9 Carlton {Big losses, Elliot factor?}
10 Sydney {Boring}
11 Fremantle {Showing glimpses of potential but never quite there}
12 West Coast {Lost more than they gained}
13 Port Adelaide {Younger team, to be considered down the track}
14 Adelaide {Who Cares?!}
15 Richmond {List not quite strong enough}
16 Collingwood {Rebuilding}

What do you guys think? And spare me the criticism.

------------------
Ladies and gentlemen, The Jeff has spoken.

Sydney boring ?

The Swans have been many things over the years but NEVER EVER boring.

Anyway here is my fantasy ladder, not that it means anything at this stage...

1)Essendon - still hungry

2)Melbourne - 'unfinished business' factor, pre-season not going well however.

3) Kangaroos - comments regarding bad recruiting and ageing list are pure bunkum

4) Saint Kilda - Blighty will deliver, but not the ultimate prize

5) Hawthorn - improving all the time, Parkin will add an extra dimension

6) Sydney - a fit Paul Kelly is worth an extra 2 or 3 wins

7) Geelong - nothing special, but good enough to be thereabouts

8) Brisbane - Great list, but a club at war with itself.

9) Richmond - yes, 9th AGAIN

10) Carlton - even the Old Darks have to 'rebuild' sometime

11) Western Bulldogs - a bad year ahead, lack of talls will be telling.

12) Fremantle - more of the same, big losing margins hurt percentage (as usual)

13) Port Adelaide - great potential, make or break year for Tredeau

14) West Coast - sorry don't rate them, coachs' negativity drags down the rest of the team.

15) Adelaide - Gary Ayres will go mid-season

16) Collingwood - 5 wins

flame away - cheers

Would richmond supporters prefer anything to 9th again ? even 15th.

I think these two are a bit harsh on them - given a good run without injuries they look very good

My Thoughts at this point.

Essendon look good enough to go close to last year

All other teams to be equally placed, with some a bit more equal than others. took for 4-5 of the last years top seven to agin make the finals - with 2-3 changes.
Teams coming towards the bottom will be there because of injuries, disharmony etc (who predicted the saints ?) Collingwood, Port, Adelaide, WCE, Brisbane are all in danger of this.

I think my browser must be broken. I've looked a few times at the contribution from BSA and Jeff but cant find the big grin smiley next to their Richmond predictions!

For what it is worth, here is my guess...

1 Melbourne (Hunger, ability)
2 Brisbane (Hunger, ability)
3 Essendon (Less Hunger, ability)
4 Kangaroos (Rebuilding but Carey to drag them up)
5 Richmond (Finally!!!!)
6 St.Kilda (So much new talent and Blight factor)
7 Sydney (Kelly, O'Laughlin and Eade)
8 Carlton (Lost too much)
9 Geelong (Stunninly ordinary recruiting)
10 Bulldogs (Time to rebuild)
11 Hawthorn (Overrated)
12 Fremantle (Still building)
13 Port Adelaide (Still building)
14 West Coast (Don't rate Judge)
15 Adelaide (Don't rate Ayres)
16 Collingwood (Still building)

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Bee,

It is my perception that Carlton have lost a few valuable senior players - Hamill is the standout - and their star coach. It will be Wayne Britains first year as senior coach, although he did perform aspects of that role last season.

I came up with 8th because although I feel they will slide they will certainly be competitive and won't have the same kind of spectacular slide that St Kilda experienced.

Besides, I had to make sure I had Richmond in my top 8
biggrin.gif

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Predicting the two biggest yo-yos in the comp, Melbourne and brisbane to be the top two is highly optimistic - and the only hunger up at brisbane lions seems to involve non-consenting females (Apologies to those offended by making light of a serious issue)

Originally posted by CJH:
Bee,

It is my perception that Carlton have lost a few valuable senior players - Hamill is the standout - and their star coach. It will be Wayne Britains first year as senior coach, although he did perform aspects of that role last season.

I came up with 8th because although I feel they will slide they will certainly be competitive and won't have the same kind of spectacular slide that St Kilda experienced.

