189 d 48

• Thread starter Thread starter DaveW

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
I would be surprised if he goes around again.
Why do a PS when he's played hardly any games in 2 years.
He'll probably be thinking next season could end up the same as this one.
I was thinking about this lately and I might be being a bit paranoid here BUT why are Adelaide interested in Rivers??????

My line of thinking is that they know that Stevo will not be around next year and as such we will need a CHF. Kenny has shown that he can do a reasonable job at CHF but that leaves us thin at CHB. Maybe AFC wants to recruit Rivers to play CHB and move Kenny to CHF next year.

Personally I would go for Damon White but I guess the advantage is that Rivers is from SA where as White is from WA.

With Watts thats the problem in playing him now, he's judged.
If he was still in SANFL our expectations would be less. He's 2-3 years away from any sought of decent football - in that time he will add another 10KG and you will see a vastly different player - be patient.

Don't forget we have a lot of experienced players on the sidelines.

Which is what I'm saying. Get him out of the current squad. Not worth the spot. So why bother "blooding" him now?

And as for the other players on the sidelines.
M Stevens - injured, again. should retire as he's not good to us for 2 games a season.
R Burns - considered to be too old...too old, at least he has more realiable hands for the spot.
I Perrie - Should be playing. It's ridiculous that he isn't.
J Schuback - injured. Young still. To short for a KPP.
J Begley - back line player.
B Burton - injured. Has the talent, but does he have the build?
Carey - Gone

Yes I agree in rebuilding, but c'mon, enough is enough. We need a built CHF not a piece of celery. Otherwise expect these losses to come in succession until the youngins, grow into these players...in the future, not the the present.

If it makes you feel any better it wasn't the biggest loss in AFL history but it was getting right up there.

MARGIN
190 Fitzroy 238 Melbourne 48 Waverley Park 1979
178 Collingwood 207 St Kilda 29 Victoria Park 1979
171 Sth Melbourne 189 St Kilda 18 Lake Oval 1919
168 Richmond 199 Nth Melbourne 31 Punt Rd 1931
165 Essendon 184 Sth Melbourne 19 Windy Hill 1964
164 Geelong 239 Brisbane Bears 75 Carrara 1992
163 Sydney 236 Essendon 73 S.C.G. 1987
162 Brisbane Bears 219 Sydney 57 Gabba 1993
161 Geelong 162 St Kilda 1 Corio Oval 1899
160 Hawthorn 216 Essendon 56 M.C.G. 1992
157 Hawthorn 231 Fitzroy 74 North Hobart 1991
152 Richmond 222 St Kilda 70 S.C.G. 1980
151 Richmond 187 Fitzroy 36 M.C.G. 1996
150 Fitzroy 220 Nth Melbourne 70 Junction Oval 1983
147 Collingwood 200 Essendon 53 Victoria Park 1971
146 Essendon 208 Footscray 62 Western Oval 1982
143 Hawthorn 194 Footscray 51 Waverley Park 1982
142 Essendon 160 West Coast 18 Windy Hill 1989
141 Melbourne 154 Hawthorn 13 M.C.G. 1926
141 Brisbane Lions 189 Adelaide 48 Gabba 2004
141 Nth Melbourne 209 Richmond 68 M.C.G. 1990

I've been trying to get a proper perspective on that disgraceful performance before I comment on it.

29 points down at half time, and at least putting up respectable opposition. Final result - 141 point loss and disgraced as the team that incurred the biggest losing margin in our history.

If anybody needed a reminder of where we really are they got it tonight.

An amateur coach against THE professional coach.

An amateur team against THE professional team.

Brisbane were awesome. Quick, direct and always down the centre of the ground. If you have FOX Footy watch the replay again now and watch how many times a kick went from defence to a man (sometimes 2) standing almost inside the centre circle.

On the other hand the less said about us the better. Even Craig's greatest supporter in McDermott was forced to admit that maybe, just maybe, Adelaide might be forced out of it's comfort zone, and recruit a totally new coach, rather than one in Craig that is part of the past 5 years.

No-one expected us to win - but no-one expected us to be non-competitive.

The blackest night in the club's history IMO.

Originally posted by macca23
29 points down at half time, and at least putting up respectable opposition. Final result - 141 point loss and disgraced as the team that incurred the biggest losing margin in our history.
That's a good point.

