1991 gf

paul dear did nothing after that game, that's for sure. the big queensland ruck man got peter matera with a good elbow

This says it all...

[youtube]c7J2madZVFA[/youtube]

or even better.

[youtube]DxVvzMXF4S0[/youtube]

Exactly. It may not be one of the most talked about for its footy (for whatever reason), however it is certainly one of the most posted on here just for those vids. ;)

I thought the sponsor was Hawthorn Finance.

I was there at the scoreboard end with my dad. I remember:

- Being happy for the Lions kids winning the reserves GF, lot of raw-boned youth on display that day.
- Developing my hatred for Eagle supporters who were all sitting on the outer wing wearing those bloody stupid lime green hats, and who applauded Mainwaring on the wing like he was bobbing for apples at the church fete. Have a go ya mugs.
- Paul Dear marking a kick-in at 55 on the flank, playing on and banging through a big goal. The word always used in conjunction with his name was "bullocking", and he rampaged like a Mallee bull that day.
- A passage of play right near the end that I think went Ayres-Tuck-Platten-Dermie-Dunstall-goal, something like that, all the old stars combining for one last bit of glory. It was the full stop to the greatest era in football history.

MadMaxx,

I was there as well. It was shit day if you recall.

All yr 3 points spot on.

Weagles had won first 12 games of the season and lost 1st game to Carlton at PP.
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/seas/1991.html

But Hawks knew how to win, Dunstall and Dermie were also good that day. It was great game til 3/4 qtr time, but Hawks came home with the gale that day, and smashed 'em in the last qtr.

It was very odd to not have GF @ the 'G; hopefully will never happen again.

I think this is the major reason it is forgotten about. Didnt seem like the same thing.. 1st Interstater GF, and at VFL park. Still, Was Tuckys 426th and last game, 11th Grand Final, and 7th premiership, so the Hawks Fans wont forget ;-)

That Angry Anderson performance was hysterical. They had a motorcade of Aussie gold medalists throught olympic history, and Lisa Ondeiki and her (Nigerian?) husband were sitting in th back of thier car right in front of us..

He was open mouthed in astonishment when Angry did his thing. Could not believe it.

Funny enough, the batmobile was on ebay a few years back. Some dude had it up for 10k.

Chewy, as usual, as excellent summary.

You also forgot, Tucky got knocked out didn't he? And he came back on wearing a SHORT SLEEVED TOP!!! I reckon it was the first time in his 426 matches!

He wore a Short sleever in 87 GF too.. Was very hot.

Thats why we lost ;-)

Joycey was "just happy to get the 4 points"

How dare anyone cast dispersions on the king of all AFL GF entertainment. Angry Anderson, the bat mobile, a mystified Fighting Harada wondering what the hell he got himself into, Lisa Ondieki's husband pissing himself laughing at the shambles, it had everything :thumbsu:

No wonder its only on funny footy stuff these days, right before the woman at Carrara eating the pie and after 'theres a pig at full forward':D

ps
I know a better GF from that year, Steven Sims sure earnt his 12 weeks!

Only Geelong fans would know what West Coast fans feel in regards to 1991.
All fan groups take Grand Final losses hard, but it was nice of you to overlook the supporters of the 20-2 2009 Saints. :mad:

Well I'll be, I honestly forgot that the Saints went 20-2 (probably too busy worrying about how shit West Coast were going on the other end of the ladder), 155.71% is brilliant. But you do know what I mean. Yes all GF losses are hard but it really sucks taint when your team so convincingly dominates the rest of competition and then they crumble at the worst possible time.

Wow i just found a clip on youtube and the eagles kicked the first 4 goals of the game???? how the fk did they lose? Who was favourites before the game?

Is this the only time in history a team has kicked the first 4 goals in the gf and lost?

So many questions...
the hawks spent the entire 1st qtr belting the eagles up, thats why there were down by so much, once the effects of the belting up process took over we were starting to get on top and from there we romped all over them and really should have won by 15 goals.

I was there. Eagles were red hot favorites, only lost 3 games in H&A that year.

Though the hawks won 10 out of 11 in the lead up to the GF.