Besides, I had to make sure I had Richmond in my top 8
biggrin.gif

Fair enough. But the only significant loss Carlton have is "Aaron who?"(aka Hamill). Brittain actually coached Carlton last year although unofficially, so it is not his first year as coach.
Yeah I can understand why you would want to put Richmond in your top eight. Any self respecting supporter would put their team in the eight.
smile.gif

CJH

Richmond could easily go through the entire year with a fit list all playing good footy - yet STILL finish just out of the eight.

All it takes is a couple of results like your Round 21 encounter withg Sydney this year and the whole house of cards could come tumbling down yet again.

Richmond need luck, god knows you guys have been short of this over the last few years but for once good fortune and the footy gods may smile on the Yellow and Black this year, - but don't hold your breath.

In determining places 6-12 luck has an awful lot to do with it I think. A narrow loss here, an inadequate goal haul there and suddenly a team that was 6th or 7th could finish 10th or 11th in the space of a couple of games - its that tight that sheer luck starts to play a big part in whether a team finishes in the finals or not.

cheers

Originally posted by Pessimistic:
Predicting the two biggest yo-yos in the comp, Melbourne and brisbane to be the top two is highly optimistic - and the only hunger up at brisbane lions seems to involve non-consenting females (Apologies to those offended by making light of a serious issue)

The same problem is evident at Adelaide too isn't it?
wink.gif

Melbourne are interesting.

There have been plenty of examples of teams which have performed well in one season, struggling the next (Melbourne themselves give us a few examlples) others would include Richmond of '94, Saints '97, Port 99 , Brisbane '96. Teams who performed above expectaions, and then thought that all they had to do was run out the next year and they would improve by default.

Melbourne have a young list, but also a lot of players in their 1st or 2nd year, who tend to get worked out a bit in the next season. Others have said they have "hunger", the opposite is a real risk, that they think they have done great things by finishing 2nd.

I also don't rate St Kilda. They will improve but it takes more than a couple of pretty good players and a couple of teanagers to turn around a season like last. They also lack key defenders to hold out quality opposition. Blight has the record but stil needs the cattle.

For what it is worth....

North - Carlton have shown that experience counts
Essendon - just very good
Brisbane - depth and quality
Carlton - need Kouta and Witnall to be fit
Doggies - past their prime ?
Geelong - an inigma
Hawthorn - still improving, won't go backwards
Melbourne - see above
Fremantle - still improving - stopped going backwards !!
Port - can't be as bad as last year
Sydney - lacking match winners
Richmond - rely on too few
Adelaide - young players but no stand-out up and coming players
St Kilda - see above
West Coast - on the slide
Collingwood - how has their squad improved ?

ptw

The cricket club I used to play for (before I retired) had an end of season competition where we had to predict next year's ladder. At $20.00 a go and with over 100 people entering each year it was quite a nice little money spinner. The first prize of 25% of the pool (well it was a fundraiser!) was to the person who predicted the most teams in exact order. After ten years of competition the best effort was six. That is... six teams predicted in their exact position for the following season.

My prediction for the 2001 ladder (fraught with danger as it is). is as follows. Based on the above observations, I'll be very happy to get six out of sixteen!

1 Essendon {Clearly the best team in the competition and the benchmark}
2 Melbourne {Another good team, but I'm not sure they have the personnel to win the GF next year. Definitely a top four position!}
3 Brisbane {Has a very good list, which I believe is better than last year. Has several injury-prone players though, which has cost it at vital times in the finals. Scott, McRae, Voss, Keating, Black in 1999 and Scott, Bradshaw, Keating, McRae, in 2000. Disagree that it is a club at war with itself BSA...no more at war with itself than any other club!}
4 Hawthorn {I agree, good in all areas, including coaching and will improve significantly on 2000}

5 Kangaroos {Still a good list, Carey still there. At last recruiting some young blokes. However Bell, Capuano, Pike among others will be losses. Don't know about Sav Rocca.}
6 Sydney {Very unlucky not to figure in the finals this year. }
7 St.Kilda {Far, far better list than last year. Any team with Harvey, Burke, Loewe, Everitt, Hammill, Gehrig, Capuano, Lawrence, B. Voss, plus a few other stalwarts should be a final eight contender.}
8 Richmond {will make the eight, just! List is roughly the same standard as last year}
----------------------------------------------------
Chances for Positions 5-8 perhaps.
9 Carlton {on the decline, Hamill gone, Bradley who played well last year possibly gone, Silvagni injured}
10. Geelong {reasonable list, could challenge for a spot in the eight. Thompson should get the most out of them and wouldn't surprise if finished higher. }
11. Fremantle {Should improve slightly from last year}
12. Western Bulldogs {will struggle}
13 Adelaide {May finish higher. If not Ayres could be in trouble.}
14. Collingwood {Rebuilding}
-------------------------------------------------
No chance for the eight (in my opinion).
15 Port Adelaide {Will improve in future years}
16 West Coast {Will struggle badly. }

