K9-54

May 18, 2001
SH
Round Date Opponent Home/Away Venue Day & Time
1 30-Mar-03 Geelong Home Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
2 6-Apr-03 Richmond Away Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
3 13-Apr-03 Melbourne Away Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
4 19-Apr-03 Essendon Home Telstra Dome Saturday Night
5 27-Apr-03 Brisbane Lions Away Gabba Sunday Aft.
6 4-May-03 St. Kilda Home Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
7 11-May-03 Fremantle Home Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
8 18-May-03 Carlton Away Optus Oval Sunday Aft.
9 25-May-03 Adelaide Away AAMI Stadium Sunday Aft.
10 31-May-03 Kangaroos Home Telstra Dome Saturday Aft.
11 8-Jun-03 West Coast Away Subiaco Sunday Aft.
12 14-Jun-03 Sydney Home S.C.G. Saturday Night
13 28-Jun-03 Collingwood Home Telstra Dome Saturday Night
14 5-Jul-03 Hawthorn Away M.C.G. Saturday Aft.
15 13-Jul-03 Port Adelaide Home Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
16 20-Jul-03 Geelong Away Skilled Stadium Sunday Aft.
17 26-Jul-03 Richmond Home Telstra Dome Saturday Night
18 1-Aug-03 Melbourne Home Telstra Dome Friday Night
19 10-Aug-03 Essendon Away Telstra Dome Sunday Aft.
20 17-Aug-03 Fremantle Away Subiaco Sunday Aft.
21 24-Aug-03 St. Kilda Away York Park Sunday Aft.
22 30-Aug-03 Brisbane Lions Home Telstra Dome Saturday Night

location summary

AAMI Stadium 1
Gabba 1
M.C.G. 1
Optus Oval 1
S.C.G. 1
Skilled Stadium 1
Subiaco 2
Telstra Dome 13
York Park 1

time summary

Friday Night 1
Saturday Aft. 2
Saturday Night 5
Sunday Aft. 14

the good and the bad

Good - Richmond, Essendon and Collingwood at home. $$$

Bad - Most games Sunday afternoon - this is not great for TV exposure and sponsor value - only 1 Friday Night.

Bad - 6 interstate trips - don't play PA away but play all the others interstate plus StK in Tassie as already mentioned.

Looks like I won't be playing Footy next year.
There is absolutely no way in the world I am going to miss 14 Western Bulldogs games! :mad:

We have 5 night games at TD ... That could almost be put down for atleast 4 loses (unless our night form at TD changes)

So we have Geelong first up in the pre-season and in Round 1?
I think that's a good thing. Lets give them a big lead again and we will peg 'em back! :D
Even though Geelong will be aware this time (if they get a big lead) I still think we will peg them back because it is a physical thing rather than a mental thing.

Richmond should be a win!
Melbourne can go either way!
Essendon, well I reckon we will go 1-1 with them this year!
I think we should have a win against Hawthorn in Round 14!
We will beat Sydney at the SCG!
Carlton, Fremantle and St Kilda should be easy!

All in all, I reckon we will finish between 7th-10th!

It's a miracle we aren't playing Adelaide in the first game.

Why do they call it a draw when we all know there is very little randomness to it at all. It's a fixture, every year we know certain side play each other twice and on certain dates.

Originally posted by SCRAY72

Hopefully we can find some consistency at the DOME.

We can only hope!
Fondly enough, there haven't been too many injuries at the ground since it was first played on in 2000. Injuries are usually the key to a good year, and hopefully we will have a good season like we did last year without many injuries.

Re: the good and the bad

Originally posted by K9-54
Good - Richmond, Essendon and Collingwood at home. $$$

Bad - Most games Sunday afternoon - this is not great for TV exposure and sponsor value - only 1 Friday Night.

Bad - 6 interstate trips - don't play PA away but play all the others interstate plus StK in Tassie as already mentioned.
Collingwood has a monopoly on Friday night games so I guess its already a Collongwood tradition they built themselves.

