Past #17: Nathan Grima

Think I heard one of the commentators say he was leading the league for "spoils".

Dunno, could be hearing things.
Certainly wouldn't be the first time.

Sticky hands, too. (Him, not me.)

Still hating that nickname though. :face of banana

You heard correctly TOD. They said that injured Lion, Daniel Merrett led the league for spoils last year and this year it's Nathan "Killer" (is that better?) Grima. Just watched the full replay myself.

Do we need another Grima? Yep.

Put Obst in there, his old Centrals mate, and let Killer take him under his big hairy wing and teach him the facts of life. A mentor.

Grima will take no rubbish.

Think I heard one of the commentators say he was leading the league for "spoils".

Dunno, could be hearing things. Certainly wouldn't be the first time.

Sticky hands, too. (Him, not me.)

Still hating that nickname though. :face of banana

Yes he his leading spoils in the comp:D Love him as a player.

It was great to read on another thread today about Peter Steward, one of my all-time favourite North Melbourne players. How well I remember standing in the outer at Arden Street, watching North getting belted yet again, but taking great pleasure in watching Steward in action. He was a really good mark, a good kick, and he read the play beautifully, always seeming to be in the right position. And he was always cool and decisive under pressure - mind you, he had plenty of practice! And there is a lot of Peter Steward in Narni Grima, they share many characteristics. I think that is one reason why I'm such a fan of Narni.

Smooth mover , cool under pressure , great hands in close , great kick , great spoiler of the ball .

GUN !

Do we need another Grima? Yep.

Put Obst in there, his old Centrals mate, and let Killer take him under his big hairy wing and teach him the facts of life. A mentor.

Grima will take no rubbish.

:thumbsu: i reckon obst can fit in the backline as well,can take a tall,allowing scotty thompson and hansen to used to better advantage,i clearly remember his game against st kilda last year,lots of desperation shown there

I can't recall exactly but one of the commentators mentioned he was the NUMBER 1 spoiler in the comp at the moment. Good reader of the play to go with his obvious attributes.

I can't recall exactly but one of the commentators mentioned he was the NUMBER 1 spoiler in the comp at the moment.

No shit. My only regret is that point wasn't raised on the previous page of this thread. Say, in posts #9 and #11.

Thanks TOD for catching me out on one of the rare times I don't read the rest of the thread before posting.:eek: Don't worry about me at the moment I was rushed getting home last night and started to post on the gameday thread while having a couple, then the 3rd quarter happened and I stated I was logging off to drink myself to oblivion because we had no hope of winning at that stage. Later got back on to admit I was wrong though but just shows how well I'm going at the moment:eek::eek:

Thanks TOD for catching me out on one of the rare times I don't read the rest of the thread before posting.:eek:

Ha. Just f***ing about. You're forgiven, WT. Thought we were finished at 3 Quarter time, too, and I'm sure we weren't the only ones out there. Good effort to get over the line. Very pleasing to see.

I'm driving the bandwagon.

Who's got a ticket?

Best backman ATM. Man crush set to 10.

summer_holiday-the_1461232c.jpg

Mate, you'd be struggling to get a seat. The bandwagon was rolled out of the depot before Narni was even listed at North.

I became a believer early last year and I struggled to get standing room.

Grima is quite possibly out best recruit in years. Not that I have anything against Ziebell, Cunners, Hansen, Swallow & all our other recent recruiting successes - but to pluck a ready made full back & support him through injury is just a brilliant story.

A no-fuss, solid defensive backman is worth his weight in gold. I'm just so confident whenever the ball heads near him.

It was great to read on another thread today about Peter Steward, one of my all-time favourite North Melbourne players. How well I remember standing in the outer at Arden Street, watching North getting belted yet again, but taking great pleasure in watching Steward in action. He was a really good mark, a good kick, and he read the play beautifully, always seeming to be in the right position. And he was always cool and decisive under pressure - mind you, he had plenty of practice! And there is a lot of Peter Steward in Narni Grima, they share many characteristics. I think that is one reason why I'm such a fan of Narni.
Back in the day of the drop-kicking fullback SCROO. And he was one of the best exponents. Victorian rep if I recall in a struggling North team. Peter Steward saw plenty of action at the defensive end of the ground back then.
Grima impresses me with his "closing speed". Hence the number of spoils.

Back in the day of the drop-kicking fullback SCROO. And he was one of the best exponents. Victorian rep if I recall in a struggling North team. Peter Steward saw plenty of action at the defensive end of the ground back then.
Grima impresses me with his "closing speed". Hence the number of spoils.

I think he has an uncanny game style to a young Brian Lake, both were mature age recruits as well.

He's a smart defender.

He realises he isn't the strongest body on body, sits off the forward and effects the spoil.

Also, clearly reads the play well, as you rarely see a forward with 10 metres on him on an open lead.

Big tank, excellent contested grab, sound skills.

As I said, very Brian Lake-esque.

I'm hoping that there has been a seat kept on this bus for me when you swing past London?

This old one man bus (does that make it a uni-cycle) I've been driving since he used to search out my Mum for a busted Sav, post game, at South Launnie is just about to run out of rego....

Man, all the canteen ladies used to love him. Good mannered kid who loved a bit of a flirt with the all the ladies who keep local footy clubs running!

I reckon we should keep a cheeky eye on his brother out at Glenelg as a mature recruited fwd. More brothers playing footy at the same club is what the game needs I tell ya!

Top 5 most valuable players for North IMO

Fair to say Thompson has had difficulties containing the gorillas, so if Grima was to go down, our backline structure would become a mess

Rarely gets beaten 1 on 1, calm efficient user of the ball and works hard to provide an outlet for other defenders when they are under pressure

Up there in terms of importance with Petrie, Swallow, Harvey and Wells

Add to that where he has come from, and its a great North story

Past #17: Nathan Grima