2003 BF Crows Awards Tally

Let's just say if I were Reilly or Mattner I'd be very upset that Hentschel is now only one vote behind me for the prestigious Bigfooty Adelaide "Rookie of the Year" award. :D

It is good to see that at the half way mark of the season our young players like John****, Massie and Perrie all sit in the top 10 and are starting to take the next step.

Also good to see two of our recruits Burns (with limited amount of games) and Torney also featuring in the top 10.

After Round 13 v Carlton at Optus Oval

Another solid win by the boys in slippery conditions where class shone through to take us back into the top-4 with a 8-5 record. Talking of class of the highest order, Macca has extended his lead for BOG honours, but a bunch closes on Bicks for a tightly contested BTM. As for the BR, unfortunately it's proving to be a non-event.

Best on Ground
25 McLeod (+3)
21 Ricciuto
19 Edwards
16 Johncôck (+4)
13 Perrie
10 Bode
10 Torney
10 Bickley
8 Burns
8 Massie (+1)
8 Burton (+5)
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Bassett
5 Hart
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Carey
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
4 McGregor
2 Shirley (+2)
1 Welsh
1 Ladhams
196 Total

Best Team Man
11 Bickley
9 Torney
9 Stenglein (+1)
9 Carey (+3)
7 Perrie
7 Massie (+2)
6 Biglands
3 Johncôck
3 Bassett
3 Stevens
3 Ricciuto
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
81 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
7 Abstained
1 n/a
13 Total

Have you Crows supporters forgotten about the SANFL? A vast majority of you go to the Crows games and not to any of the SANFL games. Those who haven't been to an SANFL game for a few years should make the effort to go and have a look. Good value and the quality of football is great. I am also interested in why those of you who haven't gone to the SANFL games for a long while, because that is pretty bloody disappointing.

Originally posted by 5AASUX
Have you Crows supporters forgotten about the SANFL? A vast majority of you go to the Crows games and not to any of the SANFL games. Those who haven't been to an SANFL game for a few years should make the effort to go and have a look. Good value and the quality of football is great. I am also interested in why those of you who haven't gone to the SANFL games for a long while, because that is pretty bloody disappointing.
5AASUX - why have you hijacked this thread to ask such a question? This really belongs in a new thread.

Anyway, many of the Crows supporters on this board are SANFL fanatics and regularly attend matches. You need look no further than some of the handles used here.

I haven't seen an SANFL match in years myself being an interstater. I do keep up with the results. And I plan to be at Noarlunga this Saturday in a rare trip to Adelaide.

Go the Panthers.

Originally posted by 5AASUX
This is a Crows Board. You need to go & visit the Regional Board which covers the SANFL & other non-AFL leagues.

After Round 14 v Richmond at AAMI

It wasn't a pretty win, but we got an invaluable 4 points & % to consolidate a top-4 place with a 9-5 record.

The leaderboard is becoming crowded with Roo joining Macca for the BOG lead & Carey narrowing the gap on Bicks for BTM.

Best on Ground
25 McLeod
25 Ricciuto (+4)
19 Edwards
16 Johncôck
13 Perrie
10 Bode
10 Torney
10 Bickley
10 Massie (+2)
10 Bassett (+5)
8 Burns
8 Burton
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Hart
5 McGregor (+1)
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Carey
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
4 Ladhams (+3)
2 Shirley
1 Welsh
211 Total

Best Team Man
11 Bickley
10 Carey (+1)
9 Torney
9 Stenglein
7 Perrie
7 Massie
6 Biglands
5 Bassett (+2)
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Ricciuto
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
3 Shirley (+3)
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
87 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
7 Abstained
2 n/a (+1)
14 Total

After Round 15 v Essendon at AAMI

It was a very good win against Essendon in wet conditions to consolidate a top 4 spot. Roo and Welshy had a big night out. As a result Roo takes the lead in BOG Caregory and Carey regains the lead in BTM Award, closely followed by Bickley and Stenglein.

PS. Kane, I wasn't sure what the rules are but Carey and Stenglein got the same number of votes for BTM. I have given them 2 each. Please make changes if I stuffed up :)

Best on Ground

30 Ricciuto (+5)
25 McLeod
19 Edwards
16 Johncock
13 Perrie
12 Bickley (+2)
11 Burton (+3)
10 Bode
10 Torney
10 Massie
10 Bassett
8 Burns
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Hart
5 McGregor
5 Welsh (+4)
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Carey
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
4 Ladhams
2 Shirley
1 Smart (+1)

226 Total

Best Team Man
12 Carey (+2)
11 Bickley
11 Stenglein (+2)
9 Torney
7 Perrie
7 Massie
6 Biglands
5 Bassett
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Ricciuto
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
3 Shirley
3 Smart (+3)
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
94 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
7 Abstained
3 n/a (+1)
15 Total

Is Kane away again?

