Retired 17. Hamish McIntosh (2013-2015)

Let me say this first, I congratulate Geelong on a fair deal, certainly financially. If you knew the inner workings of what we're paying and who you'd inderstand. But in no way is he going to be a ruck "guide" or anything like that. That was one of the reasons he was given the arse from being our first ruckman. His tap out's often got the opposition back in the game. His strength is his workrate and around the ground, minus overhead marking. Along with the fact that he can kick goals.
His strengths may be enhanced , however, if he can get himself fit for a sustained period. We are taking a worthwhile risk, as our others are ready to compete for his spot anyway, but with less pressure than if we didn't have HMac. Sharing the load and responsibility. We don't have a Goldstein- he is ultra-durable, and obviously thrives on the solo responsibilty. We have 2 #2 rucks, and a potential #1 ruck in Simpson, and now with HMac, there is depth, while you have a superb #1 ruck, who only needs a little help from Daw and Drew Petrie. Looks to be a win-win really.

Our coach in today's Hun. The payment bit is reassuring.

"The only way bringing in old players comprises you long term is if you give up too much for them and we have given up very little. The other thing is if you pay them too much and we're certainly not doing that either."

"Hamish at his best is a very good player, we know he comes as a 28-year-old who hasn't played much footy in the last couple of years and he's got a significant injury history so there are risks associated with that and if it doesn't work, we are prepared, we can accept the worst case scenario there," he said.

Let me say this first, I congratulate Geelong on a fair deal, certainly financially. If you knew the inner workings of what we're paying and who you'd inderstand. But in no way is he going to be a ruck "guide" or anything like that. That was one of the reasons he was given the arse from being our first ruckman. His tap out's often got the opposition back in the game.

How do you see him being played for the remainder of his career at the Cats?

Personally, he seems like a David Hale type and will spend much more time in the forward line due to his terrific hands and kicking ability.
I never thought he had the best of leaping ability, certainly has not got West's or Vardy's vertical leap but he is a bigger/stronger frame to handle stoppages I would have thought

According to the Herald Sun McIntosh was 10th in the league for contested marks and 5th for hit outs to advantage this season at rd 7 (prior to injury). He'll be a ruck men resting forward much as we used Ottens.

Personally, he seems like a David Hale type and will spend much more time in the forward line due to his terrific hands and kicking ability.
I never thought he had the best of leaping ability, certainly has not got West's or Vardy's vertical leap but he is a bigger/stronger frame to handle stoppages I would have thought

I see his future as being a makeshift ruckman and a reasonable forward. He has 2 issues - his tap work is average and he is ordinary over his head. For a bloke his size he doesn't appear to have any physical presence. But they can probably cover that in Geelong's forward line, and the size thing. He's a bit like a poor man's Matthew Richardson. If he was a tad quicker, he'd make a great 6.6" wingman.

It wasn't pretty, but I thought it was telling that Mackie had the most to say, then stepped up himself to show the way.
Got a strong mentality, that bloke.

I think your right.
How did you feel when you saw the boys point fingers at each in their last game of the year?

Seems like a very long time ago I remember them pointing at each other http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...3&eventType=Behind&seek=1701&videoQuality=med
First time I had seen the sign of slight panic and frustration from the boys in a very long time.
Mackie for all his laconic look is a very strong willed person it seems. He did all hw could and has never really played a bad final or a block buster game.

I think your right.
How did you feel when you saw the boys point fingers at each in their last game of the year?

Seems like a very long time ago I remember them pointing at each other http://www.smartreplay.afl.com.au/?...3&eventType=Behind&seek=1701&videoQuality=med

I fully endorse it.

At the start of 2007, Mooney got "You're too selfish and you have no self-discipline!". Ablett Jnr got "You're lazy and a sook!". Scarlett was one of the meanest offenders, telling the team "Who do you guys think you are?! You're not as good as you think!!". Everyone heard the real, unbiased deal on their performances; Ablett turned from a lazy, soft hack to one of if not the greatest player the game has ever seen, and we all know what happened with the team from '07 onwards.

Compare this to 2010, when our players got too friendly with Bomber and opted to not take him and his Plan B seriously.

If that sort of sledging can inspire the players to the extent that we've seen, I am all freaking for it.

I fully endorse it.

At the start of 2007, Mooney got "You're too selfish and you have no self-discipline!". Ablett Jnr got "You're lazy and a sook!". Scarlett was one of the meanest offenders, telling the team "Who do you guys think you are?! You're not as good as you think!!". Everyone heard the real, unbiased deal on their performances; Ablett turned from a lazy, soft hack to one of if not the greatest player the game has ever seen, and we all know what happened with the team from '07 onwards.

