Firstly - How is that applicable to the question asked.
And secondly, you cant blame us for the fact that 70% of us grew up in the 50s and never learnt the different rule book with vastly different interpretations in the AFL. It's something both Adelaide and West Coast fans have struggled with.

More likely a lot of your supporter base grew up without any footy only to join the bandwagon in 1991.

BTW, since when did a crowbot bother about thread relevance?

More likely a lot of your supporter base grew up without any footy only to join the bandwagon in 1991.

BTW, since when did a crowbot bother about thread relevance?
Since BigFooty changed its setup?
I was always one for keeping things relevant, but today is the first time since the change over that I've spent much time on Bay 13.

Since BigFooty changed its setup?
I was always one for keeping things relevant, but today is the first time since the change over that I've spent much time on Bay 13.

Should we stand back in awe of the enlightenment you now wish to share with us?

I would like to hear the Camry Crows fans express their opinions on this matter. One would expect a teams crowds to rise sharply if they have been in the top 4 for most of the season.

If you actually look at the figures........
Round 2 WBD 34021 - a base line figure at the start
(Rd 3 Smashed by Hawthorn away)
Rd 4 GWS 28261 Low crowd -Lack of interest in GWS, response to a failure to keep in touch after halftime v Hawthorn
Rd 5 Showdown 41649
Rd 7 Geelong 35535 (1500 better than game 1 - can we do it or is our team trolling us?)
Rd 9 Collingwood 44238 (Spike in numbers after being 7-1)
Rd 12 St Kilda 36394 (Loss to the Pies dented our pride, but we beat Freo away 800 more than the Geelong game)
Rd 14 Richmond 33780 ( we just got done by Norf, the Crows might just be trolling us? ~240 less than Rd 2)
Rd 16 West Coast 40724 (Good win loss record, lets see if we can beat WCE after beating them preseason)

That West Coast game is 6703 more than the 1st home game, a 19.7% increase.
The Collingwood game is 10217 more than the 1st home game, a massive 30% increase. Would you call a 19.7% and 30% rise in crowd numbers from the start of the season a sharp rise? All last season we had 2 game with 40K+ and this year we have had 3.

The crowds have risen and fallen in response to our on field endeavours. I have not even looked at time slots to see which games fall in our least favoured time slots. We all know the Sat afternoon slots don't draw as big crowds, but we all have to live with it.

I have not included Showdowns as they are usually the best (or one of the better) attended home games in our season and do not always reflect onfield form. This is why D_One excludes showdowns in his graphs, in our years with poor attendance omitting these games makes the average look lower. Infact he is doing this without giving any reason, he is infact lying and no one has called him out on it until now.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tg-adelaide-crows

Rd 4 GWS 28261 Low crowd -Lack of interest in GWS, response to a failure to keep in touch after halftime v Hawthorn
Rd 5 Showdown 41649
Rd 7 Geelong 35535 (1500 better than game 1 - can we do it or is our team trolling us?)
Rd 12 St Kilda 36394 (Loss to the Pies dented our pride, but we beat Freo away 800 more than the Geelong game)
Rd 14 Richmond 33780 ( we just got done by Norf, the Crows might just be trolling us? ~240 less than Rd 2)
Rd 16 West Coast 40724 (Good win loss record, lets see if we can beat WCE after beating them preseason)

That West Coast game is 6703 more than the 1st home game, a 19.7% increase.
The Collingwood game is 10217 more than the 1st home game, a massive 30% increase. Would you call a 19.7% and 30% rise in crowd numbers from the start of the season a sharp rise? All last season we had 2 game with 40K+ and this year we have had 3.

The crowds have risen and fallen in response to our on field endeavours. I have not even looked at time slots to see which games fall in our least favoured time slots. We all know the Sat afternoon slots don't draw as big crowds, but we all have to live with it.

I have not included Showdowns as they are usually the best (or one of the better) attended home games in our season and do not always reflect onfield form. This is why D_One excludes showdowns in his graphs, in our years with poor attendance omitting these games makes the average look lower. Infact he is doing this without giving any reason, he is infact lying and no one has called him out on it until now.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tg-adelaide-crows
Are you seriously just comparing your Collingwood and West Coast crowds to the Western Bulldogs crowd? :oops:

Don't all of a sudden forget all the other matches in between those mate, all of them count. Since the Western Bulldogs crowd, the average has only gone up by 2,000. Not impressive for a top 4 team.

I think Dirty Bird was right, your ageing supporter base is having an affect on crowds.

Rd 5 Showdown 41649
Rd 2 - Easter weekend, look everywhere, besides Monday Afternoon Football the round is always bad.
Rd 4 - Saturday afternoon, low drawing timeslot, people have country football, amatuer football, was raining as well that day
Rd 5 - No problem with that.
Rd 7 - Saturday afternoon, everything else of Rd 4 bar the rain (was a good day)
Rd 9 - Dont know, was in China and couldn't watch
Rd 12 - That was dissapointing, should have been 3-5k more
Rd 14 - Also dissapointing, should have been 3-4k more
Rd 16 - No problem with that

Are you seriously just comparing your Collingwood and West Coast crowds to the Western Bulldogs crowd? :oops:

Don't all of a sudden forget all the other matches in between those mate, all of them count. Since the Western Bulldogs crowd, the average has only gone up by 2,000. Not impressive for a top 4 team.