Almost every year we get a bad run compared to others on interstate games. This because clubs like Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon, Carlton have to play each other twice and interstaters can't come here as often cos their local derbies have to be played twice as well.

It is joke, that will never be fixed unless we have 30 home and away rounds.

Re: Re: the good and the bad

Originally posted by Chops

It is joke, that will never be fixed unless we have 30 home and away rounds.

That's exactly right, Chops!
We will never have the PERFECT structure unless each team plays eachother twice in the course of the Home and away season. Of course, one away and one at home.

Originally posted by X_box_X

We can only hope!
Fondly enough, there haven't been too many injuries at the ground since it was first played on in 2000. Injuries are usually the key to a good year, and hopefully we will have a good season like we did last year without many injuries.

Do you think we dont play Colonial well because it doesnt have the wide open spaces that our (previous?) running game required?

Maybe a smaller ground favours those who get the ball moving directly with long kicks?

But then again our record at Optus was pretty good. Maybe just a reflection of the quality of the opposition at that time...

One game at the MCG is an absolute joke, Freo have four
Six interstate trips is bad :(
Playing Richmond, Geelong, Freo and St Kilda twice is great. On field I think our draw is great
Playing 2 Satruday afternoon games is also good, as when we play saturday afternoon I don't get there until half time if I am playing reserves and not at all if I am playing seniors

Looks like i'll need to be the number one ticket holder, as it's going to be tough going to get some coverage.

Only the holder of Blue Steel could pull the $

27th April

I only have to wait till April to see the boys in Brissy instead of August WOOHOO
:D :D :D

Never fear guys and girls this is going to be a great season.... i can tell

GO DOGGIES 2003 PREMIERS

Originally posted by X_box_X

We can only hope!

14 Sunday games what a load of $h!t. Same as last year 6 out of the first 7 games at the new phone box, "great just great" we only won 1 out of the 6. The AFL must have had a good laugh last season at that record and thought it would be amusing to put our supporters through it again.
Xie, IMO unless they improve the surface at Colonial (just cant call it Telstra Dome at the moment) unfortunately serious injuries to players will occur. :mad:

Fantastic draw in terms of teams we play at the start.All games are games you would probably mark down as wins if you were hoping to make the finals.Brisbane in round 22 is a bastard.

Originally posted by dogboy23
Fantastic draw in terms of teams we play at the start.All games are games you would probably mark down as wins if you were hoping to make the finals.Brisbane in round 22 is a bastard.

I also thought we had some winnable games early this year and before we knew it we were 0 and 5. Must win early games and gather some momentum.
Brisbane might not have any incentive by round 22 and could be thinking ahead to the first week of the finals.

NOT HAPPY

Originally posted by stefoid
Sunday afternoon? thats just ****full.

$h!tfull alright, looks like i will only be able to go to 1 out of the first 9 games because they are Sunday games. My 2 boys play footy in the WRFL under 9s & under 11s which just like every other league is played on Sundays. St.Kilda, Sydney and West Coast have stated that they wanted less Sunday games than the last season which they obviously lobbied for with the AFL and won. I honestly question how in touch with the general footy public the AFL and the bulldogs are. They wonder why memberships are down, why would anyone with kids that play footy buy a family membership when you cant watch your team because they play 14 Sunday games. anyway i`m off to buy my Williamstown FC memberships, they only played 3 Sunday home games last season
PS. anyone with kids get them into chess, draughts or cricket, of course we will end up with no footballers in the AFL but who cares obviously not the AFL or the Dogs. OK i`m finished.:mad:

Originally posted by SCRAY72

I also thought we had some winnable games early this year and before we knew it we were 0 and 5. Must win early games and gather some momentum.
Brisbane might not have any incentive by round 22 and could be thinking ahead to the first week of the finals.

Surely we cant have a start like that again. :( It does worry me though that the start with six out of the first seven games at our traditional home "the mighty Telstra Dome" (have we had a win there yet by the way? cant remember the last) is the same start as the 2002 season. For the record i dont like Sunday games either.

2003 draw