19 Red

My tips for this week...

Xavs to smash NOBS

Dela to put an end to Leos finals hopes

Therry to cause an upset over the Reds and win by 2 goals

Bernards to beat Westbourne by 5 goals
Therry were outstanding on the weekend.

Superior tackling, great positioning and outstanding knowledge of the game. Keeping the Reds key players under wrap, they stormed away with a nice 10+ goal thumping.

No.12 would be up there for the League B+F.

Superior fitness, kept Ligris to only 8 goals.

Biggs played alright, 3539 disposals 756 clearances and 67 tackles.

From what i have seen of ligris he is a class player, with good hands and a very good goal sense. But like anyone, if you put someone on him who is willing to sacrifice their game to stop him, and who is a reasonably good defender, then he does struggle. Still he is probably going to pop up with 1 or 2 goals most even with a tagger.

Fitzroy have a history of having good Full Forwards. A few years back they had Maghamez who pretty much won them the premiership. I think he kicked 100 and won the league B&F as well.

From what i have seen of ligris he is a class player, with good hands and a very good goal sense. But like anyone, if you put someone on him who is willing to sacrifice their game to stop him, and who is a reasonably good defender, then he does struggle. Still he is probably going to pop up with 1 or 2 goals most even with a tagger.

Fitzroy have a history of having good Full Forwards. A few years back they had Maghamez who pretty much won them the premiership. I think he kicked 100 and won the league B&F as well.

I seem to remember he had 21 teammates who went alright too...............

8 goalsss!!!!! wow wat an absolute champion! i cant believe how good this guy is, im going to get on him for the most ugly man in australia!

yer its the only root he'll ever get mate! Ligris = VAFA's ugliest!

wow...:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

how courageous...bagging someone anonymously over the internet.

Face the facts

Ligris is a gun footballer and a top bloke
Probably will finish as Leading Goalkicker for the League this year...
maybe your jealous he isn't playing for your team? :D:D

wow...:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

how courageous...bagging someone anonymously over the internet.

Face the facts

Ligris is a gun footballer and a top bloke
Probably will finish as Leading Goalkicker for the League this year...
maybe your jealous he isn't playing for your team? :D:D

hes still 7 behind that george fella from old xavs, whom i happen to know personally. can guarantee that he is a better bloke than ligris.

Therry were outstanding on the weekend.

Superior tackling, great positioning and outstanding knowledge of the game. Keeping the Reds key players under wrap, they stormed away with a nice 10+ goal thumping.

No.12 would be up there for the League B+F.

Superior fitness, kept Ligris to only 8 goals.

Biggs played alright, 3539 disposals 756 clearances and 67 tackles.

yeah fitzroy were very good on the weekend, they had the game from the scruff from start to finish. We were outplayed in all areas and without a suitable matchup for biggs we just couldn't stop the one man powerhouse. with most players being in their last or second last year of unders they also had the bigger bodies which won them the contested footy 75% of the time even with in my opinion an even intensity at the ball from both sides. In the midfield Dawson-Smith (15) just becomes their 7th forward and lets others do the running but becomes a real danger up forward on the counter attack with out an opponent. Ligris played well and really didnt miss, not the domino that he keeps being made out to be but he's not shit. From our point of view it was disappointing that after a biggish build up to the game we didnt come out firing as with previous weeks, and it pains me to say it but fitroy will win this competition hands down and they will keep doing well in under 19 NORTH while not playing their best under 19 players consistently in the 1s

their downfall is their arrogance (flashback to 3 quarter time last game of the year 2006)

yeah fitzroy were very good on the weekend, they had the game from the scruff from start to finish. We were outplayed in all areas and without a suitable matchup for biggs we just couldn't stop the one man powerhouse. with most players being in their last or second last year of unders they also had the bigger bodies which won them the contested footy 75% of the time even with in my opinion an even intensity at the ball from both sides. In the midfield Dawson-Smith (15) just becomes their 7th forward and lets others do the running but becomes a real danger up forward on the counter attack with out an opponent. Ligris played well and really didnt miss, not the domino that he keeps being made out to be but he's not shit. From our point of view it was disappointing that after a biggish build up to the game we didnt come out firing as with previous weeks, and it pains me to say it but fitroy will win this competition hands down and they will keep doing well in under 19 NORTH while not playing their best under 19 players consistently in the 1s

their downfall is their arrogance (flashback to 3 quarter time last game of the year 2006)