1. Essendon
2. Sydney (there is always a surprise team)
3. Richmond (just a hunch)
4. Melbourne
5. Kangaroos (always there)
6. St.Kilda (Blight always has an impact)
7. Carlton (enough talent there)
8. Hawthorn

9. Geelong
10.Brisbane (signs are bad)
11.Freo
12.Port
13.Bulldgos (Just a hunch. I expect them to slide)
14.Adelaide
15.West Coast
16.Collingwood

For some reason I expect the Dogs to slide. In 1997-98-99, they had 14, 15 and 15.5 wins respectivrly. Then, in 2000, they had 12. What happened ?? They remind me of the Demons in 1991, and the horrible slump they endured in 1992.

St.Kilda will make the finals; Sydney has a talented list that often doesn't get the credit it deserves. Watch out for Kelly.

Richmond are due. I know we say it every year, but maybe, just maybe, this is their year. They have a top young coach and a hungry list. Richo is a boom recruit for them, and they would be most unlucky to endure a similar injury run as last year. Frawley is great for Richmond and they are blessed with many talented talls.

Brisbane seems un-harmonoous to me. They seem to always have trouble follow them, and I don't expect them to improve. It's more of a hunch as well, but 2000 was a big disappointment.

Hawthorn has a good spine but lacks class, while the Cats also lack genuine class.

Carlton are still a top team but injurys could cripple thm, since their depth is questionable, now that they have lost Hamill and Fraser Brown.

Although you'll seldom see a Blues supporter pick anything but a premiership, I still believe we have a good shot. The only real loss for us is Hamill. One player does not a season wreck!!! Kouta maybe but not Hamill. I am concerned that we will lose that desperation in the forward line though.
Fevola will step up, and the twin towers Allan and Porter were only just starting to show their potential toward the end of the season. They'll be smokin'. Don't need injuries though.

1) Carlton (a la 1995 with an aging list)
2) Essendon (Will need bad luck not to win)
3) Melbourne (will go close)
4) Richmond (Richo and Kellaway, stronger)
5) Brisbane (No focus but have Voss & Leppa)
6) Hawthorn (enthusiastic)
7) Kangaroos (too many stars to fall out)
8) Sydney (worried about full time FF)

9) St Kilda (Positives won't last all season)
10)Adelaide (have never impressed me)
11)Bulldogs (Lots of guts but slipping)
12)Port (Something's wrong)
13)Geelong (something's very wrong)
14)Fremantle (can do well but I won't tip it)
15)Eagles (Can't see any positives here)
16)Collingwood (May surprise but unlikely)

Didnt a thread like this do the rounds not long ago?

Anyway for what its worth, i dont think next year will be much different to this year.

There will be a couple of stand outs Dons and North (i still reckon Pagans to shrewd for them to slide) with maybe the Blues not to far away depending of Braddles and Koutas form.

then the glut, everyone with the exception of the Coasters,Woods,Port and Dockers could finish in the eight given the right circumstances with injurys and form.

Maybe the Cats might slide more than most. No real depth in their talls, and Burns needs help up front.

For the Hawks? Be disappointed with anything less than fifth, maybe as high as 2nd (gotta be positive in life) or *shudder* with a horror year on injury front as low as 13th.

The league wanted an even competion, they damn near well have one.