To get beat by 100+ over a match is pretty lamentable. But to get beat by over 100 points in a HALF... :eek:

I must admit I was stoked with the 1st half and i was very impressed with the way some of the kids played namely Rutten and Jericho. It was to be expected that we will fade out in the 2nd half because young bodies can't go with butal opposition for much longer. I expected a spanking BUT what was shown tonight in that 2nd half was disgraceful and totally unacceptable.

I have been willing inthe past to give Craig a chance to prove himself and tonight some of it was his fault and some of it was players' fault. I doubt very much whether or not he is the man for the job. Not entirely sold on Wallace either.

This is the worst time in our history and some tough decisions have to be made. We need to over turn 2 thirds of our list in the next coupel of years because quite clearly a lot of players are nit up to it

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I must admit I was stoked with the 1st half and i was very impressed with the way some of the kids played namely Rutten and Jericho. It was to be expected that we will fade out in the 2nd half because young bodies can't go with butal opposition for much longer. I expected a spanking BUT what was shown tonight in that 2nd half was disgraceful and totally unacceptable.
Yes I thought Rutten was impressive. Was always going to sink under the pressure of a Brisbane midfield that was able do as it wished.

Jerricho also showed signs - great temprement

Bock - awful - too conscious of bodies around him, ducks his head alot.

Skippy - lots of possessions but is he ever going to be a Harvey, Aka, or Crawford - sorry still the anser is no.

Wow thank god I was in Port Pirie playing and didnt manage to get back to Adelaide in time to watch it.

The smart thing to do now is to TANK, purpously get smashed in the next 5 matches, play injured players WHATEVER! Just lose the goddam games... 5-17 :cool: ... our future is set.. LOOK AT THE BIG PICTURE

TANK TANK TANK TANK TANK TANK!!!

Yes I thought Rutten was impressive. Was always going to sink under the pressure of a Brisbane midfield that was able do as it wished.

Jerricho also showed signs - great temprement

Bock - awful - too conscious of bodies around him, ducks his head alot.

Skippy - lots of possessions but is he ever going to be a Harvey, Aka, or Crawford - sorry still the anser is no.
To be honest I thought Rutten did a reasonable job despite the fact Lynch kicked 6. Taking into consideration Brisbane's midfield dominance and delivery to him there was not much more he could do. Also I thought he was a bit unlucky with the couple of goals from free kicks that I thought weren't really there.

Jericho looked really good when the ball got to the area. Despite dropping that undropable mark he was pretty lively and the only forward that gave a yelp. I think Rehy was right when he said Jericho plays his best footy out of the goal square.

Skippy was solid tonight but I agree he will never be the type of player that will get a game in top midfield.

Bock has just showed us what I have always believed. He is a headless chook with shocking disposal who drops the undroppable. He was afraid of body contact and always backed out. I still think he would be better off as a defender BUT if he wants to have a successfull AFL career he better tidy up his disposal especially under pressure. His disposal is AWFUL and that being too kind.

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
Wow thank god I was in Port Pirie playing and didnt manage to get back to Adelaide in time to watch it.

The smart thing to do now is to TANK, purpously get smashed in the next 5 matches, play injured players WHATEVER! Just lose the goddam games... 5-17 :cool: ... our future is set.. LOOK AT THE BIG PICTURE

TANK TANK TANK TANK TANK TANK!!!
:D I agree :D

Very few positives tonight, but on reflection I thought there 3

Rutten. Reasonable effort at FB and not intimidated at all by Lynch.

Jericho. Showed good signs up forward in a very innefective forward line.

Skipworth. Liked his effort, and I think he'll survive and Gallagher will go

Can't think of anything else, can you??

That sums it up I reckon :(

Originally posted by DaveW
That's a good point.

To get beat by 100+ over a match is pretty lamentable. But to get beat by over 100 points in a HALF... :eek:
THe 2nd half scoreline must just about be a record though!

I was focussing on Coll v Dogs and flicking the channel back and forward - but there was no flicking back in the 2nd half and thank heavens there was the option of watching the poms at Lords. I watched the replay till nearly half time - you could tell the writing was on the wall by then. Some of their 2nd halves have been awesome against other clubs, so it wasnt unexpected they would blow us away , but by that much! :mad:

I think we all thought we'd lose tonight by a comfortable margin, but 141 points was just unacceptable.

I don't care about the fact that the AFL's monster-out-of-control were brilliant, we didn't give a yelp in that 2nd half.

