Past #16: Aiden Bonar - drafted by GWS #11 '17 ND - traded to NM end '19 - 25 NM games - thx Bon

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone
Interesting that his pace is being talked up.

A few years ago we categorised various players in the league into "moving players" vs "standing players" during a chew the fat sesh with a colleague, in that almost any player can be slotted fairly conclusively into one category or the other based on their playing style. Very few are truly both.

Bonar's highlights are interesting. Some authentic looking run and carry but also some promising stints in contest and spoil 3rd tall defender type roles. Maybe a rare hybrid.

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
Interesting that his pace is being talked up.

Well, he runs a 2.90 20m.

That would be the quickest at the club, Atley ran around a 2.95 in his draft combine, which is the same as Jaidyn Stephenson.

Majak ran a 3.03 at the State Combine in 2009.

Dangerfield ran a 2.92 in 2007.

Saad runs a 2.86 as an example, Johannison 2.96, Gary Rohan 2.93...

He's definitely quick.

Same 20m testing as Tom McKenzie :(

That would be the quickest at the club, Atley ran around a 2.95 in his draft combine, which is the same as Jaidyn Stephenson.

He's definitely quick.

Surely we re-rookie McKenzie.

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone

He's definitely quick.

Brad Moran ran 2.78 :oops:

Shows the correlation to fast footballer 'in game' isn't linnear.

Pykie

10k Posts A Star Wars Fan Pokemon is Life North Melbourne - North 2007 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship
Sep 17, 2006
Lord's
Leeds United
Brad Moran ran 2.78 :oops:

Shows the correlation to fast footballer 'in game' isn't linnear.

Definitely some questionable testing back then.

They've unquestionably changed testing gear from even about 5+ years ago.

As a whole, the times have gotten around .05 slower than earlier drafts for the top of each combine list.

Compare 2019 vs 2010

1573688644856.png

1573688728592.png

King Corey this basically does prove your "being quick doesn't make you good theory".

I mean, I'd need a detailed post about what "Sunhine Johnny" Johannes Flugelweimer, legendary coach of the Columbus Cockleshellers back in '62 thought about it to be really convinced though mate.

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone
King Corey this basically does prove your "being quick doesn't make you good theory".

I mean, I'd need a detailed post about what "Sunhine Johnny" Johannes Flugelweimer, legendary coach of the Columbus Cockleshellers back in '62 thought about it to be really convinced though mate.

It sounds like you're after some superficial detail that doesn't really assist the premise?

JeanLucGoddard is the best bloke to contact for that stuff.

It sounds like you're after some superficial detail that doesn't really assist the premise?

JeanLucGoddard is the best bloke to contact for that stuff.

It is a telling stat though - did anyone on that list get over 50 games?

Heaps of fun

Goatered on the sticks
Sep 13, 2013
I can't even recall a player ever being written about who dramatically changed recruiter opinion based on their testing AND then went on to have a great career.
Doubt that has happened very often but it'd be near impossible to know, considering how cagey recruiters are. When guys like Stephen Wells and Graham Wright miss out on someone they rate they take it to their grave.

Jun 9, 2001
Fogarty Street
St Johnstone
Doubt that has happened very often but it'd be near impossible to know, considering how cagey recruiters are. When guys like Stephen Wells and Graham Wright miss out on someone they rate they just get their club to poach them 2 years later.

Efa.

Picked up a bloke called Peter last night
Peter was pretty hammered and aggressive , had a punch on with his brother
I thought I’d be in for an uncomfortable 20 minute trip
Thought I’d calm him down and talk footy
Peter massive Saints supporter
He asked me who I barracked for
Told him North
He went apeshit
“ you got the best one, you got the best one”
When I asked him to explain he told me he’s been involved in TAC Cup coaching for years
Proceeded to tell me Bonar, pre knee ops, was destined to be clear Number 1 at the draft
Still believes he should’ve gone at number 1, that he’s a class above all others in that draft
Knows the family, loves the family, was talking to them at Coles Cranny last week
Filthy the saints didn’t make a play for him
I suggested maybe due to his current salary, could’ve been a hindrance
He then told me, “just remember me in 2 years
He’ll be the next P Cripps”
That he and LDU will be the most dynamic duo in the AFL

Drunk and aggressive Pete got me pumped for the rest of the night

Picked up a bloke called Peter last night
Told him North
He went apeshit
When I asked him to explain he told me he’s been heavily involved in the TAC Cup for years, then
proceeded to tell me Bonar, pre knee ops, was destined to be clear Number 1 at the draft.
Still believes he should’ve gone at number 1, that he’s a class above all others in that draft
Knows the family, loves the family, was talking to them at Coles Cranny last week

Drunk and aggressive Pete got me pumped for the rest of the night. :thumbsu:

Can you write a book, or do a podcast, about your uber/cab adventures or something. I would happily pay a subscription or something.

Last edited by a moderator:
Can you write a book, or do a podcast, about your uber/cab adventures or something. I would happily pay a subscription or something.

Oh god, how I wish I could’ve recorded a pissed Gil Mc Lachlan....dressed as Al Capone, (roaring 20s themed birthday party)using every profanity known to mankind

He was funny, great bloke believe it or not

koshari

Mar 24, 2011
Picked up Peter last night
Told him North
He went apeshit
When I asked him to explain he told me he’s been heavily involved in TAC Cup footy for years
Proceeded to tell me Bonar, pre knee ops, was destined to be clear Number 1 at the draft

Drunk and aggressive Pete got me pumped for the rest of the night

well if peter from clyde rates him thats enough for me.