Past #17: Nathan Grima

Reverend Carey argued on Talking Footy that the public humiliation of the past 24 hours is enough punishment for LT...............

Im livid at BS for doing this to LT. This is out and out disgraceful imho and the club should be asking questions. This is the type of shit that loses playing groups.

Seriously what a joke. Can't believe all the garbage I'm hearing in the media about The dive and not giving that handball to Adams. The media jump on anything these days. Thomas is without doubt a theatrical player we all know that but he is also a great team player and one of the best tacklers inside 50 in the league and to think somebody like Aaron Black who puts in weaker efforts than Jack Watts at at same stage of his career gets away SCOTT free while Lindsay cops all this garbage makes me sick.

I have some messages for some people at North

To Leigh Adams- Next time you want to recieve a cheap handball inside 50 how about being on the burst charging towards goal on your preferred foot instead of being flat footed facing the wrong way on your left foot.
To Aaron Black- Have a serious honest look at your pay cheque in the morning and ask yourself wether you deserve to be on $200,000 plus a year with what you are bringing to the table at the moment.
To Brad Scott- stop camoflaging your average coaching by continually talking about other issues in the media like the roof, diving, tom Rockliff, umpiring and MRP and instead start asking some serious questions of yourself and your players.
To Nathan Grima- Any chance of playing a full season

Lindsay has copped his fair whack now I expect all his team mates to rally behind him this Saturday just like Richmond did around Jack Riewoldt against GWS. If we stand for anything as a club we win our last 4 and a home final.

It's an ugly look for the game. Unfortunately for Lindsay he has a negative perception in the media, over a few incidents.

Did anyone catch Steve Johnson get tackled by Cunnington in the first quarter, and literally stop on the spot holding his stomach? Then when the umpire called play on, he suddenly was fine again. But when he does it, it's "oh that Steve J, what a rascal"

He should have addressed the diving in year one, it has been a poor oversight. His claims that it has recently crept back in has me seriously concerned that he is too blind to see what is going on. LT is good for 2-3 dives a week and that is assuming he is having a decent game, if he can't find the ball it gets exponentially more ridiculous.

The thing is, he is a far better player when he doesn't dive. I remember in one games he copped a pretty decent clip to the head, shrugged it off and put a lace out pass to a key forward and only after that did he actually feel his head. When he plays with heart, passion and aggression he is one of our best players but he has probably cost himself more free kicks than he has earned from diving because he has a bad rep for diving and umpires are reluctant to give him legitimate free kicks.

It's a shit look, and I'd prefer he didn't do it. But with everything else he brings, you just kind of accept it as part of the package I guess.

As for A.Black, I paid closer attention to him for a while on Saturday night, and I was really disappointed. Not even close to enough work. What surprised me was there were 2 occasions where he could have run into space to present a passing option -and therefore a shot at goal - and simply didn't. He might not have got the ball either time, but he didn't even try. No urgency? Injured? Knackered? Whatever the reason, we are in a crook state if we "have" to keep playing him after watching that performance.

. When he plays with heart, passion and aggression he is one of our best players but he has probably cost himself more free kicks than he has earned from diving because he has a bad rep for diving and umpires are reluctant to give him legitimate free kicks.

He always plays with heart and passion IMO, and I think the diving is borne more of frustration than anything. But I agree he does himself no favours and I wish it wasn't part of his game.

I'm not comfortable with all the crap he's copping this week though, there are far worse things going on with that team at the moment.

It is all well and good to play blokes like Black every week for the short term view of needing to make finals and having no body else better to bring in. I don't but that. It does nothing for his development playing a guy every single week just because he is 6 ft 3. Hate seeing it. I would rather play somebody else. Anybody else.

I think the poor bloke was still feeling the effects of that crazy arse marking attempt in the middle of the ground, happy to take the good and the bad of Lindsay just as cat fans are happy to live with Selwood dropping to his knees everytime he gets tackled, first free of the night was Selwood HIGH, little thucken surprise, just like LT that Selwood guy can play too.;)

*It's not cool to pot our players.

Proceeds to pot 3 of our players (one of which has had a possible career ending injury run) and the coach.

Yeah, Cool.

It's an ugly look for the game. Unfortunately for Lindsay he has a negative perception in the media, over a few incidents.

And who is the loser as a result of his diving- Lindsay.