Grendel - Hawthorn top 2 - you have got to be joking. If it wasn't for Richmond's traditonal end of season choke, the Hawks wouldn't have made the Eight. Granted they beat Geelogn in the finals, but that wasn't too special> They got flogged by North the NExt week. And Richmond haven't got a hope in hell of makin the eight. no talent there whatsoever.

geelong4ever, i wouldn't call 10 points a flogging, as you said north did to geelong in the finals.

anyways, heres my top 4

1. carlton (you have to put your team near, or at the top)
2. essondon (as much as it pains me to say it
3. melbourne (heaps of potential that was not fully realised last year)
4. hawthorn (spirited and with a great list)

Essendon (duh! hehe)
Hawthorn (think will hit peak next season)
Melbourne (Strong list)
Richmond (bad luck in past, good team)
Brisbane (can regain 99' form)
Carlton (still a good side)
North (need some fresh blood but decent team)
Geelong (Need some good luck but good underrated side in 2000)

St. Kilda
Port Power

St Kilda, Bullies, Sydney and Adelaide all have huge potential. Just had to fit everyone in the top 8.

Yes i know! Your probably saying 'why is a passionate Collingwood supporter saying Collingwood will finish for the wooden spoon'? Well besides the obvious fact that were shit and inexperienced,there are other reasons. We have not improved in the draft and tradings and will still collapse when we get into the forward line because there is simply no one to kick too. We need a Llyold or a Cummings, a effective forward, but that's Collingwood's recruiters for you!

Plus im facing the facts, we haven't been in a finals match since 1994. Its shocking. So its very hard to stay optimistic when nothing has happened for six years and looks like the club is doing very little effort to try and pick up the dropped ball. Our squad is still inexperienced and Buckley is our only real good player. So yeah, Go the Pies.
Oh geez...

1. Bombers - who else? JTG
2. Brissie Lions - too much talent; better balanced side; better draw; due for a change of luck with injuries.
biggrin.gif

3. The all-new Sainters - Deadwood gone; Blighty will get the newboys to gel; certain finalists.
4. Swannies - last hurrah for Kelly, Schwass, Dunkley, Lewis; top coach; O'Loughlin's a wizard.
5. Dees - Well drilled; not reliant on big names.
6. Geelong - Half a chance, especially if White and Murphy hold their own.
7. Dogs - Similar list, similar results.
8. Tiges - This is THE year; gotta have luck with injuries though.

9. Kangas - G-O-R-N! Rocca, Olarenshaw - LMAO!
biggrin.gif

10. Baggers - Not this time, Jack; down on depth; query on fitness of SOS, Kouta.
11. PAPs - Improvers; will carry on the momentum gained at end of '00.
12. Hawkers - Middle of the Road.
13. Maggies - Marginal improvers; very inexperienced.
14. Crowies - Oh dear. *shakes head*
15. Weagles - 1994 seems a long, long time ago now.
16. Freo - Too many recruiting eggs in the Peter Bell basket. Going nowhere.

A lot of people underestimate the West Coast side, people are even saying that we are worse than the saints......I don't think so!! Just cause you pick up two good players and two good draft picks doesn't mean that you will rise dramatically. Freo will make the finals next year.

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind I will never die...

My ladder

1. Essendon- Still the best
2. Carlton- Koutoufides gives them that dominance in the air which makes them so hard to beat.
3. Melbourne- Obviously an excellent team, but are they truly consistent?
4. Kangaroos- Carey still has at least one excellent season left in him, and Stevens should add some spark.
5. Brisbane- Will lose too many important games to make the top four.
6. Sydney- I think they're regaining some of that passion, and O'Loughlin, Goodes, Schwass, Cresswell, Kelly, Stafford, Dunkley and Schauble are all high quality players.
7. Western- Great midfield, passable forwardline, if their backline comes together , they could finish top four.
8. Richmond- I think the hoodoos of past years will give them enough 'hunger' to finally make it this year, particularly if Richo can finally play a full year.
9. Hawthorn- I rate them highly, but I think they've played slightly above themselves in 2000.
10. Geelong- list seems fairly weak
11. West Coast- I think they'll do a lot better with a stable side.
12. Adelaide- Just good enough to avoid the bottom four
13. St.Kilda- Just how can any team make the finals with as bad a backline as the Saints? Who is going to be able to hear the words 'Max Hudghton, St.Kilda's number one defender...' without laughing.
14. Port Adelaide- still have some excellent players
15. Fremantle- Don't have enough goal-kicking options, or high quality defenders
16. Collingwood- One more year before they're competitive.

But I wouldn't place money on any of these predictions, except Essendon for premiers.

2001 Ladder