Westbourne beating Fitzroy proves they are beatable, if you can shut down biggs and ligris and put pressure on their midfielders then you have a chnace of beating them. When Westbourne beat them, Templeton beat Biggs in the ruck and around the ground, and if Fitzroy arent always getting first hands to the ball they struggle a little bit.

ill agree with you on that one mate, spot on.

i reckon our midfielders were evenly matched on saturday however our no.1 ruckman had the flu and sat in the pocket all day, meanin they almost always got their hands on the ball first time, all day, (except for a patch in the third quarter when when we got the tap after the coach dragged the big fella from the pocket for a mini spurt) there goes the saying the games won and lostin the ruck. templeton is a suitable match for biggs, however he also hurts teams as a ruckrover when the one of their other many talls steps into the ruck, giving fitzroy that advantage with their depth of height.

Biggs is the key to fitzroy, shut him down, win it out of the middle, win the game. Fitzroy would still b cursing on his 6 week suspension which ruled him out of last years gf where the opposing ruckman got BOG

How about some team of the year nominations?
For mine Biggs(R), Ligris(FP), grigoriades(FF),Lugg(Rov),Williamson(CHF),Harbor(c),Dawson-Smith (w),umm Leos-cannot remember name(FB), Mccourt(w)

mayeb someone can put together a side.

"Biggs is the key to fitzroy, shut him down"

Easier said than done...it'll be hard to find a player who can draw even with biggs in the air and around the ground.

"if ligris is such a "gun" how come he aint playin 1s??? doesnt wanna??? not good enough??? or seniors are a good side and have too many forwards???"

Ligris is Fitzroys vice captain, who has captained the side for about half the season, due to injuries to Minnis. May play in the Fitzroy firsts this week.

"if ligris is such a "gun" how come he aint playin 1s??? doesnt wanna??? not good enough??? or seniors are a good side and have too many forwards???"

Ligris is Fitzroys vice captain, who has captained the side for about half the season, due to injuries to Minnis. May play in the Fitzroy firsts this week.

I'm sick of Ligris. Saw him play last year and wasn't impressed. Dawson Smith is a downhill skier also.

"Biggs is the key to fitzroy, shut him down"

Easier said than done...it'll be hard to find a player who can draw even with biggs in the air and around the ground.

Also a master of the Glasgow Kiss.

he's the best player in the comp by a way, dominant in the air but also takes players on with speed and agility on the ground - hard to fully tag out

as for the glasow kiss - thats wat cost fitz the flag in my belief

How about some team of the year nominations?
For mine Biggs(R), Ligris(FP), grigoriades(FF),Lugg(Rov),Williamson(CHF),Harbor(c),Dawson-Smith (w),umm Leos-cannot remember name(FB), Mccourt(w)

mayeb someone can put together a side.

Rudd (HF), Sidwell(HF), Babo (C), Rees(R), Walker(W), Leehman(CHF), Pettigrew (HB), Peasnell(FP)

don't know names but number 11 from bernards is good
and 7, 28 and 15 from Emmaus.
From what i have seen the ruck division would be Biggs and Templeton, with Biggs the starting ruckman.

he's the best player in the comp by a way, dominant in the air but also takes players on with speed and agility on the ground - hard to fully tag out

as for the glasow kiss - thats wat cost fitz the flag in my belief

Mike,

How would he go in the Premier Section? He comes up against a fair bit of rubbish each week as well as a number of 16 and 17 year olds. I think the jury is out on a number of these so called stars. It's a bit of a joke that anybody from this division is considered part of the best u19 VAFA team.

What is with St Bernard's seeming lack of consistency. Some weeks they seem like realistic contendors, others they dont deserve to be in the comp. what are their strenghts and weaknesses.
being serious now
no smartass replys please

Mike,

How would he go in the Premier Section? He comes up against a fair bit of rubbish each week as well as a number of 16 and 17 year olds. I think the jury is out on a number of these so called stars. It's a bit of a joke that anybody from this division is considered part of the best u19 VAFA team.

Jury has reached a verdict, these blokes look good against mediocre oppo, play against the big boys in premier.

De La looking good in second spot, snuffed at Leo's chances last week and looking forward to the reds in 2 weeks

19 Red