Delisted #17: Jay Nash

• Thread starter Thread starter DaSawx

Re: 17. Jay Nash

Not quick enough.
Zones of his man and tries to play a Luke Hodge style game but he is only 30% of Hodge so it doesnt work.
Makes poor decisions with the ball. He is incredibly skilled but he kicks it to some ordinary spots.
Too busy pointing at others to pick up a man and he won't do it himself.

NLM is by far a worse defender. Myers with a full pre-season would be ahead of him, but Nash is still better then them two.
Myers will hopefully be a star though.

Agreed. I like NLM for some reason, could be the grunt, but he's undisciplined and in all honesty shouldn't get a game.

Not quick enough.
Zones of his man and tries to play a Luke Hodge style game but he is only 30% of Hodge so it doesnt work.
Makes poor decisions with the ball. He is incredibly skilled but he kicks it to some ordinary spots.
Too busy pointing at others to pick up a man and he won't do it himself.
Ever thought it might be part of the gameplan? Nash had a good 2nd half to the year. He does need to improve defensively but he has all the tools to be a quality player.

he needs intensity

So does Stanton but for some reason Nash cops the majority of criticism whilst Stanton on the whole goes unscathed.

Whilst on our 6 of 7 game winning streak, Nash was sensational, just as David Hille whose AA selection would have or should have been based around!

Depth player when team is fit and firing

Other way around I reckon. Will be seen as a gun when we lift. His lack of accountability looks worse with our lack of midfield pressure. Guys like Guerra, Birchall, Dew, McLeod, Hunt, Gilbee etc would be maligned if they played behind our midfield but are extremely valuable if they are given some protection. Nash is the same IMO.

His kicking skills are just beautiful.

Fair enough but he still needs some defensive attributes if he's going to play there, especially if we play finals.

When I do my best I always find better players ahead of him, although he's probably in my best 25, all opinions i guess

Used to be a big fan, not so much now. As others have said, he looks much better when the team is playing well and when our midfield is on top and applying pressure.
Needs to get fitter and maybe he might end up pushing up onto the wing.

Ever thought it might be part of the gameplan? Nash had a good 2nd half to the year. He does need to improve defensively but he has all the tools to be a quality player.

So part of our game plan is to let the opposition run losse through the middle with no one picking them up ? I doub't it very much.
I know they try and get Nash as the loose man when they can but he still has to man up when we have not got the ball and currently he does not have the pace to play that role as he can not get to anyone.
I watch a crap load of footy (over 4 games a weekend)and i can't say that i have seen a good game plan contain some of the efforts that Nash puts in.
The thing that really topped it of was last week. In the second quarter Hocking left Hayes to run and pick up a loose player at half back. He yelled to Nash to grab Hayes and Nash just let Hayes go by and pointed for someone else to pick him up. Of course the ball goes to Hayes he kicks it forward and St.Kilda score. Good lesson to give a young kid. Hocking did the right thing only to be burnt by a team mate who was too worried about getting loose and trying to get a cheap kick.

I love Nashy, but the jury is still well and truly out on his rebounding defender role. i want him in the best 22, so he needs a big summer working on his fitness, trimming down a bit and building the tank up so that he can be used up the ground a bit more. a wing or HFF would suit him, as he would provide a quality supply to our forwards and kick a goal or two himself.

I'd love to see him on the wing. He's a bit taller than most, so he's got an added advantage in that he's hard to match up on.

#17 - Jay Nash

NASH_Jay_246x316a.jpg

Height: 188cm
Weight: 84kg
DOB: 21/12/1985 - 23 years old
AFL Debut: 2005
Position: Half Back Flanker
Recruited From: Central District (SA) with pick 28 in the 2003 National Draft
12982.jpg

Games: 41
Goals: 10
Brownlow Votes: 6

2008 Averages
Kicks:
Hanballs: 6.3
Disposals: 18.1 - 74.48% efficiency
Contested Possessions: 3.29
Uncontested Possessions: 13.43
Marks: 4.38
Uncontested Marks: 4.19
Contested Marks: 0.19
Inside 50s: 2.52
Rebound 50s: 3.00
Clearances: 1.10
Tackles: 2.24

DT Average Score: 70
SC Average Score: 73

162711.jpg

Player Profile on Essendon website

Jay Nash continued to improve in 2008 playing 21 games and gaining valuable experience. Known for his effective kicking and run out of defence, the 23-year-old has now tallied 41 career games and is a player Matthew Knights will be hoping steps up considerably in 2009. Nash will be kept on his toes by a number of young Bombers wanting selection but the South Australian should remain a key feature of the Essendon backline this year and could make a name for himself if his improvement continues.

Jay Nash’s outing in the Bombers’ forward fifty proved fruitful after he set up one major and kicked another to cut the Kangaroos’ lead to nine points and put the Bombers within reach.

this excerpt was taken from the following article on the essendon website
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6384

could this be a sign that Nash should be played further up the ground? there has been recent debate about the lack of quality supply into the forward 50, with some confidence he could be the one who improves our forward supply, by playing on a HFF and setting up the tall timber. not to mention he is a beautiful kick at goal himself!

thoughts?

this excerpt was taken from the following article on the essendon website
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6384

could this be a sign that Nash should be played further up the ground? there has been recent debate about the lack of quality supply into the forward 50, with some confidence he could be the one who improves our forward supply, by playing on a HFF and setting up the tall timber. not to mention he is a beautiful kick at goal himself!

thoughts?

I never thought about him playing in the forward line but I've wanted to see how he'd go on the wing for quite a while.

Just a quick note on Nash's game against Carlton.

Disposals: 18
Effective: 94% (that's 17 effective)

I mention this because when I was calling for him to be promoted to the 1's, the usual response was that his disposal was too poor to justify a spot. Only Jobe (19 effective) and Stanton (20 effective) had more effective disposals on the night.

Meanwhile Dyson, who seems untouchable at selection picked up 9 effective touches.

A relative of mine who works at Essendon (a very reliable source) told me today that Nash is very unhappy because his not getting a game and will request to be traded at season's end? i don't know much about Jay but sounds asif he has some potential but is struggling to get into the 22. thoughts.. opinions?

The other week he was on the Live chat thing during a game, might have been Sydney and I seem to recall him saying that he fancied his chances of a return in the next few weeks. That obviously hasn't happened to maybe he is getting frustrated...