Player Watch #20 Sam Reid

Sam_Reid_2017.6.jpg

Sam Reid

Sam Reid’s outstanding athleticism and strong contested grab make him a genuine threat inside 50. The 2012 premiership forward showed exactly that when he booted six goals in the Sydney Swans’ clash with Collingwood in Mark Grook at the SCG to win the 2019 Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal. The 2009 draftee can also play as a loose man in defence or pinch-hit in the ruck. Reid has had very little luck on the injury front in his time in red and white, but he didn’t miss an AFL match in 2019. He’s played 143 career games at the top level for a return of 154 goals.

Sam Reid
DOB: 27 December 1991
DEBUT: 2010
DRAFT: #38, 2009 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Wangaratta Rovers (Vic)/Murray U18

I may well be on my own here, but I didn't think his game yesterday warrants the criticism it has received.

Thought his first and last quarters were quite reasonable.
Quieter in the second and third.
Horrible dropped mark, but 10 disposals, couple of nice contested marks, 4 tackles, 3 dish offs off for goal assists and a couple of scores which admittedly probably should have been goals.

His role at present appears to mainly be to lead up, with our resting ruck playing deep and Goodes seemingly also playing closer to goal.

His development has probably been slower than I anticipated, but we have very little in the way of alternatives and provided his work rate is maintained I'm happy to retain him in the team.

I may well be on my own here, but I didn't think his game yesterday warrants the criticism it has received.

Thought his first and last quarters were quite reasonable.
Quieter in the second and third.
Horrible dropped mark, but 10 disposals, couple of nice contested marks, 4 tackles, 3 dish offs off for goal assists and a couple of scores which admittedly probably should have been goals.

His role at present appears to mainly be to lead up, with our resting ruck playing deep and Goodes seemingly also playing closer to goal.

His development has probably been slower than I anticipated, but we have very little in the way of alternatives and provided his work rate is maintained I'm happy to retain him in the team.

I was personally disapointed with his work rate thats what frustrated me in the first half, i felt him and jetta looked to be taking it easy compared to the others, especially mcglynn

Reid is definitely not the same player he was in 2011. Back then he was leaping for everything and clunking big marks. ATM he is probably getting to probably half the contests and if u hadn't seen the marks he was capable of, his marking ability would look quite poor

Sam's fine. There's no way I'd be dropping him.
People seem to forget the boy's only 21, he's developing nicely (on par/better than any other KPF in the league at his age), he just needs to keep getting games under his belt at full intensity.
And he hasn't had three bad games, just a couple of jittery moments, and that isn't going to sway me from thinking he's anything other than an extremely prodigious talent that will be a superstar in our system if he continues to progress the way he is.
20-year-old Premiership CHF with nothing but upside, don't slay him, get around him, cause he ain't going anywhere for a while.

He's coming along nicely. Compare him to his peers. Can anyone actually name a young (similar age) tall key forward from any other team you'd swap him for?

In 2 seasons time, after a good number of games playing together to get their running patterns sorted, he and Tippett are going to tear defenses apart. You can't double-team both of them. Going to be great to watch.

Y'all are dreaming if you think match committee is gonna drop Reid. He is a long term KPF and just needs time a la Tom Hawkins. He'll only get that time and experience in seniors matches. Keep in mind that players that are "ready to go" from 18/19 are rare as hens teeth and Reid will need time to develop.

Missing LRT in the forward line....seriously. But with AJ's injury, you need LRT out back. Reid had a lot less attention with LRT up there than with Everitt.

No rush... "it" will happen.

Meanwhile as a massive side note. I'm sort of getting a greater appreciation of Richmond in the mid 2000s who had so many player playing between 0-50 games in the same team. I mean Sam Reid is at 50 now in an experienced team. Imagine if he was in a team where he would be getting even more attention, less effective delivery and with no guidance.

People are way too harsh on Reid.

