Player Watch #20 Sam Reid

Sam_Reid_2017.6.jpg

Sam Reid

Sam Reid’s outstanding athleticism and strong contested grab make him a genuine threat inside 50. The 2012 premiership forward showed exactly that when he booted six goals in the Sydney Swans’ clash with Collingwood in Mark Grook at the SCG to win the 2019 Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal. The 2009 draftee can also play as a loose man in defence or pinch-hit in the ruck. Reid has had very little luck on the injury front in his time in red and white, but he didn’t miss an AFL match in 2019. He’s played 143 career games at the top level for a return of 154 goals.

Sam Reid
DOB: 27 December 1991
DEBUT: 2010
DRAFT: #38, 2009 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Wangaratta Rovers (Vic)/Murray U18

Just hope Reid plays purely as a forward this year, the better games have been as a forward. He's very average as a utility and too often when the midfield is being beaten Buddy gets dragged up the ground leaving us with no targets in the forward 50.

Will be interesting to see how he goes injury free with a full pre-season under his belt. I saw enough end of 2015 to suggest Reid could fulfil his potential. Those comparing him with Jesse White are wrong. He's got far more than White had, far more versatile and his best is better. Needs a good string of games.
Yep, agreed. Different beasts IMO.

Reid carried our fwd line for a while there IMO. He's so young still, his body has let him down, not his ability. I known many will disagree but I reckon if we can get him on the park consistently, for a good run of games, then I think we'll be rewarded. But he needs to put up too. He needs to build a body that is more reliable & less likely to fail him. He needs to train as if he was a new recruit looking to impress (or on the verge of being axed for good). It really is up to him this year. They're saying he's fit & ready to go, he needs to step up now & give us some good indications he's finally going to deliver.

Make or break year for him.

Just hope Reid plays purely as a forward this year, the better games have been as a forward. He's very average as a utility and too often when the midfield is being beaten Buddy gets dragged up the ground leaving us with no targets in the forward 50.
I'm of the opposite opinion actually. With Tippett and Buddy down there, Reid looks to be more valuable as a wingman. When he was younger, he had a lot of potential as a CHF, but never really delivered. He showed he's got good hands in close and an accurate kick out in front of the forwards when he's played up the ground in the last couple of years and if he's been building up his tank in the off-season, it could make him more damaging.

Happy to sit on the other side of the fence. For mine Reid in his role as wingman over 2014-2015 has occasionally played a reasonable game but never with any consistency. While he may be one of the better users with ball in hand, the main issue is that he simply doesn't find the ball often enough to be a reliable wingman.

I think his best patch of form since the recruitment of Buddy and Kurt is late 2015 when Buddy was out of the side and Kurt was playing mainly in the ruck which allowed him to play as the main forward. With Kurt set to spend significant time in the ruck again this year, and Buddy allowed to roam, the opportunity for Reid to play CHF imo his best position should be opened.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...pid2=3381&fid1=P&fopt1=2015&fid2=P&fopt2=2015

Comparing the last full season they both played in 2015 (which would also have been the best year for both). Sam was just 23 yrs old while Jesse was much closer to his peak at 27. Sam's cleaner with the ball, gives away fewer frees and clangers while showing he can play a number of positions. Given he's not had much in the way of preseasons and has been injury riddled I'd say pretty confidently that Reid will become a much better player than White if he can get past the injuries and have a consistent run of games. IMO Sam's also a smarter footballer. Hard to back up that with stats but he's a good decision maker. He also applies a more forward pressure, really chasing down the opposition despite being a big man.

Happy to sit on the other side of the fence. For mine Reid in his role as wingman over 2014-2015 has occasionally played a reasonable game but never with any consistency. While he may be one of the better users with ball in hand, the main issue is that he simply doesn't find the ball often enough to be a reliable wingman.

I think his best patch of form since the recruitment of Buddy and Kurt is late 2015 when Buddy was out of the side and Kurt was playing mainly in the ruck which allowed him to play as the main forward. With Kurt set to spend significant time in the ruck again this year, and Buddy allowed to roam, the opportunity for Reid to play CHF imo his best position should be opened.

I think that can work, but if the resting ruckman is down there as well, it's going to be too much. I'd love for him to recapture some of his earlier form as a forward though. There's something special about watching a player grab strong contested marks like he can!