..and yeah, pretty sure you have you've done the BTM votes correctly from what Kane has done in the past.

Re: After Round 15 v Essendon at AAMI

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
PS. Kane, I wasn't sure what the rules are but Carey and Stenglein got the same number of votes for BTM. I have given them 2 each. Please make changes if I stuffed up :)

Yeah I was wondering about that myself.

If it helps, on a countback Stenglein would take the 2 votes over Carey's 1 as Stinger has more second preferences than the King.

Let's see what Kaneo Mac says. ;)

Stenglein:..3; 3; 3; 2; 2; 2; 2; 1; 1;................... = 19
Carey:......3; 3; 3; 2; 2; 1; 1; 1; 1; 1; 1; ............ = 19

Re: After Round 15 v Essendon at AAMI

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Top effort Stiffy - your OK with votes. Don't believe in half-measures, so awarding the Duck & Stinger both 2 votes is correct. :)

PS. DT, I reckon you should be the official auditor of the votes! ;)

Re: Re: After Round 15 v Essendon at AAMI

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
PS. DT, I reckon you should be the official auditor of the votes! ;)

Heheh... Maybe next season if no-one else is doing it - it's a pain in the arse enough to run the (dying) betting comp I'm in control of on another forum :o ;)

After Round 16 v Fremantle at Subiaco

This was a fustrating game for me, so the less said the better. Again we were our own worse enemy blowing another close game to leave us with a 10-6 record.

Roo & Macca clear out from the pack for BOG, whilst Bicks reclaims the BTM lead by the barest of margins. Good to see a rookie get a vote with Rutten opening his account.

Best on Ground
35 Ricciuto (+5)
29 McLeod (+4)
19 Edwards
16 Johncôck
14 Burton (+3)
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
10 Bode
10 Torney
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns (+1)
6 Ladhams (+2)
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Hart
5 McGregor
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Carey
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
2 Shirley
1 Smart
241 Total

Best Team Man
13 Bickley (+2)
12 Carey
11 Stenglein
9 Torney
8 Perrie (+1)
7 Massie
6 Biglands
6 Ricciuto (+3)
5 Bassett
3 Smart
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
3 Shirley
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
100 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten (+1)
7 Abstained
3 n/a
16 Total

After Round 17 v Saints at AAMI

After an easy win against the Saints, the Crows jump back into the top-4 with an 11-6 record. Can we stay there come the end of the minor round with a tough run ahead...

Roo stretches his BTM lead to a decent margin, whilst JT joins the crowd gunning for Bicks BTM lead. Even though we had 2 rookies, unfortunately they failed to gain a point & probably won't get a another chance this week.

Best on Ground
39 Ricciuto (+4)
29 McLeod
19 Edwards
19 Johncôck (+3)
19 Burton (+5)
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
10 Bode
10 Torney
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns
8 Ladhams (+2)
6 Hart (+1)
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 McGregor
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Carey
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
2 Shirley
1 Smart
256 Total

Best Team Man
13 Bickley
12 Carey
12 Torney (+3)
11 Stenglein
9 Perrie (+1)
7 Massie
6 Biglands
6 Ricciuto
5 Bassett
5 Shirley (+2)
3 Smart
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
106 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten
8 Abstained (+1)
3 n/a
17 Total

After Round 18 v Swans at AAMI

Another nail-biting finish, but at last we came out of a close one at last with 4 points & move into 2nd position with a 12-6 record. Both zoom-zoom & Birdman make their move on Roo for BOG, but is it too late? The Duck overtakes Bicks & JT keeps up the pressure for BTM honours, which looks like it will go down to the wire. The Rookie award sadly isn't even worth commenting on. :(

Best on Ground
39 Ricciuto
29 McLeod
23 Edwards (+4)
21 Burton (+2)
19 Johncôck
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
11 Torney (+1)
11 Ladhams (+3)
10 Bode
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns
9 Carey (+5)
6 Hart
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 McGregor
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
2 Shirley
1 Smart
271 Total

Best Team Man
14 Carey (+2)
13 Bickley
13 Torney (+1)
11 Stenglein
9 Perrie
8 Shirley (+3)
7 Massie
6 Biglands
6 Ricciuto
5 Bassett
3 Smart
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
112 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten
8 Abstained
4 n/a (+1)
18 Total

After Round 19 v Eagles at Subiaco

Well after going so close against Freo, we become the 1st visiting team to beat a WA team at the fortress. This was a crucial "8 point" game that has virtually guaranteed a top-4 spot & gives us a 13-6 record.

