AFL Player 20: Peter Wright - Club Leading Goalkicker!

• Thread starter Thread starter eth-dog

I look at him and reckon he has put on some upper body size since last year. Could give him confidence.
Ripper of a kick. Just fluent
He's grabbed marks in that WC game he previously would have fumbled.

Also the midfield delivery, and Wright finding space in fwd 50, all show a bit of work done to improve things.

Great signs by Wright. WC defence not the highest rated there is, so lets see what he brings this Anzac game.

Didn’t get the same rewards this week obviously but stood up when things were bad early.

Also seemed to throw himself around a fair bit. Think last week has given him a heap of confidence.

It’s also so important to have a legitimate threat for the opposition to think about aside from Caddy.

Not an ideal day for him but thought he played okay. Does seem to be competing a bit harder than he was.

Essendon key forward Peter Wright has revealed he is feeling physically and mentally refreshed after overcoming doubts last year that he could get back to his best-and-fairest-winning form.

As Wright and the Bombers prepared to take on North Melbourne in Thursday night’s clash at Marvel Stadium, he explained a few injury issues in 2023 and a costly four-game suspension early last year for striking Sydney’s Harry Cunningham dented his confidence.

But after back to back AFL games this season, including a six-goal haul against West Coast a fortnight ago and a solid two-goal Anzac Day effort, he wants to help drive the young Bombers in the next phase of their development.

“I’m really pleased to be back and feeling like my body is in a really good spot,” Wright told this masthead.
“It has no doubt been a challenging and stressful last 12 months or so. It’s been tough.
“It is about trying to find my best footy, and I feel like I am in the (right) headspace now where I can process that and bring my strengths and compete when the ball is in the air.”

Wright conceded a dislocated shoulder during the 2023 preseason – which cost him half a season – then the four-game ban in round 2 last year for his late bump on Cunningham halted his momentum.
It sapped the confidence that saw him kick 53 goals in 2022, winning the best and fairest.

“I think I just lost a bit of momentum … I feel like you have to start again,” Wright said of his challenging past two seasons.
“I wasn’t playing my best footy … and I feel like when you are searching for it, sometimes it gets further away from you.
“The effort was there throughout the year. I was trying hard and getting less results.”

Influential. The best of his 3 games, even without the scoreboard impact.

Not bad for a backup

reckon if he hit the scoreboard it would've been a different game.

still did well around the ground

Looks like has the confidence back which is good. Will not be the last bloke I have written off only to see them come good. :)

Confidence is a great thing. He is attacking the ball a bit harder and holding a few more marks. It was getting back to this level which is what I questioned and gave up on him. Even though he did not kick a goal he was still very important. The lesson is you never really know which way the confidence train will go. Glad I was wrong as if he holds form then he is an important cog.

There was a real bone cruncher on the wing where the Swans player went low and Pete still went hard and stuck the tackle. Last year he would have pulled up or bungled the tackle going in soft and high.

his attack on the ball is fantastic. he tackled correctly too!

Yep that was notable. Was very happy he didn’t go half hearted

Laid a couple of really strong, physical tackles. Looks to be a bit more physical than he has been in the past which was always one of the biggest knocks on him.

Good to see him get a chance to put these types of games together at a time when we really needed them from him.

Can’t be underestimated what his presence does for Caddy too. Another key forward for opposition to worry about does wonders for the development of a kid.

Spends a lot of time with Gerreyn during and after VFL games too. Seems like it's doing both of them a world of good

Can’t be underestimated what his presence does for Caddy too. Another key forward for opposition to worry about does wonders for the development of a kid.
Spends a lot of time with Gerreyn during and after VFL games too. Seems like it's doing both of them a world of good
Think a few of the boys are stepping up as leaders even without being asked.

Love it