Was a clear case of a veteran unit knowing exactly how to win the flag.
actually they werent red hot favourites because we did them over in the QF over at subi, it was an even money game but alot of the media picked the hawks to win. i have the game on tape ( straight fron the tv not the DVD) so i know who everyone was going for.

21427.jpg

Another lazy six goals in a Grand Final from Jason Dunstall
yeah and the funny thing is he was pretty much pantsed by brennan all game, he got all 6 goals in bursts (2 at the end of the 1st and the last 4 hawks goals) so he was only really in the game for about 15 minutes, barely saw him the rest of the game But thats why he was so great, only needed a little period of ascendancy on his opponent and he put the score on the board.

Forgive my bias but it was a ripper game.
Just lacked the atmosphere of the G.

One team at the end of its great era, and the other starting one.

Was certainly better than the yawnfest of the year before where 2 very mediocre teams played off in a very mediocre grand final as culmination of a very mediocre season of footy.

I thought the sponsor was Hawthorn Finance.

I was there at the scoreboard end with my dad. I remember:

- Being happy for the Lions kids winning the reserves GF, lot of raw-boned youth on display that day.
- Developing my hatred for Eagle supporters who were all sitting on the outer wing wearing those bloody stupid lime green hats, and who applauded Mainwaring on the wing like he was bobbing for apples at the church fete. Have a go ya mugs.
- Paul Dear marking a kick-in at 55 on the flank, playing on and banging through a big goal. The word always used in conjunction with his name was "bullocking", and he rampaged like a Mallee bull that day.
- A passage of play right near the end that I think went Ayres-Tuck-Platten-Dermie-Dunstall-goal, something like that, all the old stars combining for one last bit of glory. It was the full stop to the greatest era in football history.
it actually went like this: Tuck-Dermie-Mew-Dunstall and you know what was so great about the bit of play? how simple and easy they made it look, mongrel kick by tuck from the backline still went 40 odd metres, dermie takes tumbling mark on the wing handballs to mew running past while bouncing to his feet and mew than pumps the ball to dunstall leading out slides in and takes the mark inside the 50. Simple footy. Much quicker than the crap these days, i ask anyone to watch that bit of play and tell me that it was great footy.

I seem to remember Scotty Watters about 30m in the clear on the outer wing fumbling the ball for so long that he got crunch by 3 or 4 Hawks
also remember him being interchanged as much as dane swan is these days, had a real dirty day up there with jarman who got absolutely destroyed by guy mckenna, massive respect for mckenna after watching the game, was still winning the ball in the last qtr despite the hawk avalanche, was the eagles best player by the length of the flemington straight.

How come nobody mentions the Reservers Grand Final that day where Rocket Eade coached Brisbane to the premiership over Melbourne.

Only someone there on the day would remember that.

Chris Mew must be the ultimate quiet achiever - team of the century.

Thought you Hawthorn guys had a brain fade bringing him up because I swear he was finished in the eighties. But you are right he played up to 1992. I just dont remember him up to that time.

Anyone put in some highlights yet.

[YOUTUBE]hgUd-fxTiiU[/YOUTUBE]

The thing I remember most about the '87 GF was the onslaught of Carlton goals at the very start of th last quarter - Naley, Kernahan, Meldrum(?) - bang, bang, bang - Hawthorn 6/7 goals down. Game Over.

Adrian Gleeson kicked the 3rd goal in that burst in the last. Really that game was decided in the 2nd when Hawthorn went goalless (and even their last goal in the 1st term was dodgy, John Kennedy plucking it off about 4 sets of hands and claiming successfully a mark).

Great half time entertainment. Tell me, off the top of your head, who was the entertainment at the 1990 GF? the 1995 GF? etc. It may just be the only time the league has put on a memorable show for half time entertainment. It's a pity the Batmobile (why was there a batmobile?) carved up the turf where it came on and off the ground.

1995 was actually the last HALF TIME entertainment as such, and was a tribute to Australian Cinema, complete with John Paul Young's Love Is In The Air (reworded by Roy and HG to Ablett's In The Air). Pre Match that year was Tina Arena.

1990 pre-match was Normie Rowe, half time is up on Youtube somewhere.