Only good things to come out of the match were the showings of Rutten, Jericho and (to my surprise) Skipworth.

I'm a big G for Fergus Watts, but maybe he needs a run in the SANFL. Mind you, our delivery to him was Deeee-plorable. It was extraordinary to think that Brisbane scored 44 times out of 65 I50 entries, and we only scored 18 times out of 45 entries. What the ****??

Other disappointing efforts tonight: Massie, Clarke (yet again), Bock, Shirley, Gallagher & Mattner. I thought Ladhams did OK when he was on, but needs to do more to hold on to his spot.

The only other good thing to come out of it is that the anti-christ (Neil Craig) must be on very shaky ground now. His stupid game-plan of playing an all-out attacking style against the best team in the land (with half our best side out) was ludicrous in the extreme.

The AFC called for competiveness when he took over and clearly tonight we didn't get that. Can't imagine what Mr. Trigg thought in the coaches' box?

Wake up AFC. Sign Wallace now!

Everyone knows how I feel about the Crows, but tonight was frankly unbelievable.

Apart from marvelling at how good the Lions are, there was nothing in the game to be interested in.

It ranks right up there with the Bays grinding Centrals into dust in 1975?, as one of the most boring games that I've ever seen.

I almost felt sorry for my wife watching it

From The Age:

The Crows were left with just one senior list player (Josh Kruger) playing in the SANFL this weekend after Scott Welsh (flu) joined a long casualty list, replaced by Chris Ladhams.

Wow, didn't realise that. Just makes our situation look even worse.

Earlier in the week, I was wondering how many fit players we had with our growing injury list and recent retirements.

Didn't realise it was that bad! There is the rookie list I guess.

P.S. Where's Perrie?

Originally posted by DaveW
Earlier in the week, I was wondering how many fit players we had with our growing injury list and recent retirements.

Didn't realise it was that bad! There is the rookie list I guess.

P.S. Where's Perrie?
He was a travelling emergency to Brisbane along with the other 2 North Players (Hudson and Ladhams).

North had a bye this week. I reckon Krueger and Smith were both playing today.

Originally posted by dyertribe
So have:

Port Adelaide (Primus, Francou, Wanganeen)
Brisbane (Brown)
West Coast (Gardiner)
Carlton (Koutoufides on and off for long periods)
Collingwood (Rocca, Tarrant)
Essendon (Lucas, Hird)
Hawthorn (Crawford)
St. Kilda (Penny, Hamill)

Injuries are the worst excuse imaginable for our footy club - it's too easy an excuse for failure - like last year when we said the same thing.
Brisbane (Brown),Heart, Keating, MaCdonald, Brad Scott, White

If anybody needed a reminder of where we really are they got it tonight.

An amateur coach against THE professional coach.

An amateur team against THE professional team.

Brisbane were awesome.

Agreed. Matthews vs.......Craig. Just something not right about comparing the two, in fact you can't. Brisbane seemed to be able to get themselves outta trouble no matter what they did, Over hit a handball... always a team mate to back up. Running it out of the backlines seemed a bit to easy. I think some players have to stop the "look away" handball. If you can't do it, DON'T DO IT!
No crows player seems to show that aggression, or passion to win. Aleast they could have showed something, anything that proved to the fans/media/others that they ARE trying, that they want to improve.(and if Fryzie was there would he have cried ? ;) )

You forgot the main positive of the night macca =

Surely the AFC will not appoint Neil Craig after that insipid effort from the coaching box.

lost count of how many times the lions had a "patty cake patty cake" from a kick-in right down to the their forward 50 without a Crow player in sight.

Originally posted by noddy
You forgot the main positive of the night macca =

Surely the AFC will not appoint Neil Craig after that insipid effort from the coaching box.

lost count of how many times the lions had a "patty cake patty cake" from a kick-in right down to the their forward 50 without a Crow player in sight.

Neil Craig at the end of each quarter...

Qtr Time :rolleyes:
Half Time :(
3 Qtr Time :eek:
Full Time :confused:

Anti-Craig Crows' fans :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Gotta' love those cheesy smilies.

That match was painfull.

I imagined we would lose by 10 goals - but I certainly didn't think it would 23 goals!

It was a deplorable performance and I am embarrassed.

The Lions were LAUGHING at us! We have hit new lows.

k
xx