oh_my_hat

Jun 28, 2000
one-out in the goal squar
Dallas Cowboys, Tottenham
Here are the results and standings after week 2. OK here are my tips for week 3.

Tipper This week Progressive

Winston Wolf 9 21
Nuffy 10 19
Zombie 9 18
You Idiot 8 18
OzColtsFan 8 18
Longboysfan 11 18
Mooster 7 17
Monkey Magic 8 17
Murph 6 16
Still Crowing 7 16
X-Box-X 11 16
OutKast 8 15
Oh My Hat 7 15
Stealth Bomber 8 14
Pump 7 14
Hippie 5 13
Wimbo Cowboy 4 11

Wimbo didn't put his tips in so I gave him the worst tip minus 1.

Sorry about the formatting of the scoreboard. I can't seem to be able to put spacings in b/w the week score and progressive.

Early pacesetters appear to be Winston Wolf & Nuffy.

I should have been loyal and tipped the Cowboys this week Doh!! How good are the Patriots and what has happened to the Rams??

Sun, Sep 22 TIME (ET) TV LOCATION
Cleveland vs Tennessee 1:00 PM CBS Adelphia Coliseum
NY Jets vs Miami 1:00 PM CBS Pro Player Stadium
Carolina vs Minnesota 1:00 PM FOX Metrodome
Kansas City vs New England 1:00 PM CBS Gillette Stadium
New Orleans vs Chicago 1:00 PM FOX Memorial Stadium
Dallas vs Philadelphia 1:00 PM FOX Veterans Stadium
Indianapolis vs Houston 1:00 PM CBS Reliant Stadium
San Diego vs Arizona 4:05 PM CBS Sun Devil Stadium
Buffalo vs Denver 4:05 PM CBS Invesco Field
Green Bay vs Detroit 4:15 PM FOX Ford Field
Washington vs San Francisco 4:15 PM FOX San Francisco Stadium
Seattle vs NY Giants 4:15 PM FOX Giants Stadium
Cincinnati vs Atlanta 8:30 PM ESPN

Mon, Sep 23 TIME (ET) TV LOCATION
St. Louis vs Tampa Bay 9:00 PM ABC

D'OH! What a terrible weekend. Next year, I think Winston should do all the preseason previews, eh?

Before my tips, I'll share something with you. They interviewed an Army Lieutenant Colonel who was badly injured in the 9-11 attack on the Pentagon. He was burned over 65% of his body and has spent the past year having dozens of corrective surgeries. They asked him what it sounded like when the aircraft struck the Pentagon. His answer,

"It sounded like Arrowhead Stadium."

Arrowhead was loud this weekend. The Chiefs passing defense was not. :mad: :(

MOOSTER PICKS ROUND 3:

Tennessee
Miami
Minnesota
Kansas City
Chicago
Philly
Indy
San Diego
Buffalo
Green Bay
San Fran
Seattle
Atlanta

TMF: St. Louis

Once again, I always bet on the Chiefs. I would have recommended them in weeks one and two. I don't this weekend. Let me do it, and the rest of you show some brains and pick New England. I'll let you know when it is safe to pick KC again. ;) :D

Doh!! I forgot to put my tip in for todays game ... I also don't know the result, last time I checked it was early in the first quater ... Oh well, I was having a bloody good week aswell...

Tips

Tennessee
Miami
Carolina
New England
Chicago
Philadelphia
Houston
Arizona
Denver
Green Bay
San Francisco
Seattle
Atlanta
St Louis

Originally posted by Mooster7
"DOH" seems to be the word of the week. :D

Where's that stud Winston Wolf? He needs to come take a bow. I'm ready to see his picks too. ;)
Yeah Mooster, Winston is pretty quick out the blocks but can he keep up the pace!! Being a Fin's fan doesn't hurt too!! Maybe you should step aside and we can read Winston's pre-season prognostications next year!! :D

Minnesota
Tennessee
Philadelphia
Indianapolis
New England
New Orleans
Miami
Denver
Arizona
Green Bay
N.Y. Giants
San Francisco
Atlanta
Tampa Bay

Originally posted by Mooster7
D'OH! What a terrible weekend. Next year, I think Winston should do all the preseason previews, eh?

You reckon you had a shocker, Mooster? Bugger me, everything I tipped turned to shyte. :rolleyes:

I'll see if I can do better than 5 this week. :eek: (not bloody likely)

Tennessee
NY Jets
Minnesota
New England
Chicago
Philly
Indianapolis
San Diego
Denver
Green Bay
San Francisco
NY Giants
Atlanta
Tampa Bay

Did better this time, despite my Packers tanking. Oh well, moving on up...

Tennessee
Miami
Minnesota
New England
Chicago
Philadelphia
Indianapolis
San Diego
Denver
Green Bay
San Francisco
Seattle
Atlanta
Tampa Bay

If the Packers were playing in the Silverdome, they'd be toast.