Since 2010, he's played 75 games and scored 149.93 and 61 goal assists for 99 frees for and 104 frees against for ....................2 Brownlow votes ( Brownlow votes figures do not include this year).

Ballantyne , another small forward, has , since 2010, played 75 games and scored 129. 84 and 48 goal assists for 95 frees for and 76 frees against for........14 Brownlow votes.

Eddie Betts, another small forward , has, since 2010, played 82 games and scored 164.97 and 94 goal assists for 72 frees for and 53 frees against for........5 Brownlow votes

Ballantyne is however being spoken of as a possible All Australian despite being a "niggler" while Thomas is considered a "diver" and Eddie Betts is seen as a key forward.

What a beat up! One of the biggest stagers/divers currently playing is considered a champion of our game..........Nick Reiwoldt.

Why isn't he highlighted for the numerous times a game he simulates contact or dives after incidental contact?

Hypocrisy at it's best.

Brad Scott can shut the **** up, instead of highlighting Lindsay's pretending, he should be highlighting the pretenders he is currently playing.....Black, Adams etc.

Heard Rohan Connolly and Mark Fine talk about this on Sunday morning and when Riweoldt came up they basically agreed it's OK to stage but not to make it so obvious that the world can see.

Disappointing that media persons like these two can be total flogs.

Lindsay does it more often than anyone and he is far more histrionic in the way he does it (not just staging, staying down for an eternity after any knock).

I don't really care what other players do, I support North and he should just cut that shit out and he will become the player he should be. He is such a gun, just go for the ****ing ball.

Anyone that is defending LT only is looking through their rose colored glasses.

West Coast guys did it and everyone on here called them cheats.

No one in the comp tries to "Milk a free" "Play for a free" "Dive forward for a free" or whatever you want to call it

more than LT.

It is a bad bad trait & I have found usually older players tend to do it more once the game is getting past them.

He will always be remembered for it now !!!!!

People are completely missing the point ^^.

The issue is not about whether LT should or shouldn't stage/dive. Or if we accept he does, whether he should stop it or cut it back or whatever.

The reason people are disappointed is that he is being hung, drawn and quartered by the media due to comments made by his own coach and teammate (for something plenty of other players do, where their coach and teammates back them up constantly and/or deal internally if need be.)

Scott was out of line to make it a media storm again and take the focus off himself by responding to the question in that manner, and Grima should just concern himself with getting a kick rather than criticizing LT.

LT cleared.

/thread.

Please no, don't close the thread T'toes.
Scott was asked a question about Thomas and answered it directly, putting the issue to bed.

I do have issues with Grima commenting though. He could have said the coach has spoken about it and left it at that but there is a reason Grima is in the media more than the 'no comment, we're looking forward to our next game" boys....

There is a way you can respond to that sort of question and that is to simply say, "we will have a look at it in our review of the match, as we always do".

End of story.

No one in the comp tries to "Milk a free" "Play for a free" "Dive forward for a free" or whatever you want to call it

more than LT.

It is a bad bad trait & I have found usually older players tend to do it more once the game is getting past them.

Bullshit.

more than LT.

Yeah well that's okay. We are allowed to criticise other clubs and their players. That's why I always seem to have a sore eye and need to wear an eyepatch over it every time I go to the football (and when posting on Bigfooty). :)

Please no, don't close the thread T'toes.

There is a way you can respond to that sort of question and that is to simply say, "we will have a look at it in our review of the match, as we always do".

End of story

Spot on. Or as is the current coach 'get out answer' for players who have been reported etc, "I didn't see it, so can't comment"

Of course they have seen most of these incidents (at least on replay as they all have TVs to refer to) but don't want to discuss the issue in the media. It is pretty simple.

Mr Scott seems to be fraying at the seams a little. He used to defiantly stand up for our players to the hilt, even if they are standing there holding the blood-covered knife over the dismembered corpse. But to target LT publicly, especially when he has been flying the flag (nearly broke his bloody neck), kicking the goals, and bleeding for the club, is a massive black mark in my book. I didn't like the dive and it is the only part of Lindsay's game that frustrates me, a bit like Boomer's back chatting with umpires, but while I would like to see him drop the habit, it is frankly water off a ducks back in comparison to the the great things he brings to the team and the bigger faults of many in the side re. their attitude and efforts on the field. Shame Brad. Shame Narni.

Past #17: Nathan Grima