1st Qualifying Final that never was.

Re: Week 1 Final vs ??

I won a prize on SEN on the Casual Friday show on the "TOOL TIME" segment for nominating Andrew Jarman for what he said about Tom Harley, so this week I will be nominating "you" for the same thing. I'm not sure if you actually watch Tom Harley play the game, but I suggest you go back over the replays and actually take note of how he plays the game, and the courage he has in taking those marks and the things he does on our back line.
Of course this is only my opinion, and you are definately entitled to yours, even though I don't agree with you.:cool:

Wendy:thumbsdown:

Great Job Wendy!!!

Jarman, even though a great footy player, is a tool. He is just the most ill-informed watcher of the game. His opinion is often flawed and has no real ligitimacy.

Harley has been an absolute gun this year. In previous years his form was a little under what was expected, however this year he is in career best IMO.

Anyone who thinks otherwise has no idea of the game. Seeing Tom out there read the play and take grab after grab is just fantastic. Obviously Jarman has no idea, well he shouldn't as he lives in Adelaide.

Wendy,

Well, Andrew Jarman has a point, even though he acts like an idiot!!

We have a weakness down at the backline and opposition sides will exploit it to the tilt. Without Matthew Egan in the side, we are an actual tall man short.

People forget that Matthew Egan makes Tom Harley walk an extra 5 inches tall!!

IF we do play Hawthorn in the GF or Preliminary Final, the following forward and backline matchups will occur:

Scarlett on Buddy
Milburn on Roughhead
Hunt on Mark Williams

Is Tom Harley or Harry Taylor capable of picking up a damaging key position forward?

This question has to be answered in the heat of the battle.

And, if you recall last year's prelim final against Collingwood, Tom Harley's finishing skills off the right and left foot were not 100% accurate.

Andrew Jarman has a point. He played AFL football and his younger brother Darren hit his targets with precision on all occasions!!

And, Brent Prisnall does remind me of a young Darren Jarman.

THE GOVERNOR

GEELONG FOR BACK TO BACK FLAGS!!

There is only one way for us to lose this chance: Arrogance; the inability to outhink the opposition when they throw a "curveball" and the failure to adhere to team processes and rules that have been successful for the past 18 months.

First bolded point, absolute BS. No football player hits his targets on all occasions.

Second bolded point, we don't need to see your log in name as a signoff, we all ready have one tool who does that. Hmmm maybe you are one and the same?

He has one average game and you pull that out?

Harley is great one on one. Doesn't play on the big forwards but kills the smalls week in and out.

Not to mention his leadership and his ability to zone of his opponent.

:rolleyes:

Agree completely. Not discounting what his leadership adds I think his ability to zone off his opponent is his biggest strength. He's a great reader of the game. Since he's been both accounting for his opponent and cutting off loose forward 50 entries, Milburn (who used to do it) has the freedom to go for even bigger runs up the wings.

Wendy,

Well, Andrew Jarman has a point, even though he acts like an idiot!!

We have a weakness down at the backline and opposition sides will exploit it to the tilt. Without Matthew Egan in the side, we are an actual tall man short.

People forget that Matthew Egan makes Tom Harley walk an extra 5 inches tall!!

IF we do play Hawthorn in the GF or Preliminary Final, the following forward and backline matchups will occur:

Scarlett on Buddy

Milburn on Roughhead
Hunt on Mark Williams

Is Tom Harley or Harry Taylor capable of picking up a damaging key position forward?

This question has to be answered in the heat of the battle.

And, if you recall last year's prelim final against Collingwood, Tom Harley's finishing skills off the right and left foot were not 100% accurate.

Andrew Jarman has a point. He played AFL football and his younger brother Darren hit his targets with precision on all occasions!!

And, Brent Prisnall does remind me of a young Darren Jarman.

THE GOVERNOR

GEELONG FOR BACK TO BACK FLAGS!!

There is only one way for us to lose this chance: Arrogance; the inability to outhink the opposition when they throw a "curveball" and the failure to adhere to team processes and rules that have been successful for the past 18 months.

Yeah I don't know how Geelong has had the least points kicked against it for two years in a row.
Great midfield I suppose stopping the ball coming in too often.
If I was an opposition coah or journo trying to find/create a weakness why not start at the back and work forward.

Yeah, don't think so. Think the Dome only gets a game if the MCG can't host it (i.e. if there are four games in Melbourne, two on Saturday, one in the arvo, one in the evening).
I'm pretty certain thats wrong. I think the contract is that TD is entitled to a finals match in the first round of the finals. After the prelim final with the G, they opted not to enforce it, but I think it is still in place. As part of the prelim final resoluion for the G, the MCG gets to bank games against the agreement for times when the interstate teams dominate. As the MCG are guaranteed at least six games of the finals, then there is no reason why TD shouldn't get their entitlement. There are pros and cons for both grounds for us.

I won a prize on SEN on the Casual Friday show on the "TOOL TIME" segment for nominating Andrew Jarman for what he said about Tom Harley, so this week I will be nominating "you" for the same thing. I'm not sure if you actually watch Tom Harley play the game, but I suggest you go back over the replays and actually take note of how he plays the game, and the courage he has in taking those marks and the things he does on our back line.
Of course this is only my opinion, and you are definately entitled to yours, even though I don't agree with you.:cool:

Wendy:thumbsdown:

Second that.

Re: 1st Qualifying Final versus Adelaide (the type of game we usually lose)

Bring it Bitchez
speed-gun.jpg

Bring it Bitchez
speed-gun.jpg

an old woman holding a speed gun?.......you guys are a bit different in Adelaide eh?

This week shall be payback for '97 when you stole the flag from us thanks to the umpires, bring the lube ur gonna need it.

an old woman holding a speed gun?.......you guys are a bit different in Adelaide eh?

This week shall be payback for '97 when you stole the flag from us thanks to the umpires, bring the lube ur gonna need it.

We dont exactly have the equipment but we have the will.

Thus an old lady holding a speed gun hahahaha

Because van Berlo used his mind control ability to make that poster instill a sense of fear in your supporters and thus your players. Its all part of an elaborate plan that only 2 people understand in the entire universe, van Berlo & van Berlo's dad (God).

when did this type of game we usuallylose thread start and why?
It was after we beat Richmond last year. Basically as fans we were still hurting from last season (and all the previous years) so we were very negative.

I think the thread title was "Good win, but we need to back it up against West Coast" (but i haven't been able to find it)

Whos a bigger w***er? Jarmen or Michael Voss. Im inclined to go with Voss atm.

Geelong vs Adelaide.

It'll be tough because they will employ their massive flood and zone and try and make it boring.

wow, new to football made or just trying to come up with some well worn sayings ignorant supporters come up with?

Personally, I reckon you'll win I just hope not too easily, you've got a great side who in reality should be in the GF

I hope you make more out of your period of dominance than WCE did :thumbsu:

Thread might be in for a name change in just over an hours time if the game at TD continues like it is.

42 points at half time... its looking like it might be possible for us to play the Saints.

Thread might be in for a name change in just over an hours time if the game at TD continues like it is.

Lets hope so. I'd love Geelong v St Kilda on the Sunday!

1st Qualifying Final that never was.