Tennessee
Miami
Minnesota
New England
New Orleans
Philadelphia
Indianapolis
Arizona
Buffalo
Green Bay
San Francisco
NY Giants
Atlanta

St. Louis

Sun, Sep 22 TIME (ET) TV LOCATION
Buffalo vs Denver 4:05 PM CBS Invesco Field
Washington vs San Francisco 4:15 PM FOX Candlestick Park :confused:

Mon, Sep 23 TIME (ET) TV LOCATION

Cheers,
William

Buffalo vs Denver4:05 PM CBS Invesco Field
Washington vs San Francisco 4:15 PM FOX Candlestick Park

Tuesday Morning Football! "I'm John Madden, and welcome to.."

I would alsp like to thank the Pats for waking me from my delusions.......Pats to Rule the roost!

Also, go you Green Machine!

Originally posted by Still Crowing
Tuesday Morning Football! "I'm John Madden, and welcome to.."

Man, oh, man... do I wish we got the same feed the American ABC gets for their primetime footy. At least on free-to-air, anyways... Jen and I don't have cable. :(

This being the first season in which Al Michaels and John Madden are being paired together (and about 15 years too late, I might add). :eek:

How do they sound together? Mooster, any opinions?

Cheers,
William

Tips:-
Cleveland
NY Jets
Minnesota
New England
New Orleans
Philadelphia
Indianapolis
San Diego
Denver
Green Bay
Washington
NY Giants
Atlanta

St Louis
:p

Mooster, thanx for the slap on the back, but 2 weeks don't make a season, and there have definitely been some crazy and close results which could have gone either way.

And your annual detailed previews are SAFE, as mine would be limited to 3 words per team (shyte, hot, and shyte-hot)

:D LOL :D

here's my Week 3 Tips
Tennessee
Miami (can they please break the Jets 8 game winning voodoo streak)
Minnesota (after 2 close high scoring losses)
New England
Saints
Eagles
Indianapolis
San Diego (to keep pace with AFC West leaders)
Denver
Packers
49ers
Giants
Atlanta
Rams (to bounce back)

Originally posted by oh_my_hat
Xie I took the liberty of giving you tha away team. You're in luck. Eagles (read away team) 37, Deadskins 7!!

Sweet!! Thanks mate :)
I would've gone for Philly anyway ... However it was 3:14 to go in the First when I realised I forgot to tip for this game :D

Originally posted by you_idiot

Man, oh, man... do I wish we got the same feed the American ABC gets for their primetime footy. At least on free-to-air, anyways... Jen and I don't have cable. :(

This being the first season in which Al Michaels and John Madden are being paired together (and about 15 years too late, I might add). :eek:

How do they sound together? Mooster, any opinions?

Cheers,
William
William I think they have great chemistry together. I always liked Summerall & Madden together but these two seem very comfortable and at ease with each other. Is is just me or does Al Michaels sounds like Kermit the Frog?? :D

I heard mixed reviews but I would have liked to hear some of Dennis Miller last year too.

Troy Aikman is a natural in the box too I think he and Joe Buck are great to listen to. I don't even mind Collinsworth now that he is paired with Buck & Aikman, I couldn't stand him on the pre game show (not that Foxtel show it anymore). :mad:

James Brown is cooler than the other side of the pillow man!!

Don't get me started on Chris Berman & Tom Jackson. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by oh_my_hat
William I think they have great chemistry together. I always liked Summerall & Madden together but these two seem very comfortable and at ease with each other. Is is just me or does Al Michaels sounds like Kermit the Frog?? :D

I heard mixed reviews but I would have liked to hear some of Dennis Miller last year too.

Troy Aikman is a natural in the box too I think he and Joe Buck are great to listen to. I don't even mind Collinsworth now that he is paired with Buck & Aikman, I couldn't stand him on the pre game show (not that Foxtel show it anymore). :mad:

James Brown is cooler than the other side of the pillow man!!

Don't get me started on Chris Berman & Tom Jackson. :rolleyes:

Have to agree with most of what you said...

Summerall and Madden were smooth as silk together, but change is good.

I would have liked to see Dennis Miller get a bigger shake, but if the ratings were down for the MNF package, you can't blame ABC for wanting to make a change.

The Berman & Jackson team on "NFL Primetime" on ESPN... Few folks are bigger Chris Berman fans than I am, and in saying that, he might be the best highlights presenter in the USA. But I think that show works quite well, because of the chemistry between the two that has been cultivated over a very long period of time.

But having said that, I can't say that "Primetime" has been the same since the death of Pete Axthelm in 1990. He had a dry humourous edge that added something to the show, and I haven't ever gotten used to it being a two-man show. Just a matter of my personal preference...

Cheers,
William

Madden and Michaels are great. I've loved Madden ever since he left the Raiders. I like Dennis Miller. His HBO show is hillarious. His politics and general attitude are pretty much in line with mine. At the same time, I thought he detracted too much from the games. You don't need too much personality in the booth. Madden is a good balance.

Speaking of great personality. Melissa Stark has some nice gruddies. Glad they kept her.

"gruddies" are they what I think they are? I'm quite partial to Pam Oliver actually for what it's worth. Not sure about her gruddies though until I know what we are discussing. :D