Top Dog

Footscray Bulldogs
Ive heard alot of this match and as i was to young to rmbr anything of it, i was wondering could u answer some of my quessies.
1) What was the Crowd?
2) Where were the dogs on the ladder?

Originally posted by Top Dog
Ive heard alot of this match and as i was to young to rmbr anything of it, i was wondering could u answer some of my quessies.
1) What was the Crowd?
2) Where were the dogs on the ladder?

I know I'm not a dogs fan but I saw this post and thought I'd reply.

This was the one where Kolyniuk kicked the winning goal right? I just remember it because I played little league for the pies that day (yuk!). From memory the crowd was 50,000ish. Good crowd, considering most of the southern stand was under construction.

From memory we were the last side to beat them that year. Kolyniuk ran around Graeme Wright(?) and kicked a goal. I've got the game on video somewhere.

ooooooooooohhhhhhhh i see........thanx for clearing that up waltzingwoofbiscuit (god damn ur name is long).
Im gona get that game somehow!!!!!!

Hiya Dogs fans.

Pardon my intrusion on yer board, but I happened to attend this particular match and I can assist with the details.

Anyway, going into this round 17 game, the Dogs were 7th on the ladder, out of the five on percentage with 9 victories, whereas the Pies were sitting pretty on top, with 13 wins.

Sun July 29, 1990

FOOTSCRAY ...... 4. 2 ... 8. 7 ... 13. 8 ... 14.12 (96)
COLLINGWOOD .... 0. 5 ... 3.10 .... 7.16 ... 12.21 (93)
GOALS: Foot- Davies 4, Del-Re 3, Grant 3, Kolyniuk 2, Cameron, Royal.
Coll- Daicos 3, Banks 2, Francis, McKeown, Barwick, Wright, Crosisca, McGuane, Millane.
BEST: Foot- McGuinness, Wallace, Foster, Cameron, Wynd, Wallis.
Coll- Millane, Shaw, Turner, Banks, Crosisca, Barwick.
UMPIRES: Dore, Carland.
CROWD: 52,724 @ M.C.G.

Hope that brings back some jolly memories for yers! ;)

Thanx Rip! Gee, that scoreline is almost erotic. Think unsexy thoughts, think unsexy thoughts....

TD - Acronym: a word formed from the initial letters of a name.

Like the brilliant F.F.C. - sorry that was a tautology............

My favorite Colingwood moment came in july 1984. Allen kicks across the face of goal to the Full-Back(Craig somebody???) failing to notice Simon Beasley lurking nearby. Beasley marks, siren blows, Beasley goals, thats all she wrote Jack-Dogs by five points.
I was in the crowd at the Geelong road end and just remember this wall of bodies jumping for joy and crashing into each other. You were still allowed out on the ground and didnt we storm out there and celebrate!
The pubs of Footscray got a workout that night.

BTW WWB allepsis points only ever come in threes...

What do you study?

WWB, u and Chicago1 r quite the intellectuals.

Localyokel, i wasnt even born yet but sounds great, any time we beat the pise it good i spose.

Originally posted by localyokel
My favorite Colingwood moment came in july 1984. Allen kicks across the face of goal to the Full-Back(Craig somebody???) failing to notice Simon Beasley lurking nearby. Beasley marks, siren blows, Beasley goals, thats all she wrote Jack-Dogs by five points.
I was in the crowd at the Geelong road end and just remember this wall of bodies jumping for joy and crashing into each other. You were still allowed out on the ground and didnt we storm out there and celebrate!
The pubs of Footscray got a workout that night.

BTW WWB allepsis points only ever come in threes...

What do you study?

What a game LY. I was at VFL Park with a friend of mine watching the Saints vs someone. I was listening to the Footscray-Collingwood game on my friend's walkman and when Gubby Allen kicked it to Beasley I jumped up and stood on my seat, dropping the walkman in the process. The friend was pretty sh*tty with me, I can tell you!

Point taken about the points!! I have been castigated by lecturers for less.

I study linguistics, so I should know better. I'm at uni. at the moment, typing one part assignment for every 9 parts Big Footy. This is supposed to be school holidays.

What about you LY? I notice that you're a student too. What field of enquiry tortures YOUR every hour??

WWB- I am doing a B.Ed at VUT, Footscray Park campus (so many acronyms) I love studying because (1)I've always worked full time and the Uni hours are a little more family friendly and (2) I genuinly like learning (Thats learning,not studying.)

Today I was able to take Harvey(My son) to footy training. He was rapt he got to say hello to Dimma and Huddo and they both said hello back. Footy training is great and so are Uni holidays.

Where do you study-you live out the other side, don't you?

Originally posted by Waltzing Woof Biscuit
What a game LY. I was at VFL Park with a friend of mine watching the Saints vs someone.

That would have been the Saints v the Roys. That friend wasn't Fat Pizza, was it?

Anyway that was the day Tim Rendell dobbed 13 goals in the twos!

I study at Deakin Uni - Burwood campus, and pretty much live next door. I did a B.A. and this year decided to have a crack at Honours - hence, the pain. I do love it LY, but the workload this year is bloody horrendous. Actually, my plan is to do a Grad Dip in Teaching English As A Second Language next year, so I have a similar orientation to yourself. I've always wanted to be Mr. Brown from 'Mind Your Language' :)

I worked full time for a few years too, and this beats it, particularly if you are working towards something you genuinely want to do. How many years do you have left?? And what do you want to teach?

I'd love to be able to go to footy training and all that. Footy life is lonely out east for a Bulldog. One other kid barracked for the scrays at my primary and high schools - perhaps two if I was lucky. Living out west would be great, and I reckon I could still make it. Hey, I'm closer than Chicago1.

Rip: I didn't know Fat Pizza back then - but more's the pity. It was a Saints supporter. The Roys must have won that game? Another reason why this guy was sh*tty!

BTW: Fat Pizza, aka 'Micky Conlan he's our man, if he can't do it noone can' Faction

Yeah, Roys won by a lazy 9 or 10 goals. Sidey was BOG. :D

Fat Pizza and myself share a common bond (tautology?) in that we both have stories published on the same page of the Coodabeens' Big Bumper Footy Book. :eek:

I've got two years left after this one. Funnily enough I briefly considered doing liguistics last year. Came to my senses pretty quickly though:D

I think I will end up teaching TESOL (There you go an acronym and a tautology rolled into one) Maybe we could start our own school. "Now repeat after me everyone, "SONS OF THE WEST"
We could call it 'Bulldog College of Proper English'

About allepsis points...Its funny you should say that its the sort of thing that a pedantic lecturer would pick up on...thats how I found out... :p

LY and WWB - Chicago1 will be pleased. Not only passion for the Bulldogs, but passion for teaching English as well.

WWB - as another Eastern suburbs resident (we're practically neighbours given your description of your current abode), I have searched my memory trying to come up with any of my classmates either primary or secondary that were Bulldog fans and I've drawn a blank. Couldn't think of a single one. Of course, it was quite a while ago now.

Ripper!
Where do u get this information from.
U r a legend. I know who I would go to if I have an AFL question.
My sister.
jk mate.... You of course LOL.....:D :D :D

Ahem. LY's wife here. I think you'll find they're ellipsis points, not allepsis points; and your flagrant disregard for the use of an apostrophe (where needed) casts a dark and gloomy shadow over this so-called 'Bulldog College of Proper English'.

Then again, you could be teaching Westernsuburbenglish - in which case I take it all back! (What a snob, eh??)

Eve