Player Watch #20 Sam Reid

Sam_Reid_2017.6.jpg

Sam Reid

Sam Reid’s outstanding athleticism and strong contested grab make him a genuine threat inside 50. The 2012 premiership forward showed exactly that when he booted six goals in the Sydney Swans’ clash with Collingwood in Mark Grook at the SCG to win the 2019 Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal. The 2009 draftee can also play as a loose man in defence or pinch-hit in the ruck. Reid has had very little luck on the injury front in his time in red and white, but he didn’t miss an AFL match in 2019. He’s played 143 career games at the top level for a return of 154 goals.

Sam Reid
DOB: 27 December 1991
DEBUT: 2010
DRAFT: #38, 2009 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Wangaratta Rovers (Vic)/Murray U18

I think Reid is judged quite harshly, its not like he was a first round draft pick. He had played about 20 games and showed enough in that time to warrant a long term deal. Its not like we had any other forwards at the time. It was the right move.

Since then he has struggled to adapt into a forward line that has added tippett and buddy.

There is no way that Reid is twice the player that Hurley is imo anyway
Reid imo again is far from a gun unless we're talking about the other reid from the pies

Not having a manbun makes him twice the player. His performance on the ground makes it 3 times.

Hurley has nothing like the 2nd and 3rd efforts of Reid.

Reid is a gun. He is in our top 5 most important players.

The constant, and boringly repetitive critics of Reid are merely displaying their ignorance.

Footy has moved on since the 80s.

And he's twice, three times the player Hurley is.

Lets not get emotional Bruce , but don't go labelling peoples opinions , which they are rightly entitled to as ignorant when you are going to come out with statements like your last line in this post.

You are of course entitled to an opinion. And to the extent that there is emotion in my response to that, I can assure you that has nothing to do with the opinion itself. What shits me no end is the expression of that opinion in pretty much every thread on this board over and over again.

It's one thing to express a critical view of a player of a club you "support". It's another thing entirely to campaign relentlessly throughout a discussion forum about how that player is hopeless and will never be any good.

You're wrong. You're excessively negative towards a man one would hope you were supporting. And it's got really boring.

You are of course entitled to an opinion. And to the extent that there is emotion in my response to that, I can assure you that has nothing to do with the opinion itself. What shits me no end is the expression of that opinion in pretty much every thread on this board over and over again.

It's one thing to express a critical view of a player of a club you "support". It's another thing entirely to campaign relentlessly throughout a discussion forum about how that player is hopeless and will never be any good.

You're wrong. You're excessively negative towards a man one would hope you were supporting. And it's got really boring.

What makes you so sure I am wrong ? Anything Reid has produced so far ? Or is it that you consider yourself a superior football mind to my good self ? Mate don't bother with your pontificating any further and sure as **** don't bother with your support and loyalty to the player who represents the club you are supposed to follow. Its a croc of shit which is really boring.

I think you summed it up with my superior football mind.

Not having a manbun makes him twice the player. His performance on the ground makes it 3 times.

Hurley has nothing like the 2nd and 3rd efforts of Reid.
Only reason Reid has better 2nd , 3rd efforts is because he never has the ball in in his hands or drops sitters , where Hurley stops his oppenent and racks up numbers

Sam Reid should not be persevered with any further than this year unless he gets back and produces something with an impact that contributes to this team going very deep into finals. Complete waste of time and long term money contract. Offload him and with trade ban lifted go after a key defender who does not get hurt at the sight of a Sherrin.Throw the kitchen sink at Hurley.
I agree but Hurley is better than Reid (largely because Reid is unable to string games together) so the net result should be that we have to pay more. We won't have the salary cap space for that.

Reid was brilliant late in the season.

I don't know what games you blokes were watching. Him going down against Freo changed the game (I watched it happen right in front of me)
Make no mistake; he IS a great player (when he gets on the park).

Unfortunately, he gets too many soft tissue injuries like his brother. Must be bad genetics.

Easy to rack up numbers off half back.
If that's the case and it's easy to rack up numbers of HB mind you Hurly plays CHB and takes most teams best forwards but then shouldn't reid rack up big numbers when he plays loose defender or get the oppositions weakest defender due to buddy and Tippett

Reid rarely plays loose defender but when he does he takes marks at will. He's saved a number of games for us in my recollection.

2014 vs Port with a saving spoil in the last 10 seconds of the game springs to mind

You guys are kind of arguing past each other, I think. Reid's clearly capable of playing very good footy - at his best, probably one of the best in our team - but he's also been undeniably inconsistent, which is a big part of being a decent footballer.

I think he's worth persisting with, but I also reckon he's underperformed for most of his current contract.

2014 vs Port with a saving spoil in the last 10 seconds of the game springs to mind
Don't forget the draw with Freo.

I think Horse has been using Reid as a depth player which reflects our surplus of talls the last few years. It's time to give him a clear role and KPIs as he is clearly a talent.

Don't forget the draw with Freo.

I think Horse has been using Reid as a depth player which reflects our surplus of talls the last few years. It's time to give him a clear role and KPIs as he is clearly a talent.
Didnt get to watch that one sadly

He's still young. He carried our fwd line for a while & has had more changes than a barry humphries best of half hr musical. Give him a break I reckon.

I hope he bulks up a touch and finds form ala Tom Hawkins a few years back. Those tall lanky kids can turn out to be unstoppable beasts given half a chance and it's been proven time & again that tall KPP's tend to take a bit longer than others. I reckon given a solid role Sam can cement his spot & prove a few wrong.

It was worth reading the garbage in this thread just for that.... love it :thumbsu:

Those that are still negative about Reid should re watch the 2012 GF and games from the latter part of last year. No one in our side clunks a mark better than Reid, often from seemingly impossible positions.

Not sure what position/role Reid will settle into but he will be a valuable addition to our best 22 when he comes back. Remember that KPF are the most difficult players to draft and trade for so you certainly don't trade one out.

Young players often have periods of injuries but grow out of them, hoping Reid is one of them as he adds another dimension to the team when he's on the park.

It's sorta crazy to me that when a bloke is out injured for 6 months that's when his output is put under closer scrutiny. Wouldn't it be better to assess his performance - oh, I don't know - when he's actually performing?

I'm not going to list all the games last year where he was pretty instrumental in getting us a win but what exactly do people expect - he's not playing as a full time forward so he's never going to kick a bag. He had his highest average disposals, marks and tackles last year since joining the club. People need to recalibrate their expectations - for a swingman a 15-20 possession game is a really, really good performance particularly if a bunch of those are the result of clunking contested marks.