I think Dirty Bird was right, your ageing supporter base is having an affect on crowds.

You have to start some where and you can only start at the beginning of the season. You choose which of the next ways to look at crowd numbers are best look at.

1)How about this average crowd for rd 2 & 4 as a base line:
Rd 2&4 average:31141
rest of games:38720 = 7579 increase or 24% increase

2) If you don't like me looking at the WBD game or GWS games pick a point when our win/loss record has shown improvement. I'll pick round 5 as at this point we are 3-1
Rd5 onwards average:38720
I'll compare it to 2011 home game average as we can't compare it to WBD or GWS as you are asserting
2011: 35020 = 3700 or 10.56% increase on last years average after we started to show improvement. (I am looking at rd 5 onward because your assertion is an increase in crowd numbers after success)

3) We can discount the expansion club factor as the Crows had no expansion club home game last year and they didn't exist in 2010. So I'll take last year's average of 35020 and compare it to the average of all non-expansion club home games 38048 = 3028 increase on last year (accounting for expansion clubs) 8.6% increase.

We can see the raw averages posted in the threads and I have put up a graph using these already.

If you are serious about an answer and not trolling; the situation is complex and many posters have outlined concerns effecting crowds at matches. But the expansion club factor cannot be ignored. If a club has 11 home games and 2 of them draw crap crowds, average attendances will be down. I see this as a problem for bottom sides going forward, they will get a soft draw like Crows and North got this year, but this could mean 2 home games against sides which will not draw a profitable crowd. As much as D_One is calling "bullshit" an overall drop in average attendances this year over the entire AFL of 10% is a concern until the expansion clubs become competitive and crowds turn up.

Rd 2 - Easter weekend, look everywhere, besides Monday Afternoon Football the round is always bad.
Rd 4 - Saturday afternoon, low drawing timeslot, people have country football, amatuer football, was raining as well that day
Rd 5 - No problem with that.
Rd 7 - Saturday afternoon, everything else of Rd 4 bar the rain (was a good day)
Rd 9 - Dont know, was in China and couldn't watch
Rd 12 - That was dissapointing, should have been 3-5k more
Rd 14 - Also dissapointing, should have been 3-4k more
Rd 16 - No problem with that

I agree with you that there should be atleast 38-40K in rd 12 and 14, but I also think that the last 2 years of Neil Craig are still etched in the minds of Crows fans. This may deter some fans from some games. The year AFTER success usually sees better crowd numbers. Ports 2005 was better attended than 2004.

Double the amount????

24.7 % down on average vs 13% down on average for us in 2011

It's not that difficult to comprehend, yes crowds are down slightly in SA, but even when we were at our worst we only saw a dip of 13% off average.

The fact that Port are nearly 25% down on average suggests there is something horribly wrong down at your club. Even if we are having a third worst crowds in history, as I have established before the difference between our peaks and troughs are far less than Poort.

Maybe when the crows are 25% down on average you might have some basis to make a point, but continually saying "but what about the camry crows? adneusem shows that once again even when your argument has been exposed and dismantled you still keep parroting on saying the same thing.

Actual numbers?

I've already posted the actual numbers in this thread.

Even a simpleton could grasp the concept that with two different sample sizes the only way to accurately measure things is to compare the percentages. You've brought up the supporter split on so many occassions, so lets not even bother trying to play the semantics card by trying to move the goal posts to raw numbers when you yourself have bleated on time and time again about Crows supporters comparing raw numbers together.

I would like to hear the Camry Crows fans express their opinions on this matter. One would expect a teams crowds to rise sharply if they have been in the top 4 for most of the season.

That's what I thought. With 70% of the two team support and being top 4 for most of the season you'd think they would get 40K every home game. But they're not, why?

Here is a recap of 2012 numbers. CROWS -10% PORT POWER - 23% AFL -10% down from 04 to 09 average.

View attachment 2062

So to be 100% fair I looked at attendance figures for the 2004-2012 period. I averaged the years 2004 to 2009 for the AFL, Crows and Port. I used the AFL as a bellweather of the health of club crowds. Sort of like a CPI figure to compare clubs against.

In the 2010 period the Crows on field and off field dramas were well known, but the average attendance is about on par with the AFL, again

It can be clearly seen that in the 2004 to 2012 period the Crows had better than AFL average crowds, while Port had worse.

I compared the percentage change in Crowd numbers between the '04-'09 to the two year period in question. The AFL numbers were pretty steady with less than half a percent increase. The Crows in their woeful 2 years had a drop of 13.73%. As a comparison as a South Australian team Port Power had a decrease of 19.27% that is over 5% worse drop in crowd compared to the Crows.