Compare this to 2010, when our players got too friendly with Bomber and opted to not take him and his Plan B seriously.

If that sort of sledging can inspire the players to the extent that we've seen, I am all freaking for it.
Yes, but a little bit goes a long way.

Yes.....and no mention of the Big "O" by either Balme or Wells......

I think he's gone.

I can't see how we can afford to have 5 ruckmen on the main list given our squeeze for numbers, so yes he looks gone. Unlucky, as he had a good year, but understandable now we have Hamish.

Personally I dont like to see one player demonstratively berating a team mate. It's not a good look....and the opposition would love seeing it.

Coaching is what coaches are for..

Personally I dont like to see one player demonstratively berating a team mate. It's not a good look....and the opposition would love seeing it.

Correct, it looks awful, and it looks even worse if the player being criticised (rightly nor wrongly) argues back.
Do it quietly, and (if possible) in the privacy of the huddle or the rooms.
Don't give the opposition anything else to fire them up.

No, but you don't want to see it every weekend.
And it has not happened every weekend. Every now and then is good.

Let's be honest though. Our boys have a very, very high set of standards that have built up over the past 6 years. Sometimes there are mistakes that should not be made by some inexperienced/crap players.

Would you rather

A. Tell the player "Job well done! That opposition player sure is a great kick for goal! You sure did a good job of letting him show it off!"

B. Shut up and ignore the player...which is pretty stupid, given that our coaches specifically want the older guys to help out and mentor the younger ones; and even if they don't want that in particular, there is absolutely nothing wrong with receiving a bit of flak from a triple premiership legend. It is, if anything, beneficial to your game. If I was a young player and Jimmy told me "Pull your head in, that was an easy mark!", I would pull my head in and do flips, sprints, whatever it takes to mark anything and everything - just to prove him wrong and impress him.

C. Tell the player off, let him learn his lesson, and have him get better on-field because of it. If a player receives a spray from a champion player and takes it on board, he is already a better player. If he talks back, he is either as dumb as a bat or just as frustrated with his own game.

It's exactly like most parents and children. If a kid does something stupid and his parents discipline him, he will learn from his mistakes, and that should be it. If a kid does something stupid, and he answers back his parents/questions his parents when they discipline him, that
just causes more problems.

If a parent doesn't discipline his/her kids at all, that is asking for trouble, the same way that simple footy mistakes shouldn't go under the radar.

We have the perfect group to mentor our kids, a group that is actually worthy of telling the kids where they are at and what they need to work on; why not utilise it every now and then.

that's how I felt when I saw it.
It's almost worst seeing those actions than the actual scoreboard as you'd hope no lingering issues were to arise in the future but just felt it was a very different finish to a year than what we are use to seeing.
I seen Josh give his teammates a spray on a few occasions though but as some said, Mackie looked to have taken a step forward in both his footy and his leadership in 2012 and he wasn't afraid to hold back and let Stokesy know all about it.

that's how I felt when I saw it.
It's almost worst seeing those actions than the actual scoreboard as you'd hope no lingering issues were to arise in the future but just felt it was a very different finish to a year than what we are use to seeing.
I seen Josh give his teammates a spray on a few occasions though but as some said, Mackie looked to have taken a step forward in both his footy and his leadership in 2012 and he wasn't afraid to hold back and let Stokesy know all about it.

It was cringeworthy.
And who the heck knows anyway whether Mackie, Stokes or Pods had the right of it in the argument?
It could and should have been sorted out just as effectively in the huddle and/or without all the arm waving.

Heath Shaw let's loose at his defenders pretty much every single game.
Usually after the first quarter siren sounds they focus the cameras right in on him and they will throw up one of those mini advertising logo's in the right hand corner for a few seconds as they know people are going to be watching to see how nuts he goes.

Obviously a commercials wet dream is Heath :)

Heath Shaw let's loose at his defenders pretty much every single game.
Usually after the first quarter siren sounds they focus the cameras right in on him and they will throw up one of those mini advertising logo's in the right hand corner for a few seconds as they know people are going to be watching to see how nuts he goes
He's a bit of a frittata though... it's not a good look coming from a coach let alone a team mate.

yeh but it's Collingwood boob ;)
they pretty much run this whole bloody gig so they can do whatever they like as long Eddie is still around.

you watch...Heath will be guest starring on Sons of Anarchy anytime soon :thumbsdown: