2003 Fixtures

Kenny_01

Aug 19, 2002
Just incase you guys didn't see, some of the Eagles fixtures for next season have been released.

Round 1)
Eagles v Port Adelaide - Subiaco

Round 2)
Hawthorn v Eagles - York Park

Round 5)
Eagles v Freo - Subiaco

Round 22)
Freo v Eagles - Subiaco

Tough start to the season for the Eagles against Port but a real chance to notch their first away win against Hawthorn. Freo are playing Adelaide in the first round of the season, at AAMI.

Article in The Game about fixtures

The full fixtures are meant to be released later today.

Why the **** are we playing in York Park....

I MEAN, WHY THE **** IS IT ALWAYS AN NON-VICTORIAN TEAM THAT THEY DRAG DOWN THERE!!!!!! :mad: :mad:

**** YOU AFL...**** YOU EYEBROWS AND **** YOU MR CEO (well supposedly).

I reckon we should forfeit the game, shove that up the AFL's arses!

Originally posted by Visro

I MEAN, WHY THE **** IS IT ALWAYS AN NON-VICTORIAN TEAM THAT THEY DRAG DOWN THERE!!!!!! :mad: :mad:

Visro! Calm down! The boys are going to do great down here. The ground suits them, and their style of play. Its a national competition remember?
Another thing: the whole reason for the Hawks and Saints to play down here is because when the interstate teams play them in Melbourne they dont get a crowd and they loose money. Basically the York Park deal was designed for Hawthorn/Saints and interstate clubs.
Besides, I'll get to give u a full report on the boys in Tassie. It'll be great for the club. They'll pick up some membership and support! Look on the bright side of life Visro!

I think i'd prefer to NOT have the extra travel/flight, just not what we need when we have a long season ahead afterwards.
Well...we will see round 1 exactly what "Fortress Subi" is going to be like next year won't we;) Also get an idea of where we are at

Originally posted by eagleskickass
I think i'd prefer to NOT have the extra travel/flight, just not what we need when we have a long season ahead afterwards.
Well...we will see round 1 exactly what "Fortress Subi" is going to be like next year won't we;) Also get an idea of where we are at

ofcourse EKA, I'd love them to play at home every week too. But its not fair and seeings were part of a national competition and all, its what we have to do.York Park is going to be a hit for the eagles!

It's because we are a non-victorian team that we play there. It's all to do with crowd pulling power. Hawthorn V West Coast in Melbourne = Sh1t Crowd. Hawthorn V West Coast in Tassie = money in Hawthorns pocket.
Plus it gives Carly a chance to see them live ;)

Didn't the AFL agree to direct flights next year? If so then we should be a good chance in that game, as it's effectively a neutral venue.

I like the idea of the PAP Smears at Subi in round 1. Should be a good chance to knock off the slow starters.

Originally posted by carlyp

ofcourse EKA, I'd love them to play at home every week too. But its not fair and seeings were part of a national competition and all, its what we have to do.York Park is going to be a hit for the eagles!

Its not that i want them to play home each week(although that WOULD be great) and i KNOW u and many other tassie supporters would love to see it BUT the interstate teams ALREADY!!! travel more than the Vic clubs...and yet the AFL persist to make us travel EVEN FURTHER? What this also leads to is come finals time, interstate clubs may have only played at the MCG once, or not at all, they get stuck at ****ty colonial, or manuka, york, woop woop. Thats what annoys me.

Originally posted by Jabber

It's because we are a non-victorian team that we play there. It's all to do with crowd pulling power. Hawthorn V West Coast in Melbourne = Sh1t Crowd. Hawthorn V West Coast in Tassie = money in Hawthorns pocket.
Plus it gives Carly a chance to see them live ;)

Didn't the AFL agree to direct flights next year? If so then we should be a good chance in that game, as it's effectively a neutral venue.

I like the idea of the PAP Smears at Subi in round 1. Should be a good chance to knock off the slow starters.

Thanks Jabber!
Yes! The Eagles have a direct flight from Perth to Launceston so theres no problem there. I agree Jabber, that it does effectively make it a neutral ground for both clubs even though Hawthorn have played more matches their than we have. The Hawks arnt that great at York Park, we could beat them easily.

Originally posted by Jabber

If we get a direct flight then its not QUITE as bad
Still want us to get more Melbourne exposure, for the MCG experience etc.
I know Mr Demetriou, asking too much isn't it (i won't mention the other idiot running the AFL.)

Originally posted by eagleskickass

Its not that i want them to play home each week(although that WOULD be great) and i KNOW u and many other tassie supporters would love to see it BUT the interstate teams ALREADY!!! travel more than the Vic clubs...and yet the AFL persist to make us travel EVEN FURTHER? What this also leads to is come finals time, interstate clubs may have only played at the MCG once, or not at all, they get stuck at ****ty colonial, or manuka, york, woop woop. Thats what annoys me.

I know what ur saying EKA but it will make us better, we'll learn to play on any ground which will be an advantage come finals time. Remember EKA, we interstate clubs have to try and support the victorian teams or there wont be much if a competiton left. We are the stronger/wealthier clubs and we need to support the smaller victorian clubs if we want the competition to stay alive.

It depends what you want really.

Playing at York Park gives you a better chance of winning the game.

Playing in Melbourne would give you a better preperation and platform to one day win the premiership, but the game itself will be harder to win.

they Eagles will play plenty of games in Melbourne in 2003. Dont you worry about that! Theres 10 Victorian teams, we'll play in Melbourne alot. To play 1 game in Tassie to help out a struggeling AFL club is not going to hurt any of us.

Fair enough but they would probably be at Optus Oval, Skilled Stadium etc.

I would expect WC and Freo to play 1 or 2 games at AAMI, 1 game at the GABBA, 1 at the SCG, 1 at YP/Manuka, 2 at Optus, 2 at Colonial and 1 at the MCG.

Visro! Calm down! The boys are going to do great down here. The ground suits them, and their style of play. Its a national competition remember?
Another thing: the whole reason for the Hawks and Saints to play down here is because when the interstate teams play them in Melbourne they dont get a crowd and they loose money. Basically the York Park deal was designed for Hawthorn/Saints and interstate clubs.
Besides, I'll get to give u a full report on the boys in Tassie. It'll be great for the club. They'll pick up some membership and support! Look on the bright side of life Visro!

HA! Me calm down, you're the one with the problem most of the time carlyp. Pot, kettle, black miss.

The only reason you support WC playing there is cause you want to see them play.

All that above about the ground suiting them and it being a national comp is a load of **** and you know it.

A full report? I have a TV, I can report for myself thankyou very much.

Hell, enjoy the game for all I bloody care but don't expect them to play there often, they're not going down there just for you.

And another thing about it being easier to win down in York Park...who gives a flying toss?

Finals are played in Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide or Brisbane...not TASMANIA!

Playing down there does absolutely jack **** for this club.

I don't give a **** about it being a revenue raiser for Vic clubs, money is their own ****ing problem, not ours. Next time the Hawks all come across, lets go play at Donnelly River or Rotto or something and see how VIC clubs like it.

Its a **** decision and everyone knows it, even you carly...

And another thing about it being easier to win down in York Park...who gives a flying toss?

Finals are played in Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide or Brisbane...not TASMANIA!

Playing down there does absolutely jack **** for this club.

I don't give a **** about it being a revenue raiser for Vic clubs, money is their own ****ing problem, not ours. Next time the Hawks all come across, lets go play at Donnelly River or Rotto or something and see how VIC clubs like it.

Its a **** decision and everyone knows it, even you carly...

Listen Visro, we play in a national competition. We have to expect that were going to play all over the country. Have u ever seen York Park in real life? In fact have u ever been to Tasmania? NO! I dont think so, because if you had seen it then you would know that it is just as good as the other AFL ovals. Dont make assertions when you nothing about York Park or Tasmanian football. The team will get an direct flight here and a direct flight back to Perth. There is no big deal with playing down here. It actually takes around the same time as it would because the extra 45 minutes you spend in the plane is about the same as it does to get from Tullamurine to their hotel/ground wherever there going. Theres no extra time or effort for the team. GET OVER IT VISRO. When you've actually seen York park ( in real life) and Tassie then maybe you can comment but do NOT comment when u dont know York Park or Tasmania.
We will see how the club go at York park and then in the next few rounds. Im sure you will find that they do quite well.

carly - out of interest, what do you see as the attributes of the ground at York Park that will suit us so well?

I'd say that we are all well aware that it is a National Competition by now, it has been 15 years - you are starting to sound like 'one of them' ;)

Travel is travel - any team not playing at home is always going to be at a disadvantage, especially with the length of our flights - and yes, we did know about it when we joined. The competition will never be fair until all teams travel the same amount of times per year, which is not gonna happen! Collingwood for example, left Victoria a grand total of 4 times this season and that was between round 9 - 18.

Listen Visro, we play in a national competition. We have to expect that were going to play all over the country.

Thats a load of codswallop and you know it. If its a "national competition" how come the competition is so biased to Vic based clubs. Its just an extension of the old VFL. If we should expect to play all over the country then why don't the VIC teams come over here and play outside of Perth. Why is it that only the interstate clubs play in Tassy? Why not VIC clubs too...

Have u ever seen York Park in real life? In fact have u ever been to Tasmania? NO! I dont think so, because if you had seen it then you would know that it is just as good as the other AFL ovals. Dont make assertions when you nothing about York Park or Tasmanian football.

Been to York Park? No. Been to Tassy? Yes. I have however seen York Park on TV several times and its not as good as any other AFL oval. Oh sure, the surface may be alright but what happens if it gets windy and rainy, the **** hits the fan, thats what. Add to that, the Hawks fans will pretty much fill the ground, whereas in Melbourne at least we have a few WC fans over there.

What has WC playing in York Park got to do with the Tasmanian local league? Sheesh, going a bit off topic there.

The team will get an direct flight here and a direct flight back to Perth. There is no big deal with playing down here. It actually takes around the same time as it would because the extra 45 minutes you spend in the plane is about the same as it does to get from Tullamurine to their hotel/ground wherever there going. Theres no extra time or effort for the team.

Direct flight eh? Hasn't been a direct flight to Tassy before for footy teams, changing is it? Extra 45 minutes on the plane provided you don't stop. If WC has to stop in Melbourne its going to be pretty crap. I'll bet you right now that there is more time and effort in playing in Tassy then at the MCG, or Optarse or Colonial. York Park is just an old suburban ground.

GET OVER IT VISRO.

No, maybe you should get over your blatant bias in being elated to see the players playing a game down there. Want me to dig up an old thread with your initial reaction? You may be happy about it, but not many other people are. If you want to see WC play, go to Melbourne.

When you've actually seen York park ( in real life) and Tassie then maybe you can comment but do NOT comment when u dont know York Park or Tasmania.

You like automatically making assumptions don't you? I lived in Melbourne for a year and in that time I visited Tassy three times to see a friend who lived in Hobart. I do know what Tassy is like and I have seen York Park on TV, its a hole.

We will see how the club go at York park and then in the next few rounds. Im sure you will find that they do quite well.

How they actually go has nothing to do with the whole bloody argument!!! Its the fact that they get a team from another side of the country to play a game in Tassy when there are teams that are closer that could go play. Go take off your Tassy WC glasses and you'll see what I mean. Oh its great that YOU get to see your club play near your home, but when the game is being played in such an area, that one team has to go to extra lengths to get there when it won't help them win a flag, well...you gotta wonder don't you...

And before you bother replying, forget that you live in Tasmania and support WC and then you may see what I'm going on about.

Originally posted by WA
carly - out of interest, what do you see as the attributes of the ground at York Park that will suit us so well?

I'd say that we are all well aware that it is a National Competition by now, it has been 15 years - you are starting to sound like 'one of them' ;)

Travel is travel - any team not playing at home is always going to be at a disadvantage, especially with the length of our flights - and yes, we did know about it when we joined. The competition will never be fair until all teams travel the same amount of times per year, which is not gonna happen! Collingwood for example, left Victoria a grand total of 4 times this season and that was between round 9 - 18.

York Park is a bigger ground, which will suit us down to a tee. Our midfield and talls will be suited to the wide expanses. We play a running game and kick to space so a smaller ground would not suit us because its too crowded. York Park is a bigger oval. Thats why it suits Over 20 million dollars worth of redevelopments have been done to bring the ground up to national standard. The facilities are state of the arc.
I agree with you WA- on your 2nd point- what needs to happen is if a club does have to travel more than other clubs then they should get some kind of sweetener in the draw.
I know all of this about York Park because my Dads best friend and infact my godfather is the Councils manager of York Park. He actually got hawthorn to York Park. Ive spent alot of time at the ground and know what I know.

2003 Fixtures