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...pid2=3381&fid1=P&fopt1=2015&fid2=P&fopt2=2015

Comparing the last full season they both played in 2015 (which would also have been the best year for both). Sam was just 23 yrs old while Jesse was much closer to his peak at 27. Sam's cleaner with the ball, gives away fewer frees and clangers while showing he can play a number of positions. Given he's not had much in the way of preseasons and has been injury riddled I'd say pretty confidently that Reid will become a much better player than White if he can get past the injuries and have a consistent run of games. IMO Sam's also a smarter footballer. Hard to back up that with stats but he's a good decision maker. He also applies a more forward pressure, really chasing down the opposition despite being a big man.

Injury prone? wait a sec in the leave Sam alone comments I was told he averages 20 games a season? how much more durable can he be? But then if he is injury riddled then that is a massive issue so if the Reid lovers can let me know which he is that would be great.

He does not touch the ball in a lot of positions so yes on that basis he can play a variety of spots equally effectively I guess.

The rest is just your hope and opinion, I get that, I hope Reid knocks White out of the park as a player but it has not happened yet and up to this point on the Lower salary White is better value.

The age thing, well I hope we do not apply that rule to Dean Towers or he is in trouble.

This is a massive year for the bloke, no excuses he has a full pre season (unless he gets hurt again) a spot to waltz back into and coming into his peak, I cannot wait for him to rip the comp apart

Injury prone? wait a sec in the leave Sam alone comments I was told he averages 20 games a season? how much more durable can he be? But then if he is injury riddled then that is a massive issue so if the Reid lovers can let me know which he is that would be great.

He does not touch the ball in a lot of positions so yes on that basis he can play a variety of spots equally effectively I guess.

The rest is just your hope and opinion, I get that, I hope Reid knocks White out of the park as a player but it has not happened yet and up to this point on the Lower salary White is better value.

The age thing, well I hope we do not apply that rule to Dean Towers or he is in trouble.

This is a massive year for the bloke, no excuses he has a full pre season (unless he gets hurt again) a spot to waltz back into and coming into his peak, I cannot wait for him to rip the comp apart
Yer but have you seen how wide his shoulders are this pre season and still so young

he carried the forward line when he was out of the womb mate and has looked awesome from day dot, still a pup

Durable, never misses much footy but injury has plagued his preparation.

He needed help in the forward line, but then he got too much help.

Better than white because of the vibe

I'm a fan of Jesse White but anybody that suggests, with sincerity, that he is the equal of, or better than Sam Reid must have rocks in their head.

Why?

I assume you've watched Jesse play the majority of his games both with Sydney and Collingwood...the dumb things he does on the field in terms of decision making, accountability, lack of a contest etc. far outweigh the freakish athletic things he is capable of. I'd say him and Sam Reid are opppsites in terms of their football IQ, if that makes sense.

no it doesn't, I have seen White play some good footy for sydney in his last year for instance

I have seen Sam Reid drop sitters, go massive parts of games without touching it and miss absolute piss easy set shots, I see no obvious difference in output overall, both have glimpses both do dumb stuff.

To me it seems one wears red and white still the other does not.

no it doesn't, I have seen White play some good footy for sydney in his last year for instance

I have seen Sam Reid drop sitters, go massive parts of games without touching it and miss absolute piss easy set shots, I see no obvious difference in output overall, both have glimpses both do dumb stuff.

To me it seems one wears red and white still the other does not.

What 'dumb' stuff does Reid do? He's had some fairly crucial involvements at the back end of tight games over the years that a 'dumb' footballer wouldn't be capable of. There's a reason he is rated so highly within the four walls of the club, and also a reason that Jesse White found himself playing a fair chunk of reserves footy for a bottom 6 team with an American import playing ahead of him, both of these reasons go deeper than a stats sheet.

Reid misses a fair few marks and goals seems rather dumb to me.

I am not suggesting White is a gun player I think both have been average to ordinary most of their career. Reid just has an inflated reputation.

Reid should of been in the NEAFL way more than he has been, the club overrate him IMO

but hey come round 10 when he has played 10 stellar games I will happily come back and eat crow, but i suspect we will see more of the same old Reid this year where he plays a good quarter against say Brisbane and kicks 3-4 goals then goes missing for 3 weeks, then probably gets hurt one week.