2003 Squad preview, by me ****

• Thread starter Thread starter Asgardian

In pre-season cup last year Bock played across HB and was rebounding at every oportunity. I seem to be the only one on this forum that thinks Hentschel is still not ready for AFL. I think he is exciting prospect and barring injury problems he will be our best tall forward in years to come BUT as I said before I don't think he will be ready until at least later parts of the season 2003. I remember listening to Ready on 5aa before I left on holidays that only time will tell what Hentschel will be like but in his round about way that he doesn't expect a lot from him in 2003 because he has missed half of his development year with a broken ankle.

In regards to Bock he has bulked up a bit. When I went to look at the rookies training with us he impressed me with his efforts and he definetly has put on a bit of weight. I don't think he is strong enough to hold down a key position yet but he definetly is capable of playing a 3rd tall in defence or forward.

I also have a funny feeling that in 2003 pre-season cup Rutten will be our FB and if succesfull we could have a new FB in season 2003 with Bassett being a 3rd tall. Any surprises here???:) :cool:

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

I also have a funny feeling that in 2003 pre-season cup Rutten will be our FB and if succesfull we could have a new FB in season 2003 with Bassett being a 3rd tall. Any surprises here???:) :cool:

I also got that impression when I say them a few weeks back. I'm hoping it works! I've said for a while that Basset needs some help down there and FB can be a problem when we play against some the AFL's gorilla sized forwards. Good luck Ben.

Jerome

Final prediction time, just so none of you cows can say I squibbed out.

As much as this hurts, I have to say the Crows are looking good.

My tip is they'll finish 3rd, nothing brave or startling about that tip, they just look solid at this stage, still, a damn long way to go till September.

Originally posted by Asgardian
G’day Crowies, time to create trouble, lol

Rhett Biglands - 1st choice ruckman, dependable, but not a star

Not a bad assesment....u were a bit harsh on some of the players though...:(
Im glad someone else thinks that Biglands should be the first choice ruckman...

Brent Reilly - Looks hesitant, has talent but that may not be enough
hesitant??? :rolleyes:
sorry dont agree with u. they wouldnt have picked him for the strating 18 on the field for round one if he was 'hesitant' - the coaching staff want the best team they can get

Re: Re: 2003 Squad preview, by me ****

Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
hesitant??? :rolleyes:
sorry dont agree with u. they wouldnt have picked him for the strating 18 on the field for round one if he was 'hesitant' - the coaching staff want the best team they can get

I thin you will find that this thread was posted a while ago, before Wizard Cup in fact. Our friend was going on what he has seen of Reilly in 1 game he played last year and I must say Radar did look hesitant in that game and he looked like a little boy in a man's league. He has improved a lot since:D

Re: Re: Re: 2003 Squad preview, by me ****

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I thin you will find that this thread was posted a while ago, before Wizard Cup in fact. Our friend was going on what he has seen of Reilly in 1 game he played last year and I must say Radar did look hesitant in that game and he looked like a little boy in a man's league. He has improved a lot since:D
hmm ok my mistake..
i didnt really take notice of him last year, he only played like 10 minutes of that saint kilda game

Final prediction time, just so none of you cows can say I squibbed out.

As much as this hurts, I have to say the Crows are looking good.

My tip is they'll finish 3rd, nothing brave or startling about that tip, they just look solid at this stage, still, a damn long way to go till September.
You have me worried Chris, as based on your normal under-estimation of the Crows will finish top! ;) :D

A quick question guys

Would all of you like me to do an appraisal of my original post evaluations?

See if I / you guys were somewhere nearly correct?

A quick question guys

Go fer yer life mate.

Had a quick look, and you are mostly accurate, with some glaring exceptions. Shirley in particular IMO!!

A quick question guys

Would be interesting so go for it,

& i'll promise not to tell you to stick it up your a##e, :)

G’day Crowies, time to create trouble, lol

Here to do my take of your 2003 team list, some you’ll hate, some you’ll be happy with, remember, I am not trying to stir you guys up. I’m trying to be as honest, blunt and candid with my comments as I can be. So if you reckon I’m wrong, that’s okay, discuss it, don’t just resort to flame posts, that helps no-one.

Nathan Bassett - No crap backman, BIG forwards do trouble him

My opinion hasn't changed, the bigger forwards are a worry for him, but you know what he'll give a team, 100% effort

James Begley - Doubt if he’ll see much Crow time, better options available

Mildly surprised, he has some good attributes, but it's still a question if he is a long term AFL player, I have doubts

Mark Bickley - THUG, still playing well

Still playing good footy, the guy has pride by the ship load, should continue in 2004, glad to not see more elbows

Rhett Biglands - 1st choice ruckman, dependable, but not a star

I like him as first choice ruckman over Clarke coz of his work off the ball, he is one damn big & strong bloke

Nathan Bock - Very raw, but looks to have a bit of go

Nope, he hasn't come on skill wise, missed the boat I think

Matthew Bode - Did well, useful 2nd/3rd stringer to star midfielders

Has disappointed, cannot question courage or endeavour, but he wastes the ball a bit too much, Port huge winners on this trade

Ronnie Burns - Use by date expired, dud hack

I think the experiment hasn't paid off, 22 goals up to round 21 ain't a huge pay off

Brett Burton - Superb athlete still learning to play footy

Fine season when he has been out there, has become one of the IMPORTANT Crows now

Wayne Carey - Was the MAN, injuries?, time away?, motivations?, may be still great

27 goals, he's pretty much done what they would've expected, his shoulders must be nearly killing him every match

Matthew Clarke - Very limited big man, good at tap work

Probably the worst big man I've seen at trying to mark the ball, great tap work, my opinion has not altered

Andrew Crowell - Probably just me, I don’t think he’s much of a player

He wont come back

Michael Doughty - Surprised me, has done well, plays like Brenton Miels (Sturt)

has died in the arse, selection committee must think so too

Tyson Edwards - Best “non-star” at Crows, dependable and versatile

Never has a bad game, one of the Crows best

James Gallagher - Lost his way, slipping down the queue

Has almost fallen out the back door now

Simon Goodwin - Star midfielder with all the tools, and versatile

The break came at the wrong time, fine player though

Ben Hart - Along with McLeod, maybe the best Crow so far?

Imagine how good he'd be if he took some angry pills, best Crow defender

Trent Hentschel - Looks like a genuine talent

He'll stay on the list, 2004 should be big for him

Luke Jericho - New kid, yet to see him play

No AFL games yet

Graham Johncock - Versatility is his key, can do most jobs, a natural

Had a fantastic season, a lot better than a number 67 draft pick

Chris Ladhams - A bit better than Essendon thought he was

Actually not a bad player, he annoys the crap outta me

Ben Marsh - Only there coz a 3rd stringer wasn’t available, DUD

Dud, major DUD, good for nothing DUD

Kris Massie - Like this kid, he hangs in tough, let him settle at HBF

Yep, he's a pretty good player, pity about the injuries

Martin Mattner - Has possibilities, may be a run with player only though?

I'm guessing the Crow selection panel hasn't made up their mind yet, some good, some ordinary

Ken McGregor - You all know I think he’s a HACK, I still do

I'm glad you guys have got him, and Port doesn't

Andrew McLeod - Footballs Ferrari

Along with every other supporter, I wish my club had him

Ben Nelson - Won’t see much Crow time, won’t be on 2004 list

So long Son of Sandy

Ian Perrie - Been there too long, & hasn’t done enough, Carey has his spot

Lots of spirit, lots of grunt, lots of good work ethic, but he is one major dumb SOB

Brent Reilly - Looks hesitant, has talent but that may not be enough

Pity about the collarbone, I reckon he'll make it

Mark Ricciuto - Plays like M.Voss, but not quite as good

He's gonna huff, & puff, till he beats the crap outta ya, great "grunt" player

Ben Rutten - Strikes me as Crows future CHB

Looks good, still reckon he's a CHB

Daniel Schell - DUD, hack, useless, not required

Possibly the worst player on an AFL list?

Jacob Schuback - Haven’t seen much of him, seems to like inside work

He looks capable of some angry work, need to see more though

Robert Shirley - Dud hack tagger, Crows don’t need him

Must have something only Crow people can see, a lot better options are in the Crow squad

Nigel Smart - Mr “Happy when I’m baffling people”, enough tricks for 2003 left? Maybe

Love his attitude, hope he retires end of this season, he is the kinda player who would look lousy if he began to struggle

Matthew Smith - Was a project player, time to deliver, 193cm, but doesn’t play tall

Disappointing, why did he leave Port Magpies?

Tyson Stenglein - Lot to like about this “more than just a in your face tagger”

Good player, will be around for a LONG time

Mark Stevens - Fine player, but can he combine with Carey, couldn’t at the Roos

Injuries have wrecked season, questions left unanswered, but can still make a major round impact

Jason Torney - Does a defensive job, best I can say about him

He's had some okay games, had some rat droppings ones too, but ledger is in your favour, Crows were right, I was wrong

Scott Welsh - Fine goal sneak, will enjoy feeding off Carey. OP is a problem[

If he can ever stay fit he'll be a good long term player

Carey is the BIG talking point, his worth will be evaluated once we have seen if he is over all those injuries. Burns is useless in my opinion, Torney, Begley and Shirley are journeymen at best, so I do believe Kane Johnson’s absence will hurt the Crows. The other factor is can Stevens and Welsh work with Carey, the Roo experience says no, but that may have been all Pagan’s doing, we will have to wait and see.

No predictions yet, other than to say that if the Crows could make the 2002 finals, they should do likewise in 2003.

Wasn't too far wrong I reckon, Carey is still a fine player, but no longer a champion, Burns has failed IMO, I got Begley and Torney wrong, I still reckon Shirley is a dud, along with Ken McUselessgregor.

Go on, rip me to shreds now.........;)

Re: Re: 2003 Squad preview, by me ****

Matthew Bode - Did well, useful 2nd/3rd stringer to star midfielders

Has disappointed, cannot question courage or endeavour, but he wastes the ball a bit too much, Port huge winners on this trade
Huge winners, my arse. When Burgoyne starts performing week in week out I'll concede that. Until then he remains one of the most overrated players on your list.

I think the experiment hasn't paid off, 22 goals up to round 21 ain't a huge pay off
We gave away a player we were set to delist for Burns. He came at a cost of NOTHING, N O T H I N G. Why then do you call it an "experiment"? The very fact that he can even make our side proves it was a worthwhile recruiting decisions.

And "22 goals up to round 21" - what sort of bull**** is that? He hasn't played all 21 games.

I'm glad you guys have got him, and Port doesn't
So am I. He's one of the best CHBs in the competition.

Just admit you're wrong. Very badly wrong.

Ian Perrie - Been there too long, & hasn’t done enough, Carey has his spot

Lots of spirit, lots of grunt, lots of good work ethic, but he is one major dumb SOB
What do you base that on?

Daniel Schell - DUD, hack, useless, not required

Possibly the worst player on an AFL list?

I thought Cain Ackland earnt that title with his performance in the Wizard Cup.

Robert Shirley - Dud hack tagger, Crows don’t need him

Must have something only Crow people can see, a lot better options are in the Crow squad

Gee whiz, do you even watch football? Shirley's been one of our best in and under players in the second half of the season and has restricted some good players.

Asgardian, I reckon you got it pretty much spot on except the following:

Burns - I think he hasn't had as bad a season as you make it out to be. He has averaged more that a goal per game. He has been OK without being spectactular. I think his consistency is the greatest concern

Shirley - He has definetly taken over as our number one tagger in the last month or so. Has done some great stopping jobs on the likes of Camporeale, Craswell, Judd, Harvey and I reckon he will get James if he plays this week. Shirley has been a pleasent surprise this year. He will never be a star just an honest toiler.

Ken McGregor - One of the most underrated players in the comp. He does his job week in week out and never gets beaten. I would like him to quick a bit quicker and keep his feet more often. Apart from that he has been very solid for us.

Re: Re: Re: 2003 Squad preview, by me ****

Originally posted by DaveW
Huge winners, my arse. When Burgoyne starts performing week in week out I'll concede that. Until then he remains one of the most overrated players on your list.

We gave away a player we were set to delist for Burns. He came at a cost of NOTHING, N O T H I N G. Why then do you call it an "experiment"? The very fact that he can even make our side proves it was a worthwhile recruiting decisions.

And "22 goals up to round 21" - what sort of bull**** is that? He hasn't played all 21 games.

So am I. He's one of the best CHBs in the competition.

Just admit you're wrong. Very badly wrong.

What do you base that on?

I thought Cain Ackland earnt that title with his performance in the Wizard Cup.

Gee whiz, do you even watch football? Shirley's been one of our best in and under players in the second half of the season and has restricted some good players.

Are you on the angry pills Dave?
Has the wife got a headache tonight?........;)

ANYWAYYYYYYYYYYYY....

In my opinion, Shaun Burgoyne is one of the best young talents in the league, he has done jobs at both ends of the ground, and again in my opinion, would create huge amounts of interest in the open market in comparison to the Crows Bode & Smith

Regarding Ronnie Burns, I have no idea whether or not the Crows would have delisted Finnin. the Cats are saying they like him, I'm not sure yet.
The Crows are paying some of his salary, so there is some cost attached, along with Finnin, the bona-fides there are debatable though.
As for "22 goals up to round 21" it means exactly that, round 21 has been played, and Burns has scored 22 goals so far, I never mentioned number of games played, coz I figured if he played some in the SANFL, it weaken your case? Not a difficult concept Dave. Calm down mate, check your blood pressure,............;)

Now Ken McUseless, we disagree, that's fine, we are allowed to disagree. You reckon he's one of the leagues best, I don't.

The Perrie comment was a little tongue in cheek, he flies for marks not even Ian McKay could have taken, he's a bit like a company executive whose ambition is somewhat greater than his ability.

Now, about Ackland or Schell, tell ya what, I reckon Port will keep Cain on our list, I reckon the Crows will dump Schell, what do you reckon?

Robert Shirley, .......... just coz a bloke is under every second pack, does not mean he's a good player. Ever seen how the guy he's tagging will get a handpass out of a pack, while Shirley is fighting for his life under there?
Ever seen how a player Shirley is tagging will outsprint him to get to a 50/50 ball first?
Ever seen how the opposition can read the disposal from Shirley better than the Crow players?

Sure, Shirley is a determined player, this does not always make for a good player though.

Now Dave, I reckon we can have some good footy discussions, do we really need to abuse each other?

Asguardian, I reckon Stiffy is spot on with his comments. Shirley has surpised me & never let us down. I wish others such as Bode was playing with his desperation.

I refer you back to my quotes below, where I picked up a couple of you major analytical errors IMO.

Ronnie - We didn't give up much for him. He has been useful at times, but is inconsistent like CCC.

Gags - You got right. He has played OK when given a chance, but he should look elsewhere next year with the likes of Reilly coming through in 2004.

Kenny - Remind me of a game where he has been beaten soundly. I can't recall one. Very mush in the Meady mould as I previously stated.

JT - Has been a good pickup & has been under-rated in some of the jobs he has done this season.

On the whole Asguardian, I think you have made a fair assessment of the Crows - in fact on most occassions you are spot on with your comments. I would only challege your following player assessments:

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I reckon he will suprise you in 2003, as he gets a fresh start at the Crows & enjoys playing under Ayres (as opposed to Thompson). The guy still has goal-kicking talent (even if he is over 30, he is not over the hill). Would be happy if he plays 2/3rds of the games (as I expect he will have some injury problems) & averages 2 goals per game.

quote:
James Gallagher - Lost his way, slipping down the queue

No doubt he has slipped down the queue, but more to to do with injury than losing his way ... but if that is the way you put it, you will be glad to know he is one of the star performers at pre-season training & has found his way again! Expect Gags to have a big 2003 & fill some of the hole left by Sugar on a wing.

quote:

I was saying the same thing as you this time last year, but Kenny suprised the heck out of me & 95% of Crows' supporters by playing a similar dependable negating game Darren Mead did at CHB. With another solid pre-season, hopefully he can go up another level in 2003. Definitely not a hack!

quote:
Carey is the BIG talking point, his worth will be evaluated once we have seen if he is over all those injuries. Burns is useless in my opinion, Torney, Begley and Shirley are journeymen at best, so I do believe Kane Johnson’s absence will hurt the Crows. The other factor is can Stevens and Welsh work with Carey, the Roo experience says no, but that may have been all Pagan’s doing, we will have to wait and see.

Reckon you are a bit tough on Torney being a journeyman. He is a reasonable player who has played consistent football for the inconsistent Tigers & has done well in their B&F counts over the years.

No doubt Sugar will be a loss, but considering we have many quality young midfielders who were lacking game time, I believe we can adequately cover him (ie. have a midfield of McLeod, Roo, Goody, Edwards, Stenglein, Bickley, Ladhams, Bode, Doughty, Gallagher, Massie, .... pretty good depth still).

Both Stevo & Welshy are smart footballers & will have no problems along with Burns working with Carey. Birdman on the other hand takes a while to work most things out (& I just hope he doesn't use Carey as a stepladder to often).

Re: Re: Re: Re: 2003 Squad preview, by me ****

In my opinion, Shaun Burgoyne is one of the best young talents in the league, he has done jobs at both ends of the ground, and again in my opinion, would create huge amounts of interest in the open market in comparison to the Crows Bode & Smith.
I agree you would appear to be ahead on the Bode - JnrB trade as Bodey has been very disappointing this year. Not completely one-sided though.

Now Ken McUseless, we disagree, that's fine, we are allowed to disagree. You reckon he's one of the leagues best, I don't.
Kenny rarely get beaten - you can't ask more than that. You (along with some other Port supporters) just seem to hate him for some reason & don't have a balanced opinion based on how he plays (IMO).

Now, about Ackland or Schell, tell ya what, I reckon Port will keep Cain on our list, I reckon the Crows will dump Schell, what do you reckon?.
Come on this is like asking who got the better out of the Chalmers - Downsborough deal. Both are crap players. Crows should do the right thing & delist Schell at the end of the year. If Port don't do the same with Cain, that's your own stupidity

Robert Shirley, .......... just coz a bloke is under every second pack, does not mean he's a good player. Ever seen how the guy he's tagging will get a handpass out of a pack, while Shirley is fighting for his life under there?
Ever seen how a player Shirley is tagging will outsprint him to get to a 50/50 ball first?
Ever seen how the opposition can read the disposal from Shirley better than the Crow players?.Sure, Shirley is a determined player, this does not always make for a good player though.
Your eyesight must be going, as Shirley's skills have surprsised me, particularly in the wet when he has thrived as compared to some bigger name players. He has usually got as much of the ball as his big name opponent he has a run-with role on. Don't form your opinions on reputation, but rather watching the game.

Regarding Ronnie Burns, I have no idea whether or not the Crows would have delisted Finnin. the Cats are saying they like him, I'm not sure yet.
The Crows are paying some of his salary, so there is some cost attached, along with Finnin, the bona-fides there are debatable though.

Finnin is a dud and won't be an AFL player. He would have been delisted this year. Geelong pay $200,000 of Ronnie's contract each year, so he was obtained in exchange for a delist at very little cost to our salary cap.

As for McGregor he has had an excellent season and is one of the leading CHB's in the comp. You're way off beam on this one.

Apart from Shirley, the rest of your comments are around the mark.

Are you on the angry pills Dave?
Has the wife got a headache tonight?........;)
The angriness comes naturally. And I have a wife now?

ANYWAYYYYYYYYYYYY....

In my opinion, Shaun Burgoyne is one of the best young talents in the league, he has done jobs at both ends of the ground, and again in my opinion, would create huge amounts of interest in the open market in comparison to the Crows Bode & Smith
He's talented but he's far from an accomplished player. His trade value is based on his percieved future worth. He's still yet

Well if he's still contracted I guess we wouldn't've delisted him, but Geelong are still paying Burns' contract so that's a moot issue. The fact that Finnin hasn't come anywhere near the seniors of a bottom four side would suggest we've won that trade.
As for "22 goals up to round 21" it means exactly that, round 21 has been played, and Burns has scored 22 goals so far, I never mentioned number of games played, coz I figured if he played some in the SANFL, it weaken your case? Not a difficult concept Dave. Calm down mate, check your blood pressure,............;)
Hardly. I've said from day one that Burns is a depth player.

If he was so useless, Smart would be holding down CHB, not McGregor.

The Perrie comment was a little tongue in cheek, he flies for marks not even Ian McKay could have taken, he's a bit like a company executive whose ambition is somewhat greater than his ability.
That's fairly rare.

Now, about Ackland or Schell, tell ya what, I reckon Port will keep Cain on our list, I reckon the Crows will dump Schell, what do you reckon?
Same reason we'll keep Marsh. And what do you think of Marsh again?

Ever seen how the opposition can read the disposal from Shirley better than the Crow players?
I never said Shirley was a topline midfielder. But that last bit about him turning the ball over is rubbish.

I'd like to see Ayres give Kenny the big jobs before I am convinced he is a top line CHB.

He is solid, but he hasn't yet shown the class (nor been given much of a chance) to go head to head with the big fellas.

Originally posted by Port01
I'd like to see Ayres give Kenny the big jobs before I am convinced he is a top line CHB.

He is solid, but he hasn't yet shown the class (nor been given much of a chance) to go head to head with the big fellas.

He's always done well on Jonathon Brown who is a fair player.