News 20 Consecutive days of AFL - Fixture released Rounds 9 (revised) 10, 11 and 12

Cheers, have emailed the club this morning. Really poor public relations from all involved though - AFL, CFC, Ticketmaster
Agree terrible public relations. Tickets will be available for every match though from now on, they will go on sale to club members about 4-5 days before the game, and then to the general public 2-3 days before.

That’s what has happened for every QLD match so far (except the double headers which the first game of each wasn’t fully open to the public)

For Metricon matches, check Ticketek
For Gabba matches, check ticketmaster

I just used the 5 from 20 quoted earlier, hadn't checked.

Yep you've got 2 x 4 day and 2 x 5 day breaks, Port have 1 and 2 respectively.

Do you think the Cats current 11 day break will help at all?

It will help some of our injured guys like Duncan, Selwood, Stewart and Narkle hopefully be available for some of these games. But once you've had a 5 and 4 day break I'm not sure your body remembers the rest from a couple of weeks before.

The 5 games in 21-23 days is incredibly hard for all the teams with no bye and a few teams have some nasty travel in there as well. I just don't get why they arranged it so in the super tight schedule one team gets 2 less days than anyone else.

Would love to see a fairness spreadsheet for the whole season up to date, not just 9-12.

And fairness only related to game Play not getting Broadcast prime time slots.

Factors could include:
-home/neutral/away
- Travel days
- break differentials to opposition
- Early morning wake-ups and travel on day of game.
- maybe home vs neutral vs away against other teams based upon last years ladder position. Not sure how this would work, but playing good teams away and easy teams at home is better for bottom teams, and the other way round for top teams...?
- time in hubs
- timing of byes. Season might be over for some teams by the time they get a bye.

Not sure how you weight this, or if there is other factors, but I’d like to hope the AFL has something like this when it fixtures this year - it should be public.

Haven’t heard any of the Vic clubs whining about the hubs and travel at all, they have just cracked on with it.

Biggest meltdowns seem to be coming from Eagles supporter incensed that the Vic clubs aren’t complaining about travel.

They were whinging about it 24 hours in. Taking the piss surely.

That's very true, apart from the part at the end. But at least they don't just make that fixture up as they go along. Just because the AFL always sucks, doesn't mean they can't suck even harder.

As I said, unfairness was inevitable. But you can't look at St Kilda's fixture over those four weeks compared with Collingwood's and conclude that the AFL spent anywhere near an adequate amount of energy balancing the fixture properly.

We dont know if the fixture is inequitable until we see the entire fixture, Saints may come home with a hard set of fixtures leading into finals and their supporters will be bemoaning the fact that teams like Collingwood and Richmond had a cushy run in.

Would love to see a fairness spreadsheet for the whole season up to date, not just 9-12.

And fairness only related to game Play not getting Broadcast prime time slots.

Factors could include:
-home/neutral/away
- Travel days
- break differentials to opposition
- Early morning wake-ups and travel on day of game.
- maybe home vs neutral vs away against other teams based upon last years ladder position. Not sure how this would work, but playing good teams away and easy teams at home is better for bottom teams, and the other way round for top teams...?
- time in hubs
- timing of byes. Season might be over for some teams by the time they get a bye.

Not sure how you weight this, or if there is other factors, but I’d like to hope the AFL has something like this when it fixtures this year - it should be public.

Be hard to top Collingwood this year, racking up the frequent flyer miles. 3 states, 4 games, 13 days. Going to be a hell of a ride. Perth-Bris-Ade-Bris. Thats after already doing the Perth and multiple Sydney trips.

So. Every team is going to have stuff like that at one point. Other teams will have their turn in the final 5 rounds

look at the final 5 teams that we will have.
Lions, Suns, Blues, Power and North. There is a good chance in the final 5 games we only need to leave Queensland once.

So. Every team is going to have stuff like that at one point. Other teams will have their turn in the final 5 rounds

Lions, Suns, Blues, Power and North. There is a good chance in the final 5 games we only need to leave Queensland once.

More likely we’ll play North in Tassie, Power in Adelaide, Suns in NT, Bears in Cairns and Blues in Perth for the hell of it!

Also not ever team, Richmond being very well looked after. Don’t think they left Melbourne once whilst games were being played there and have 2 trips total till end of Rd 12.

Every club is copping it though... Some in travel, some in shorter breaks, some in travelling every week and not being in a hub, some copping consistently shorter breaks than their opponent week after week.

PA for example (Not a whinge, but it will sound like one, just what I know) have played one game in SA out of 7 so far incl 2 FIFO on the one day games, still are doing the Adel QLD Adel QLD next 5 week's with no run of game in one spot, and have 3 games of 4/5 day breaks in the next block (same as Coll Bris GC St Kilda - note the last 3 basically have no travel - and only less than Geel that have 4).