Yes he has dropped a few marks recently and has had a few clangers but he has been leading up the ground creating space for the forwards behind him.

He has been integral to our structure and is more than pulling his weight.

Just because a forward doesn't kick 3-6 goals every game doesn't mean he isn't doing a good job.

He's coming along nicely. Compare him to his peers. Can anyone actually name a young (similar age) tall key forward from any other team you'd swap him for?

In 2 seasons time, after a good number of games playing together to get their running patterns sorted, he and Tippett are going to tear defenses apart. You can't double-team both of them. Going to be great to watch.

Not that I want to swap him , but darling's progress is well ahead of reid.

Can we please compare Darling to the guy we picked ahead of him instead of Reid? That's fairer.

Not really when people are saying reid's progress is Better than any of the forwards in the league. Jed and darling are too far apart in their roles to compare the 2. Reid has enormous potential and is one of my fav players but the truth is that his progress as stagnated and something needs to be done

I seem to recall Darling struggling immensely when he become the focus point when Kennedy/Lecras were out.

Just cant point out that match where he barely had any influence at all.

He also kicked 50 goals last year when kennedy missed large chunks of the year and lecras didn't play at all, is on track to kick well over 50 again this year

I understand your point mate but Physically Reid is not there just yet. Everyone develops at their own pace.
Very true, Darling is anaturally big bloke, Reid needs more time to grow into his body. We won't see his very best for a couple more years, but will still form a great partnership with tippo when he drags the loose defender instead of Reifd getting him

I agree and am very happy with Reid and no doubt he will be a star, but he needs to attack the footy more and play with higher intensity, he drops his head too easy. I think a couple of weeks in the magoos may help with his development. ATM he may be falling into listening to everyone too much saying his development will be slow and probably plays with an attitude of there is always next week. I don't expect him to win every contest but at least get the ball to ground and neutralize contests. He gets pushed aside too easy. A couple of weeks in the 2's to find form and too realise there might not always be next week if ur not performing. I'm not saying to give up hope but maybe tough love is in order

Reid's actually listed 5kg heavier than Darling this year.

Yes but they are very different players and still have different bodies, Ried is still a fair bit taller than Darling and having his wingspan on top of this he really should be 10-15 kilo's heavier than Darling ideally at least.

I agree and am very happy with Reid and no doubt he will be a star, but he needs to attack the footy more and play with higher intensity, he drops his head too easy. I think a couple of weeks in the magoos may help with his development. ATM he may be falling into listening to everyone too much saying his development will be slow and probably plays with an attitude of there is always next week. I don't expect him to win every contest but at least get the ball to ground and neutralize contests. He gets pushed aside too easy. A couple of weeks in the 2's to find form and too realise there might not always be next week if ur not performing. I'm not saying to give up hope but maybe tough love is in order
I reckon the toughest love of all is to leave him in the seniors, letting him get it from the leaders/teammates & coaches. We'd be letting him off easy giving him a couple of weeks in the 2s. He's got a nice long contract already signed up and knows how much investment has already been put into him. I don't think a couple of weeks off would help him more so than just prevent him from pushing through whatever issues he's having and learning to deal with it at the most elite level.

The argument of sending him back to the 2s sounds like, to me anyway, an easy way out and us wrapping him up in cotton wool a bit. I'd rather see us indicate our committment to him as long as he continues to work hard at developing. I mean, by all means if he's not fulfilling his obligation and not working as the coaches want him to then punish him by dropping him. Same for any player. But to drop him for fear he hasn't yet developed certain aspects (tank, body etc) I think will stagnate his development even further rather than push him to the limit each week so he can rpove to himself he's slowly developing and has what it takes.

Sam's definitely a confidence player. Looks a sensitive type, too. He just needs to keep putting the effort in and the results will look after themselves. I too thought he did some good things on the weekend, especially in the first quarter.

Keep at it, Sammy. I know you read the swans forum.