out once and never invited back.
Probably heaps.

Oh yeah, there would have been lots of them, then you had people like Paul Meldrum who just walked into the place on a training night asking to be tried out. Plenty of players ended up at their clubs by chance.

I should ask my older brother. I know he went down to train at Princes Park a lot in his late teens. Probably played some under 19's but I should ask if he ever played reserves too.

So is the afl involved in the greatest miscarriage of justice since Andrew carazzo was denied the rising star award by not giving liam stocker a nomination?

Had to be under 20 on 1/1/21 and not have played 10 games. Pretty sure that he qualifies.

Maybe hocking leaving (scars of '95) might overturn this blatant oversight.

So is the afl involved in the greatest miscarriage of justice since Andrew carazzo was denied the rising star award by not giving liam stocker a nomination?

Had to be under 20 on 1/1/21 and not have played 10 games. Pretty sure that he qualifies.

Maybe hocking leaving (scars of '95) might overturn this blatant oversight.

I think Tom Powell from Norf is pretty stiff not to get a nomination so far this season myself.

Not overly fussed if he gets the gong this week or not, I am just really happy to see him seize his opportunity by the horns and run with it.

Probably the biggest campaigner we've had since Steven "Suitcase" Browne, but he has more tricks obviously. Like.

OTOH, Steven Browne was great in Flight Of The Conchords.

Not enough can be said about his hunger to compete, tackle ferociously, willingness to put body on line and stick up for his teammates.

Just fantastic highlights. He is a competitor. You can tell he wants the ball. There's a look of Tom Stewart about him. Not as tall, but just does things right.

Not enough can be said about his hunger to compete, tackle ferociously, willingness to put body on line and stick up for his teammates.

Literally loved everything I saw there.

Hard at it, crunching tackles, good disposal, and on two separate occasions ran off his man to provide a third man up and fill space bailing Weitering out each time (who was trailing his man).

At 1:40 Weitering lets him know as well, giving him a massive wrap after saving his bacon.

Ditto after a few of the tackles.

For those numpties who tried to claim he doesnt have the respect of his teammates, I call 100 percent BS.

In his 15th game no less as well. I reckon with a good pre-season under his belt he's gonna have an absolute breakout year next year or the year after.

I would love him to play on Liam Ryan again, I reckon he learnt a lot from last time and over 4 or so weeks since.

Reckon he just needs to be a little careful on some of those tackles. Maybe a little lucky not to get called for dangerous tackle on two of them.
I agree - unfortunately, his opponents got up and finished the game tsk tsk tsk

I would love him to play on Liam Ryan again, I reckon he learnt a lot from last time and over 4 or so weeks since.

The matchup that supposedly was going to destroy his confidence and finish him off served to make him show the grit and determination to be better after lowering his colours, funny how that works with some players. He'll be asking to play on Ryan again next time.

I think his technique is spot on. No separate slinging motion.
Not so much a sling tackle, but a dangerous tackle. Only one motion, but with the Fyfe one for example, he has both Fyfe's arms pinned and twists him to the ground with Fyfe's head making slight contact to the ground unprotected. Had Fyfe got up groggy or showed signs of concussion, I think it certainly would've been looked at.

The matchup that supposedly was going to destroy his confidence and finish him off served to make him show the grit and determination to be better after lowering his colours, funny how that works with some players. He'll be asking to play on Ryan again next time.
Goes to show his determination to be the best he can be and learn from his opponents. Love it 👌

Just fantastic highlights. He is a competitor. You can tell he wants the ball. There's a look of Tom Stewart about him. Not as tall, but just does things right.
How good was the "filling the hole" in front of the leading Lobb, highlight of the match for me.