Coll also have Freo Syd and Adel in that block of 4, not the hardest draw and a chance to rotate. Port have Melb Rich Bulldogs Geelong, we'll likely throw one of those, but it's fair in that it balances out the easier draw so far.

The teams just have to deal with it.

Did Eddie suck ofd Gillon to get Freo, Sydney, Adelaide and Melbourne in the next month? What the actual fu**?

Where is the fairness in the fixutre when the AFL give Geelong, Richmond, Bulldogs the inform teams and with travelling and no day breaks whilst collingwood plays the easy beats.

Might want to check where and when our games are played before you rant. We have been screwed to. Geelong don’t leave Queensland, we travel every game... with 4 day breaks...

And seeing as you’ve just played 3 of the so called easy beats in a ROW, when would you like us to play them? When would it suit you? You can play multiple so called easy teams in succession but no other clubs can?

Every club is copping it though... Some in travel, some in shorter breaks, some in travelling every week and not being in a hub, some copping consistently shorter breaks than their opponent week after week.

PA for example (Not a whinge, but it will sound like one, just what I know) have played one game in SA out of 7 so far incl 2 FIFO on the one day games, still are doing the Adel QLD Adel QLD next 5 week's with no run of game in one spot, and have 3 games of 4/5 day breaks in the next block (same as Coll Bris GC St Kilda - note the last 3 basically have no travel - and only less than Geel that have 4).

Coll also have Freo Syd and Adel in that block of 4, not the hardest draw and a chance to rotate. Port have Melb Rich Bulldogs Geelong, we'll likely throw one of those, but it's fair in that it balances out the easier draw so far.

The teams just have to deal with it.

Some clubs aren’t copping it, that’s the issue. Geel don’t leave Brisbane for example. Whoever made this fixture is clueless. The difference between draws of some clubs is astounding

You sure you don’t barrack for WCE, EVERY team will cop it eventually. Grow up.

Might want to check where and when our games are played before you rant. We have been screwed to. Geelong don’t leave Queensland, we travel every game... with 4 day breaks...

And seeing as you’ve just played 3 of the so called easy beats in a ROW, when would you like us to play them? When would it suit you? You can play multiple so called easy teams in succession but no other clubs can?
The persecution continues, next you will start on injuries.

It's time to have a melt.

They could have done this without such extreme discrepancies in the fixturing if they weren't beholden to TV. I understand why they have to do it, but it doesn't mean they haven't completely compromised the competition. Some unfairness was inevitable, but this is too much.

You compare Collingwood to St Kilda and it's just ridiculous. One plays 4 times in 14 days travelling from Perth to Brisbane to Adelaide back to Brisbane. The other plays 4 times in 16 days and never travels outside Queensland. Same is true of Essendon, although they have lost their bye.

I think Collingwood would be wise not to be tempted by the soft Adelaide game. Too much risk of injury travelling from Perth to Brisbane to Adelaide for 3 games in 9 days. We would be smarter to essentially grant Adelaide a walkover and just take the loss, and keep players in Brisbane. Melbourne should do the same and just throw the North Tassie match.

St Kilda travels more than Collingwood every other season and Collingwood played at the MCG for about 2 months straight prior to the 2010 finals series, I bet you weren't complaining then.

2010 was a decade ago mete. Let it go. I am whining about current sh*t at least.

And I have been banging on about the fixturing for years. It has always been a joke.

Some on here are like COVID deniers who won’t stay home. What do you expect this year. ALL will be disadvantaged at some point.

Yes, but the issue is that this block of games is something that the AFL just pulled out of its ass on the fly mid-season. The overall fixture of playing every other team once is fine. Everyone accepts covid travel anomalies, so there is nothing that can be reasonably done to make things fairer. But plenty could have been done here.

Fundamentally what you and others are arguing is that the AFL had no obligation to even try to balance the fixture when they arbitrarily stepped in to force teams to play 4 times in two weeks. Which is a really dumb argument.

Some on here are like COVID deniers who won’t stay home. What do you expect this year. ALL will be disadvantaged at some point.

If everyone was equally disadvantaged, then nobody would be disadvantaged. Quite clearly, the idea that the fixture doesn't advantage or disadvantage some teams more than others is nonsense. But nobody (sensible) is talking about complete equity. There will of course be winners and losers due to random circumstance.

But the point is that AFL should at least try to reduce the inequities that it can control.

The persecution continues, next you will start on injuries.
You had a sook about our draw, got found out and had no response to that because it’s true. You literally just played 3 of your so called easy teams in a row and complain we are now? 🤣

Collingwood supporter defending collingwoods easy draw,

FMD🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

The only clown here mate is you, who will have his heart crushed again this finals series, as youre destined to alwsys have happe
But some will be disadvantaged much more than others.