there are no other teams worthy
The retrospective draft pool of 18 year olds in 1975 November Draft for those of us that saw a bit of footy in late 1970's and onwards.
Of course there was no draft systems back then but if there was have a go at this task for a bit of fun for those of us that watched footy then in this league.
Who is your top ten out of this lot in order?

Madden, Simon

Freame, Daryl
Smith, Doug
Johnston, Wayne
Johnston, Peter
Edwards, Allan
Bosustow, Peter
McCarthy, Michael
English, Des
Hannebery, Mark
Brown, Brian
Cox, Doug
Rioli, Maurice
Naylor, Greg
Clarke, Neil
Kelly, Phil
Evans, Bernie

Preston, Andy
Daniher, Terry
Holden, Craig
FitzGerald, Gerard
Durnan, John
Berry, William
Bortolotto, Mario
Robertson, Colin
Hutchison, Greg
Greene, Russell
Waddell, Rod
Hunter, Ken
Weston, Paul
Card, Ray
Roberts, Ian
McConnell, Alan
Henwood, Don
Smith, Greg
Berry, Jeff
Ditchburn, Ross
Jenkinson, Noel
Whitten, Ted Jnr
Fowler, Grant
Robins, Stephen
Paton, Ian
Clayton, Cameron
Hummel, Jon
Moore, Peter
Seaton, Phil
Briedis, Robert

Just a general note.
Just read this sub forum and I think this thread maybe better for history sub forum.
Might continue a year by year look back in history forum for this,
For those interested I was looking up AFL tables site and see they have ages of all players that played in the league so can be sorted by date of births and so the post above is of the main names I see from players born in 1957 that would have turned 18 in 1975.

This would be the type of draft pool where if you had a pick in top 5 or 6 picks, you would probably feel good with pick 6 even if you missed out on Madden, Rioli, Moore, Daniher or Johnston.
I would not be too upset taking a Kenny Hunter at pick 6 if I wanted Madden.
Having said that pick in the 20's is major difference from the early picks.
You may pick up a Ray Card or Des English backman but massive difference from the early picks.
Just highlights as an example why a St.Kilda this trade period are in no rush to give up pick 5. You can get a gun with pick 5 if you pick well.
Pick 20's you hope you can get a 200 game player of solid contribution but you know you are unlikely to get a great player that late.

Moore, Daniher, Johnston, Rioli, Robertson in order for my top 5

Love this list btw, hope you do more

Might do another here for 1976 with a poll.
The retrospective draft pools I been posting in history sub forum but just so people that want a poll I will do another one here for 1976.
For these guys that would have turned 18 in 1975 it looks like retrospectively by poll results a clear case of Maurice Rioli, Simon Madden and Peter Moore the top three picks. Sensible result I reckon from over 30 people polling.
Got to admit this looks like it would have been a quality draft pool at top end.
I hope in 2015 draft there are as many guns to be found in top 10 picks.

Dipper born in 1958 mate so he will be in the retrospective pool for players that would have turned 18 during the year 1976.

Debuted in 75 mate....Different rules back then....You seem to be applying today's draft demarcation retrospectively & it doesn't translate to those times directly.

Debut year is both the key to those years & your friend, rather than D.O.B....Else-wise, your dates of comparison for players careers will always be skewed.

Take Tim Watson For example: Debuted as a 15 yer old & would have been playing for 3 years & chalked up over 50 games before most blokes his age even made their debut, much less the senior list!

Moore, Daniher, Johnston, Rioli, Robertson in order for my top 5

Love this list btw, hope you do more

Started up 1976 one today.
Will leave the poll open for a week for those interested to vote on who they reckon should have been pick number one. Feel free to post your own thoughts there of your top 5.

Poll closes today. Been up about a week. Looks like the overall result would have seen Simon Madden voted number 1 draft pick, Rioli 2 and Peter Moore 3.

The class of 75

B: Des English P Weston R Card
HB: R Greene Bortolotto K Hunter
C: Greg Smith M Rioli N Clarke
HF: W Johnston T Daniher Bosustow
F: Preston Ditchburn B Evans
Foll: S Madden P Kelly C Robertson
Bench: P Moore M Haneberry I Roberts D Cox

Em: I Paton G Fowler A Edwards

Very strong ruck options, key defence nothing special.
Versatile Kenny Hunter one of best half back flanks ever, centreman Rioli sublime and that half forward line is absolute elite.