To take into account the expansion teams I have looked at the 2012 AFL figure. The percentage drop in average home game attendances for the AFL is 10.5%. This is comparing the 2012 figure to the '04-'09 average. In contrast to the figure for the Crows comparing 2012 to '04-'09 is a drop of 10.24%. The Crows bettered the AFL percentage change accounting for expansion teams but a quarter of a percent. In contrast the Port Power figures demonstarate a 23% drop from baseline Crowd figures. This is a whole 13% worse than the AFL average percentage change, accounting for expansion teams.

When compared to the whole market the Crows crowds this year could be better, but are 3.5% improvement on the 2010-'11. The Port Power crowds are 4% worse than 2010-'11.

The Crows crowds have improved, accounting for expansion teams while Port Power continues to flail around like a Bay Cover in the Southerly wind.

No Crows fan has to justify crowd numbers to any Port Power fan. Your attendance is woeful due to the on field performance. Turn that around and your crowds will return, and give up the crap about loyal supporters.

That's what I thought. With 70% of the two team support and being top 4 for most of the season you'd think they would get 40K every home game. But they're not, why?
Surely they will get over 40k this week against fellow top 8 side Essendon, right?

30 pages 30 ****ing pages of port fans trolling a team that has just 1 game below 30,000 all because you aren't man enough to admit your a failure one the field so you fans don't show up FFS just say it don't grasp at straws.

I came in here earlier to try and insert some sanity and got asked why Sydney crowds are low when we're on top, being a bloke who isn't afraid of the truth I answered honestly we're a team with a small supporter base.

All anybody ask's of you port flogs is you realise and acknowledge that you owe your continued existence to the Adelaide Crows, look at almost every thread you guys post every miserably bay covered game attendance, you survive on your hatred of crows.

Your so called supporter base only turns up when you play the Crows, your so obsessed with the Crows that any failure at your club is excusable so long as you can have a dig at Adelaide. Your here trying to bag Adelaide's crowds when your crowds are the worst non expansion team crowds in the league, in a state that is footy obsessed with your "100 year legacy" of being a "real footy club" your crowd numbers would be lower then nRL teams if it weren't for the crows game.

In truth all port fans should nod there head at anyone in a crows jumper as a sign of respect and thanks, because without that derby the AFL would've taken that licence back and ****ed you all off to Tassie long ago.

Obviously D_one is excluded as she should throw herself at the feet of the nearest crows fan and beg them for forgiveness for being so deluded.

crowd-figures-jpg.2062

Wow the Camry Crows averaged 39,879 in 2004 when they finished 12th and this year they are only averaging 36,825 ... and they've been mostly top 4. Why aren't their crowds up around the 42,455 mark like they were the last time they finished top 4? Where have these 6K gone?

Thanks Mattrox for pointing out that the Camry Crows crowds have been dropping over the years and that this year's top 4 crowds are just a "dead cat bounce". Thanks heaps. :) :thumbsu:

crowd-figures-jpg.2062

Wow the Camry Crows averaged 39,879 in 2004 when they finished 12th and this year they are only averaging 36,825 ... and they've been mostly top 4. Why aren't their crowds up around the 42,455 mark like they were the last time they finished top 4? Where have these 6K gone?

Thanks Mattrox for pointing out that the Camry Crows crowds have been dropping over the years and that this year's top 4 crowds are just a "dead cat bounce". Thanks heaps. :) :thumbsu:
Maybe their fans are aware of their piss easy draw and that they are not a genuine top 4 threat?

30 pages 30 ******* pages of port fans trolling a team that has just 1 game below 30,000 all because you aren't man enough to admit your a failure one the field so you fans don't show up FFS just say it don't grasp at straws.

I came in here earlier to try and insert some sanity and got asked why Sydney crowds are low when we're on top, being a bloke who isn't afraid of the truth I answered honestly we're a team with a small supporter base.

All anybody ask's of you port flogs is you realise and acknowledge that you owe your continued existence to the Adelaide Crows, look at almost every thread you guys post every miserably bay covered game attendance, you survive on your hatred of crows.

Your so called supporter base only turns up when you play the Crows, your so obsessed with the Crows that any failure at your club is excusable so long as you can have a dig at Adelaide. Your here trying to bag Adelaide's crowds when your crowds are the worst non expansion team crowds in the league, in a state that is footy obsessed with your "100 year legacy" of being a "real footy club" your crowd numbers would be lower then nRL teams if it weren't for the crows game.

In truth all port fans should nod there head at anyone in a crows jumper as a sign of respect and thanks, because without that derby the AFL would've taken that licence back and ****** you all off to Tassie long ago.

Obviously D_one is excluded as she should throw herself at the feet of the nearest crows fan and beg them for forgiveness for being so deluded.

pffft ... who gives a rat's clacker about the opinion of convict descendents?

crowd-figures-jpg.2062

So you are not worried by your crowds dropping just ours???

They have already played a game there did not sell out but still the plan is going ahead.

More failure for them.
Pretty sure GA and all reserved searing was sold out, I couldn't see a spare seat at all in the outer. Only the ****ing SACA members (aka old shits that either follow the Camries or don't like football) did not show.