Roo is now looking a monty for BOG honours by extending his lead even further. However, very tight for BTM, with the Duck narrowly increasing his lead & Laverne make a late season charge. Good to see Skippy open his rookie account.

Best on Ground
42 Ricciuto (+3)
29 McLeod
23 Edwards
23 Johncôck (+4)
21 Burton
14 Carey (+5)
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
11 Torney
11 Ladhams
10 Bode
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns
6 Hart
6 McGregor (+1)
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
3 Smart (+2)
2 Shirley
286 Total

Best Team Man
15 Carey (+1)
13 Bickley
13 Torney
13 Stenglein (+2)
11 Shirley (+3)
9 Perrie
7 Massie
6 Biglands
6 Ricciuto
5 Bassett
3 Smart
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
118 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Skipworth (+1)
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten
8 Abstained
4 n/a
19 Total

After Round 20 v Collingwood at the Dome

After our worst performance for the year & a real flat effort, we are lucky to still be in 2nd spot with a 13-7 record.

Macca & Edwards narrowly close the gap, but Roo still looks strong for BTM. However, a great battle for BTM with JT joining the Duck. Good to see Schuback open his rookie account.

Best on Ground
42 Ricciuto
31 McLeod (+2)
26 Edwards (+3)
23 Johncôck
22 Burton (+1)
15 Torney (+4)
14 Carey
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
11 Ladhams
10 Bode
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns
8 Smart (+5)
6 Hart
6 McGregor
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
2 Shirley
301 Total

Best Team Man
15 Carey
15 Torney (+2)
13 Bickley
13 Stenglein
11 Shirley
9 Perrie
7 Massie
7 Biglands (+1)
6 Ricciuto
6 Smart (+3)
5 Bassett
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
3 McGregor
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
124 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Schuback (+1)
1 Skipworth
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten
8 Abstained
4 n/a
20 Total

After Round 21 v Kangaroos at AAMI

The less said about our worst loss for the year, the better as we have given up the valuable 2nd spot & slipped to 4th with a 13-8 record.

Roo is now unbackable to take BOG honours after one of the few to put in a decent effort. However, very tight for BTM & Shirley continues to make his move on the Duck & JT.

Best on Ground
47 Ricciuto (+5)
31 McLeod
26 Edwards
25 Burton (+3)
23 Johncôck
16 Carey (+2)
15 Torney
13 Perrie
12 Bickley
11 Ladhams
10 Bode
10 Massie
10 Bassett
9 Burns
8 Smart
7 McGregor (+1)
6 Hart
6 Shirley (+4)
5 Stevens
5 Gallagher
5 Welsh
4 Clarke
4 Stenglein
4 Goodwin
4 Begley
316 Total

Best Team Man
15 Carey
15 Torney
13 Bickley
13 Stenglein
13 Shirley (+2)
9 Perrie
9 Ricciuto (+3)
7 Massie
7 Biglands
6 Smart
5 Bassett
4 McGregor (+1)
3 Johncôck
3 Stevens
3 Clarke
2 Begley
2 Hart
1 Welsh
130 Total

Best Rookie
2 Reilly
2 Mattner
1 Schuback
1 Skipworth
1 Hentschel
1 Rutten
8 Abstained
5 n/a (+1)
21 Total

Why is it that McLeod hasn't got one vote in best team man? Are we suggesting he is a selfish player?

His delivery inside 50 is second to none.

His tackling is excellent.

His ability to extract the ball from a pack and dish off to a team mate well known.

Are we harder on Macca than the rest of the footy world?

Originally posted by napsyd
Why is it that McLeod hasn't got one vote in best team man? Are we suggesting he is a selfish player?

His ability to extract the ball from a pack and dish off to a team mate well known.

No, he rarely does the in and under things and he also often plays below his ability.

team man is like an ecouragement award in a lot of ways adn rewards a different type of player to McLeod.

Originally posted by napsyd

No we are not... Jars is right.
Same goes for Burton; although I would've thought Burtons contribution to the team wouldve rated a mention even b4 McLeod

Jars & TJ, you guys are a bit harsh on Macca. According to Ayres he played a great team game last week across the HB line or was that HF line. I'm just still trying to work out what role he was playing... :o